View Full Version : Turner's future

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

Fivesilver
13/01/2010, 10:33 AM
The talk about Turner may all be just mischief-making, but he does have a track record.

I'd say if he is interested in going elsewhere, to the extent that he's talking to other clubs without having played a game for us, get rid of him as soon as possible.
If we can get a few bob for him and get in another midfielder, it's better than building a midfield unit and having to rebuild it halfway through the season, all the while knowing he's not giving us 100%.

Cookie looks to be building a good squad, and you can do without one lad destabilising the whole thing by acting the maggot and sulking through the first half of the season because he'd rather be spending quality time with the Poison Dwarf in Crustyland.

Only1Rovers
13/01/2010, 11:06 AM
I don't think we should jump the gun on Turner. The small bits and pieces that have been showing up in the papers over the last couple of days are the same quotes from O'Neill and Connor rehashed. I don't think Connor would have even mentioned Turner at the press conference until a hack put it to him regarding the "clause".

Moving to Galway would be ill advised at this point. Shams have buckets of good mid-fielders so sticking with us would be his best option in my opinion. He's guaranteed to start every time when fit.

rovers100%
13/01/2010, 11:32 AM
no point speculating yet, as at the minute he is our player and no need in us running him down when it all cud be bull. if he leaves we will cross that bridge but until then its a bit stupid giving out about him. remember no player is bigger than the club.....

red_away
13/01/2010, 12:09 PM
Turner leaving for personal or getting the boot from the BOR doesnt bother me but this passage from the independent stating 'financial problems' would - if it were tru of course!!!!

Michael O'Neill stated Enda Stevens and James Chambers are his two confirmed signings -- from St Patrick's Athletic and Drogheda respectively -- while he is still interested in Chris Turner, who agreed a deal with Sligo Rovers after parting company with Dundalk, but there have been suggestions that financial issues at the Showgrounds could make the midfielder available again.

Only1Rovers
13/01/2010, 12:21 PM
Turner leaving for personal or getting the boot from the BOR doesnt bother me but this passage from the independent stating 'financial problems' would - if it were tru of course!!!!

Michael O'Neill stated Enda Stevens and James Chambers are his two confirmed signings -- from St Patrick's Athletic and Drogheda respectively -- while he is still interested in Chris Turner, who agreed a deal with Sligo Rovers after parting company with Dundalk, but there have been suggestions that financial issues at the Showgrounds could make the midfielder available again.

You wouldn't know what to believe as some reports say their may be a issue with his contract. Contradicting stories would suggest to me that it's other clubs trying to cause trouble..... I hope.

Turners importance to our season next year mustn't be over looked. Sure we had weaknesses around the field last season, particularly in defense but when Peers returned he got a hold of things back their. But it was in the middle of the park where we were missing most bite. Chrissy is the man to change that.

rovers100%
13/01/2010, 12:21 PM
i would think its all sh1t stirring, it seems the media does not want turner to play for us, ever since the deal was announced its nothing but bad rumours. if he goes he goes. there is plenty of time to get an adequate replacement in. top player all the same. suppose we wont know for definite for a few weeks.

roversforever
13/01/2010, 3:39 PM
Sometimes i think people here must want to drive people out of our club. As soon as there was talk of fenlon leaving bohs there was a big fuss made here about cookie replacing him,even though his name hadn't been mentioned. And now a thread started on chrissy turner's future,even though nobody has actually said he wants out. Ignore the rumours,if something definate happens then start a thread about it!

Well Red
13/01/2010, 4:00 PM
Sometimes i think people here must want to drive people out of our club. As soon as there was talk of fenlon leaving bohs there was a big fuss made here about cookie replacing him,even though his name hadn't been mentioned. And now a thread started on chrissy turner's future,even though nobody has actually said he wants out. Ignore the rumours,if something definate happens then start a thread about it!

Spot on roversforever can we just move on and not rise to these unfounded rumours, just lets be a bit more hopeful and not jump for ever ball that is bounced.

13/01/2010, 4:09 PM
As soon as there was talk of fenlon leaving bohs there was a big fuss made here about cookie replacing him,even though his name hadn't been mentioned.Even though it had...
And now a thread started on chrissy turner's future,even though nobody has actually said he wants out."I've signed a two year deal with Sligo but there's a clause in there that says I can leave if Sean joins a League of Ireland club. I love working with him."...that implies Chris is not interested in playing for us and now that Connor is in charge of a LOI club, it does increase the chances of him leaving us(although I don't think it'll be Galway he'll be going to) so naturally people will discuss it.

roversforever
13/01/2010, 4:23 PM
Even though it had..."I've signed a two year deal with Sligo but there's a clause in there that says I can leave if Sean joins a League of Ireland club. I love working with him."...that implies Chris is not interested in playing for us and now that Connor is in charge of a LOI club, it does increase the chances of him leaving us(although I don't think it'll be Galway he'll be going to) so naturally people will discuss it.

Cook's name hadn't been mentioned in an official capacity,it was just rumours. Same as with Turner. People jumping the gun,Cook is still here and im confident Turner will be still here when the season starts.

Only1Rovers
13/01/2010, 4:29 PM

What's the point in the forum if people are turning their nose's up at off season banter. What's the harm in expressing views when such stories are common place in the media?

bingoballs
13/01/2010, 5:35 PM
Turner is quoted in the Sun today stating that he wants to stay with us but has some contractul issues to sort out. Its the only direct quote I have seen in any paper from him since Connor joined galway. It came accross like there is more being made of the situation then there actually is.

Mayo Red
13/01/2010, 5:40 PM
Turner is quoted in the Sun today stating that he wants to stay with us but has some contractul issues to sort out. Its the only direct quote I have seen in any paper from him since Connor joined galway. It came accross like there is more being made of the situation then there actually is.

Good news, somebody should tell Cookie this though because he doesn't read The Sun!!

Guts&Glory
13/01/2010, 9:14 PM

Cook was mentioned with the Bohs role in the national press.

Given what he has done at Rovers he would be one of the top Irish based managers for any job in the LOI.

14/01/2010, 12:39 AM
Cook was mentioned with the Bohs role in the national press.

Given what he has done at Rovers he would be one of the top Irish based managers for any job in the LOI.

Sorry, must have been in a coma for a few years - what exactly has Cook done at Rovers (apart from losing a cup final)

CarrickFan
14/01/2010, 12:55 AM
Sorry, must have been in a coma for a few years - what exactly has Cook done at Rovers (apart from losing a cup final)

He has,at times, had Rovers playing the best football seen in the Showgrounds in the last 15 years.

14/01/2010, 1:38 AM
He has,at times, had Rovers playing the best football seen in the Showgrounds in the last 15 years.

Looking at who was managing the club for the last fifteen years, that's the very least I would have expected from him.

sligorover
14/01/2010, 2:27 AM
Apart from establishing us as a solid premier division side? We currently look like being capable of finishing in the top three in the league, a feat which five or six years ago seemed a long way off.

Don't forget that Cook got us to that final, its not like that happens on a regular basis.

Only1Rovers
14/01/2010, 5:23 AM
Europe?

red_away
14/01/2010, 8:09 AM
Looking at who was managing the club for the last fifteen years, that's the very least I would have expected from him.

It look like dementia has set in old timer!

Although I have many criticisms of cookie he has had a positive effect on the BOR and to come out with a pointless comment like above confirms my diagnosis!

We will have a whip around for a years supply of incontinence nappies for you at the first game of the season!!!;)

CF1989
14/01/2010, 9:25 AM
I think it'll be a big loss to the club when he does actually leave, whenever he does. not only on the pitch but the fans love him and it would be a dissapointment

14/01/2010, 1:26 PM
It look like dementia has set in old timer!

Although I have many criticisms of cookie he has had a positive effect on the BOR and to come out with a pointless comment like above confirms my diagnosis!

We will have a whip around for a years supply of incontinence nappies for you at the first game of the season!!!;)

I'll file this one away for future use. Like Johnny Cash, I've seen them come and go and I've seen them die.

red_away
15/01/2010, 12:03 PM
I'll file this one away for future use. Like Johnny Cash, I've seen them come and go and I've seen them die.

I am no spring chicken but if you have seen all the past geniuses that have played for sligo rovers that nobody else has seen - then my friend I think the odds are greatly stacked in my favour that I will be at the showgies for your minutes silence!!!;)

Fivesilver
15/01/2010, 1:05 PM
Will someone get these ould codgers off before they break the internet.

16/01/2010, 12:25 AM
Will someone get these ould codgers off before they break the internet.

What's the internet?

Mayo Red
16/01/2010, 9:06 AM
What's the internet?

Nothing special really, just a simple means of viewing porn and stalking people!!;)

16/01/2010, 1:15 PM
Nothing special really, just a simple means of viewing porn and stalking people!!;)

I thought that was Envy.

Mayo Red
16/01/2010, 2:12 PM
I thought that was Envy.

Or Toffs after the Cup Semi-final win!!:D

DonalE
16/01/2010, 2:39 PM
It's vaguely similar to the no pants dance!

red bellied
18/01/2010, 3:16 PM
Any word on Turner? Has he reported for training?

jamie m
20/01/2010, 8:47 AM
According to todays Champion Turner was due in Sligo yesterday (tuesday) for a meeting "to resolve the contractual and registration issues regarding the player".

SRFCbrothelutd
20/01/2010, 12:50 PM
Was chatting with one of the players today and he said Turner never showed up yesterday or today for training and the situation isnt looking good for him to be playing with us next season. From what i can gather we wont even get a fee for him should he leave just a return of any paid wages Chris has recieved from Rvs thus far!!!

dong
20/01/2010, 2:33 PM
Was chatting with one of the players today and he said Turner never showed up yesterday or today for training and the situation isnt looking good for him to be playing with us next season. From what i can gather we wont even get a fee for him should he leave just a return of any paid wages Chris has recieved from Rvs thus far!!!

Ah, you are kidding me??? Nightmare.

shep
20/01/2010, 2:44 PM
Ah, you are kidding me??? Nightmare.

I heard early in December that he was sniffing around the possibility of getting out of his contract,and that Cook had hung up on him and told him to go f*ck himself.

If he does leave then surely its a blessing in disguise cos the guy clearly only has loyalty to Sean Connor

redobit
20/01/2010, 3:03 PM
Im not a bit bothered if he goes. Hes on decent money so we should be able to replace him with a good player. My only concern is that it drags on too long and we havent a replacment training with the squad before the sesaon starts. We need a good start to the sesaon i think.

showgies
20/01/2010, 3:33 PM
Im not a bit bothered if he goes. Hes on decent money so we should be able to replace him with a good player. My only concern is that it drags on too long and we havent a replacment training with the squad before the sesaon starts. We need a good start to the sesaon i think.

Sure we have a decent replacement...Richie Ryan...........dumdedum dum dum....dumdedum........

rovers100%
20/01/2010, 3:35 PM
dont forget the white pele either......:p

20/01/2010, 4:08 PM
dont forget the white pele either......:p

In the middle V Turner, do a bitta damage..

bingoballs
20/01/2010, 5:45 PM
If these rumours are true and he is on the way out we need to sign a quality midfielder and fast or it will be a long season. Ryan and Ventre are not good enough and anyone who thinks otherwise is kidding themselves!

CarrickFan
20/01/2010, 6:00 PM
If these rumours are true and he is on the way out we need to sign a quality midfielder and fast or it will be a long season. Ryan and Ventre are not good enough and anyone who thinks otherwise is kidding themselves!

Spot on....neither of them in the same league as Turner and one of them isnt in any league!!!!....centre mid is vital and we need quality in there.

Knappagh Red
20/01/2010, 6:46 PM
I don't think we should have brought him back after he went training with Bohs while we were paying his wages, the FAI should have banned him for that, probably the best midfielder in the league but is he really worth all the baggage, I'd prefer if we signed someone like Russell

red arrow
20/01/2010, 7:25 PM
i heard differently. from what i have being told chris turner is very much a sligo rovers player.

redbuli
20/01/2010, 8:14 PM
dont think Russell has signed with anyone yet, was supposed to have been in talks with Pats a while back

does anyone know if we've had talks with him since the end of last season? would be a great signing even if Turner stays

what happened the Faz story as well?

forza rovers
20/01/2010, 8:35 PM
dont think Russell has signed with anyone yet, was supposed to have been in talks with Pats a while back

does anyone know if we've had talks with him since the end of last season? would be a great signing even if Turner stays

what happened the Faz story as well?hopefully it has died cause any club he has being with since leaving us have had finical problems.

sligorover
20/01/2010, 11:04 PM
hopefully it has died cause any club he has being with since leaving us have had finical problems.
Didn't realise they were leaving him in charge of the accounts:)

Its a coincidence, most clubs in the league have had problems recently, bit unfair to blame Faz for it all...

Brian Boru
21/01/2010, 3:22 AM
, probably the best midfielder in the league but is he really worth all the baggage,

Probably not worth the hassle. Hes no Will Hastie and its only a matter of time before he links up with Connors.

Only1Rovers
21/01/2010, 8:11 AM
I don't think we should have brought him back after he went training with Bohs while we were paying his wages, the FAI should have banned him for that, probably the best midfielder in the league but is he really worth all the baggage, I'd prefer if we signed someone like Russell

Probably not worth the hassle. Hes no Will Hastie and its only a matter of time before he links up with Connors.

I'm saying Hail Mary's every night hoping he's a Rover's player come the start of the season.... I'd even say he is worth it, baggage and all.

Don't know if you can do much if a player goes and trains with another club. I know it's morally wrong, but Rovers were probably the only organisation that could have reprimanded him in such a situation. But I do wear Turner tinted glasses.

However, I've a feeling I'm going to be left disappointed somewhere along the line...

I cant see why he'd want to join Galway either. Sure, they've the greatest gift to management at the helm there and Turner has a great relationship with him but I see Galway as Connor's last throw of the dice. If Turner is serious about his football, Rovers is the club to be at out of the two.

red_away
21/01/2010, 8:32 AM
Turner probably sees linking up with connor as the quikest way into the EPL....after all a lot of seanies best mates are premier league managers!!!!:p

Redie
21/01/2010, 8:33 AM
I'm saying Hail Mary's every night hoping he's a Rover's player come the start of the season.... I'd even say he is worth it, baggage and all.

Don't know if you can do much if a player goes and trains with another club. I know it's morally wrong, but Rovers were probably the only organisation that could have reprimanded him in such a situation. But I do wear Turner tinted glasses.

However, I've a feeling I'm going to be left disappointed somewhere along the line...

I cant see why he'd want to join Galway either. Sure, they've the greatest gift to management at the helm there and Turner has a great relationship with him but I see Galway as Connor's last throw of the dice. If Turner is serious about his football, Rovers is the club to be at out of the two.

Not certain but I think it is a serious breach of some rule for a player to train with a club while registered with another one. I seem to remember Sean Connor - surprise, surprise - getting in bother with a club up North for doing something like that.

SRFCbrothelutd
21/01/2010, 10:33 AM
Im delighted to announce Chris Turner is training in Strandhill with Rvs this morning. Along with Jay McCartney and a new striker from Liverpool. No Butler or Ryan... About 15 training in total. Training very hard in bad conditions but great facilities at Strand Celtics ground!