View Full Version : Clare League - Team of the Decade

Planners
15/01/2010, 8:56 AM
Lads
Saw the thread open for Limerick - what about Clare - what would your team of the decade be ?

YNWA
15/01/2010, 1:36 PM
Lads
Saw the thread open for Limerick - what about Clare - what would your team of the decade be ?

What would your best 11 of the decade be planners your around alot longer then me so cant really pick.

Planners
15/01/2010, 2:08 PM
What would your best 11 of the decade be planners your around alot longer then me so cant really pick.

Athough I played against / with alot lot of guys - names aren't my best -
Here goes

Radu ?
S Lawlor - E Kelly - D Devitt - P Fahy
M Malley - B Kelly - D Russell - D O Grady
H Kelly :D- S Hickey

Subs - - M devitt , J Stretton , T Toomey;)

Hows that ?:confused:

CousinSylDolan
16/01/2010, 7:23 AM
Tough to think of all players but here is my 1st stab at it anyway...

John Healy (Avenue)
Pa Fahy (Bunratty:D)
Brendan Rochford (Avenue)
David Russell (Avenue)
David Hogan (Bunratty)
Brian Kelly (Rineanna)
Mike O'Malley (Newmarket)
Greg Deegan (Bridge Utd)
Scales (Bunratty)
Mickey Mahoney (Avenue)
Johnny Daly (Moher)

Truth Meister
16/01/2010, 5:02 PM
1. J. Healy
2. Crusher Murphy
3. P. Fahy
4. J. Stretton
5. B. Rochford
6. M. O'Malley
7. S. Lindsay
8. D. Russell
9. D. Wall
10. B. Kelly
11. J. Daly

Subs: Skinny, M Devitt, G Deegan, Scales, M. Mahony

Truth Meister
16/01/2010, 5:18 PM
your taking the mickey planners.

terrible team

i'm alot younger than you(most people are:D) but from what i remember this would be mine..

j hanrahan

p fahy b rochford s lawlor n lawlor

m o malley b kelly d wall

j daly p carr m mahoney

not everyone will agree with my choices but from what i can remember these are my choices..solid keeper seen it all.2 pacey full back good solid centre halves..midfield ball winners with plenty of goals in them.3 proven front men all good goal scorers..

Paul Car was a superb player but only played about 10 months football in Clare during the last decade. Pa Fahy is not a right back but would be in the team at left back:ball:

devilfish
16/01/2010, 5:30 PM
Ok here goes: Based mine on lads that have played and stayed in the league for the majority of the past decade

GK - Darren Whelan
RB - Mike Devitt
CB - David Russell
CB - B. Rochford
LB - R. Lillis
RM - Brian Kelly
CM - G. Deegan
CM - Mike O Malley
LM - Jimmy Houlihan
CF - Mikey Mahoney
CF - Johnnie Daly

Subs - Cheeky, Crusher, B. Downes,

rainman
16/01/2010, 8:53 PM
GK. Darren Whelan
RB. Derek Byrne
LB. Pa Fahy
CB. Brendan Roachford
CB. Davy Russell
CM. Brian Kelly
CM. Mike O'Malley
RM. Dec Adams
CF. Johnny Daly
CF. Mikey Mahoney
LM. Jimmy Houlihan

Truth Meister
17/01/2010, 9:40 AM
pa fahy has played as a right back many times..did he not line out there last year for rineanna in cup final.....anyway there isnt too many outstanding right backs in clare that i can remember...as for paul carr i still think even with only a few years in clare he's one of the best to have played in league..(which is what this forum is about):o

The thread was started on the back of the Limerick one, where the criteria for selecting the team is laid out - its based on sustained and consistant level of performance in the position for which the player is selected over the 10 year period from Jan 2000 to Dec 2009. Based on that - neither Pa Fahy would not be selected at right back - he is an excellent left back and Paul Carr, talented as he is would not even be considered.

Truth Meister
17/01/2010, 2:17 PM
i think if you read planners 1st post it states what would your team of decade be..nothing about playing constantly over the decade...which brings me to your team????.if i'm right did john healy and davy wall not spend most of the decade outside clare...??????

He did say there is a limerick thread so there should also be a clare one which would logically follow the same criteria?? Fair point on those 2, both probably played 4 seasons and were consistantly good for those seasons but not enough to merit inclusion. 2 very good players though.

avenueC
17/01/2010, 3:49 PM
good debate on this one, all personal tastes i suppose
here is my effort!!!

wheelers
crusher , brenden rochford ,noel donnellen, seamie lawlor

dave of grady, mike malley, david russell , jox kelly

scales , mikey mahony

old git
17/01/2010, 7:26 PM
1. J. Healy
2. Crusher Murphy
3. P. Fahy
4. J. Stretton
5. B. Rochford
6. M. O'Malley
7. S. Lindsay
8. D. Russell
9. D. Wall
10. B. Kelly
11. J. Daly

Subs: Skinny, M Devitt, G Deegan, Scales, M. Mahony

truth meister going by your new rules on picking team .. following players cannot be included ... need a rethink on 5 players :D:D
crusher murphy played with park in limerick league
p fahy played / signed with park in limerick league
j stretton played with shannon town ??
d wall played with fairview
m' o malley played with fairview also i think

mister tee
18/01/2010, 7:25 AM
good debate on this one, all personal tastes i suppose
here is my effort!!!

wheelers
crusher , brenden rochford ,noel donnellen, seamie lawlor

dave of grady, mike malley, david russell , jox kelly

scales , mikey mahony
thats probably the worst two center halfs of the decade

Truth Meister
18/01/2010, 8:25 AM
truth meister going by your new rules on picking team .. following players cannot be included ... need a rethink on 5 players :D:D

They are not my rules at all, it makes sense to take into account the number of games the players have played in the league. You will find that all the above bar D Wall (6 years) and Crusher (2 years??)had one season out of clare and the rest in Clare. I dont think that would exclude them. My main point was that Paul Carr played 6 months football in Clare over the last 10 years - how can you include him on that basis??:ball:

Avenue1990
18/01/2010, 8:26 AM

Did Davy Russell not play with Park for a time?
David O Grady has spent most of his time with Pike
S Lawlor had a spell with Pike.
Daryll Eade with Pike.

maybe the thread needs to be renamed - best clare team of the decade that has only played in Clare!

Heres my go -

1.Radoo (Newtown)
2.Pa Fahy
3.Niall Lawlor
4.B. Rochford
5.David Hogan
6.Brian Kelly
7.Sean Lyndsey
8.Damien alford
9. Eddie McCarthy
10.Kieran Collins
11.Mikey Mahoney

12. Hugh Kelly

MGR - The real Hugh Kelly

papa-j
18/01/2010, 9:34 AM
Here's mine

1. Skinny
2. Derek Byrne
3. Pa Fahy
4. Denis Murphy
5. Brendan Rochford
6. Mike o'Malley
7. Dave Russell
8. Brian Kelly
9. Johnny Daly
10. Eddie McCarthy
11. Sean Lindsay

Few others are Glen Coyle, Dave Hogan, Noel Donnellan, Daniel Aherne, Greg Deegan, Barry Downes, Seamie and Niall Lawlor, Mike o Mahony

mister tee
18/01/2010, 9:36 AM
Ok here goes: Based mine on lads that have played and stayed in the league for the majority of the past decade

GK - Darren Whelan
RB - Mike Devitt
CB - David Russell
CB - B. Rochford
LB - R. Lillis
RM - Brian Kelly
CM - G. Deegan
CM - Mike O Malley
LM - Jimmy Houlihan
CF - Mikey Mahoney
CF - Johnnie Daly

Subs - Cheeky, Crusher, B. Downes,

now lads this is the best team of the decade,
radu
d burns d russell a finnan p fahy
s lindsey p carr b kelly d eade
nabs s hickey

Planners
18/01/2010, 10:23 AM
Heres my go -

1.Radoo (Newtown)
2.Pa Fahy
3.Niall Lawlor
4.B. Rochford
5.David Hogan
6.Brian Kelly
7.Sean Lyndsey
8.Damien alford
9. Eddie McCarthy
10.Kieran Collins11.Mikey Mahoney

12. Hugh Kelly

What age was KC - even giving him the decade he still wasn't younger than 40 :D

Stanley
18/01/2010, 12:42 PM
GK R. Sulc
RB D. Byrnes
LB P. Fahy
SW J. Stretton
CB D. Russell
CM M. O'Malley
CM B. Kelly
RM J. Houlihan
LM S. Lindsay
CF S. Hickey
CF D. Wall

SUBS
J. Healy
Crusher
Scales
N. Donnellan
D. Eade

old git
18/01/2010, 2:07 PM
Did Davy Russell not play with Park for a time?
David O Grady has spent most of his time with Pike
S Lawlor had a spell with Pike.
Daryll Eade with Pike.

maybe the thread needs to be renamed - best clare team of the decade that has only played in Clare!

Heres my go -

1.Radoo (Newtown)
2.Pa Fahy
3.Niall Lawlor
4.B. Rochford
5.David Hogan
6.Brian Kelly
7.Sean Lyndsey
8.Damien alford
9. Eddie McCarthy
10.Kieran Collins
11.Mikey Mahoney

12. Hugh Kelly

MGR - The real Hugh Kelly

clare team of the decade !!
then your n0 2 pa fahy is out as he played for park rangers
and no 10 kieran collins played with fairview :p

old git
18/01/2010, 2:09 PM
They are not my rules at all, it makes sense to take into account the number of games the players have played in the league. You will find that all the above bar D Wall (6 years) and Crusher (2 years??)had one season out of clare and the rest in Clare. I dont think that would exclude them. My main point was that Paul Carr played 6 months football in Clare over the last 10 years - how can you include him on that basis??:ball:

include carr on his ability alone ... even if he only played a while in clare :ball:

studsup
18/01/2010, 3:20 PM
What's wrong with including players who left the Clare League for a year or two? I think the players in question did enough to merit a place in the team of the decade, just because they played in Limerick for a year or two shouldn't be a reason not to include them although I agree that Bunny Carr shouldn't be in the team because he only played 6 months.

Planners
18/01/2010, 3:55 PM
What's wrong with including players who left the Clare League for a year or two? I think the players in question did enough to merit a place in the team of the decade, just because they played in Limerick for a year or two shouldn't be a reason not to include them although I agree that Bunny Carr shouldn't be in the team because he only played 6 months.

OK Lads why don;t we restrict the picking to players that have played only in the CDSL -

avenueC
18/01/2010, 4:41 PM
are we putting in 2 different teams as well , like planners has??

a decade consists of 10 yrs so players who have been in clare for a lot of that ten yrs should be in it. surely collie was not playing in the 2000's

plenty of good teams there, youd have thought clare would have featured a lot more in the lattter stages of the oscar more.

old git
18/01/2010, 6:49 PM
are we putting in 2 different teams as well , like planners has??

a decade consists of 10 yrs so players who have been in clare for a lot of that ten yrs should be in it. surely collie was not playing in the 2000's

plenty of good teams there, youd have thought clare would have featured a lot more in the lattter stages of the oscar more.

collie would have been in his early 30tys back at start of decade and he also played for newmarket b for the last 2 seasons :eek:

why not just pick players you think were the best in last decade
wether they only played 1-2 or longer in clare alot of good players out their who moved to other leagues / injured etc :ball:

Prem Rep!
19/01/2010, 10:18 AM
Many great players through the years. I've based mine on those who have played predominantly in the Clare league.

Keepers: Skinney, James Hanrahan, Johnny Purtill, Jason Casey

RB: Derek Byrne, Niall Lawlor, Mike Devitt
LB: Glen Coyle, Pa Fahy, Richie Lillis

CH: Denis Murphy, Dave Russell, Brian Kennedy (Newmarket), Noel Donnellan
SW: Davy Hogan, Jason Stretton, Jon Downes, Gearoid Mannix

RW: Scales, Cathal Moloney
LW: Jimmy Houlahan, Greg Deegan
CM: Brian Kelly, Mike O'Malley, Ger Dullaghan, Sean Lindsey, Con Collins, Dan Aherne

CF: Johnny Daly, Beezer Murphy, Hugh Kelly
ST: Mike O'Mahoney, Trevor Toomey, Trevor Maxwell, Kevin Johnston

Tough one to pick but here goes

1. Skinney (Newtown, Bridge, Newmarket - 3 Premier League Medals)
2. Niall Lawlor (Newmarket - 1 prem, 1 cup)
3. Glen Coyle (Newtown, Olympic 1 Prem, 1 First)
4. Davy Hogan (Bunratty, Newtown - 2 prem, 1 First, 3 cups)
5.Dennis Murphy (Bridge, Tulla 1 Prem)
6. Scales (Bunratty 2 prem, 1 First, 3 cups)
7. Brian Kelly (Rineanna 1 Cup, 1 First)
8.Mike Malley (Newmarket - 1 prem, 1 cup)
9. Greg Deegan (Bridge, Newtown 2 Prem, 1 first)
10. Beezer Murphy (Bridge 2 Prem, 1 first)
11. Mike O'Mahoney (Avenue 2 Prem, 2 cup)

talisman
19/01/2010, 11:00 AM
Many great players through the years. I've based mine on those who have played predominantly in the Clare league.

CM: Brian Kelly, Mike O'Malley, Ger Dullaghan, Sean Lindsey, Con Collins, Dan Aherne

ST: Mike O'Mahoney, Trevor Toomey, Trevor Maxwell

4. Davy Hogan (Bunratty, Newtown - 2 prem, 1 First, 3 cups)

You're being a bit bias including one or two Bridge Utd players there Premrep:) and you've left out players from your shortlist that baffles me. Fairly sure that skinny wasn't at Newmarket the year they won the league, maybe he was out with ye for the two leagues:confused: ? A lot of question marks over a few big omissions from your shortlist

devilfish
19/01/2010, 11:10 AM

ST: Mike O'Mahoney, Trevor Toomey, Trevor Maxwell

4. Davy Hogan (Bunratty, Newtown - 2 prem (3 Prem), 1 First, 3 cups)

Correction: 3 Premier medals!!:D

Prem Rep!
19/01/2010, 11:11 AM
Yeah, I'm sure I've left lads out. I can only base it on lads I played against or played with. Correct me if I'm wrong but all of the players on my list including shortlist played all their football in Clare?? Think Derel Byrne and Dave Russell may have had stints in Limerick?
Skinny won one prem with Bridge and I think one with Newtown but is he the only ever present Premier League keeper in the decade??

Prem Rep!
19/01/2010, 11:13 AM
Correction: 3 Premier medals!!:D

Apologies df :)

Planners
19/01/2010, 11:39 AM
New rule lads - the only players you can pick is those who have served 20 yrs plus with the 1 club and are still playing / available for selection :D:D:D

talisman
19/01/2010, 12:01 PM
Yeah, I'm sure I've left lads out. I can only base it on lads I played against or played with. Correct me if I'm wrong but all of the players on my list including shortlist played all their football in Clare?? Think Derel Byrne and Dave Russell may have had stints in Limerick?
Skinny won one prem with Bridge and I think one with Newtown but is he the only ever present Premier League keeper in the decade??

No Scales played with Pike and Park during the decade, Mike Malley played with Fairview. Not sure about Dan Aherne but I think he had a brief stint with Janesboro.

My team would be 3-4-3
1. Darren Whelan
-
2. David Russell
3. Seamus Lawlor
5. Brendan Rochford
-
7. Scales
4. Brian Kelly
8. Mike O'Malley
6. Greg Deegan
-
10. Davy Wall
9. Johnny Daly
11. Trevor Twomey

devilfish
19/01/2010, 12:06 PM
New rule lads - the only players you can pick is those who have served 20 yrs plus with the 1 club and are still playing / available for selection :D:D:D

Lads, will someone include HK in their team....he is getting a little desperate now..poor bloke.

avenueC
19/01/2010, 12:24 PM
some great teams lads.. couple of blasts from the past!!

everyone could put a different team and it would be a good one...

avenueC
19/01/2010, 2:35 PM
what did hacker say that was so bad he got a complete ban, theres been a lot worse been said on other threads,, maybe just a repeat offender

Kicks
19/01/2010, 3:26 PM

you'd still only make the bench

old git
19/01/2010, 11:26 PM
You're being a bit bias including one or two Bridge Utd players there Premrep:) and you've left out players from your shortlist that baffles me. Fairly sure that skinny wasn't at Newmarket the year they won the league, maybe he was out with ye for the two leagues:confused: ? A lot of question marks over a few big omissions from your shortlist

so who were the big omissions he left out ,..:confused:

avenueC
20/01/2010, 9:01 AM
its the team of the 2000-2010 decade, not the 1990's

fonzo was class, hard as nails fearless

LegendStriker10
20/01/2010, 10:28 AM
thats a fact, the likes of malley skinny casey johhny purtill mannix were all leading lights in the 90's
avenue team of the 2000's? gonna have to exercise the grey matter on this one an think who was and was not playing from '00 to '10

james hanrahan
karl hogan , mannix , brendan rochford mattie nugent
barry nugent david o grady david russell darryl eade
mikey mahoney tom carmody(only there a few yrs but quality!)

Lads please this site was opened for the Clare team of the decade ,how it turned into an Avenue team of the decade il never know . Please open up an Avenue thread if ye want to discuss this before the rest of us get sick from looking at it .

Play_On
20/01/2010, 10:58 AM
its the team of the 2000-2010 decade, not the 1990's

fonzo was class, hard as nails fearless

2000-2010 is 11 years so that makes it impossible to be a decade.

This thread is Clare League - Team of the Decade (for the 2000-2009 decade), and no where in the criteria does it ask for an Avenue team of the decade so no need for the Avenue heads to be taking a trip down memory lane on this forum. The Avenue website could do with a few hits so head off there with that kind of tripe

out red
20/01/2010, 12:36 PM
here goes mine
GK J. Casey
RB D. Byrnes
LB P. Fahy
SW S. Lawlor
CB B Rochford
CM G. Deegan
CM B. Kelly
RM M. O Malley
LM J Clohessy
CF B. Casey ( cant believe his not mentoned here already. class act)
CF D. Wall

20/01/2010, 12:38 PM
Separate thread open for Avenue,open a separate thread if you want to talk about any other team than Clare League team.

Prem Rep!
20/01/2010, 3:08 PM
Lads please this site was opened for the Clare team of the decade ,how it turned into an Avenue team of the decade il never know . Please open up an Avenue thread if ye want to discuss this before the rest of us get sick from looking at it .

Contribute so instead of whinging about other members views!

LegendStriker10
20/01/2010, 3:20 PM
Contribute so instead of whinging about other members views!

I did contribute I told ye to stick to the topic :eek:

Planners
21/01/2010, 10:11 AM
Lads - the following criteria is required for each position - based on the criteria can you please advise your team of the decade

Goals - Must have 'great goalmouth presence'.....which is secret code for being big enough to have his own gravitational pull. 40-50 age bracket, this is a gent that will almost convince you that he played youths for the county , even though the last time he got his knees dirtydiving was at a ceili in 1965 when his version of the Hucklebuck went out of control, with numerous casualties.
Right back - The quiet man of the line-up he seems to escape the jokes in the dressing-room just because no-one has ever seen him angry and are afraid of hidden depths. Contact with a woman consists of the handshake at mass on a Sunday morning
Centre Back - First started playing soccer some time in the Pleistocene Epoch. Nicknamed Sledge like "yer man outta U2". Will get a nose-bleed if he passes beyond the halfway line. Utterly, utterly useless and yet is a great hit with the fans. Quite likes the smell of blood
Sweeper - Just out of youths, this boyo is sadly not going to get anywhere near the senior team... and yet hasn't missed a training session since early 1989. selection is basically the manager's way of proving that he "doesn't give a damn who you are, if you're not down training we're not going to give you a game".
Left back - Has all the soccer skills of a piece of cheese and yet has been known to disappear up centre-forward's arses for days on end. An absolute cast-iron guarantee to be made mark the other team's young and absurdly fast superstar in the making
Right midfield - Quietly-spoken business-man who hails from the village but is living in Dublin. Drives a flash motor. Lads who live in the pub in the town don't know what to make of him "but he was an awful annoying b0ll0x in national school
Left Midfield - The village thug, who invariably sports an ear-ring and a seriously dodgy haircut. Will be involved with the referee within five minutes of the kick off. . Has had a running battle with the club secretary who secretly fears for the virtue of his youngest daughter
Centre Mid - Hasn't scored since the end of the war but is captain of the team and an all-out nut case. The line commonly quoted to excuse his complete inability to find the target is "he's a good man to bust up the play." Doesn't feel satisfied unless his jersey is stained in blood...not his own. Will no doubt be marked by a similar figure playing for the opposition. Only at junior will his opposite number play the game the exact same way, and could even switch positions with no effect on how the team plays whatsoever.
Centre mid - Third of the set of brothers that includes the left back and right midfielder. Is the target of all the brother's clearances...ALL of them. Probably the local A.I. man or something....by the way that's not A.I. in the Steven Spielberg meaning of the word
Striker 1 - Happily married man who hasn't played since he was 12 but has suddenly decided to take up the game again. Natural talent completely and utterly overshadowed (like his genitalia) by his beer belly. Guaranteed to bag a goal or two and again for himself some ridiculous nickname like "Schillaci" or something.
Striker 2 - Utterly, utterly useless 25 year old who by some fluke of nature happens to be a deadly accurate free-taker. Tries to avoid open play altogether as he is far too important to the team to get injured. Is basically the team's only source of goals.

Planners
21/01/2010, 10:31 AM
Sounds like the rovers team :-) with planners up front

we were thinking more like Moher or the Burren - St Pats might get a look in as well - NOF could have a few on this team

21/01/2010, 12:18 PM
Keep it on topic lads,cut out the crap.