View Full Version : Mick McCarthy...Shame on you

Pages : 1 [2] 3

carloz
16/12/2009, 5:53 PM
Why are people giving out to him for this. He can pick whatever bloody team he likes. They have an awfully hard christmas run and have 5 games in 3 weeks. Why shouldn't he rest players in a match he knows they have limited chance of getting anything. Smart move and just might pay dividends over xmas

Junior
16/12/2009, 8:07 PM
Ill be backing Burnley at the weekend anyway.

Out of interest - Based on what, their great away form?

16/12/2009, 8:09 PM
See SSN last night....Wolves fans....

Once again Mick proves what a complete and utter gobsh*te he really is :rolleyes:

Aye, cause I will trust SSN.

endabob1
17/12/2009, 6:45 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/w/wolverhampton_wanderers/8416359.stm
Wolves have to explain themselves..

But it was ok for Utd to put out a weakened team when Hull were in danger of relegation on the last day of last season.....

http://sports.rediff.com/report/2009/may/21/manchester-united-can-field-weakened-team-vs-hull.htm

Manchester United have every right to field a weakened team against Hull City on Sunday even though it could have an impact on the relegation battle, Premier League chief executive Richard Scudamore has said.

"You have to be realistic: they've got a squad, and therefore you can't argue that they deploy the benefit of that squad in a game on Sunday."

I'd like to see how the PL reconcile these 2 stances.....

1 rule for the Skyballbig4 and several hundred ever changing rules for all the other teams

17/12/2009, 8:03 AM
and have 5 games in 3 weeks.
Wow, how will professional players cope...

northwestexile
17/12/2009, 9:10 AM
Have to disagree with Razor. Mic is a good manager, his results at Sunderland were off the back of having absolutely no money to spend on players. Hence John Stead being one of his signings that year.
How big an influence this has on Wolves results will depend on how Mic manages the situation IMO as I wonder how this will affect the players in his squad. The guys who were dropped for the United game and brought back in for the Burnley game might think they are first team and untouchable. The guys brought in for the United game and dropped for Burnley might think what’s the point they are squad players. Might lead to a drop off in competition within the squad.
I think that’s what will have a bigger affect on their results, not if the players think the integrity of the league has been compromised

Junior
17/12/2009, 9:31 AM
Also, with all the attention the Wolves v Burnley match is now getting (which it wouldnt normally have received) - Its more than possible that the Burnley Players will up their game a level, not wanting to play out Micks hopes of them being the 'easy / less difficult' touch

Ronan85
17/12/2009, 10:18 AM
Of all the players that ever played for him I'd guess that about one would agree with you.

Although that one did say "Mick McCarthy was top class" in his advice to him early in his managerial career.

Great post Stuttgart.

Mick is one of the most honest and loyal players ever to play for Ireland. Similarly, he gave it his all when he was manager.

As you said, only one player ever had a problem with Mick and that player has since demonstrated his lack on bona fides when he was effectively sacked by Manchester United and by walking out on Sunderland.

This thread from an ceannaire is clearly a wind-up and should be closed in my opinion, as it does not relate to the national team.

17/12/2009, 10:39 AM
Can't understand the fuss. Every player that lined up is part of the squad submitted to the Premier League at the start of the season and therefore part of the Wolverhampton squad.

He can pick whoever the hell he wants as long as they're registered. The FA asking him to explain his team selection is just lip service. They haven't got a leg to stand on.

17/12/2009, 11:41 AM
It's Mick's call and he is the manager. If Wolves stay up at the end of the season because they got 3 points against Burnley it was worth the aggro.

I can understand why some of the Wolves fans are angry but they must surely realise that the League is 38 games not just one.

Word of caution though. Aston Villa tried a similiar thing in the Uefa Cup last season (rested the first team) and their season fell apart.

Den Perry
17/12/2009, 12:14 PM
whatever about fielding a weakened team, he should look for a new keeper as that clown Hannamen is awful, and always has been.Is Hennessy injured?(not that he's great either)

lionelhutz
17/12/2009, 12:41 PM
IMO he was completely wrong in what he did. Not for the integrity of the Premier League but because he's lost the momentum and confidence that they gained from beating Spurs. I think they would have had a fair chance of gaining at least a point from the game with their strongest 11 since United are in awful form and are savaged by injuries at the back.

Also, the pressure has been heaped onto the players now for the game against Burnley - they know the media and fans will hang them if they lose. It was an awful decision by McCarthy.

DeLorean
17/12/2009, 1:04 PM
I don't agree Lionel. For a start, United aren't setting the World on fire but to say they're in awful form just isn't true. Before the blip against Villa they had scored 11 goals in their previous 3 PL games, reached the Semi Finals of the Carling Cup and topped their group in the Champions League. If that's awful form the rest of the PL should be very worried. Chances are Wolves would have lost at OT and the momentum you speak of would have been broken anyway. This way, they got a good rest after their exploits against Spurs and the actual Wolves side that played that match should still have the momentum to carry them into Burnley.

As for the ethics of the whole thing, it's certainly no worse than United fielding a new team against Hull on the final day of last season. To be honest I don't think Arsenal, Chelsea, etc. would be too bothered as I'm sure they pencilled in 3 points for United, long before the teamsheets were announced. It's a part of the game now and although McCarthy took it to the extreme it would be opening a serious can of worms for the FA to pull him on it. Like Shakermaker said above, McCarthy is the boss and it's his decision. Whether we agree that he was right to do it or not I'm sure he had Wolves best interests at heart, and that's what he's there for.

17/12/2009, 1:26 PM
Wow, how will professional players cope...
I really despise this line of argument. No one will tell you that the players can't do this. The question is simply whether or not their performance dips. It does.

lionelhutz
17/12/2009, 1:38 PM
As for the ethics of the whole thing, it's certainly no worse than United fielding a new team against Hull on the final day of last season or Portsmouth keeping Fulham in the PL a week before their FA Cup Final. To be honest I don't think Arsenal, Chelsea, etc. would be too bothered as I'm sure they pencilled in 3 points for United, long before the teamsheets were announced. It's a part of the game now and although McCarthy took it to the extreme it would be opening a serious can of worms for the FA to pull him on it. Like Shakermaker said above, McCarthy is the boss and it's his decision. Whether we agree that he was right to do it or not I'm sure he had Wolves best interests at heart, and that's what he's there for.

Burnley and Villa beat United this season. Sunderland drew at Old Trafford. And the Burnley and sunderland results were against much better United teams than what Wolves faced.

You say its no better than United fielding a weak side against Hull. Thats complete nonsense. Everyone still expected United to beat Hull with their second string - which they duly did. The fact is the top four can afford to weaken their sides and still win, the likes of Wolves can't. McCarthy basically handed United the 3 points before kick off. How can anyone say thats a good decision??

DeLorean
17/12/2009, 1:59 PM
You say its no better than United fielding a weak side against Hull. Thats complete nonsense. Everyone still expected United to beat Hull with their second string - which they duly did. The fact is the top four can afford to weaken their sides and still win, the likes of Wolves can't. McCarthy basically handed United the 3 points before kick off. How can anyone say thats a good decision??

I think what your saying is far greater nonsense. By United fielding the team they did against Hull it put Newcastles PL safety at a far greater risk. Just because United managed to scrape the 3 points is neither here nor there really. I was talking about ethics when I used this example, and although I feel that they had the right to field whatever team they liked, surely they had more of a morale dilemma than Wolves? Also, Villa and Sunderland are far better teams than Wolves and home advantage was a big factor in the Burnley win. Anyway, I'm not really saying McCarthy was right to do what he did, there's arguments for and against, but I do believe he was entitled to do what he thought was best.

Emmet7
17/12/2009, 6:42 PM
They would have lost and he might have injured some of his better players, so it was a non-brainer decision really.

Come the end of the season, Burnley V Wolves may prove to be a relegation 6 pointer.

Wolves won't stay up by putting out their best team against Man Utd and squad players against the likes of Burnley.

Metrostars
17/12/2009, 8:59 PM
The so callled Top Four have being doing this for years and are now moaning about Wolves doing it. Such hyprocity.

Dead on.

I don't see people complaining when ManUtd rests Giggs or Liverpool rests Torres.

There is NO difference.

Hibs4Ever
20/12/2009, 2:31 PM
Out of interest, why was this thread moved, but the Brian Kerr, Faroe Islands thread seems good enough for the Irish section?

20/12/2009, 5:46 PM
Well Done Mick. Got it spot on!:)

joema
20/12/2009, 6:18 PM
Well done, Mick.

So, how many of those who were having a pop off Mick would have won 6 points from Wolves last three matches?

20/12/2009, 6:48 PM
delighted for him.

cartman
21/12/2009, 1:04 AM
After reading through this thread, its amazing to see how many idiots there are out there. How can anyone in their right mind, or with half a brain for that matter, think that giving a walkover to any team in a competitive match as McCarthy did during the week could be a positive thing for his team??

It's a ludicrous suggestion - and its even funnier to see the idiots above say McCarthy has been proven right by their victory against Burnley today. Pure moronic stuff. If wolves had given the United game a proper go,why would they not have beaten burnley today??

And before we hear more of the same stupidity in previous pages about wolves players being tired or getting injured in the United match - let me ask ye this, have wolves never played 3 games in a week and picked up 3 results from those games?? Out of interest has any team played 3 games in a week and got 3 results, or this now impossible!! After reading yer posts, it must be impossible.

Also, does this mean if wolves have 3 games in a week later in the season, McCarthy will have to drop his team for the midweek game as they are incapable of playing 3 games in one week??

21/12/2009, 8:39 AM
He's the manager he can pick whatever team he likes

Roadend
21/12/2009, 8:56 AM
After reading through this thread, its amazing to see how many idiots there are out there. How can anyone in their right mind, or with half a brain for that matter, think that giving a walkover to any team in a competitive match as McCarthy did during the week could be a positive thing for his team??

I'd say three points at home To Burnley and your striker coming out saying that they were fresher and sharper might point to it being positive.

21/12/2009, 9:19 AM
I'd say three points at home To Burnley and your striker coming out saying that they were fresher and sharper might point to it being positive.

I don't agree with this. I think the striker (Doyle) was asked a leading question by the interviewer. What was he going to say? No??

It is silly to say he was "vindicated" by the decision, as the SKy interviewer said. Wolves finished comfortably ahead of Burnley in the Championship last year. Burnley haven't won away from home all season. Whether Wolves played mid-week or not, they should have beaten Burnley which they did, rested or not. What we will never know is whether Wolves may also have picked up an extra point or three against a totally out of form and weakened Man U side (stuffed 3-0 by Fulham).

Emmet7
21/12/2009, 2:28 PM
I think if we are honest, we'd say that Man Utd vs Wolves is like a heavyweight boxer fighting a middle weight. Yes the middle weight would land some punches but would suffer a lot of punishment in doing so.

If Wolves beat United but lost to Burnley due to having injuries, suspensions and tired players, this would have been the worse outcome.

Burnley v Wolves is a relegation 6 pointer. Beating United wouldn't be worth as many points to Wolves. With that result Wolves have probably condemned Burnley to a relegation fight and may have secured a mid table finish to the season for themselves. Had the reverse happened, Wolves would be in relegation trouble.

Good decision by Mick.

21/12/2009, 4:17 PM
McCarthy picked from a squad of first team players.

Should we even pretend it was the best 11? No.

Should we even pretend McCarthy didn't sacrifice a (remotely) possible result at Old Trafford to better his chances (as he saw it) against Burnley? No.

But they were in the first team squad, and he played them, not reserves. He has the power to do that, and he should have nothing to explain to anybody.

21/12/2009, 4:20 PM
What we will never know is whether Wolves may also have picked up an extra point or three against a totally out of form and weakened Man U side (stuffed 3-0 by Fulham).We'll also never know whether they would have beaten Burnley if they'd played a full strength team at Old Trafford.

21/12/2009, 4:55 PM
We'll also never know whether they would have beaten Burnley if they'd played a full strength team at Old Trafford.

That's also the point I am making. We don't know either way. They would probably have beaten Burnley whether they played Man U or not and they probably would have been beaten by Man U. However, it is not true to say he was "vindicated" as the Sky commentator said.

If Wolves go down by a point, I expect the virtual non-fullfilment of the fixture at Man U (since that is what it was) to be brought up again.

Metrostars
21/12/2009, 6:54 PM
McCarthy drops 10 players for Man Utd and everyone is up in arms about it and then he drops 9 players for the Burnley game and nobody is complaining about that.....

Razors left peg
21/12/2009, 7:31 PM
McCarthy drops 10 players for Man Utd and everyone is up in arms about it and then he drops 9 players for the Burnley game and nobody is complaining about that.....

very good:D

cheifo
21/12/2009, 11:55 PM

:D Damned if you do, damned.....

Closed Account 2
21/12/2009, 11:56 PM
Liverpool away on the 26th, Man City home on the 28th, I wonder if McCarthy will put the reserves out for one or perhaps both of these games and save the first team for the banana-skin cup tie at Prenton Park on the 3rd.... he could just take the reserves up to Anfield on Boxing Day and leave them in a travelodge for a few days until the Tranmere game... :)

endabob1
22/12/2009, 6:55 AM
I doubt he cares about the cup, more likely to play the reserves in that game, survival is the name of the game for Bear Grylls McCarthy

Roadend
22/12/2009, 10:21 AM
Liverpool away on the 26th, Man City home on the 28th, I wonder if McCarthy will put the reserves out for one or perhaps both of these games and save the first team for the banana-skin cup tie at Prenton Park on the 3rd.... he could just take the reserves up to Anfield on Boxing Day and leave them in a travelodge for a few days until the Tranmere game... :)

He might only need the reserves on the 26th the way Liverpool are playing lately

22/12/2009, 11:13 AM
He might only need the reserves on the 26th the way Liverpool are playing lately

Wolves should risk the under 12s team!!! :D

04/01/2010, 9:12 AM
Leeds, a Division One side, wins at Old T. Hmmmmm.

05/01/2010, 8:23 AM
Leeds, a Division One side, wins at Old T. Hmmmmm.

ah but Leeds are a top flight club in the naughty boys corner on a time out -and anyway Sir Alex gets a carte blanche on these matters. Looking over the rim of my (white) rose tinted specs for a sec it was worrying to witness how little of a grip of the game Darron Gibson got the other day. Mickey Doyle playing a full two divisions below would've impressed Trap more I daresay had he been there.

lionelhutz
05/01/2010, 3:47 PM
ah but Leeds are a top flight club in the naughty boys corner on a time out -and anyway Sir Alex gets a carte blanche on these matters. Looking over the rim of my (white) rose tinted specs for a sec it was worrying to witness how little of a grip of the game Darron Gibson got the other day. Mickey Doyle playing a full two divisions below would've impressed Trap more I daresay had he been there.

You can't be serious about the part in bold. How many of the Leeds players have you heard of - besides Beckford and maybe Michael Doyle cause he's Irish?

It really does show how idiotic McCarthy was when he forfeited the game against United. The United team that started against Leeds was stonger than the one that played Wolves with the injured players back.

05/01/2010, 3:59 PM
You can't be serious about the part in bold. How many of the Leeds players have you heard of - besides Beckford and maybe Michael Doyle cause he's Irish?

His point is that Leeds are a bigger club than their current division would suggest. Leeds going to Old Trafford and winning is nowhere as big a shock as any of the other League One sides doing so.

yapster
05/01/2010, 8:32 PM
:D Damned if you do, damned.....

Spot on :cool:

18/02/2010, 5:55 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/w/wolverhampton_wanderers/8521603.stm

I think this is a terrible decision. At least, McCarthy wants to move on but it is definitely the wrong message to send out, imo: big teams can squad rotate but small teams can't.

GalwayRed
18/02/2010, 6:26 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/w/wolverhampton_wanderers/8521603.stm

I think this is a terrible decision. At least, McCarthy wants to move on but it is definitely the wrong message to send out, imo: big teams can squad rotate but small teams can't.
Agreed. Its a fairly small punishment but its the fact that the likes of united and liverpool and others have done this in the past and got away with it. If the Premier League board are to follow up on this and punish all clubs who commit a similar offence then fair enough but only time will tell. At the moment it just seems like picking on the smaller clubs.

19/02/2010, 12:52 AM
a precedent has now been set, let's see if the same precedent is enforced if some team puts out the reserves a week before the FA Cup/Champions League final

19/02/2010, 2:20 AM
As a Man Utd fan... this precedent won't extend to the top teams. But we should probably avoid blowing it out of proportion - 25 grand is a nothing fine to a side like Wolves, and even so it's suspended. It's as lenient as they could have been, considering it was a nothing charge to begin with.

19/02/2010, 8:23 AM
I think the decision to fine Wolves was a disgrace (suspended or not). 1 rule for the big four and sod the rest.

19/02/2010, 9:07 AM
Not sure any of the "big four" has ever made 10 changes for a Premier league game. I still think it was the wrong decision by McCarthy (is he going to do the same against Chelsea?) from a football point of view but the fine is a nonsense. Either deduct points or do nothing - £25k is a joke and not a deterrent.

19/02/2010, 9:41 AM
Not sure any of the "big four" has ever made 10 changes for a Premier league game. I still think it was the wrong decision by McCarthy (is he going to do the same against Chelsea?) from a football point of view but the fine is a nonsense. Either deduct points or do nothing - £25k is a joke and not a deterrent.

Man Utd against Hull last season! Last game of the season and Hull needed to equal Newcastle's result to stay up. Gibson scored a screamer to win the game and luckily for Hull Duffer scored an own goal (cannot remember who it was against) which meant Hull stayed up.

endabob1
19/02/2010, 9:49 AM

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/feb/18/wolves-fined-manchester-united

"The board considered submissions from Wolverhampton Wanderers FC and had sympathy for the explanation submitted by the club in relation to similar cases from previous seasons. However the board ruled that this case could be differentiated from the other matches cited and that disciplinary action was warranted."

as opposed to

http://sports.rediff.com/report/2009/may/21/manchester-united-can-field-weakened-team-vs-hull.htm

Manchester United have every right to field a weakened team against Hull City on Sunday even though it could have an impact on the relegation battle, Premier League chief executive Richard Scudamore has said.

"You have to be realistic: they've got a squad, and therefore you can't argue that they deploy the benefit of that squad in a game on Sunday."

Even though it's a suspended fine the hypocrisy is staggering