View Full Version : Brazil in London
Larssonisghod
15/01/2010, 7:38 PM
any accomadation/pub/transport help from london lads?
fly in early tuesday to stanstead. Any alternative to stanstead express? any B&Bs etc near finsbury pk or anywhere near ground? dont fancy payin loads for a hotel im hardly gonna see. any tips, post here..
16/01/2010, 9:48 AM
no alternative by train, only buses and they go to bethnal green and golders green, finchley road and a few other places like that. not too close to the emirates. But transport in london is pretty good in fairness. If you get the stansted express you can get off at totenham hale, and then get the victoria to finsbury park, and walk to the emirates. so if you were on an afternoon flight or mid afternnon flight you could still make the game in plenty of time. there are loads of "hotels" down around seven sisters road, basic accomodation but cheap.
Greenforever
16/01/2010, 11:38 AM
Paul
Any Premier Inn / Holiday Inn near the ground?
Any pubs open late enough to get the early morning edition of the papers? :D
GF
been there
16/01/2010, 12:15 PM
going over monday Belfast/Stansted would anybody know any Hotels where i could
get a late drink
Greenforever
16/01/2010, 12:29 PM
going over monday Belfast/Stansted would anybody know any Hotels where i could
get a late drink
Taught you were off the beer :D
Is Seamus going over with you?
Heading over Tues early with the usual gang,
Sure we'll meet up somewhere.
GF
been there
16/01/2010, 1:16 PM
Ya Seamus going he not sure of airports either Belfast or Derry.We are spoilt for choice
down here.
Greenforever
16/01/2010, 2:47 PM
Ya Seamus going he not sure of airports either Belfast or Derry.We are spoilt for choice
down here.
Since when is Donegal down :D:D
Staying in Jurys Islington
zenokelly
16/01/2010, 9:18 PM
Flying out Luton tuesday morning, back Gatwick wednesday, €26 return.
As of yet no accomodation booked.
Larssonisghod
17/01/2010, 11:47 AM
Paul
Any Premier Inn / Holiday Inn near the ground?
snap..somewhere cheap and cheerful.. anyone know of any?
17/01/2010, 6:50 PM
there is one and that travelodge crowd in kings cross which isn't far at all from holloway road/or finsbury park i.e. the emirates stadium. 10 mins on tube or so.
Do people want me to put up places? ive never obviouslly stayed in any of these but they are handy places to get home to ireland the morning after and also to teh game.
Islington/kings cross/finsbury park all handy areas, though none of them great areas ,especially for going out!!! Oneills leicester square afterwards would probably be the best spot....
zenokelly
17/01/2010, 7:36 PM
I think I'll hold out on booking accomodation for another while.
I would like a place that will be convenient to where fans will be having a few pints post-match but obviously like the rest of yous I'm not sure of where that will be yet.
ArdeeBhoy
17/01/2010, 10:36 PM
Noticed a few clues to meet-ups on the, er, YBIG forum. Nothing great accomodation-wise, other than what O'S has suggested.
Google or similar, is yer friend here.
Babysis
19/01/2010, 6:39 PM
Heya lads, as Paul says, check out the hotels around Finsbury Park, Holloway, Green Lanes. Plenty there in a good location to the ground and finsbury Park tube.
Junior
28/01/2010, 2:47 PM
The Quays, Holloway Road
Whats the craic lads - handy enough for the Emirates?
28/01/2010, 6:30 PM
The Quays, Holloway Road
Whats the craic lads - handy enough for the Emirates?
10 minutes walk at most.
Out of the pub turn right. At Holloway Road Station, cross the road and you're there.
Junior
29/01/2010, 9:03 AM
10 minutes walk at most.
Out of the pub turn right. At Holloway Road Station, cross the road and you're there.
Cheers.
The BibleCode Sundays are playing there after the game I believe.
Pat O' Banton
31/01/2010, 7:57 AM
Although not really my patch anymore starting at the Archway Tavern (about 45 minutes walk from the ground there is one big long selection of pubs on the Holloway Road.)
Working down from there The Mother Redcap is in Archway and is a good old style London Irish pub & used to do one of the finest pints of stout in the city. The Quays is also a decent spot (although I think that Superhoops maybe drinking with Usain Bolt if he's making it to the gound in ten minutes!) it also charges Dublin prices. For the Goths amoungst us the Big Red is okay. If your skinto the Coronet is a big souless Wetherspoons effort that serves cheap beer and normally has at least a decent selection of ale. Tommy Flynns is one of the nearest spots to the ground and isn't to bad & despite being packed when you walk in if you perservere to the back of the pub you will find a spot to stand.
Babysis
31/01/2010, 7:52 PM
Although not really my patch anymore starting at the Archway Tavern (about 45 minutes walk from the ground there is one big long selection of pubs on the Holloway Road.)
Working down from there The Mother Redcap is in Archway and is a good old style London Irish pub & used to do one of the finest pints of stout in the city. The Quays is also a decent spot (although I think that Superhoops maybe drinking with Usain Bolt if he's making it to the gound in ten minutes!) it also charges Dublin prices. For the Goths amoungst us the Big Red is okay. If your skinto the Coronet is a big souless Wetherspoons effort that serves cheap beer and normally has at least a decent selection of ale. Tommy Flynns is one of the nearest spots to the ground and isn't to bad & despite being packed when you walk in if you perservere to the back of the pub you will find a spot to stand.
Are you down for the match Mr Banton?? If you are I shall be in the 12 pins pre match. :)
The Quays is a great spot, but as far as I know they were closing at 11pm whereas the 12 Pins at Finsbury Park station is open till midnight.
Pat O' Banton
01/02/2010, 6:36 AM
Yep, going with the brat (cue diplomatic incident between Ireland & Brazil!) 12 Pins it is kidder.
Junior
02/02/2010, 1:00 PM
The Quays is a great spot, but as far as I know they were closing at 11pm whereas the 12 Pins at Finsbury Park station is open till midnight.
I havent checked but one of the lads from the band said they were on after the match, so cant be starting earlier than say 10pm? Id imagine it will be open later than 11pm somehow..
Is there any plans for a foot.ie pre match drink?
if not
anyone fancy a few jars or 10 before the match?
zenokelly
04/02/2010, 9:31 PM
if not
anyone fancy a few jars or 10 before the match?
Looks like it's going to be the Quays on Holloway Road that's going to be the venue before and after according to YBIG
twoenz
05/02/2010, 12:44 PM
I'm staying in Highbury at a mates new place.
That's pretty close to both the Emirates and the Quays, isn't it?
finbarrk
08/02/2010, 12:47 PM
The Quays is a good pub. The Drayton Park pub is a good spot for pre match beers as it's only across the road from the stadium.
ArdeeBhoy
08/02/2010, 10:31 PM
Except that the only people who ever use it are away fans for Arsenal games.....Far more choice on Holloway Road/in Finsbury Park/Archway.
finbarrk
09/02/2010, 6:58 PM
I know there is more choices on Holloway Road, but the Drayton is handy because it's so close.
back of the net
10/02/2010, 2:34 PM
Lads,
Ive never been to Emirates before , hope to book tickets within the next few days.
Anyone have any ideas where are the best areas of the stadium to sit? I.E, the more Irish fans in the area the better.
Suggestions welcome and Appreciated
Cheers
B.O.T.N
Tipp Townie
11/02/2010, 11:09 AM
Lads,
Ive never been to Emirates before , hope to book tickets within the next few days.
Anyone have any ideas where are the best areas of the stadium to sit? I.E, the more Irish fans in the area the better.
Suggestions welcome and Appreciated
Cheers
B.O.T.N
I second that request. There was another thread on this match somewhere else on here, but i can't find it now.
Please could someone point us in the right direction for the best areas of the ground? On a budget mind, i cant afford the really expensive tickets!
cheers
TT
11/02/2010, 10:46 PM
Why is there an advert on this website for a ticket agency that is charging way over the odds for tickets for the Brazil game in London? :confused:
back of the net
11/02/2010, 10:49 PM
Why is there an advert on this website for a ticket agency that is charging way over the odds for tickets for the Brazil game in London? :confused:
By any chance did you or any1 else have trouble trying to book the tickets online?
everytime i click "complete purchase" it tells me that the site is "down for maintenance"!!!
finbarrk
12/02/2010, 11:07 PM
I have to ask the same question. If me or you offered a ticket at a tenner over face value on here we would get slated.
14/02/2010, 3:24 PM
By any chance did you or any1 else have trouble trying to book the tickets online?
everytime i click "complete purchase" it tells me that the site is "down for maintenance"!!!
I bought mine by telephone +44 20 7649 9003 or +44842 2773625 on the morning they started selling to the public. I had a seating plan of the stadium when booking. Got 6 tickets no problem and they arrived by post last week.
back of the net
14/02/2010, 4:44 PM
I bought mine by telephone +44 20 7649 9003 or +44842 2773625 on the morning they started selling to the public. I had a seating plan of the stadium when booking. Got 6 tickets no problem and they arrived by post last week.
Thks for that SuperHoops - appreciate it.
managed to get the link working eventually. Got the tickets in behind goal on the lower tier. On the site when u clicked the area u wanted to buy a ticket for it gave u a photo view of the pitch from that area - which was cool.
Really looking forward to the game, and to great times ahead for the fans and the team
14/02/2010, 11:30 PM
I have to ask the same question. If me or you offered a ticket at a tenner over face value on here we would get slated.
The silence from the mods is deafening.
dan o d
16/02/2010, 8:38 PM
cant understand how ronaldinho isnt in the brazil squad having seen him tonight against united
back of the net
16/02/2010, 8:46 PM
cant understand how ronaldinho isnt in the brazil squad having seen him tonight against united
Cant Understand??
He was a shadow of the player he once was against united tonight.
Thought he was very limited. I can see why he isnt in the Brazil squad
16/02/2010, 8:49 PM
Cant Understand??
He was a shadow of the player he once was against united tonight.
Thought he was very limited. I can see why he isnt in the Brazil squad
He's been a lot better this season I think he might just get into the WC squad
19/02/2010, 8:34 AM
not sure I'll be going now. No interest whatsoever from mates/family for this one to make a session out of it. Brazil in London what isn't there to like?!
back of the net
19/02/2010, 10:08 AM
not sure I'll be going now. No interest whatsoever from mates/family for this one to make a session out of it. Brazil in London what isn't there to like?!
Think the main problem shaker is that its on a tuesday - that means take 2 days off work - expenses - early on in the year - we havent qualified for the w.cup , so prob a bit of anti climax for some fans.
My 2 mates and I are heading over , some of the other lads who go to games with us normally aint going --- Think if it was on a friday u wud see ppl much more enthuastic about it
Also think the fact that we played brazil in 2007 makes it less appealing.This will be the 3rd time weve played them in the last 5 years --- mainly think its down to holiday and financial reasons for most fans who aint attending
back of the net
19/02/2010, 10:13 AM
He's been a lot better this season I think he might just get into the WC squad
was referring to his performance the other night gustavo - thought he looked extremely limited at times (thats not doubting his class)
Also considering the tactics used by Dunga for brazil, i think he may consider a player of Ronaldinho's type and form surplus to requirements considering the other players he has in that area of the field and that they are in better form than ronaldinho.
Well thats the way i read it anyhow
rgds
ArdeeBhoy
22/02/2010, 9:00 AM
if not anyone fancy a few jars or 10 before the match?
Also be some of the, er, older contingent in The Twelve Pins at Finsbury Pins which is easier to get to & marginally closer.
The other place is a bit of a rip-off kip & full of kids....if you were 30 you'd feel old in there!
supasparx
24/02/2010, 7:29 PM
For those who haven't bought tickets yet enter BvRI1155 in the promo code Box on the Arsenal website and get 20% off
FarBeag
25/02/2010, 8:08 PM
For those who haven't bought tickets yet enter BvRI1155 in the promo code Box on the Arsenal website and get 20% off
Good man. Thanks for that.
aidz1
01/03/2010, 12:47 PM
Has there ever been an Irish game that has got so little interest on here???!!!!!
None of our crowd are going to this. Just as well, considering the expense needed for the upcoming away qualifiers
I almost forgot it was on to be honest!
Not that dear a trip though, Flights were only €20 return.
Junior
01/03/2010, 2:58 PM
I heard elsewere that attendance is thought to be 50k+ based on current ticket sales. Ive no idea if that is accurate or not.
EastTerracer
01/03/2010, 6:48 PM
Has there ever been an Irish game that has got so little interest on here???!!!!!
None of our crowd are going to this. Just as well, considering the expense needed for the upcoming away qualifiers
I think there will be a good few traveling for the game tomorrow and the English-based fans will put out a good crowd as well. My only concern is that there is no dedicated Irish end for the stadium so it might be a bit difficult to get any consistent singing going. I know 12 lads sitting around me and we'll make an effort but might not be able to make ourselves heard!
IsMiseSean
01/03/2010, 10:12 PM
I think there will be a good few traveling for the game tomorrow and the English-based fans will put out a good crowd as well. My only concern is that there is no dedicated Irish end for the stadium so it might be a bit difficult to get any consistent singing going. I know 12 lads sitting around me and we'll make an effort but might not be able to make ourselves heard!
Well I'll try join in if I hear you!!