View Full Version : Away to Rovers

NorthoftheLee
11/03/2004, 11:19 AM
Lads, Ian in particular.....is there going to be a bus organised for this one.....

I was thinking....how about we park the bus about a mile from richmond park and if we all leave together after the match and stick together walking back to the bus we should be alright......shur its only a 15-20 min walk to the train station if we park around there.....

who's up for it......

1. NorthoftheLee

11/03/2004, 4:58 PM
Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
I was thinking....how about we park the bus about a mile from richmond park and if we all leave together after the match and stick together walking back to the bus we should be alright......shur its only a 15-20 min walk to the train station if we park around there.....

Yeah, that's what I was thinking aswell. If we play it safe we should be alright!

1. NorthoftheLee
2. Xtreme Rebel
3. Colm

C'mon lads first away game of the season, it would be a shame to miss it....

11/03/2004, 5:03 PM
Originally posted by Colm
C'mon lads first away game of the season, it would be a shame to miss it....
Absolutely. I'll be driving though, see ye there. just gotta get my car armour-plated and I'm grand :)

shedite
11/03/2004, 5:55 PM
I'm in Dublin that weekend anyway. Is it definately a Friday night game or when is it on?

NorthoftheLee
12/03/2004, 8:04 AM
heard something last night about rovers having to play their games on saturday afternoon..dont know how true that is tho???
we'll wait and see as usual.

12/03/2004, 1:26 PM
Think been agreed Rovers stay with friday nights as long as no games with Bohs played in Richmond.

Probably best youse park the bus on the Inchicore side if anywhere.

12/03/2004, 1:50 PM
Originally posted by pete
Probably best youse park the bus on the Inchicore side if anywhere.

haha you said "youse"
Jackeen Pete :)

1. NorthoftheLee
2. Xtreme Rebel
3. Colm
4. James

anyone else ?

NorthoftheLee
12/03/2004, 2:01 PM
1. NorthoftheLee
2. Xtreme Rebel
3. Colm
4. James

is that it???????? only 4 people willing to travel by bus to the first away game of the season???? COME ON FEENS!!!!!!!!AND Beours!!!!!!!

12/03/2004, 3:02 PM
Originally posted by James
haha you said "youse"

Well I was trying to teach ye some local lingo - how else ye gonna find your way to Richmond when parked a mile away?

13/03/2004, 2:56 PM
Lads, the Rovers fans have seen this thread and are taking the **** out of us on this thread (http://www.srfcultras.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4816) about our away support. It's embarassing.

Come on people, it's the first away game of the season. I thought everyone would be dying to go on an away trip?

13/03/2004, 3:53 PM
Ah ... they really cant talk .... what happened to them last year. In any of the games, their crowd cover was good ... but they didn't have enough people there to hold it .... really spelt out how sad their support was. And that is not having a dig at them either, i just saying it was that bad.

Bohs fans last year were taking the p!ss out of them because they were giving out about having to get two buses to a game, because it was on the other side of town, man ... we have to travel 150 up and the same back ... 300 clicks for a game.

They are not in a position to take the p!ss

Anyway ... regarding the buses ... you'll find that 60-70% that get the buses are not on the net and the season hasnt started back yet ... i wouldn't worry too much about the responce here.

NorthoftheLee
22/03/2004, 9:51 AM
Back up again............lads I know there's a few going by car etc..but surely we can get enough people for a bus..a small one at that... :confused:

dont mind that lonford weekend thingy....you can think about that afterwards. ;)

22/03/2004, 11:04 AM
i'm up for it alright. need to arrange a half day though. anyone driving?

Eric
22/03/2004, 11:17 AM
I heard that Rovers are not allowed have there games in Richmond kick off any later than 7pm!!!! Anyone know if it's true??

22/03/2004, 11:21 AM
I heard that Rovers are not allowed have there games in Richmond kick off any later than 7pm!!!! Anyone know if it's true??
Yeah its true. Lads there'll be so much security for this game on Friday I'd get your coach to park right outside the ground. There'll be no problems at all.

22/03/2004, 11:31 AM
Back up again............lads I know there's a few going by car etc..but surely we can get enough people for a bus..a small one at that... :confused:

dont mind that lonford weekend thingy....you can think about that afterwards. ;)
I'm goin from Limerick so its as easy for me to just drive rather than goin back to cork and gettin the us. see ye there lads!

22/03/2004, 12:48 PM
Ye would be better off parking to bus outside the stadium where the Gardai can keep an eye on proceedings. Is there actually a bus going at all tho?

22/03/2004, 12:54 PM

Yeah, I'm actually quite shocked at the lack of interest. Our away support was great last year so if that is to continue this season we should really start as we mean to go on.
I'm going up anyway but going on a bus is much easier than going by car or train, not to mention it's a much better laugh. ;)
So come folks, anyone else interested?

22/03/2004, 1:30 PM
Ye would be better off parking to bus outside the stadium where the Gardai can keep an eye on proceedings. Is there actually a bus going at all tho?

If anyone knew anyone in the Gardai maybe they'd get the parking place outside the ground reserved? (assuming a bus is travelling)

mc cash
22/03/2004, 6:15 PM
Yeah, I'm actually quite shocked at the lack of interest. Our away support was great last year so if that is to continue this season we should really start as we mean to go on.
I'm going up anyway but going on a bus is much easier than going by car or train, not to mention it's a much better laugh. ;)
So come folks, anyone else interested?
theres 10 of us who are up in dublin 4 a stag so we are heading to the game as well.mite take a few sunshine fans if they are up 4 it as well.hopefully ye will get your full bus.the team deserves it

shedite
22/03/2004, 6:57 PM
By the way, if anyone going to the game from Dublin would be able to give me a lift into Dublin or to UCD ideally. Don't fancy trying to get out of there in a taxi by myself really. PM me if ya can help.

22/03/2004, 11:30 PM
would love to go to this but going to london the following week to celebrate my 30th :) and sterling doesnt come cheap these days

also gonna miss trip to longford

GUTTED :(

mc cash
23/03/2004, 9:25 AM
would love to go to this but going to london the following week to celebrate my 30th :) and sterling doesnt come cheap these days

also gonna miss trip to longford

GUTTED :(
lads i was just wondering is there a bus going to longford.myself and a few of the buds are interested

23/03/2004, 2:29 PM
lads i was just wondering is there a bus going to longford.myself and a few of the buds are interested

AFAIK, there is definitly a bus being put on for the longford game, that is if there is enough interest

Royfor
23/03/2004, 8:19 PM
I'm on for the Longford Away game..if theres not a bus for Rovers Friday night

Is there a contact phone number for booking a seat??

Roy

citytrueandtrue
23/03/2004, 8:21 PM
i just want to know if there is a bus going because i really want to go and my two friends want to go too so just post a reply plz thanks

NorthoftheLee
24/03/2004, 7:18 AM
bus to rovers cancelled.......

24/03/2004, 7:44 AM
and if we all leave together after the match and stick together walking back to the bus we should be alright....

lads ,ive been out of the scene for a while but is this sh1te still going on?would you be in danger of assault on way in/out of the grounds.

24/03/2004, 8:32 AM
is this sh1te still going on?.

Only really at Richmond, when Rovers play there.
There's a certain element who turn up purely for trouble.
It's not even clear if they are in fact Rovers fans.
It's not unusual for the bus to be stoned and for away supporters to be intimidated or pelted with missiles.
The Gardaí do they're best but you know yourself that it's difficult to police situations like this so away fans must be well wide in Inchicore.

24/03/2004, 9:36 AM
Only really at Richmond, when Rovers play there.
There's a certain element who turn up purely for trouble.
It's not even clear if they are in fact Rovers fans.
It's not unusual for the bus to be stoned and for away supporters to be intimidated or pelted with missiles.
The Gardaí do they're best but you know yourself that it's difficult to police situations like this so away fans must be well wide in Inchicore.

To be fair there are local junkies around there that throw stuff at buses and anyone who passes by regardless of whos playing. Happened at City-Pats matches last year a few times, even the U-21 final!

But the last City/Rovers game left a bad taste in peoples' mouths, having to be escorted by the Gardaí until they were far enough away from the stadium etc.

24/03/2004, 11:04 AM
Not to belittle peoples stories of stone throwing in recent years but i've never had any trouble leaving Richmond after a match.

While Rovers no saints seems trouble caused by the locals more than "home" fans but for reason less likely when Pats are the home team.

Eric
24/03/2004, 2:20 PM
So now that there's no bus running is there gonna be many City fans there at all??

24/03/2004, 2:22 PM
is there gonna be many City fans there at all??

I'm away for the weekend so I wont be there for one.

NorthoftheLee
24/03/2004, 2:25 PM
So now that there's no bus running is there gonna be many City fans there at all??

there'll still be a handy enough crowd I'd say...I'm still heading up...train is always handy....they'll be the usual crowd driving.....

oh ya the rovers fans are having a good old laugh at us on the ultras board....short memories or are they the 30 who travelled to cork last year. :rolleyes:

ian
24/03/2004, 2:55 PM
Lads have a good one and enjoy the game. Only back from a short holday so I will be stuck in work for the day so enjoy.

b_mcsweeney
24/03/2004, 3:09 PM
i'll be there, will see if i can conjure up any fair weather-ers too. looking forward already. just to add my two cents to some of the earlier posts, i agree the only hassle i've had at any away games in dublin was at richmond but it was just some local junkies at the bus stop, nothing to do with the game, and it was just some verbals. at the end of the day, richmonds not exactly in the nicest part of the city.

Ozymandias
24/03/2004, 3:56 PM
so the F**K what if there isn't a bus goin..we will still have a couple of hundred fans at the game Guaranteed......Rovers are right our away support willnever match theirs.....ours will never be that low.........

C'mon the rebels...Fcuk the Dubs

24/03/2004, 4:43 PM
so the F**K what if there isn't a bus goin..we will still have a couple of hundred fans at the game Guaranteed......Rovers are right our away support willnever match theirs.....ours will never be that low.........

C'mon the rebels...Fcuk the Dubs

Ok Ozymandias tell you what, count the amount of City fans at the match.

Wont take you very long because without a bus we wont have 50 there. Where are these 100's of fans going to come from? About 20 living in Dublin another 4/5 car loads heading to it. Be realistic will ya.

one_bounce
24/03/2004, 7:24 PM
myself and rebelnorrie will be there... cant wait
real pity theres not enough interest for a bus being a friday an all.... we only needed 1 out of every 200 at the cross last week to fill a bus..
hopefully this isnt a sign of things to come cos all of the irish matches are on weekdays so there wont be any double weekends in the pale...
longford trip looks more popular though!!
cmon cittttttttttyyyyyyyyyyyy

24/03/2004, 10:24 PM
I'll be there anyway, hopefully there'll still be a good few of us and we can create a bit of atmosphere.

NorthoftheLee
25/03/2004, 8:29 AM
your right im really disappointed that there is no bus going,at least theres gonna be 20 of us there.hopefully the security is gonna be there in numbers as i gotta feelin theres gonna be trouble

on what basis do you get that feeling from??? There'll be nothing happen...

we'll have to wait and see on Friday how many will attend..be optimistic.....

Ozymandias
25/03/2004, 10:13 AM
Ok Ozymandias tell you what, count the amount of City fans at the match.

Wont take you very long because without a bus we wont have 50 there. Where are these 100's of fans going to come from? About 20 living in Dublin another 4/5 car loads heading to it. Be realistic will ya.

I'm optmistic as there will be 16 of us going and that doesn't count anyone on here. I travel by car to these games myself and know there is alot more thatn 4/5 car loads....I think we will easily have 150 to 200 there.

Eric
25/03/2004, 11:59 AM
well the last 3 away fixtures against rovers have been nasty.we have stayed by ourselves away from the city fans and my mate got into a scrap.and needed stitchs.we will be doing the same this time and watching out for the knacker who did it.the security is shocking.most of rovers fans arent even football fans

Forgive me for asking but are you really that FCUKING stupid???? Rovers are known for having troublesome supporters and you go to an away game and distance yourself from your own fans!!!!! And after what happened to you the last time you say you're gonna do exactly the same this time???????

If anything does happen to you this time you deserve it because you are going looking for it.

As for slating the security at Richmond Park, how do you expect them to do a good job when the away fans mingle with the home fans? there is a section in Richmond for away fans and if you don't wanna get ur head kicked in I suggest you go in there with the rest of us.

25/03/2004, 12:41 PM
we are there for the team so it says a lot about your support!

Surely the team will be better supported if everyone groups together and tries to create an atmosphere rather than spreading out?

wishing other city fans unwell.what a ****ing disgrace!

I think the point he was making is that you're asking for trouble given that you should now know what to expect yet are willing to repeat your mistake.
Once bitten, twice shy?
All City fans surely want the headlines on Saturday to read, "City Continue Title March With Formidable Victory At Richmond." not "Football Thugs Run Riot At Richmond."

25/03/2004, 1:04 PM
ru telling the shed lads to go to the st annes end.

It's hardly reasonable to compare the chosen location of home support with the chosen location of away support. It is expected that the home support will occupy as much of the venue as possible where as the away support would be advised to occupy a designated area.
If the cost worries you then just follow my example by paying for a ground ticket then sit in the stand with all the other City fans. When the stewards see your colours they wont bat an eyelid.

mc cash
25/03/2004, 1:11 PM
Forgive me for asking but are you really that FCUKING stupid???? Rovers are known for having troublesome supporters and you go to an away game and distance yourself from your own fans!!!!! And after what happened to you the last time you say you're gonna do exactly the same this time???????

If anything does happen to you this time you deserve it because you are going looking for it.

As for slating the security at Richmond Park, how do you expect them to do a good job when the away fans mingle with the home fans? there is a section in Richmond for away fans and if you don't wanna get ur head kicked in I suggest you go in there with the rest of us.
theres always one clown with something to say."the boy" has been going to rovers game all his life.and its not cheap.u probably dont realise that ****en college boy :mad:

25/03/2004, 1:14 PM
Silly boy, "citytilwedie" must be a wind up merchant or someone who actually wants to get beaten up/start a fight.

If you go to where the away fans go At least you'll get half arsed protection from the stewards there. Go elsewhere and your just asking for trouble.

AS for the game I'd say we'll just about shade it. 1-0. Mooney to do us a favour but otherwise play well.

NorthoftheLee
25/03/2004, 1:26 PM
u probably dont realise that ****en college boy :mad:

if only he knew....if only he knew.... :D

ya shame on you Eric!!!!!!!!! shame on you!

mc cash
25/03/2004, 1:33 PM
if only he knew....if only he knew.... :D

ya shame on you Eric!!!!!!!!! shame on you!
i dont give a **** what he does.or you for that matter.im here to support city and if you dont like it ...well **** off ******

25/03/2004, 1:42 PM
Inchicore is dodgy especially for Rovers agme but for fecks sake its not the Gaza Strip or anything.