View Full Version : Pre Season Thread

18/01/2010, 12:29 PM
I've heard we have a few games lined up againt Premier Division clubs but have not heard dates as of yet.

Games lined up against:
Sligo Rovers
Shamrock Rovers
Bohemians
Dundalk
Drogheda

I'm sure details will be announced shortly as soon as the FAI have rubber stamped them.

KK77
19/01/2010, 10:13 AM
I've heard we have a few games lined up againt Premier Division clubs but have not heard dates as of yet.

Games lined up against:
Sligo Rovers
Shamrock Rovers
Bohemians
Dundalk
Drogheda

I'm sure details will be announced shortly as soon as the FAI have rubber stamped them.

Any idea if there's a pre-season training camp? I know/think there was one year it was down in Limerick and then Brittas last year. Thanks in advance.

19/01/2010, 11:21 AM
They started last Saturday out in St. Laurances school in Loughlinstown, don't think they have any trips away planned?

tippex
20/01/2010, 9:59 PM
was that not the planned away trip considering how tight things are in the league ;)

Joe Strummer
21/01/2010, 7:45 AM
Bray play Rovers on 9/10 of feb at home date to be confirmed

awec
24/01/2010, 11:14 PM
Hi lads,

When does the season officially start down here? I've never been to any LOI games and Bray are my closest club, so I was looking to fill my friday nights!

Also, this place is kinda quiet, have you got some other secret forum elsewhere?

Most importantly: can you get beer at your ground? :D

25/01/2010, 12:29 AM
I think the season starts on the first or second weekend of march. There is no secret forum and no beer on sale or allowed into the ground. But don't be put off by that, there will still be a good atmosphere in the ground (eh, sometimes), and plenty of drink to be had afterwards.. and before hand if you want :D

Anyhow, you'll be very welcome to spend your Friday nights at Bray's historic sporting venue :cool:

awec
25/01/2010, 9:01 AM
I think the season starts on the first or second weekend of march. There is no secret forum and no beer on sale or allowed into the ground. But don't be put off by that, there will still be a good atmosphere in the ground (eh, sometimes), and plenty of drink to be had afterwards.. and before hand if you want :D

Anyhow, you'll be very welcome to spend your Friday nights at Bray's historic sporting venue :cool:
Where would one drink before and after the game? :D

25/01/2010, 9:53 AM
Where would one drink before and after the game? :D

The Hibo,a 30 second walk away from the Carlisle Grounds.

awec
25/01/2010, 11:11 AM
Cheers

26/01/2010, 4:03 PM
1st confirmed pre season friendly

Sunday, February 28th: Drogheda United v. Bray Wanderers, United Park, 7.45pm

From 11-a-side.com

26/01/2010, 6:12 PM
Saturday 13 February – Bray Wanderers v Dundalk – Goldenball, Kiltiernan, 2pm (http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100118_PreSeason.asp)

Seagull
26/01/2010, 8:23 PM
From club website:

Bray Wanderers have announced a number of pre-season games (subject to confirmation from the League of Ireland) which are as follows:

Bray Wanderers v Sligo Rovers - Saturday 6th February, Carlisle Grounds. Kick-off 2pm.

Bray Wanderers v Shamrock Rovers - Tuesday 9th February, Carlisle Grounds. Kick-off 7.45pm.

Bray Wanderers v Dundalk - Saturday 13th February, Venue: Wayside Celtic ground. Kick-off 2pm.

Bray Wanderers v St. Patrick's Athletic - Monday 22nd February, Carlisle Grounds. Kick-off 7.45pm.

Admission for the above games is as follows:
Adults: €10.00
Child U16 / OAP : €5.00
2010 Bray Wanderers season tickets are valid for the above games.
Please note that the above fixtures are subject to confirmation from the League of Ireland.

awec
27/01/2010, 12:29 AM
A tenner for a friendly? Is that the normal price?!

27/01/2010, 8:00 AM
League, FAI Ford Cup and League Cup games are €15.00 for adults, Pre Season games are a fiver cheaper. Good value and can't bleedin wait to get back oyut watching footie in the Carlisle :D

If your not going to them all i'd pick the games against the 2 Rovers as the ones to watch. We are also sorting out a game against Bohs which has yet to be finalised so maybe that one too.

Seagull
27/01/2010, 3:30 PM
League, FAI Ford Cup and League Cup games are €15.00 for adults, Pre Season games are a fiver cheaper. Good value and can't bleedin wait to get back oyut watching footie in the Carlisle :D

If your not going to them all i'd pick the games against the 2 Rovers as the ones to watch. We are also sorting out a game against Bohs which has yet to be finalised so maybe that one too.

And season tickets are valid for the games, great value!

27/01/2010, 3:47 PM
And season tickets are valid for the games, great value!

Are they ?

All previous season i don't think season tickets have covered pre season games, just double check with the club on this.

Seagull
27/01/2010, 4:22 PM
Are they ?

All previous season i don't think season tickets have covered pre season games, just double check with the club on this.

Well, as quoted on the club website: 2010 Bray Wanderers season tickets are valid for the above games.

awec
27/01/2010, 4:31 PM
Think I'll take in the game next saturday. The pub near the ground, I assume it's not dodgy or anything, and I won't get the stares when people hear my hot northern accent?

28/01/2010, 7:59 AM
Think I'll take in the game next saturday. The pub near the ground, I assume it's not dodgy or anything, and I won't get the stares when people hear my hot northern accent?

Not at all, the Hibo is a Wanderers pub, they advertise with us and the club go down after all games for sambos, tea, pints etc, you'll be fine :) Nice little pub with a grand aul pint.

awec
28/01/2010, 9:58 AM
Excellent!

Grasshopper 99
28/01/2010, 11:08 AM
Bray away to Derry city if relegated, or away to Dundalk if we stay up, league is supposed to start on the weekend of the 5th of march.

28/01/2010, 7:31 PM
Bray away to Derry city if relegated, or away to Dundalk if we stay up, league is supposed to start on the weekend of the 5th of march.

How you no??

Grasshopper 99
29/01/2010, 8:11 AM
How you no??

I was told ;). 3 different people within the club told we as well as an FAI Official told me before hand.

dublinwanderer
10/02/2010, 12:26 PM
Anyone got the line up of the bray v rovers friendly last night?

losing 1 nil wasnt the worst result i suppose!!!!

Bray Head
10/02/2010, 12:30 PM
Anyone got the line up of the bray v rovers friendly last night?

losing 1 nil wasnt the worst result i suppose!!!!

Bray Wanderers: 1 Brian Kane, 2 Daire Doyle (capt), 3 David Tyrell, 4 Philip Knight, 5 Nicky Byrne, 6 James Kavanagh, 7 Ian Tuohy, 8 Chris Shields, 9 Dean Barrett, 10 John Mulroy, 11 Jake Kelly.

Subs: 30 Karl Donnelly (GK) (for Kane h/t), 12 Kieran Waters (for Mulroy 50 mins), 14 Dean Zambra (for Shields 50 mins), 19 Philip Higgins (for Tyrell 50 mins), 15 Dylan Vickers (for Kavanagh 51 mins), 16 David O’Neill (for Tuohy 51 mins), 17 Gareth Fitzsimons (for Vickers 62 mins), 18 Andrei Georgescu (for Kelly 65 mins), 20 Colm Tresson (for Byrne 65 mins), 21 Adam O’Connor for Barett (65 mins).

Shamrock Rovers: 16 Paul Murphy; 13 Pat Flynn, 4 Craig Sives, 19 Dan Murray (c), 11 Ollie Cahill; 6 Steven Rice, 8 James Chambers, 20 Billy Dennehy, 15 Paddy Kavanagh; 9 Gary Twigg, 7 Stephen Bradley.

Subs: 1 Alan Mannus (GK), 5 Aidan Rice, 3 Enda Stevens, 17 Sean O’Connor, 2 Pat Sullivan, 23 Colin Cunning (GK).

Decent effort from Bray after a slow start.

11/02/2010, 9:58 AM
Bray Wanderers: 1 Brian Kane, 2 Daire Doyle (capt), 3 David Tyrell, 4 Philip Knight, 5 Nicky Byrne, 6 James Kavanagh, 7 Ian Tuohy, 8 Chris Shields, 9 Dean Barrett, 10 John Mulroy, 11 Jake Kelly.

Subs: 30 Karl Donnelly (GK) (for Kane h/t), 12 Kieran Waters (for Mulroy 50 mins), 14 Dean Zambra (for Shields 50 mins), 19 Philip Higgins (for Tyrell 50 mins), 15 Dylan Vickers (for Kavanagh 51 mins), 16 David O’Neill (for Tuohy 51 mins), 17 Gareth Fitzsimons (for Vickers 62 mins), 18 Andrei Georgescu (for Kelly 65 mins), 20 Colm Tresson (for Byrne 65 mins), 21 Adam O’Connor for Barett (65 mins).

Shamrock Rovers: 16 Paul Murphy; 13 Pat Flynn, 4 Craig Sives, 19 Dan Murray (c), 11 Ollie Cahill; 6 Steven Rice, 8 James Chambers, 20 Billy Dennehy, 15 Paddy Kavanagh; 9 Gary Twigg, 7 Stephen Bradley.

Subs: 1 Alan Mannus (GK), 5 Aidan Rice, 3 Enda Stevens, 17 Sean O’Connor, 2 Pat Sullivan, 23 Colin Cunning (GK).

Decent effort from Bray after a slow start.
I am a tad confused I thought Colm Tresson had retired altogether??

11/02/2010, 11:19 AM
I am a tad confused I thought Colm Tresson had retired altogether??

We all did ;) but the great man has come back for one last season (unless he keeps going past next season) Great for the young lads to have someone so experienced around the squad

12/02/2010, 4:50 PM
We all did ;) but the great man has come back for one last season (unless he keeps going past next season) Great for the young lads to have someone so experienced around the squad

good news for ye so.. I am surprised Daire Doyle is staying with ye.. I thought he was being tipped to move on so?

Bray Head
13/02/2010, 4:34 PM
3-1 to Dundalk who looked much stronger. Bray had a few new faces who are probably on trial.

Dillonman
13/02/2010, 5:30 PM
Lineups and all for ye:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dundalk-Ireland/Dundalk-FC-Direct-from-Oriel-Park/273061602083?ref=ts#!/pages/Dundalk-Ireland/Dundalk-FC-Direct-from-Oriel-Park/273061602083?v=app_2373072738&ref=ts

SMorgan
13/02/2010, 8:06 PM

You'll be at home to Dundalk if you stay up.

awec
15/02/2010, 12:11 AM
Why is this next friendly on a Monday night?

tippex
15/02/2010, 9:11 AM
the next friendly is tomorrow night against BOHS.

awec
16/02/2010, 1:11 AM
Feck.