View Full Version : First competitive game of the season (Feb 22nd)

15/01/2010, 1:26 PM
Meanwhile, Sligo Rovers’ Setanta game against Cork City has been rescheduled for Monday, February 22.

It will be Rovers’ first competitive game of 2010, and they are due to play Cliftonville at home in the same competition the following weekend.

http://oceanfm.ie/news/2010/01/15/rovers-setanta-game-re-fixed-as-derry-are-expelled/

CF1989
15/01/2010, 1:58 PM
stock up the chewing gum.......get dooley on the bus.........

Jeebus
15/01/2010, 2:05 PM
stock up the chewing gum.......get dooley on the bus.........

Get yer own song!!!:mad: :D

DonalE
15/01/2010, 3:16 PM
Surely we'll get enough for a bus..... ie 7

15/01/2010, 3:29 PM
Surely we'll get enough for a bus..... ie 7

The Magnificent 7! Pants off in Lidl again Rory?

15/01/2010, 4:17 PM
That sexy dress you wore is still in NIR Donal. D'you want it again?

DonalE
15/01/2010, 4:36 PM
Certainly, sprinkle it with a drop of holy water when you're bringing it out the door please.... or maybe get Rory to do it actually

15/01/2010, 4:39 PM
Certainly, sprinkle it with a drop of holy water when you're bringing it out the door please.... or maybe get Rory to do it actually

Ya, i can't touch that stuff.

MMVIII
15/01/2010, 5:32 PM
THANK GOD. Off season is far too long for my liking.

sligo23
19/01/2010, 2:09 PM
Bray fans say we are playing them in a friendly.
We are, its in early February, cant remember the exact date tho. Could be the 6th but I aint fully sure.

Well Red
19/01/2010, 4:29 PM
We are, its in early February, cant remember the exact date tho. Could be the 6th but I aint fully sure.

Any idea where the game is to be played?

Only1Rovers
19/01/2010, 4:31 PM
Any idea where the game is to be played?

In Bray.... we're playing Finn Harps and Ah-lone away too.

23/01/2010, 1:56 AM
We are, its in early February, cant remember the exact date tho. Could be the 6th but I aint fully sure.Ocean FM has us down for playing Athlone away on the 6th.

Shedzer
24/01/2010, 3:03 PM
I see Drogs have six friendlies set up we need at least that our pre seasons over the last few yaers has been shocking we need to hit the ground running this year.

CF1989
24/01/2010, 10:51 PM
heard we might be playing derry away and enniscrone away

Shedzer
24/01/2010, 11:00 PM
We need to be playing competitive friendlies if we want to prepare right for the new season.

24/01/2010, 11:21 PM
We need to be playing competitive friendlies if we want to prepare right for the new season.

Competitive? There'll be six or seven Easkey Gah lads playing for Enniscrone. They'll kick seven colours of s h ite out of us.

Only1Rovers
25/01/2010, 6:03 AM

oxymoron?

Fivesilver
25/01/2010, 8:39 AM
Is that a description of one of those Easkey lads?

Shedzer
25/01/2010, 12:44 PM
oxymoron?

Good question but I can help thinking I missing something.

25/01/2010, 1:04 PM
The Derry away game is on 26th February according to here (http://www.derryjournal.com/derry-sport/Team-almost-complete--Kenny.6010471.jp). Surely that's a mistake as we're scheduled to play Cliftonville the next day...

apo11o
25/01/2010, 1:07 PM
Competitive? There'll be six or seven Easkey Gah lads playing for Enniscrone. They'll kick seven colours of s h ite out of us.

:ball:Easkey lads playing football??:D??:ball:

Redie
25/01/2010, 3:11 PM
:ball:Easkey lads playing football??:D??

....and for Enniscrone??:eek:

Only1Rovers
25/01/2010, 3:33 PM

oxymoron?

Good question but I can help thinking I missing something.

Just being pedantic (getting our monies worth from this word today). As in, a competitive friendly is a contradiction.... oxymoron.

jamie m
27/01/2010, 10:19 AM

According to the Champion it is Bray away on Saturday February 6th and Athlone away on February 13th

Shedzer
28/01/2010, 8:16 PM
Can anyone give a list of our confirmed friendlies and the dates? Please.

prodsc
28/01/2010, 11:00 PM
Would be appreciated, Kev L? DB ,anybody.............that knows?

Kevin L
28/01/2010, 11:34 PM
I think its Bray and Athlone away but I'll confirm dates and times tomorrow.

red bellied
31/01/2010, 12:45 PM
Heard Rovers are playing a Sligo/Leitrim select on Wednesday night at 7.30 in McSharry Park.

Brian Boru
01/02/2010, 8:36 AM

That reminds me of the discos in Seafield (aka Sellafield) in Easkey. Wild fights. Luckily for Rovers, Enniscrone would never have Easkey lads playing for them!

LondonRover
03/02/2010, 8:33 AM
Apologies if this has been asked a million times in another thread but is there a definite date yet for the start of the LOI this year?

prodsc
03/02/2010, 9:15 AM
Season starts March 5th.
Setanta Cup final May 15th
Season Break June 10-24th
EA Sports Cup final Sept 25th
League finishes Nov 5th
Fai Cup Final Nov 21st

I believe!

LondonRover
03/02/2010, 11:30 AM
Season starts March 5th.
League finishes Nov 5th
Fai Cup Final Nov 21st

I believe!

Thanks!

03/02/2010, 1:42 PM
Season starts March 5th.
League finishes Nov 5th
Fai Cup Final Nov 21st

I believe!Setanta semi's scheduled for 29th March, 3rd April & 17th April. Not sure if this is still the case now with one team less in Derry's group.

sligored
03/02/2010, 8:25 PM
7 nil - good first half - impressed with davoren foran and amond. 4 for amond . mccartney doyle and cass scored also.
we changed the full team at half time

sligofan4ever
03/02/2010, 8:43 PM
7 nil - good first half - impressed with davoren foran and amond. 4 for amond . mccartney doyle and cass scored also.
we changed the full team at half time

No McCabe tonight ?

sligored
03/02/2010, 8:46 PM
No McCabe tonight ?

was out sick

sligofan4ever
03/02/2010, 8:46 PM
How did O' Mahoney and Duffy get on in the first half ?

sligored
03/02/2010, 8:51 PM
FIRST HALF: kelly, ventre, keane, duffy, davoren, omahoney, corrigan, mccartney, marshall, blinkhorn,amond.

SECOND: brush, whelan, foran, peers, keohane, ogrady, ryan, cass, doyle, winger from liverpool and some other lad

duffy played first half at centre half and meenan at right back- o mahoney and duffy did ok but did not stand out imho

CRFC&SRFC
03/02/2010, 8:53 PM
Could someone confirm who was the right full for rovers second half? Looked good on ball and got forward at pace alot

Thought amond really looked the part 1st half although Sligo Leitrim werent in it at all and couldnt compete all over the pitch (to be expected)...Foran showed one or 2 nice touches 2nd half on a terrible pitch, although SligoLeitrm did get through down right hand side a couple of times between him and keohane(i think)

J McCartney did very well first half imo, very pacey and put in a few great crosses.

All in all a decent run out a chance to see some alot of new faces. Fair play to Sligo Leitrim for not throwing in towel 2nd half

sligofan4ever
03/02/2010, 8:55 PM
Corrigan is another trialist I take it ?

CRFC&SRFC
03/02/2010, 9:02 PM
right back was paul whelan, on trial, was with monaghan last year.

Conor Corrigan has been with us for 2 years, plays with the A team. he's good on the ball and is strong, hes english

Cheers

CRFC&SRFC
03/02/2010, 9:21 PM
i think the point i made last week about junior football being a totally different level to LOI was proved tonight.

true, i was just making point that its no harm to have a look at some of the stand out players at junior level really..There have been a few down through the years that have served the club very well coming from that background...Hopfully some of the young lads can make a break through in not too distant future.

I know its hard to judge against junior palyers but some of amonds finishes were top drawer and we may have real replacement for raf there...he was unlucky at shamrock not to get more of a chance

sligofan4ever
03/02/2010, 9:31 PM
Amond was a terrific striker in 2008, But I think injury played its part during 2009. Still don't understand why he was behind Baker in the pecking order, should be a good signing for us.

sligorover
03/02/2010, 10:14 PM
Amond was a terrific striker in 2008, But I think injury played its part during 2009. Still don't understand why he was behind Baker in the pecking order, should be a good signing for us.
Four goals in a half against any level of opposition is impressive. Shaping up to be an interesting season this time round, can't wait for it to get going now.

Boo_Boy
03/02/2010, 10:28 PM
Four goals in a half against any level of opposition is impressive. Shaping up to be an interesting season this time round, can't wait for it to get going now.

Didn't Choice score 6 against Carbury?

Yeah...

notever
03/02/2010, 10:38 PM
Your coming to the Seaside on Saturday enjoy

sligofan4ever
03/02/2010, 10:47 PM
Didn't Choice score 6 against Carbury?

Yeah...

Sure he managed about 8 or 9 when we beat Mayo League 13 or 14-1!

sligorover
04/02/2010, 12:52 AM
I try to be positive about Rovers prospects this year and ye drag up Choice. Thanks guys for dragging me back to reality:rolleyes:

04/02/2010, 2:16 AM
i think the point i made last week about junior football being a totally different level to LOI was proved tonight.Oh ya, that was a great point alright, think you were the only one who realised that. Well done CF!