View Full Version : Pre-season friendlies

06/01/2010, 9:17 AM
Home v Limerick on Saturday 27 February in the Bowl, according to the Limerick site. Kick off tbc.

12/01/2010, 1:02 PM
This game is pending the Leinster Senior Cup draw, which takes place tomorrow. If the games clash, the Limerick game will be moved/called off.

19/01/2010, 12:17 PM
Monaghan on Sat 13 Feb, with all other details tbc. Link. (http://www.monaghanunited.com/page2.htm)

25/01/2010, 11:33 AM
Marty sayas we're playing Longford somewhere and at some stage.

Got to love pre-season!

L.T.F.C.
25/01/2010, 11:59 AM
ya you are and its in Longford. In the next few weeks...

26/01/2010, 9:59 AM
Marty sayas we're playing Longford somewhere and at some stage.

Got to love pre-season!

I believe the game will be on a weekend in Mid Feb.. I was given some dates for the cork city and ucd friendly by our PRO but I couldnt remember the exact dates he told me.. all will be revealed shortly..

29/01/2010, 1:32 PM
Wexford Youths away next Friday. Time TBC, but presumably 7:30/7:45 ish.

Edit - Longford and Monaghan games going ahead, but exact details yet TBC. Limerick game is now gone, it seems, but we have either Bangor Celtic or Tullamore away. May be another game or two, but nothing at home apparently. Or not at the moment anyway.

31/01/2010, 5:02 PM
It was confirmed by the club last night that we are playing ye on friday 19th feb.. Look forward to catchin up with ye!!:D

31/01/2010, 5:26 PM
Can't go. :(

01/02/2010, 8:21 AM
Can't go. :(
thats a pity any of yer crew going to it?

01/02/2010, 10:36 AM
Heading to Bunratty that weekend...

Edit - game in Wexford is an 8pm kick off apparently.

03/02/2010, 4:32 PM
Monaghan game is now in the Bowl at 2pm on Saturday 13th, according to the Monaghan United website.

Edit - now Sunday 14th.

04/02/2010, 2:30 PM
Wexford game postponed due to a waterlogged pitch.

Edit - and the Monaghan game is on Foster's Avenue, not in the Bowl.

Edit edit - good, if now redundant, match preview (http://www.ucdsoccer.com/index.php?a=399) on the UCD site incidentally. Not my article either!

04/02/2010, 4:49 PM
Wexford game postponed due to a waterlogged pitch.

Edit edit - good, if now redundant, match preview (http://www.ucdsoccer.com/index.php?a=399) on the UCD site incidentally. Not my article either!

ah good old Fosters Avenue brings back memories of playin there in a friendly in 2005 I think!!

04/02/2010, 6:06 PM
Will the linesman be watching out for Mad Tom this time? :D

05/02/2010, 5:13 PM
:)I would say so yes!

DRDoc
11/02/2010, 3:22 PM

The old venue before the bowl?

11/02/2010, 3:29 PM
The old venue before the bowl?
No, but very near it. It's in the corner beside the NOVA centre (opposite the old ground).

11/02/2010, 3:41 PM
http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&msid=118020630399467085648.00047f3e13412154ba0b4&t=h&z=19

11/02/2010, 4:27 PM
So lads just to let you know, I am not a roses type girl but other flowers will be accepted on Sunday.....:D

Looking forward to this game and getting to see some more of our squad in action as we had quite a few bodies missing last weekend. Is there parking nearby?

I may be a little hungover so can you ask the crowd to keep the noise down? Ta!

11/02/2010, 4:37 PM
There's rudimentary parking (and some daisies for you) beside the pitch.

11/02/2010, 4:43 PM
There's rudimentary parking (and some daisies for you) beside the pitch.

Bless your smelly socks. Thanks. I love daisies I do.

11/02/2010, 6:35 PM
I thought this was going to be in Monaghan, don't think I'll be arsed going now.

11/02/2010, 7:17 PM
There's a sentence you won't see too often. ;)

11/02/2010, 7:51 PM
I thought this was going to be in Monaghan, don't think I'll be arsed going now.

i know a trip to the drumlins is just too hard to resist but come on now!

There's a sentence you won't see too often. ;)

11/02/2010, 7:59 PM
It's not really worth getting out of bed to go 15 minuted down the road. :)

Unless Magicme brings her sister.

11/02/2010, 8:38 PM
It's not really worth getting out of bed to go 15 minuted down the road. :)

Unless Magicme brings her sister.

Yeah I will bring her, if you pay for her flight home from Edinburgh!!!

12/02/2010, 5:01 PM
Yeah I will bring her, if you pay for her flight home from Edinburgh!!!

now I will have to be there in order to see this!! it will be priceless seeing all the UCD crew fightin over magicmes sister...:D

13/02/2010, 2:00 PM
Not looking like I will make it myself. Almost ended up in hospital last night so taking it easy. If feel better tomorrow I will travel up but at the moment thats not likely.

13/02/2010, 5:42 PM
Not looking like I will make it myself. Almost ended up in hospital last night so taking it easy. If feel better tomorrow I will travel up but at the moment thats not likely.

sorry to hear about it magicme what happened to you?

14/02/2010, 4:41 PM
Just as well; there were no daisies anyway.

Get well soon magicme. Although a comfortable 2-0 win probably won't help your convalescence.

14/02/2010, 5:15 PM
Thanks stu, I believe we played ok from reports I got (one of which was an impartial view) so happy enough. I hear Philly Hughes was making a nusiance of himself in the box which is good to hear.

14/02/2010, 5:24 PM
There'll probably be a match report on the site shortly, but I think the starting XI was -

Brennan
Nangle---Boyle---Shorty---Harding
???---Bolger---McMahon---Creevy---Mulhall
Kilduff

We used seven subs I think, ending up something like -

McGinley
Matthews---Boyle---Shorty---Harding
D McMillan---Roche---Bolger---Ward---???
Houstan

Nangle was taken off injured during the game.

14/02/2010, 5:28 PM
I presume that line up is going from the left hand side of the pitch to the right?

14/02/2010, 5:48 PM
???---Bolger---McMahon---Creevy---Mulhall

??? = Rusk. You were telling me that he got the goal.

14/02/2010, 6:02 PM
Oh yeah.

14/02/2010, 11:28 PM
Our game against ye has been moved forward to Wednesday at 8.00. Presume it's to do with us having a Leinster Cup game at the weekend.

15/02/2010, 3:25 PM
Monaghan match report. (http://www.ucdsoccer.com/index.php?a=412)

Mark Russell was the missing player apparently.

18/02/2010, 11:01 AM
2-0 win over Longford last night. Report here (http://www.ucdsoccer.com/index.php?a=417) (I've corrected Brian's impressive error of getting out entire midfield wrong!). Fairly standard pre-season stuff. Harding slipped for the peno I think, and ended up sending it out over the ground. Killer also sent a one-on-one out of the ground. Creevy was very impressive. McGinley in nets looked solid too.

18/02/2010, 11:25 AM
So having seen us and Longford in action......who is better???? I have a feeling they are going to be massive rivals to us this season so just want to get an objective viewpoint!

18/02/2010, 12:07 PM
Longford weren't a bad side, but we created more against them than we did against ye. I wasn't really watching the Monaghan game, tbh - was kicking a ball around or chatting for a good chunk. :o

18/02/2010, 2:50 PM
Longford weren't a bad side, but we created more against them than we did against ye. I wasn't really watching the Monaghan game, tbh - was kicking a ball around or chatting for a good chunk. :o

Admit it, you spent most of the time looking for me.... sorry Stu!

18/02/2010, 3:04 PM
Yeah some of our defending especially in the first half was a bit sloppy. We improved a good deal second half without being overly penetrative though Glynn was fairly lively, Forsyth is awful slow though not sure he'll be kept. Overall a good workout for both sides as they say.

18/02/2010, 3:41 PM
Forsyth is awful slow though not sure he'll be kept. Is that Darren Forsyth that used to be with us?

18/02/2010, 3:47 PM
Yep. Came on as a second half sub and had a goal disallowed.

18/02/2010, 4:57 PM
it was a very good workout.. I missed colleges first goal as Stu was showing me the DVD of their season on his laptop with one or two clips from town ucd last season so I got distracted! It better be worth the buy Stu!

great catchin up with Harpo and Pineapple and they were very brave to be in Section Os midst.. We treated them like royalty!:D

18/02/2010, 9:32 PM
No sign of Ev McMillan for any of these games, obviously must be busy with his Glee commitments.
http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=7843759

19/02/2010, 9:25 AM
it was a very good workout.. I missed colleges first goal as Stu was showing me the DVD of their season on his laptop with one or two clips from town ucd last season so I got distracted!
I loved the way we scored on the pitch literally two seconds before Longford scored on the DVD, so you ended up missing both goals. :D

(And dman's joke aside, Ev's still injured from the Waterford game)

19/02/2010, 12:16 PM
(And dman's joke aside, Ev's still injured from the Waterford game)
Phew. I was wondering about that. He'd be a big loss this year.