View Full Version : How much snow where you are?

05/01/2010, 5:54 PM
Blessington Co.Wicklow:About 1.5 inches but more in local fields with drifting etc,tonight looks like a bitter cold one:(

05/01/2010, 6:02 PM
Zero. We've had a lovely few days in east Cork, bright and sunny and really not all that cold.

Going for a stroll on the beach tomorrow! :)

05/01/2010, 6:11 PM
Regina, Saskatchewan - about 2 foot and its belting down. Only -12 today though, which is nice.

05/01/2010, 7:00 PM
Not too much on the ground here (South Dublin, bottom of the Dublin mountains), maybe 1-2cm. I hope to take a walk up to Three Rock before the snow melts to see what it's like up there.

05/01/2010, 7:03 PM
Away with ye's and yer imperical measurements!

We've had about 3cm today, which is sitting nicely on top of the layer of ice that's formed on the roads. We've with another 5cm due tonight. Brilliant stuff.

05/01/2010, 7:12 PM
Going for a stroll on the beach tomorrow! :)

Class, I LOVE the beach.

We've about the same and Brendy has, snow is nice, but the ice under it isn't.

06/01/2010, 9:15 AM
Away with ye's and yer metric measurements!

Maybe half an inch last night in Greystones. Garden was green before that. Very disappointing overall. Sky News reporting possible 16 inch falls to come in parts of England.

Sligo Hornet
06/01/2010, 11:38 AM
We had around 6 inches of snow overnight in Watford (still managed to get to work in Harlow) and another load due this afternoon (so may spend the night in a hotel rather than risk many hours trapped in the car)

06/01/2010, 12:34 PM
About another 2 inches today so far:(

06/01/2010, 12:39 PM
About another 2 inches today so far :)

06/01/2010, 12:52 PM

Don't drive much stu?

Wolfie
06/01/2010, 12:55 PM

We're still talking about snow, right?

06/01/2010, 1:06 PM
Sun still cracking the stones in east Cork. :)

06/01/2010, 1:08 PM
Snow and a bit of thunder and lightning in Dublin city centre a while ago, interesting combination. :)

06/01/2010, 1:09 PM
Don't drive much stu?
Get the train to work. :)

06/01/2010, 1:49 PM
Sun still cracking the stones in east Cork. :)

Looks like you're not spoofing:) http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/index.php?name=News&file=article&sid=925

Check out the "Snow Sculpture" from Tyrone on this page:D

06/01/2010, 1:51 PM
Took these on the way to the shop;

http://www.awooga.org/images/f26quc888745k3unmue_thumb.jpg (http://www.awooga.org/viewer.php?file=f26quc888745k3unmue.jpg)

http://www.awooga.org/images/ecq2yjo521dh5tq973e_thumb.jpg (http://www.awooga.org/viewer.php?file=ecq2yjo521dh5tq973e.jpg)

http://www.awooga.org/images/8ksgac750pnxzomlh9c_thumb.jpg (http://www.awooga.org/viewer.php?file=8ksgac750pnxzomlh9c.jpg)

06/01/2010, 1:52 PM
http://www.awooga.org/images/hk0lwom5o41bufkfckw9_thumb.jpg (http://www.awooga.org/viewer.php?file=hk0lwom5o41bufkfckw9.jpg)

http://www.awooga.org/images/w90u9ju3zeommuppob28_thumb.jpg (http://www.awooga.org/viewer.php?file=w90u9ju3zeommuppob28.jpg)

http://www.awooga.org/images/vkawfy3lol55bqu5duwm_thumb.jpg (http://www.awooga.org/viewer.php?file=vkawfy3lol55bqu5duwm.jpg)

06/01/2010, 2:08 PM
snowing pretty heavy here, view from the window near my desk: http://1533720122390832142-a-1802744773732722657-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/tetsujin1979/Home/06012010157.jpg?attachauth=ANoY7cqWXyvJhJr-j8OOFPxr7ZaDQYL-H8oaBgGknp1tgJY7XyG7_gSn0WVuJjjsXGoyKFG8ZrwomcSGKv G_TS9jyIKvBaou_y4GiM5wgiLFmqFCWlQdFqWmAVTAu8JjlLzB J4_7FiDp5P_0Bbsa5KQEyv8O6fcRIZ4oeIvJomxfJCsAvjxxGS x-ulImxB9AqTRSk6HkMNg4eKiOqf7E0Xx74pOJX6N6Fw%3D%3D&attredirects=0

smellyfeet
06/01/2010, 2:30 PM
snowing pretty heavy here, view from the window near my desk: http://1533720122390832142-a-1802744773732722657-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/tetsujin1979/Home/06012010157.jpg?attachauth=ANoY7cqWXyvJhJr-j8OOFPxr7ZaDQYL-H8oaBgGknp1tgJY7XyG7_gSn0WVuJjjsXGoyKFG8ZrwomcSGKv G_TS9jyIKvBaou_y4GiM5wgiLFmqFCWlQdFqWmAVTAu8JjlLzB J4_7FiDp5P_0Bbsa5KQEyv8O6fcRIZ4oeIvJomxfJCsAvjxxGS x-ulImxB9AqTRSk6HkMNg4eKiOqf7E0Xx74pOJX6N6Fw%3D%3D&attredirects=0

Did that Security van driver make the love heart in the snow?

06/01/2010, 2:40 PM
Apparently all Dublin buses are off, the Luas will be mental on the way home, and if that gets cancelled then it's going to be a hell of a walk, it really is mad how a few centimeters of snow can shut the country down.

Infadel
06/01/2010, 2:43 PM
The DCU campus is covered with a large blanket of snow and the library on campus is closing early because of this.

06/01/2010, 2:48 PM
Get the train to work. :)

Let's hope you don't get "Frozen points" :eek::)

06/01/2010, 3:09 PM
Apparently all Dublin buses are off, the Luas will be mental on the way home, and if that gets cancelled then it's going to be a hell of a walk, it really is mad how a few centimeters of snow can shut the country down.

Lads if any of you get any more info can you post it here? Dublin Bus site keeps crashing due to numbers and I'll need to know what buses are running around 8pm.

Cheers in advance.

Battery Rover
06/01/2010, 3:16 PM
Lads if any of you get any more info can you post it here? Dublin Bus site keeps crashing due to numbers and I'll need to know what buses are running around 8pm.

Cheers in advance.

Not exactly what you want but might help

http://www.google.ie/search?q=dublin+bus&hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&hs=GME&tbs=rltm:1&tbo=u&ei=fbZES6OFENH0_AbZ0cCLCQ&sa=X&oi=realtime_result_group_more_results_link&ct=title&resnum=7&ved=0CDAQ5QUwBg

06/01/2010, 3:18 PM
From AA Ireland

16:07:08
*FLIGHTS INTO AND OUT OF DUBIN AIRPORT ARE SUSPENDED UNTIL 5:30 AT LEAST. ** DO NOT MAKE ANY UNNECESSARY JOURNEYS AROUND DUBLIN.**Very heavy traffic around the city centre most major routes. Anyone travelling today is advised to use the train, DART or Luas.** * All Dublin Bus services are temporarily grounded. Tickets are valid on the Luas and DART. * Red Line Luas services are operating from Tallaght to Connolly with reduced frequency. *CONDITIONS* • The M50 has been gritted. However, all approach roads and slip roads are extremely icy. Traffic is at a standstill northbound from before J13 Ballinteer, where motorists are having difficulty getting up the ramp. Nearby, the Drummartin Link Rd is very slippery. Motorists are experiencing long delays getting on and off the M50 at the Ballymun and Blanchardstown interchanges (J4 & J3). • In the city, Bridge St is closed bothways and Patrick's St inbound is closed as well. Gardai are diverting traffic.

Delays out from Dorset St to Drumcondra. • Heavy inbound from Con Colbert Rd and Parkgate St onto the North Quays through to O'Connell St Bridge. Slow on Caple St onto the Quays as well. • Extremely icy all around Blanchardstown. The Snugborough Rd is impassable. • Poor conditions in the Sandyford Ind Est; causing long delays. Very icy on the Kilbobbin Rd in Stepaside. Avoid the Glencullen area. Nearby, avoid Blackglen Rd as cars are unable to get up the hill from Lambs Cross. • Delays on the N3 Navan Rd outbound from well before the Auburn Ave R/A to towards Blacnahrdstown SC. • On the N7/Naas Rd it's slow from the Long Mile Rd to the Red Cow Interchange. • Ninth Lock Rd is reportedly impassable. Nearby, the Nangor Rd and Fonthill are at a standstill.

Woodford Ave in Clondalkin is impassable. • Newtownpark Ave

06/01/2010, 3:21 PM
Did that Security van driver make the love heart in the snow?
Probably, he's a lonely soul!

06/01/2010, 3:21 PM
Buses may resume if the roads are gritted, all buses are currently parked until further notice

06/01/2010, 3:52 PM
Thanks (as per usual) foot.ie, have lift organised now anyway. :)

06/01/2010, 4:04 PM
Some traffic cameras for Dublin motorists http://www.dublincity.ie/dublintraffic/

06/01/2010, 9:08 PM
Thanks (as per usual) foot.ie, have lift organised now anyway. :)

You'd be quicker, and warmer, walking.

I shudder to think the consequences of today's Dublin journeys were if there was no Luas.

06/01/2010, 9:59 PM
Listening to national radio stations the last couple of days (Dub based ones), and it's funny how the these radio stations go into a state of flux with weather reports every fifteen minutes, only when the snow hits the capital.

sligofan4ever
07/01/2010, 1:03 AM
A fresh sheet of snow fell over Sligo there about half an hour ago.

07/01/2010, 1:55 AM
Longford hasn't had a bit of snow :eek: Although we were convered in about 6 inches of it during Christmas.

endabob1
07/01/2010, 6:55 AM
No snow here, temperatures back down to the low 30's which is good because it was stiffling over the weekend, hit 42 one of the days.....it's Hell liviing in Africa :D

07/01/2010, 7:42 AM
Fair bit of snow. No dublin buses serving my area (all terminating about 45 mins to an hour's walk away)

07/01/2010, 8:21 AM
A fresh sheet of snow fell over Sligo there about half an hour ago.

I think we got that shower a couple of hours before ye. Not nice driving.

07/01/2010, 1:54 PM
Looking a bit dodgy here now, still sunny but there's an ominous grey cloud lingering...

07/01/2010, 3:27 PM
We still have a covering of snow but its not that thick anymore. Hopefully we get more this evening. My eldest lad has an extra 2 days holidays coz of it but the younger fella is fuming coz he had to go back today. There were only 18 in his class of 32 in today though. The pleasures of living on the edge of the town with the roads well gritted.

07/01/2010, 3:32 PM
All Dublin buses finishing at 8 tis evening.

Wolfie
07/01/2010, 3:53 PM
Snow, ice and now..................fog.

07/01/2010, 4:35 PM
All Dublin buses finishing at 8 tis evening.

Yeah, just been told I can leave work at 7 rather than 9.

I'll have to make it up next week, but as a short-term thinker...yaaaaaaayy!

Snow, ice and now..................fog.

I feel like I'm in a Dickens novel. :)

07/01/2010, 7:14 PM
Freezing fog was falling like glitter about an hour ago, as I was walking back from the shops, never seen anything quite like it.

07/01/2010, 8:08 PM
It's a balmy 1 degree here in Limerick.

07/01/2010, 10:17 PM
Picture of Britain taken from BBC website. (Hope that's ok, if not the link is there anyway, linking to a much bigger and clearer picture)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_depth/8447023.stm

stann
08/01/2010, 7:05 AM
Freezing fog was falling like glitter about an hour ago, as I was walking back from the shops, never seen anything quite like it.

Same in Waterford, was playing footie in it from 6 to 7 and it was quite magical under the lights. Seen it once or twice before (again at footie, under lights) think it needs to be well below zero for it to happen.
Must have kept glinting in my eyes though, couldn't pick a pass all night. :D

08/01/2010, 9:03 AM
I'm beginning to regret living so close to the Luas, no buses running out my way and anyone a little bit further out is getting to stay at home, whereas I'm coming into work late and leaving early which is costing me time on my clock that I'll need to work back.

It's snowing again in the city centre (well it's just stopped again now), and it's supposed to be heavy snow and fog out in Tallaght. More fun times ahead getting home this evening so.

08/01/2010, 9:14 AM
Picture of Britain taken from BBC website. (Hope that's ok, if not the link is there anyway, linking to a much bigger and clearer picture)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_depth/8447023.stm
Excellent photo. And, of course, the little slip of green to the left is us. Must be mad in Britain at the moment.

juan
08/01/2010, 10:00 AM
Cork under a whopping 1mm of snow! I'm off to build me the worlds smallest snow man!

roinuj
08/01/2010, 6:22 PM
no snow in waterford and no floods a few weeks ago when everywhere else was under water.
the sun was blazing down today.
im so jelous of the rest of the country