View Full Version : Willie O Dea: Proven Liar

Pages : 1 [2]

19/02/2010, 9:20 AM
Thought the front covers of today's papers were interesting. (Haven't been paying this too much heed, mind). "O'Dea resigns as Greens claim scalp" was the Indo. "O'Dea resigns after Greens withdraw support" was the Times. Made it sound like the Greens were somehow to blame, not the lying, perjuring minister. I may be being too cynical about it, but it reminds me why I don't read newspapers any more.

19/02/2010, 10:13 AM
What investigations have been proven to be breeches on employment contract or worse still FAA breeches Macy?
What employment contracts? Agency staff, after years of inaction by our Government and others (notably the UK), have little or no employment rights. And any rights they have are with the agency, not with Ryanair.

I'm not an aviation expert, but there's more to safety than not having crashed. Tight turnarounds and the pressure they put on staff can't be good for anyone, except for Ryanair shareholders.
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/travel/news/article1343517.ece

btw mods - I'd say the Ryanair stuff is off topic (and I know I helped contribute to that, so sorry).

Fr Damo
19/02/2010, 10:20 AM
btw mods - I'd say the Ryanair stuff is off topic (and I know I helped contribute to that, so sorry).

[/QUOTE]

Ditto

19/02/2010, 10:26 AM
NO need to move the stuff from this thread, but we'll leave the Ryanair stuff alone (Except to say if people want the aer lingus rebuttal, they should read the letters page of today's irish Times)

BTW Limerick lads, I wouldn't be celebrating yet. i have absolutely no doubt that WIllie O'Dea will be re-elected. One of my favourite comments from the last election coverage on RTE was from the FF director of elections when he was asked about O'dea's huge personal viote, and the failure of FF to get more seats "isn't that poor planning" he was asked.

"Well that's willie for you. You can't tell Willie O'Dea what to do"

19/02/2010, 10:35 AM
BTW Limerick lads, I wouldn't be celebrating yet. i have absolutely no doubt that WIllie O'Dea will be re-elected. One of my favourite comments from the last election coverage on RTE was from the FF director of elections when he was asked about O'dea's huge personal viote, and the failure of FF to get more seats "isn't that poor planning" he was asked.

"Well that's willie for you. You can't tell Willie O'Dea what to do"
Especially not after listening to various vox pop's doing the rounds this morning from Limerick. Turns out it wasn't his fault at all, and he's a big loss to Limerick (when it came down to it the only thing one of them could come up with was inside jacks in some estate!). It was all the blueshirts and the greens fault, nothing to do with dirty election tactics or false legal documents. They must have brought into he's a victim line that O'Dea was peddling on the News at One yesterday. Still, not all the media are against him, Darcy showing his FF colours (again) by starting the recovery process for his pal this morning.

Leeside Swagger
19/02/2010, 11:12 AM
I'm not defending him because he had to go, but the girlfriend lives in Limerick east and has gone to his office before with a couple of issues and he went well out of his way to help. He'll be re-elected no bother.
He was always a bit of a ticking time bomb in government if you ask me.

19/02/2010, 11:34 AM
I'm not defending him because he had to go, but the girlfriend lives in Limerick east and has gone to his office before with a couple of issues and he went well out of his way to help. He'll be re-elected no bother.
He was always a bit of a ticking time bomb in government if you ask me.

That's half the problem with Irish politics. "He helped somebody fill in a form" far outweighs "He's part of a government that ran the country into the ground" in too many people's eyes.

Leeside Swagger
19/02/2010, 11:48 AM
That's half the problem with Irish politics. "He helped somebody fill in a form" far outweighs "He's part of a government that ran the country into the ground" in too many people's eyes.

Yes but the people he helps out are the same people who vote him in so your point is fairly redundant unless we change our whole political system (which wouldnt be a bad thing imo.) And it wasnt a form, it was a very serious matter so please dont rubbish my point.

19/02/2010, 12:08 PM
BTW Limerick lads, I wouldn't be celebrating yet. i have absolutely no doubt that WIllie O'Dea will be re-elected.

He'll be re-elected no bother.
I don't doubt it at all either, but I'm just happy to see him exposed as the blustering sniveling runt he is.

Lets hope this happens too.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0219/odeaw.html

Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy has said gardaí will consider whether an investigation is warranted into claims that a member of the force supplied certain information to former Minister for Defence Willie O'Dea.

Mr O'Dea had claimed that a member of An Garda Síochána was a source for defamatory information regarding Sinn Féin Cllr Maurice Quinlivan.

19/02/2010, 12:11 PM
Yes but the people he helps out are the same people who vote him in so your point is fairly redundant unless we change our whole political system (which wouldnt be a bad thing imo.) And it wasnt a form, it was a very serious matter so please dont rubbish my point.

I don't think Mr. A is rubbishing your point. There is a fundamental problem with parish pump politics dictating national politics in this country and you're suggesting that a minister doing a personal favour is enough for him to be re-elected depite the fact that he is a proven liar who has seen the biggest emoployer in his region up and leave and has been part of one of the most corrupt and useless governments in Irish history. If people can't see the bigger picture in that case we may was well all jump under the next passing bus. :(

19/02/2010, 12:40 PM
One simple thing, senators are elected by the people, not placed in there for their "goodwill" to parties. If they were a proper and confident body elected the same as TD's there might be some actual progress made. The elections could take place at the same time as Dail elections.

Well said.

Again, this notion that we should close the Senate because it doesn't currently work is just a nonsense. According to that logic we should also close the Dail, get rid of the President, shoot all the judges, drown the cabinet, and shoot the Taoiseach into space. We should probably all kill ourselves too, because it appears we love the idiots that do all this, and vote them in time and time again.

Forget my idea of reform, I'd love to know how proponents of this idiocy think the country should be run. Would ye like a nice dictator to run the country for ye?

At least he resigned.He was told to resign. Big difference.

19/02/2010, 12:50 PM
Well I think shooting the Taoiseach into space would be a hell of a first step towards reform!

On the points above- apologies if that came across as a personal comment, it was meant to be about the clientist political system. Indeed I do believe the system needs to be reformed to combat this. The role of the Dail is to legislate in the National interest but instead TDs spend their time as local fixers- that's just not how it's meant to be.

Indeed this whole row blew up because the SF complained about O Dea using civil servants to offer help (unsolicited by the way) in planning applications in his constituency.

On the Dell jobs- it was always going to be next to impossible to keep those jobs in Ireland long term. In a few years they'll probably up sticks and leave Poland too. We've played the globalisation game well done well out of it, but have to recognise that we'll lose by it as well as win.

19/02/2010, 12:55 PM
If people can't see the bigger picture in that case we may was well all jump under the next passing bus. :(
The electorate can't be trusted - time for a list system so we have legislators rather than glorified county councilors. I don't particularly like the system as it does remove accountability, but if we can't get people to cop on what TD's should be accountable about (i.e. Legislation, Government Policies and not I need a passport in a hurry, I'm looking for planning etc.), we must change the system to protect people from themselves.

19/02/2010, 1:11 PM
Just on the senate being elected for by the people. If they are held at the same time as General Elections, the likelihood of it being alligned to the TDs returned is fairly large. So that checks and balances thing some are seeking wouldn't exist. Senators however, do play an important role in many committees. mainly because TDs are too busy keeping themselves electable

For a FG example of disgraceful "parish pump" politics see the PQ from Joe McHugh on passports

http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2010-02-09.1214.0

19/02/2010, 1:39 PM
Why indeed. The Sindo rag and the preposterous Eoghan Harris responsible for getting Bertie back in to power. Anyone who buys any INM rag should be ashamed. Harris was on Newstall today ranting about Shinners and the armed conflict! in DEFENCE of O'Dea!! This obnoxious fool is costing us 100's of thousands as a Senator thanks to Bertie.

GOOD RIDDANCE TO O'DEA BUT The Senate MUST be closed.

You are dead right about Harris, but I buy the Indo to read Shane Ross, Bruce Arnold, A Roddick and the unmissable Gene Kerrigan - the paper is funny in that you can get someone as deluded as M Coleman in the same paper as Shane Ross, etc.

19/02/2010, 2:09 PM
Well I think shooting the Taoiseach into space would be a hell of a first step towards reform!This one, certainly, and the last one of course. But not all of them.

It wouldn't make sense to have Senate elections at the same time as the Dail. But it is a fair point that them NOT being elected does have it's advantages. I'm just not sure it's the way to go. The elected House and Senate works in the US, there's no reason it shouldn't work here. The problem with the US system is that they take it too far in the other direction, electing professionals like sherrifs too. Plus of course their electoral system is a mess.

culloty82
19/02/2010, 4:21 PM
I'd agree that the Seanad should be kept, perhaps like the US there would be equal representation per county (no Dail rep at the moment for Leitrim) and add 1-2 Senators to represent first-generation Irish living abroad. The list system would also be a good idea for half the Dail seats, but there would have to be a threshold of 3-5% to ensure there wouldn't be dozens of parties with one member getting elected.

weecountyman
20/02/2010, 7:33 AM
I'd agree that the Seanad should be kept, perhaps like the US there would be equal representation per county (no Dail rep at the moment for Leitrim) and add 1-2 Senators to represent first-generation Irish living abroad. The list system would also be a good idea for half the Dail seats, but there would have to be a threshold of 3-5% to ensure there wouldn't be dozens of parties with one member getting elected.

I'm not sure about the first generation vote, look at how it works in Croatia. The war there was funded and fuelled by "diaspora" who wouldn't dare set foot on the old rock, but who paid mercenaries (including some ira headers) to come in and join paramiliatry groups that the dictator tudjman then used for extra-territorial conflicts. Now the government has held onto power thanks to these 2nd and 3rd generation clowns who reckon the way to show national pride is to fight on bondi beach or at the Aussie Open (not just with Serbs, but with Bosniaks, Russians, Africans and anyone they figure doesn't suit their racist ideology). While I'm for including the children, grandchildren and great grandchildren of Irish emigrants, in order to vote they'd have to be resident in Ireland. But the concept is great, think of the Argentines who still carry their heritage but are denied passports due to their distance from Ireland.

I agree that there should be representation from each county - there are 60 seats so at least 2 from every county with extra spots for larger constituencies. If the seanad were given freedom from the "goodwill" shackles there is enough intelligence and ability there to do a really good job. Who wouldn't vote for Shane Ross? Who would vote for Eoghan Little Bertie Harris?

edit: why should TCD be allowed have 3 Senators and the NUI, even with a larger constitutency, 3? 11 are appointments by the taoiseach. If the Seanad wanted any element of legitimacy these are the reasons why it needs to be reformed, not abolished.

20/02/2010, 1:16 PM
If you want to vote in Ireland, representation in Ireland, or an Irish passport, then you should live in Ireland.

20/02/2010, 2:19 PM
If you want to vote in Ireland... then you should live in Ireland.
Agree 100% Nobody who doesn't have to live with the consequences of their vote shouldn't get a say in how the country is run.

No problem with people of Irish heritage becoming Irish citizens or holding Irish passport.

20/02/2010, 2:31 PM
I'm more concerned about taxes than citizenship and passports.

peadar1987
20/02/2010, 4:55 PM
Agree 100% Nobody who doesn't have to live with the consequences of their vote shouldn't get a say in how the country is run.

No problem with people of Irish heritage becoming Irish citizens or holding Irish passport.

I doubt I'll be coming back to Ireland any time soon, because I've a much better chance of getting a job in Scotland, and next to none back home. Does that mean that I should be excluded from voting for a government I believe would facilitate enough job creation to allow me to come back?

20/02/2010, 4:58 PM
Yes, it should. Nothing personal meant by it, but that's how it should be. I can't afford to pay myself at the moment, but I'm still here. I've earned my right to vote. If I have to move to live, I'll leave my vote behind, and that's how it should be.

20/02/2010, 7:02 PM
Does that mean that I should be excluded from voting for a government I believe would facilitate enough job creation to allow me to come back?

Yep. 100% IF the crowd you vote in balls it up even worse and you decide to stay in Scotland, the rest of us have to deal with it, And without being funny, reading Irish sites on the internet will only get you so far. You have to be living here to undertand whats going on (and thats the same for everywhere else too)

20/02/2010, 7:59 PM
I'm living here and I don't understand what's going on. I do understand that I could do a better job that most if not all of the current government ministers, and I'm not being facetious when I say that.

Oz Student
20/02/2010, 10:26 PM
If you want to vote in Ireland, representation in Ireland, or an Irish passport, then you should live in Ireland.
I agree on the rest but taking an emigrant's passport is a bit harsh. Would we get it back if we wanted to come home?

21/02/2010, 1:57 AM
I agree on the rest but taking an emigrant's passport is a bit harsh. Would we get it back if we wanted to come home?

See post #71.

21/02/2010, 3:17 AM
Well said.

Again, this notion that we should close the Senate because it doesn't currently work is just a nonsense. According to that logic we should also close the Dail.

The Seanad is a bit of a joke. They sit for one full day and 2 half days a week. They're out of sight between 2.30 on Thursday and 2.30 on Tuesday. 5 holidays per week, to sit at home and collect a massive salary, and other entitlements. Nice work if you can be appointed to it, but to the rest of us, it's an enormous waste of money. You can argue that the Dail is pointless too, but at least it draws up legislation, the Seanad simply waffles about it, approves it, sends it to the bill signer in the Aras, then goes home.

The Senate can't have elections in this country, as it needs to have more seats in the Dail ruling party in order to carry the votes. If there were elections for the Senate, it could have a majority for the opposition, and that poses it's own problems.

weecountyman
21/02/2010, 6:45 AM

Agree on the vote, disagree on the passport - only because you don't qualify it. An Irish person moves abroad, lives and works and contributes int heir country of residence - this cannot preclude them from having an Irish passport because they're not resident in Ireland. If you have direct Irish ancestry this too should offer you the chance to obtain and Irish passport.

The whole issue of passports has been thrown into the spotlight the last week with the Mossad hit in Dubai. Read one pundit (kmyers) and we give away passports like red cards to a Sean Connor team, another will say (dmcwilliams) we should be more liberal - like the Israelis and their right of return. There has to be a balance, but unless you're resident in Ireland you should not be allowed to vote.

21/02/2010, 10:45 AM
Back on the lying perjurer O Dea.. the Sunday Indo carries one of the most outrageous instances of a journalist giving a political figure a good ball-licking. I had not realised O Dea wrote for the Sindo as I would never buy that smug, sensalionalist rag.

Aengus Fanning: First off, my commiserations. Not only are you one of the outstanding politicians in the country, and you are one of the best across the board in all the parties, but if I may say so you are a very fine journalist too.

O Dea, true to form, throws allegations around when it clear that he is guilty as sin:

"Well, I couldn't help but notice that the Irish Times seems to have taken a particular line on this. I find it a bit ironic that this is the same Irish Times that accepted a leaked document from the Mahon tribunal and were accused by the Supreme Court of subverting the law when they destroyed that document with great haste -- but they seem to have gone on the high moral ground and decided that I did something wrong, that I knowingly did something wrong, that they could look into the recesses of my mind and know what I was thinking, and their journalists campaigned to get rid of me."

If you think you can hold on to your last meal despite the self pity, self promotion and general nausiating tone the full article is here: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/odea-was-just-a-head-on-a-plate-for-the-greens-in-test-of-their-virility-2072753.html

21/02/2010, 1:06 PM
The Seanad is a bit of a joke.

Post #38.

Agree on the vote, disagree on the passport

Post #71.

Ye might enjoy waffling on and repeating yourselves ad nauseum lads, but I have better things to do with my time. If ye're not going to read the thread before commenting, ye might be better off just hopping onto the bog with a copy of the Star and chatting about your epiphanies in the pub later that evening.

weecountyman
21/02/2010, 1:30 PM
A few posts back I mentioned this exact thing, O'Dea was given free rein to talk absolute nonsense and skirt very close to libel, as well as assassinate any number of FF opponents (including the Greens it must be added) in the run up to the last election. It's an amazing paper where genuine thinkers like Kerrigan and Ross write alongside Harris and O'Dea.

weecountyman
21/02/2010, 1:35 PM

Post #38.

Post #71.

Ye might enjoy waffling on and repeating yourselves ad nauseum lads, but I have better things to do with my time. If ye're not going to read the thread before commenting, ye might be better off just hopping onto the bog with a copy of the Star and chatting about your epiphanies in the pub later that evening.

True taxes are more important than citizenship of passports (as you say in #71), however if you state that to have an Irish passport you need to live in Ireland then it's pretty much going to get a comment, so no need for a snitty reply.

21/02/2010, 2:24 PM

True taxes are more important than citizenship of passports (as you say in #71), however if you state that to have an Irish passport you need to live in Ireland then it's pretty much going to get a comment, so no need for a snitty reply.
Damn right. I'll be working abroad in a few months when I start my next job. Should I give up my passport? Of course, I'll just wave at customs whenever I need to travel and say, "Dahamsta thinks I don't deserve one." Maybe you meant to qualify that, but you didn't, and it stands as a remarkably stupid comment. Don't you dare run for the high moral ground with aspersions of intellectual superiority when people call you on it. It's pathetic sofistry, and you'd eat anyone else who use it here alive.

21/02/2010, 2:29 PM
I qualified it two posts later. If posters are too lazy to read the thread properly, that's their problem, not mine.

21/02/2010, 5:49 PM
A few choice quotes that I think you all might enjoy from the Willie O'Dea support group on Facebook

One writes

One day all this overly PC ****e will go out of fashion, and people who tell it like it is will be truly appreciated. How strange the way none of the media picked up on Willie's very valid queries about FG, and the destruction of a whole 10 years of their financial records. As for Gilmore, how anyone who belonged to a ...party originally funded by the U.S.S.R can judge anyone is beyone me.

Damn this PC nonsense indeed

another woman who doesn't seem to understand what being the Opposition means says

To all the opposition.....Get on with the job of getting the country back in order and stop devieating and nit picking......Grow up all of you,

another truly religious man adds

don't kick a person when they are down, he has accepted responsibility, apologised and paid the ultimate political price!!! We all say something we regret from time to time,' let those who haven't sinned, cast the first stone'

And with that I'm off out to ask the BNP to reinstate the Black and Tans in Ireland if they ever get into power so we can lose a few of these from the collective gene pool that is the Republic of Ireland

weecountyman
21/02/2010, 6:43 PM
A few choice quotes that I think you all might enjoy from the Willie O'Dea support group on Facebook

One writes

Damn this PC nonsense indeed

another woman who doesn't seem to understand what being the Opposition means says

another truly religious man adds

And with that I'm off out to ask the BNP to reinstate the Black and Tans in Ireland if they ever get into power so we can lose a few of these from the collective gene pool that is the Republic of Ireland

That's brilliant stuff Jebus! I guess all these folks must be Sindo readers, every second article in the paper today seems to be castigating the Greens/FG/SF/meeja etc etc.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/sinn-fein-supplied-the-bullets-for-political-hit-2072633.html

The headline alone must be in line for most pathetic leader of the year to date: Sinn Fein supplied the bullets for political hit - and of course the next line is that FG have aligned themselves with copkillers. I love Ireland!

21/02/2010, 6:58 PM
That article you just posted weecountyman is everything that is wrong with journalism in one piece, not just in Ireland either.

That type of hysterical spinning should never be allowed near a national newspaper, even if said newspaper is just a glorified newsletter for Fianna Fail

21/02/2010, 7:05 PM
I qualified it two posts later. If posters are too lazy to read the thread properly, that's their problem, not mine.

You didn't really qualify it. You just said you were more interested in taxes. That doesn't diminish the part about passports in the original post IMO

21/02/2010, 8:10 PM
That's a qualification. Let's just leave it, I think the posters were just too lazy to read the thread properly and my opinion isn't going to change. As should be obvious. Jesus, I thought I was pedantic like...

peadar1987
22/02/2010, 11:46 AM
That article you just posted weecountyman is everything that is wrong with journalism in one piece, not just in Ireland either.

That type of hysterical spinning should never be allowed near a national newspaper, even if said newspaper is just a glorified newsletter for Fianna Fail

All the hysterical spinning in the world, and still no political accountability. It's ridiculous.

25/02/2010, 2:14 PM
Willie O Dea: a man of the people cruelly struck down by the media: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0225/breaking52.html

Not in any way an arrogant, nasty, unethical, aggressive little fecker.

25/02/2010, 2:24 PM
"Elements of the media don’t like me ..."If it's any consolation Willie, I don't like you either.

16/07/2010, 9:49 AM
I see (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2010/0716/1224274821684.html) it has been announced that he will not face a criminal charge of perjury. Strange really as it looked pretty open and shut- if they can't charge him for it could they ever charge anyone?

The hilarious part is that he STILL feels hard done by. What an absolute moron.

“But I still lost my job. It’s like something out of Alice in Wonderland : pass the sentence now and have the trial later,” Mr O’Dea said last night.

16/07/2010, 11:33 AM
Sure they won't bring a case against Callely either, despite the fact that he's essentially been accused of fraud in a public arena. Where's Ivor's defamation case, eh?

total hoofball
16/07/2010, 12:34 PM
I see (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2010/0716/1224274821684.html) it has been announced that he will not face a criminal charge of perjury. Strange really as it looked pretty open and shut- if they can't charge him for it could they ever charge anyone?

He's a Fianna Fáil politician, they have friends in very high places to put a word in powerful people's ears

Can't wait until Bertie gets away with his ever reliable testimony from the Mahon tribunal

18/07/2010, 7:08 PM
Nice little 20-day slap on the wrist for Callely. No way he'll step out of line again after this.

18/07/2010, 8:42 PM
Sure they won't bring a case against Callely either, despite the fact that he's essentially been accused of fraud in a public arena. Where's Ivor's defamation case, eh?

Apparently somebody somewhere requested the gardai to investigate Callely and they are duty-bound to do so.

(Source: my mother, approximately 3pm today)

Spudulika
20/07/2010, 7:16 AM
Cannot believe this, O'Dea is a wally, Callely dodgy and I took the time this morning and read the starting line up in the Dail and Seanad - off the top of my head I tried to pick out how many have been done for or gotten away with some sort of carry on. I counted 25! And not just from the soldiers of destiny!