View Full Version : Cycling 2010

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

30/09/2010, 4:12 PM
Ricco was caught by operation Red Cobra. Co-incidence he's known as the Cobra? Hmmm

Wasn't too surprised by Mosquera. Always suspicious of fellas who move from team to team and then bloom in their mid thirties. Even with 4 top 5s in the Vuelta in a row none of the ProTour teams ever looked at him. Should've been a big hint

Defintely have to feel for Pino. Reminds me of the Milram guy the day Schumacher was caught. he was personally betrayed

30/09/2010, 7:49 PM
Not sure what to make of Contador to be honest - it's not like he hasn't had allegations made against him in the past, and he seemed to have an explaination for the UCI very quickly. However, seems such a small dose that why would he? He wouldn't be a personal favourite, but I'll try and keep an open mind either way.

30/09/2010, 8:38 PM
Not sure what to make of Contador to be honest - it's not like he hasn't had allegations made against him in the past, and he seemed to have an explaination for the UCI very quickly

In fairness there's usually a gap between hsi a and B sample being tested so if he got the ball rolling without waiting on B he'd have it ready now

30/09/2010, 9:55 PM
In fairness there's usually a gap between hsi a and B sample being tested so if he got the ball rolling without waiting on B he'd have it ready now
The quote on cyclingnews...

"The UCI informed me on August 24," he said. "I had a meeting with the UCI medical staff on August 26, where I explained how this could have occurred."

Seems to be a few "experts" saying it could be a result of a contaminated transfusion on the rest day http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/experts-split-on-cause-of-contadors-tour-de-france-doping-positive

I really don't know - I'd be more disappointed in that than a straight forward doping case to be honest.

01/10/2010, 8:11 AM
He might have explained it on August 26th but he didn't have the (commisioned) Doctors report backing him up until this week.

I've absolutely no doubt the UCI will try everything in their power to allow COntador keep his title and continiue racing.

Billsthoughts
01/10/2010, 12:29 PM
While I'd like to think that at least some cyclists are drug free, it just looks less and less likely. As Paul Kimmage said - a clean tour would mean slower times, sprints and therefore less interest.

Am not sure times are what interests cycling fans as opposed to times in comparison to the other riders. Close races are still exciting.

03/10/2010, 2:49 AM
Matt Brammier has been off the front with a few other guys all day so far in the World Championships race, currently about 14m clear. Obviously, they will be reeled in fairly quickly when things heat up in the last 50km or so, should they stay clear that long. Good to see him at the front all the same.

03/10/2010, 7:25 AM
Strong ride by Brammier. Roche was prominent for a while but missed the big break and ended up ina big pack with Cancellera and McCann.

My favourite non Irish cyclist Big Thor Hushovd won so I'm happy enough

04/10/2010, 9:22 AM
Strong ride by Brammier. Roche was prominent for a while but missed the big break and ended up ina big pack with Cancellera and McCann.

My favourite non Irish cyclist Big Thor Hushovd won so I'm happy enough
Only saw the highlights, but I was kinda kicking myself I never thought of Hushovd when there was all the debate about whether it was too hard for the sprinters. On reflection it was exactly the type of course that suited him, but he was under the radar on all the coverage so it wasn't just me :)

06/10/2010, 4:22 PM
Well Brammier has signed for HTC fr next year (http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/5922/Irish-national-road-race-champion-Brammeier-signs-pro-contract-with-HTC-Columbia.aspx?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+velonation_pro_cycling+%28Cyc ling+News+%26+Race+Results+%7C+VeloNation.com%29&utm_content=Twitter)

Big news for Irish cycling. Means the National champion's jersey will be back in the pro tour.

07/10/2010, 12:13 PM
I think he might be mates with Cavendish, going back to junior days and iirc they were in the Brit Academy together.

07/10/2010, 12:25 PM
Yep, said he'd like to be part of his lead out team (he'll have no choice...)

Sam Bennett, our other highly promising rider had to cut short his stint as a stagaire with FDJ due a kneee injury. Shame, as he never got to ride for them. i think his sprinting power will defintely get him a contract sooner or later.

07/10/2010, 3:13 PM
And jsut like that *boom* An post announces that Sam Bennett will ride for them next season. He's still very, very young too

10/10/2010, 7:34 PM
Good result for Dan Martin yesterday in the Giro dell'Emilia - on his own in second and very prominent. Good form ahead of Lombardy.

11/10/2010, 2:03 AM
Fingers crossed he'll pull it off.

Meanwhile David McCann finished 5th for the North in the Commonwealth Games Road Race in Dehli, 11s down on Allan Davis, Hayden Roulston, David Millar and Chris Sutton. Cavendish was 7th a minute down.

11/10/2010, 9:22 AM
Watched a fair bit of that. McCann involved in a break right from the gun. Was 14, then himself and McCauley (NZ) on their own until about 50k to go, when caught by group of 3 then another 4/5. McCann hung in there despite the best efforts of NZ and Aus to break it all up. Phenomenal ride up against all the ProTour lads.

Cavendish had to chase breaks all day and in fairness to him he worked hard and was in contention with 5k to go. he simply couldn't compete withthe Aussie team though.

11/10/2010, 11:19 AM
Deignan signs with Radioshack.

http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/5976/Deignan-heading-to-RadioShack-for-2011.aspx
http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/philip-deignan-signs-for-radioshack?cid=OTC-RSS&attr=news_headlines

Wonder what type of races they'll be involved in this year. Didn't compete in Giro and weren't invited to Vuelta. Hopefully he gets a decent calender

11/10/2010, 5:14 PM
Change of the set up with UCI should guarantee them the big races - top 17 this year get entered into everything, including the Grand Tours. With Milram and Cervelo folding, Astana seemingly not applying for PT status, and Footon and Lampre having a poor year, Radioshack (11th at the end of September) should be fine. And without their unchallenged leader any more, Deignan's youth may stand to him. That said, all the old 34+yo guys are finally out of the shadows, so they may hoover everything up.

11/10/2010, 7:25 PM
Forgot about the new proteam set up. Hopefully Deignan gets an injury free year

12/10/2010, 9:59 AM
http://www.irishprocycling.com/news/deignan/deignan-talks-about-future-radioshack

Deignan seems determined...

24/10/2010, 9:14 PM
Dan martin wins again. the 1.HC ranked Japan Cup/

his last of the season

28/10/2010, 7:28 AM
Good interview with Nico Roche on the latest real peleton podcast from the Tour launch. It's (naturally) a bit Brit focussed, given it's Matt Rendell and Ned Boulting, but it's a bit more regular than the cyclingnews podcast and they give the Irish cyclists decent coverage. (OT - and it's not just available through itunes, like so many seem to be going grrrrr)

18/11/2010, 2:31 PM
http://www.irishprocycling.com/feature/brammeier%E2%80%99s-bounce-back-big-time

Nice article on our newest pro tour rider

08/12/2010, 10:40 PM
http://bit.ly/hhNu33

10 questions for Deignan on the Shack website

Billsthoughts
09/12/2010, 11:45 AM
http://www.marca.com/2010/12/09/atletismo/1291895745.html

sems to be anotehr operation puerto style investigation about to go public in spain..

09/12/2010, 12:50 PM
Seems to be mainly focussed on Athletics, but Fuentes is reported to be one of those arrested.

09/12/2010, 2:08 PM
Hard not to be cynical about a Spanish led drug investigation, to be honest, after previously finding no wrong doing by any of its elite sport stars, nor investigating them, despite the evidence.

It looks like this time they are going to call in those who are no longer likely to headline. A big star in Marta Dominguez, but very much on the way out - that will pass fairly quietly. Fuentes is a nice catch, but he is probably the Al Capone of Spanish doping - I would expect that his arrest mentions chiefly parking tickets or something.

They definitely need some blood this time, or everyone wil think they are taking the p!ss...

EDIT: Just looked up Galgo and found this article (http://www.typicallyspanish.com/news/publish/article_28241.shtml) - looks like Luis Leon Sanchez is involved. THe conspiracy theorist in me says "Hmm, and didn't he just move to Rabobank..."

09/12/2010, 2:13 PM
Hard not to be cynical about a Spanish led drug investigation, to be honest, after previously finding no wrong doing by any of its elite sport stars, nor investigating them, despite the evidence.
If they link it to football, then the investigation will stall...

They definitely need some blood this time, or everyone wil think they are taking the p!ss...

No shortage of blood last time... :)

Billsthoughts
09/12/2010, 9:55 PM
Yeah luis leon sanchez was who They were talkin about in comments underneath.his brother plays for madrid.

12/12/2010, 8:50 AM
They definitely need some blood this time, or everyone wil think they are taking the p!ss...In the context of a doping discussion, I'm not sure whether the genius of this post is intended or not!

12/12/2010, 9:44 AM
The new National Champion's Jersey

http://twitpic.com/3f6uv2

BTW Another Twitterer to follow (if thats your bag)

http://twitter.com/Mattbrammeier85

12/12/2010, 8:43 PM
The new National Champion's Jersey

http://twitpic.com/3f6uv2

Excellent - I dislike the horrible Shamrock vomit thing that had been the last few before Nick Roche won it. I think that the green hoop is the best look for the Champion's jersey - no-one else has the green hoop, and I think it looks better (and is more inclusive) than a tricolor along the lines of the French or Dutch champion's jersey would be.

In the context of a doping discussion, I'm not sure whether the genius of this post is intended or not!

I am stung to the gums by this. It seems the point I was making might have been as well directed at me @rse...

19/12/2010, 7:32 PM
I am stung to the gums by this. It seems the point I was making might have been as well directed at me @rse...No comprende, senor.

20/12/2010, 1:07 PM
Dan Martin set to be a protected rider for 2011 Giro...

Christophe Le Mével is set to lead the Garmin-Cervélo team at the 2011 Giro d’Italia, along with Ireland’s Dan Martin. The Frenchman, who joins the squad from FDJ, has already tasted success at the corsa rosa, winning a stage in 2005.

“For now, I’m sure to figure at the Giro d’Italia, where I should have the role of co-leader alongside Daniel Martin,” Le Mével told Cyclism’Actu.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/le-mevel-to-lead-garmin-cervelo-at-2011-giro-ditalia

20/12/2010, 1:12 PM
Interesting. Doubt he'd be strong enough to look at a high GC so could be targeting stages

So they have a Young Riders' jersey?

20/12/2010, 1:23 PM
Interesting. Doubt he'd be strong enough to look at a high GC so could be targeting stages

So they have a Young Riders' jersey?
Hard to know, given most of the big names will be focussing on the Tour, as unlikely to be competitive in both. But afaik they do have a young riders jersey - white as well.

20/12/2010, 1:34 PM
Cheers, I know one of the Giro or Vuelta doesn't have one

Billsthoughts
20/01/2011, 9:08 AM
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2011/more/01/18/lance.armstrong/index.html

Armstrong allegations in Sports Illustrated.
Nothing really that new in it but am sure will be a big deal in the states...

20/01/2011, 9:19 AM
yeah, its a big deal because it isn't "the French" out to get him. Some other lies have come out recently (about his salary, about livestrong)

Billsthoughts
20/01/2011, 9:26 AM
Yeah thought it was a bit rich of the two journos who wrote it to put it out as some big exclusive given the the work David Walsh et all had already done.

I see Landis has come out now saying they should legalise doping. Probably not the best thing if he wants a bit of credibility..

cornflakes
20/01/2011, 7:14 PM
Some other lies have come out recently (about his salary, about livestrong)

Any Links? Wouldn't mind reading it

20/01/2011, 9:51 PM
Just go to velonation and see them there

26/01/2011, 9:53 PM
One year ban for Contador apparently: http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/contador-to-receive-one-year-ban-for-clenbuterol-positive

If confirmed, I'm surprised they had the balls to ban him, even if only for a year.

27/01/2011, 5:50 AM
Only a year ban - shouldn't it be two? I suppose that being Spanish and being banned by Spanish authorities counts double. He's 10 days to appeal. I wonder if he'll get off on the appeal.

Little Schleck came out yesteray and said that he's not forgiven Contador for the break in the Tour - sounds like he was distancing himself from his former friend before things start to stick.

If he is banned, Contador has threatened to quit completely - I'll be surprised if he sticks to it though.

27/01/2011, 8:01 AM
Only a year ban - shouldn't it be two? I suppose that being Spanish and being banned by Spanish authorities counts double. He's 10 days to appeal. I wonder if he'll get off on the appeal.
I think the one year ban option is open to authorities on the basis of a failed drug test but the drug is taken non deliberately. It was the minimum option as far as I understand it, even if the contaminated meat story was believed - the athlete is still responsible for what goes into his body.

27/01/2011, 1:18 PM
Its half what the Chinese radioshack lad got, and he used the exact same defence.

If fairness though Contador is being banned from the day he was notified, not the day of the test so its 13 months (and important month which means he misses le Tour...)