PDA

View Full Version : Speed test

drinkfeckarse
02/02/2010, 12:42 PM
Hi all,

Would appreciate if you could help me out a little. After installing Avast anti-virus a couple of months ago, I have now run into some difficulty which may or may not be related..
Over the last few weeks my computer has been running really slowly, pages taking ages to load, downloading a song from i-tunes takes about 12 minutes instead of the normal 30 seconds etc. I checked the broadband speed and it said I have a download speed of 0.09 mb/s as opposed to the usual 5mb!!

Is this purely down to the line/service provider or can my laptop itself have an impact on it?? I don't muck about with it as I'm a relative novice so I wouldn't expect it to be running any differently than it did with Norton installed.

Any help or advice would be appreciated :)

drinkfeckarse
04/02/2010, 9:36 AM
Anyone?? Please!?

Dunny
04/02/2010, 9:57 AM
All I can think of is, did you have anti-virus before Avast? And if you did, did you un-install it?

passinginterest
04/02/2010, 10:50 AM
Norton is notoriously difficult to fully uninstall, I've definitely heard of people having issues when they install a new antivirus and try to get rid of Norton. There should be some tech forums or maybe an Avast support forum or something that could talk you through checking for conflicts with Norton.

drinkfeckarse
05/02/2010, 9:58 AM
Thanks lads, I defo uninstalled it as it had expired and when I check my installed programs, Norton doesn't appear. I'm starting to think it may have have something to do with my usage. I use a crowd called Plusnet for my broadband and I'm fairly certain I get a 2GB monthly allowance. I don't download an awful lot of stuff other than the occasional tune but am I right in saying that if I'm on the net most days then just simply looking at different pages adds this up?

OneRedArmy
10/02/2010, 12:08 PM