View Full Version : UEFA Fair Play rankings

HarpoJoyce
22/01/2010, 12:34 AM
UEFA has published the interim Fair Play rankings..

http://www.fotball.no/Documents/PDF/2010/NFF/Fair_Play_UEFAl.pdf?epslanguage=en

1. Sweden 8.263
2. Denmark 8.169
3. England 8.168
4. Finland 8.159
5. Rep. of Ireland 8.158
6. Norway 8.117
7. Scotland 8.112

Last date of calculations is May 31, all UEFA competitive games are considered, both genders, 11-a-side.

Top three countries nominate a club to go into the Europa league. Drogheda United are highest eligible club on the 2009 LoI Fair play list.

gilberto_eire
22/01/2010, 1:47 AM
UEFA has published the interim Fair Play rankings..

http://www.fotball.no/Documents/PDF/2010/NFF/Fair_Play_UEFAl.pdf?epslanguage=en

1. Sweden 8.263
2. Denmark 8.169
3. England 8.168
4. Finland 8.159
5. Rep. of Ireland 8.158
6. Norway 8.117
7. Scotland 8.112

Last date of calculations is May 31, all UEFA competitive games are considered, both genders, 11-a-side.

Top three countries nominate a club to go into the Europa league. Drogheda United are highest eligible club on the 2009 LoI Fair play list.

It MIGHT not be Drogheda.....

The Football Association of Ireland have announced the final Fair Play League final placing for 2009. League of Ireland, Premier Division champions, Bohemians scooped the Premier Division award while Shamrock Rovers finished as runners-up. In the League of Ireland 1st Division, U.C.D finished on top of the Fair Play League with Galway’s Mervue United finishing in second place.

The respective divisional winners will each receive prize money of €4,500 with the respective runners-up receiving prize money of €2,000.

In its efforts to promote fair play, UEFA award three extra places in the 1st qualifying round of the Europa League to the domestic Fair Play winners from the top three Associations in the UEFA Fair Play League which will be published in May 2010.

Should Ireland finish in the top three places of the UEFA Fair Play League, due to the fact that Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers will be already representing the League of Ireland in UEFA competitions next year; the remaining place will go to the highest placed team in the Fair Play League. As Drogheda United and Galway United finish tied for third in the Fair Play League on 1093 points, a drawing of lots would have to take place to decide which team would advance to the Europa League, 1st qualifying round.

Premier Division Standings
1 BOHEMIANS 1120
2 SHAMROCK ROVERS 1098
3 DROGHEDA UNITED 1093
3 GALWAY UNITED 1093
5 CORK CITY 1068
6 DERRY CITY 1066
7 BRAY WANDERERS 1046
8 SLIGO ROVERS 1042
9 ST. PATRICK'S ATHLETIC 1005
10 DUNDALK 999

Anyone else not think that's a real ****ty way to lose a European place?.
Considering the combined odds of two teams drawing level on points AND the country making the top 3, would a one off game not be the fairest solution?. I'm sure both teams would agree to it, who wants a flip of a coin?....:(

Paddyfield
22/01/2010, 6:37 AM
It will probably be decided on the traditional FAI method of making decisions - flip of a coin in a car-park although a two legged play-off would be better.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/01/2010, 7:35 AM
It MIGHT not be Drogheda.....

Anyone else not think that's a real ****ty way to lose a European place?.
Considering the combined odds of two teams drawing level on points AND the country making the top 3, would a one off game not be the fairest solution?. I'm sure both teams would agree to it, who wants a flip of a coin?....:(

I think it's a really ****ty way to gain a European place myself.

22/01/2010, 8:08 AM
I think it's a really ****ty way to gain a European place myself.

Rather than praying for another team to be kicked out and taking their place instead?

Celdrog
22/01/2010, 9:04 AM
who wants a flip of a coin?....:(You'd probably prefer the flip of a DVD;):D

22/01/2010, 10:11 AM
We're a lot higher up than usual.

I wonder did nice Mr Blatter give us a bonus half point to make up for the handball?

ndrog
22/01/2010, 10:16 AM
A play off against galway would be the best idea .We always beat them in play offs anyway ;)

22/01/2010, 11:01 AM
Whats the betting Alan Kelly and Eddie the Flag would be on duty. Never ever get over that night the worst decision ive ever seen.

seand
22/01/2010, 11:49 AM
Here's a ludicrous proposal for deciding who should get the place (if it comes to it).... how about the team that finished higher in the league? Crazy idea, I know.

Paddyfield
22/01/2010, 11:58 AM
A play off against galway would be the best idea .We always beat them in play offs anyway ;)

Always? We played ye in a 2 legged play-off a few years ago. We won the first leg 2 - 0 and ye won the second led 3 - 0.

ndrog
22/01/2010, 12:04 PM
Here's a ludicrous proposal for deciding who should get the place (if it comes to it).... how about the team that finished higher in the league? Crazy idea, I know.

surely thats defeats the purpose of the whole thing :confused: Drogs and galway finished jointly on points awarded . The euro spot is nothing to do with results on the pitch .

Always? We played ye in a 2 legged play-off a few years ago. We won the first leg 2 - 0 and ye won the second led 3 - 0.

Aye but we won over the 2 legs ! craziest game of football i was ever at in my life . Superb !

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/01/2010, 1:21 PM
Surely it should be decided by who gets the least yellow cards over the 2 legs?

showgies
22/01/2010, 1:26 PM
What a strange twist it would be for a Sean Connor managed team to qualify for Europe by Fair Play means....

marinobohs
22/01/2010, 2:19 PM
What a strange twist it would be for a Sean Connor managed team to qualify for Europe by Fair Play means....
.......especially as he did so much to contribute to Irelands position in the table :(

TheBoss
22/01/2010, 4:08 PM

I think those red cards from Dundalk actually could be the reason Ireland might not get an extra place.

22/01/2010, 4:12 PM
Domestic club games don't count in that ranking. Only international games and continental club games.

HarpoJoyce
22/01/2010, 4:38 PM
I think those red cards from Dundalk actually could be the reason Ireland might not get an extra place.

Don't mind the nay-sayers.

A few dates for the diary.
02/03/10 ECQ Ireland U21 v Armenia U21 venue and time to be confirmed.

U19 Elite Phase May 26th - May 31st in Ukraine with England and Bosnia i Hercogovina

U17 Elite Phase March 17th - 22nd in Greece with Austria and Finland.

Ezeikial
22/01/2010, 5:43 PM
Premier Division Standings
1 BOHEMIANS 1120
2 SHAMROCK ROVERS 1098
3 DROGHEDA UNITED 1093
3 GALWAY UNITED 1093
5 CORK CITY 1068
6 DERRY CITY 1066
7 BRAY WANDERERS 1046
8 SLIGO ROVERS 1042
9 ST. PATRICK'S ATHLETIC 1005
10 DUNDALK 999

Dundalk will qualify, having prepared a watertight case that will successfully appeal at least 18 of those blatently unfair red cards.

Celdrog
22/01/2010, 8:03 PM
Dundalk will qualify, having prepared a watertight case that will successfully appeal at least 18 of those blatently unfair red cards.All you need then is a manager with a pro-licence ;)

They were all stick on red cards (except Michael Daly of course :D)

GM11
25/01/2010, 1:22 PM
some craic if Derry had been in the frame to get the extra Euro place !