View Full Version : Sean Connor new manager of gufc

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Paddyfield
10/01/2010, 7:05 PM
Sean Connor is the new manager of Galway United.

I'm off to the pub

Doomofman
10/01/2010, 7:06 PM
Poor Galway

**FrOsTy**
10/01/2010, 7:07 PM
R.I.P Galway.

10/01/2010, 7:08 PM
Sean Connor is the new manager of Galway United.

I'm off to the pub

Im joining ya !

sweet jesus how are we going to afford this guy .

10/01/2010, 7:10 PM
Nick Leeson, are you intentionally running our club into the ground ?

10/01/2010, 7:11 PM
Tomorrow at 3pm at Supermacs eyre square.

In a state of shock here but maybe its the appointment we needed and I reckon Garret Gorman could be his Assistant. Looks like Papa Johns will be our sponsors and this appointment means that we will be in the Premier next year.

gufc2000
10/01/2010, 7:11 PM
Galway-Dundalk matches should be interesting this year!

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 7:12 PM
Expect to see Harpal Singh, Daz Mansaram and co joining your club in the next 2 weeks!

**FrOsTy**
10/01/2010, 7:13 PM
Galway- Dundalk
Dundalk - Galway
Galway - Sligo
Sligo - Galway
Galway - Bohs
Bohs - Galway

all interesting!

CarrickFan
10/01/2010, 7:14 PM
Condolences.

gufc2000
10/01/2010, 7:15 PM
Galway- Dundalk
Dundalk - Galway
Galway - Sligo
Sligo - Galway
Galway - Bohs
Bohs - Galway

all interesting!
That should see all the Sean Connor lovers and haters spilling into Terryland next year :rolleyes:

**FrOsTy**
10/01/2010, 7:16 PM
That should see all the Sean Connor lovers and haters spilling into Terryland next year :rolleyes:
Fantastic marketing idea from GUFC :D

PartySaint
He got Sligo promoted and kept them up, He managed to get a newly promoted Dundalk team to finish 5th and He finished 3rd(i think) with Bohs, Galway could have done alot worse IMO

gufc2000
Billy Clery/Gareth Gorman rumoured to be part of the backroom staff. Press conference tomorrow at 3pm in Supermacs, Eyre Square

Not the worst appointment, the man has a decent record. Albeit none of the clubs he has left would have him back and that's never a good sign.

Paddyfield
10/01/2010, 7:17 PM
Why am I not disappointed? Welcome to Galway United, Sean. We will have some interesting games this season.

What will Maxi make of all this?

gufc2000
10/01/2010, 7:17 PM
Fantastic marketing idea from GUFC :D
Yes he was the outstanding candidate on those terms, so his appointment was a no-brainer :D

gufc2000
10/01/2010, 7:18 PM
Cue Harpal Singh, Darren Mansarm, Michael McGinlay etc in GUFC jersies next year!

Infadel
10/01/2010, 7:19 PM
Didn't Chris Turner have a clause in his Sligo contract saying he is free to leave them and join Sean Connor if he finds another club.

Cue Harpal Singh, Darren Mansarm, Michael McGinlay etc in GUFC jersies next year!

Don't be surprised to find them at your local nightclub

grayzer1888
10/01/2010, 7:20 PM
It'll be intersting to see how he does with a tight budget or maybe Leeson is planning on increasing it to suit how Seanie likes to spend.

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 7:21 PM

Few posts up my friend!!!

Will he be part time of full time?

Captain2007
10/01/2010, 7:23 PM
Condolences.

What a balls up of a League..... same faces different places all the time.

Galway must be very short-sighted, Connor will bankrupt ye in no time.
It's a disastrous appointment and i hope Leeson gets what he deserves, mind you the fans don't deserve Sean Connor. :mad:

10/01/2010, 7:23 PM

I would guess Shaun Kelly will join, but, if the budget is only around €3000 per week then I can't see all those players coming and leaving anything for the rest of the squad.

gufc2000
10/01/2010, 7:26 PM

It's a disastrous appointment and i hope Leeson gets what he deserves, mind you the fans don't deserve Sean Connor. :mad:
He was by far the most outstanding candidate that applied. He had the most managerial experience by far

foxx92
10/01/2010, 7:27 PM
Didn't Chris Turner have a clause in his Sligo contract saying he is free to leave them and join Sean Connor if he finds another club.

I wish...

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 7:28 PM

Im not saying its connected with Connor but we broke even last year and where doing well til July but since he left we have a 200k deficit this year! Maybe cause of Seanies big contracts for the lads!

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 7:28 PM
He was by far the most outstanding candidate that applied. He had the most managerial experience by far

It must have been a last minute application!!

Captain2007
10/01/2010, 7:34 PM

It's what you can afford to pay not who has the most experience,that guy will command at least €1500 52 weeks of the year . :eek:

gufcfan
10/01/2010, 7:37 PM
Lovers? :rolleyes:

Oh right... you meant us... sorry :D

grayzer1888
10/01/2010, 7:37 PM
The betting shops around Galway will be busy when his squad rolls into town :D

Dillonman
10/01/2010, 7:39 PM
Has Leeson done something dodgey again to get more money for GUFC?!

10/01/2010, 7:40 PM
Connor will bankrupt ye in no time.

Only if they let him. If they're as stuck for money as posters here have been saying, you'd imagine Connor was told the sort of budget he's getting and knows what he's in for.

Infadel
10/01/2010, 7:41 PM
Has Leeson done something dodgey again to get more money for GUFC?!

My guess is Connor convinced the Galway board to base the budget on a few friendlies against the likes of Celtic like he did with us last season.

gufc2000
10/01/2010, 7:42 PM
Some managers turned the chance down after learning of the financial side of things so I'm sure Connor knows what he is letting himself in for

grayzer1888
10/01/2010, 7:43 PM
Don't forget Barca because he has contacts there :p

CarrickFan
10/01/2010, 7:47 PM
My guess is Connor convinced the Galway board to base the budget on a few friendlies against the likes of Celtic like he did with us last season.

Or with Sunderland as he is close friends with Steve Bruce:) and Mick at Wolves:)....do bookmakers take bets on what team will have the worst disciplinary record at the end of a season?

oriel
10/01/2010, 7:50 PM
With Roddy at Cork and SC resurfacing at Galway at least we`ll have some entertainment to keep us going. SC w/o doubt one of the biggest bulls##rs of all time. Ok he kept us up and got 5th place, but his and the teams lack of efforts in almost every game of the last series was a pure disgrace.

10/01/2010, 7:53 PM
Press conference tomorrow at 3pm in Supermacs, Eyre Square

It's a little sad how much of a musical chairs effort the League of Ireland is [and I include Cork City going to Roddy Collins in this]. Rovers took a slight risk to bring O'Neill in last season and were met with many "ah, sure he doesn't know the league and players" which turned out to be nonsense.

You have to look at the people who are doing the hiring and firing in this league, Connor has a passable if uninspiring record, but if someone looks through his career, there is a serious amount of collateral damage in his wake. A bit of fresh air every now and again wouldn't hurt at all

Olander
10/01/2010, 7:53 PM
Just thought I'd drag this up.

congrats on being a sad-act.

eelmonster
10/01/2010, 7:57 PM
I wish...

That would really ruffle a few feathers in Sligo.

I've signed a two year deal with Sligo but there's a clause in there that says I can leave if Sean joins a League of Ireland club. I love working with him.

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/3418/Turner-lashes-out-at-Oriel.5820602.jp

10/01/2010, 7:58 PM
Great news!

10/01/2010, 8:03 PM
congrats on being a sad-act.

Congrats on appointing a sad-act. :D

brianw82
10/01/2010, 8:04 PM
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/3418/Turner-lashes-out-at-Oriel.5820602.jp

I really can't believe we would sign a player with a stipulation like that. It smells of BS, to be honest.

Olander
10/01/2010, 8:05 PM
Congrats on appointing a sad-act. :D
Hiyooo :D

SMorgan
10/01/2010, 8:06 PM
A first class appointment by Galway. Dundalk and Galway exchanged managers and I think the westerners have come out better. SC will keep them in the Premier.

grayzer1888
10/01/2010, 8:11 PM
I really can't believe we would sign a player with a stipulation like that. It smells of BS, to be honest.

Might be best to ask somebody at the club incase the whole thing goes tits up and Turner heads of to be with Seanie again in Galway. Players can't be registered until after the 15th of January I believe so Turner still has time to bail out on Sligo which would be a disgrace if he did.

cestlavie
10/01/2010, 8:13 PM
Not a bad appointment, better than that Cowboy Kenny at Derry or Collins at Cork.

Paddyfield
10/01/2010, 8:20 PM
Not a bad appointment, better than that Cowboy Kenny at Derry or Collins at Cork.

I think you're being a little harsh on Kenny and not harsh enough on Collins.

10/01/2010, 8:21 PM
He got Sligo promoted and kept them up, He managed to get a newly promoted Dundalk team to finish 5th and He finished 3rd(i think) with Bohs, Galway could have done alot worse IMO

Yeah? You'd have a different opinion if he ever managed Pats.

gufcfan
10/01/2010, 8:28 PM
Just thought I'd drag this up.

Nobody actually listens to Conor H anyway :rolleyes: