View Full Version : Listowel Sex Assault Case

17/12/2009, 5:21 PM
Unbelievable (http://www.kerryseye.com/listowel_bouncer_jailed_for.html)

Only heard about this a little while ago and cant get over this. In shock.

17/12/2009, 5:28 PM
just been reading about this incident too - disgraceful from all concerned. Is it any wonder that the majority of victims of sex crimes are reluctant to proceed with prosecution?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2009/1217/1224260840003.html

http://bigmentaldisease.com/ireland/i-knew-kerry-was-full-of-morons/

from boards.ie...

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63542328&postcount=17

Parochial mindset is alive and well in Kerry.

17/12/2009, 5:54 PM
That is truly horrifying. Why would people want to shake his hand?

oscar
17/12/2009, 6:35 PM
the punishment for such crimes in this country is appaling,the sentences these sickos recieve is nowhere near what they should get,i'd shake him alright,by the neck

17/12/2009, 6:41 PM
He changed his story when he was told there was CCTV of him bringing the girl up the alley way:(,and as for the priest that backed him up:mad:
-------------------------------
Extract from betfair Irish forum
---------------------

During his trial, Foley told the jury in graphic and sometimes coarse detail of what he claimed were consensual sexual acts. He claimed the woman, who was 22 at the time, asked him to have sex with her and that she wanted to get drunk quickly.

CCTV footage was shown to the jury in which the woman was unable to walk a straight line and was clinging on to Foley at the back of a nightclub.

Later the clips showed Foley carrying her across the car park to the skip.

“I came around here for a slash and I saw your wan lying on the ground. No one arrived. I tried to get her standing,” he at first told Garda John White who along with Garda Mary McGinty came upon them at 3.50 am on June 15th, 2008.

He later retracted this story after he became aware of the CCTV footage.

The trial heard how she had been consuming alcohol on the night. “But she was not in difficulty until she encountered the accused,” prosecutor Tom Rice said. Judge McDonagh said Foley had told lie after lie. “It was quite clear the jury did not accept the assertions you made,” the judge said. Barrister Patrick Wymes said Foley had no previous convictions, was engaged and was looking after ill parents
http://site.forum.betfair.com/jive3/index.jspa

17/12/2009, 7:01 PM
It is truly horrible how that woman's being treated.

It comes across like she's being ostracised and isolated for complaining about the incident and this fella who did it and then lied about it is getting commiserations and handshakes.

It's one thing for his family to treat him that way but for other people to do it really is shocking and horrifying. They've let that girl down.

This whole incident is just disgusting.

Crosby87
17/12/2009, 7:34 PM
I saw this in the Irish Echo.

Are the courts similar as in the US, does the whole jury have to be unanimous to convict,etc?

17/12/2009, 7:51 PM
I saw this in the Irish Echo.

Are the courts similar as in the US, does the whole jury have to be unanimous to convict,etc?

Has to be 10 out of 12.

First the judge asks for unanimous, if this isnt possible he asks for majority(10 OR 11)

Otherwise it's a hung jury.

17/12/2009, 7:54 PM
iirc generally for criminal cases it will be unanimous but if the jury have been away for a long time and there is total deadlock with one person not giving unanimity then the judge will accept the 11-1 verdict.

17/12/2009, 7:55 PM
iirc generally for criminal cases it will be unanimous but if the jury have been away for a long time and there is total deadlock with one person not giving unanimity then the judge will accept the 11-1 verdict.

10-2 can also be accepted.

17/12/2009, 10:50 PM
Just in case people aren't aware given the discussion of majority decisions, this animal was convicted on a unanimous.

The behaviour of some in Listowel is disgusting. That priest was still saying "alledged" incidents this morning on Newstalk. I suppose we all know that priests have low moral base when it comes to sexual abuse. To me, on reflection on the day, is that shocking thing is is that I'm not that shocked.

17/12/2009, 11:00 PM
That was hard reading for someone of Kerry extraction. Unfortunately this type of behaviour is common all over the country, in all the little towns. Its only when you're out late and sober, you realise just how dangerous it is for girls.

17/12/2009, 11:02 PM
It's not that shocking really, is it? (the handshakes, etc, not the crime).
People tend to believe their family/friends side of events.

If he turned round to his ma and said he didn't do anything wrong, 9 times out of 10, she's going to believe him.
People don't like to think that their friend/family member is capable of doing something like that, so I don't find the reaction of his friends/family that surprising.

18/12/2009, 8:13 AM
It's not that shocking really, is it? (the handshakes, etc, not the crime).
People tend to believe their family/friends side of events.

If he turned round to his ma and said he didn't do anything wrong, 9 times out of 10, she's going to believe him.
People don't like to think that their friend/family member is capable of doing something like that, so I don't find the reaction of his friends/family that surprising.

I think it's the volume of people involved and the brazenness of their defiance and denial that's shocking. The evidence is pretty damning, the judge condemns him and the jury give a unanimous verdict to convict him, it's horrific that so many people would still be willing to shake his hand and claim his innocence; I couldn't even pretend to stay friends with someone guilty of that.

18/12/2009, 2:04 PM
Didnt read the links in earlier posts but I read somewhere that the woman in question is being shunned in local shops and is considering leaving town!
Feckin disgrace!

18/12/2009, 2:10 PM
Surely there's a very strong case for legal action against some of the facebook comments? The one linked above and this one (http://boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=99241&d=1261064146) are libel and threatening behaviour respectively surely?

Edit - "Do not shun 'so-called victim', says brother (http://breakingnews.iol.ie/news/ireland/do-not-shun-socalled-victim-says-brother-of-listowel-sex-attacker-438746.html)"

So-called victim?!

19/12/2009, 4:17 PM
Priest steps down after Listowel controversy (http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1218/listowel.html)

The priest who provided a character reference for a convicted sex offender in Kerry has withdrawn from his parish work, following a meeting with the Bishop of Kerry, Dr Bill Murphy.

weecountyman
22/12/2009, 10:43 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/world/2009/1219/1224260979380.html?via=mr

Still stunned by the attitude of the Listowel quarterwits in their behaviour, and then this popped across from America. I guess we can be thankful the judge in Kerry at least had a bit of humanity. Or at least had cctv to fall back on.

22/12/2009, 3:28 PM
I think it's the volume of people involved and the brazenness of their defiance and denial that's shocking. The evidence is pretty damning, the judge condemns him and the jury give a unanimous verdict to convict him, it's horrific that so many people would still be willing to shake his hand and claim his innocence; I couldn't even pretend to stay friends with someone guilty of that.

Thats something I feel very strongly about too, and I'd be in the same boat too PI.
I mean, one of the people who his hand has to have a daughter or a female spouse who's been legally drunk at some time or another. It could easily have been them.

I didn't realise that the victim and the perpetrator knew each other!
The Catholic Church sure aren't making things easy for themselves these days either.

That story linked above is absolutely shocking. I mean you hear on murders and attacks, crimes and frauds and it wears you down, but to read something like what happened to that girl, and what happened to that poor infant in Enniskillen and it kicks the life out of you. I'd be as hardy as the next fella, but when you start rearing your own and you read what we're reading, its terribly upsetting. I'd love to have a daughter to go with the son I have, but I wonder is it worth it? All sectors of society are culpable for all sorts of crime now. Its tough times we're living in.

22/12/2009, 3:57 PM
Thats something I feel very strongly about too, and I'd be in the same boat too PI.
I mean, one of the people who his hand has to have a daughter or a female spouse who's been legally drunk at some time or another. It could easily have been them.

I didn't realise that the victim and the perpetrator knew each other!
The Catholic Church sure aren't making things easy for themselves these days either.

That story linked above is absolutely shocking. I mean you hear on murders and attacks, crimes and frauds and it wears you down, but to read something like what happened to that girl, and what happened to that poor infant in Enniskillen and it kicks the life out of you. I'd be as hardy as the next fella, but when you start rearing your own and you read what we're reading, its terribly upsetting. I'd love to have a daughter to go with the son I have, but I wonder is it worth it? All sectors of society are culpable for all sorts of crime now. Its tough times we're living in.

There is no evidence to suggest that females live worse lives than males. In some areas like suicide male deaths are more prevalent but in other areas like domestic violence wome are more often the victim. There is no logic to your irrational fears about bringing a girl into the world as oppossed to a boy.

22/12/2009, 5:22 PM
There is no evidence to suggest that females live worse lives than males. In some areas like suicide male deaths are more prevalent but in other areas like domestic violence wome are more often the victim. There is no logic to your irrational fears about bringing a girl into the world as oppossed to a boy.

Of course there's no logic to it Neil, but its hard not to get depressed when the stories start stacking up.

23/12/2009, 9:26 AM
That is more to do with the availability to the media than anything. People live longer and are healthier and safer than they have ever been but sure that is not reported in the news. As Dara O Brian, says People living longer is reported as Pension Crisis.

23/12/2009, 10:25 AM
I kinda understand where Kingdom is coming from, I would have loved a daughter but I worry so much about my sisters safety that I am glad I dont have any girls. But then I worry about my sons so much, Dylan is 15 and next year he is gonna be looking to go out drinking and partying and I wont be able to sleep until he is home coz of all the things that can happen. Boys aged 16-25 are the most likely victims in car crashes, fights etc so have all that as well as the worry of him doing drugs, getting rotten drunk or getting some girl pregnant ahead of me. Then there is his younger brother Jake who is gonna be a nutter. He is not quiet as handsome as Dylan (who is a stunner - but then I'm his mammy so of course I think he is gorgeous!) but has a cheeky chappy character which will be a chick magnet. He is gonna be trouble.

But no matter what happens we will face it as a family with love and trust and bar one of them dying, I know I can get through it as they are my world.

Kingdom, all you can do is give your kids strong values, lots of love and attention and be there when they fall. My mum's phlisophy and no mine is give them "roots and wings" and let them go with love.

24/12/2009, 12:59 PM
Then there is his younger brother Jake who is gonna be a nutter. He is not quiet as handsome as Dylan (who is a stunner - but then I'm his mammy so of course I think he is gorgeous!) but has a cheeky chappy character which will be a chick magnet. He is gonna be trouble.

Who's the ugly one's mother then? :p

24/12/2009, 9:01 PM
He is far from ugly, just not as gorgeous as Dylan!

25/12/2009, 10:11 AM
Poor lad posts here under the handle of Paul O Shea too, he is going to be gutted when he reads this.

yapster
04/01/2010, 1:44 AM
A lot of those people apparantly were relatives and friends of the rapist,it still is shocking to see. The priest was a disgrace but then again hardly surprising considering the organisation he works for. That poor girl is destroyed for life like the victims of the Catholic Church and the meekness & ignorance of the Irish people who make excuses for these criminals.