View Full Version : T.V. Coverage of eircom league
rambler09
08/03/2004, 10:12 PM
I think that there should be 2 eircom league weekley shows..
1 dedicated to the premier and
1 dedicated to the first division so that all the teams get more coverage.
OR
a hour long show and 30 minutes to each division because i don't think the first division gets the coverage it deserves.
What do ye think yourselves??
08/03/2004, 10:17 PM
There should be tons more eL on TV, but it's unlikely to happen.
As for the idea of splitting the time spent on the Premier and First Division equally, I can't see it happening. The Premier Division will attract the greatest rating, so it'll get the most air time.
You're right though, the First Division gets barely any air time, and deserves more. As does the Premier. But sure haven't we been saying this for years?
Ringo
09/03/2004, 10:36 AM
Any chance of having the Eircom league programme on at a normal hour? The only reason the first Division got any coverage last year was because we paid to have our matches taped & gave the tape to TV3.
09/03/2004, 10:48 AM
Originally posted by brendy_eire
the First Division gets barely any air time,
i wonder why:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
do u really wanna watch killkenny vs queenstown:rolleyes:
09/03/2004, 10:58 AM
as an el supporter i wanna see all teams at a decent hour, i have spoken at length to employees of both tv3 and rte about this and their point is, its too expensive to send a camera to all parts of the country to cover each match........but they should at least make an effort to cover all premier games ( sorry div 1 ) but there are only 5 a week after all
09/03/2004, 11:09 AM
Originally posted by max power
as an el supporter i wanna see all teams at a decent hour, i have spoken at length to employees of both tv3 and rte about this and their point is, its too expensive to send a camera to all parts of the country to cover each match........but they should at least make an effort to cover all premier games ( sorry div 1 ) but there are only 5 a week after all
I know what your saying about giving more coverage to the Premier, but we need to show at least 2/3 games of the 1st division every week as well. We need to promote the league as a whole, not just the premier boys. Personally i dont mind the hour its on, a bit of peace and quite to watch it !
As you say, its only 5 games in the premier every week, and then if they put a further 2/3 games in the 1st - i dont think thats gonna break the bank ? sometimes they dont even send cameras to premier division matches ! shocking stuff.
We have our local college covering our matches as a part of there course, its not great but better than nothing ! and were very greatful of it.
They need to re-structure the programme big time.
Maybe the Top match from Both divisions would be a good way to start, with highlights from a further 3/4 Premier matches and then highlights from a further 2/3 matches in the 1st ?
09/03/2004, 11:12 AM
it costs between 400/500 before mileage to get one of their camera men to do one of the matchs.....it all adds up and they would rather spend the money on some stupid imported comedy...thats just the way of the world
09/03/2004, 12:04 PM
Why don't the club get the cameras organised themselves? AFAIK, our cameras aren't done by TV3, it's done by the club who pass on the video to anyone that wants it.
09/03/2004, 12:06 PM
that was what was done at longford ( i think ) the quality wasn't great but it done the job...if the club record the game and send it to tv 3 they will show it, for further info you can e mail
sport@tv3.ie they will tell you all you need to know
I know we all moaned about RTEs efforts in the past but IMO TV3s recent coverage has been dire. Aside from the good almost daily coverage on Sports Tonight the eL weekly & occasional live game has been less than impressive.
TG4 are showing a lot of live sport these days & i'm sure they'd be keen to fill the rugby friday night void with some summer football?
Maybe let TG4 do the live games & another channel to show highlights?
09/03/2004, 12:14 PM
tv 3 have the contract i think, its all a bit grey at the mo....
Aberdonian Stu
09/03/2004, 12:38 PM
Originally posted by Roo69
We have our local college covering our matches as a part of there course, its not great but better than nothing ! and were very greatful of it.
Is that DLIADT or one in Bray?
Originally posted by Aberdonian Stu
Is that DLIADT or one in Bray?
Almost 100% sure it the one in Bray - BIFE
rambler09
09/03/2004, 5:21 PM
we tape our games almost every week but its never on tv3 only corous but thats ****!
one of the things that annoyed me was goal of the season last year,there was one or two goals from the first division but i saw yelve score a 40 yard top corrner drive against waterford but it wasn't on goal of the week or season. there was cameras at the game that night.
Maynard
09/03/2004, 5:29 PM
Personally I think RTE have alot to answer for. Most national broadcasters only have tv licence revenue to work with, but RTE show as many ads as any commercial station, and therefore are taking in twice the money.
The fact that they are willing to shell out their (our) money on Friends re-runs and even SPL soccer (not to forget the Premiership of course) ahead of our own national league is disgraceful.
The arguement that people would not watch it doesn't hold any water. When BBC show Millwall Vs Tranmere in the Cup (or any such game) you can bet that thousands of Irish viewers tune in just to watch a game of football.
If they had an Eircom League game on people would watch it also, even if they have no active interest.
Although TV3's coverage is flawed you have to give them the credit for taking a chance on the EL when it was/is much more of a risk for them to do so.
RTE should be made to commit to at least a comprehensive weekly magazine programme, if they want to retain the right to show the Cup final, and generally pick 1 or 2 plum matches a season.
Otherwise TV3 should be able to cover them due to their general commitment.
Footie_Fan
09/03/2004, 7:58 PM
I think the premier games should get a have camera man present at every game and they should be shown on the weekly highlights show, along with one or two key first division games. The covered first division games could be rotated around the Dublin clubs but when they are playing the country sides for expenses reasons.
eoinh
10/03/2004, 11:27 AM
I saw recently that TnaG have after months of trying built up their audience for their rugby celtic league matchs to 120,000.
Nice of them to give time and effort in cultivating an audience. Live Eircom league matchs already get bigger audiences. Imagine what a bit of "cultivating" would do for the eircom league and their viewing figures. But of course we wont get that as TnaG are an RTE station.
BTW TV3 do not hold an exclusive contract on eircom league matchs.
DavidB
10/03/2004, 11:41 PM
Do any of you have any idea as yet how many live games will be shown in the forthcoming season.
11/03/2004, 9:08 AM
between 0 and 1 i'd say
Originally posted by eoinh
I saw recently that TnaG have after months of trying built up their audience for their rugby celtic league matchs to 120,000.
do not hold an exclusive contract on eircom league matchs.
120k for friday night celtic league rugby is a very good figure for TG4. Internationals would be lucky to pull in 3 times that number.
eoinh
11/03/2004, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by pete
120k for friday night celtic league rugby is a very good figure for TG4. Internationals would be lucky to pull in 3 times that number.
That was their best figure, Pete and after years? of covering it.
If they covered the eircom league im sure they would get more! Even if they covered the european games and inter-toto cup games involving irish clubs that RTE dont touch. Although TG4 is an RTE station. :(
TG4 is owned by RTÉ, not an RTÉ station. Im not sure but I dont think RTÉ are the sole owners.
Anyone who has a way with words want to write a letter to TG4 asking them if they plan to cover eL games. I'll do a version as gaeilge then. It'll show them there is a bi-lingual audience out there for Irish soccer.
Eoinh?
TG4 are showing the Celtic game tonight, so I imagine their priorities lie in the same place as the muppets in montrose.
Originally posted by Éanna
TG4 are showing the Celtic game tonight, so I imagine their priorities lie in the same place as the muppets in montrose.
Well more that it'll make then money and raise the profile of the channel.
Just like Irish teams playing British teams in friendlys. We make money off their "fans" and put our product in the shop window.
TommyT
11/03/2004, 11:37 PM
That was the subtext of my post about rugby on the off-topic forum, though most people here missed it.
pete 180,000 watched the France match on RTE, though obviously it was on BBC at thesame time.
Aberdonian Stu
12/03/2004, 10:57 AM
The BBC would account for a decent proportion of Irish rugby viewers, couldn't even hazard a guess at how many but I'd saw that they'd at least drag that 180,000 over the 200k mark if combined.
eoinh
14/03/2004, 11:42 AM
Originally posted by SÓC
TG4 is owned by RTÉ, not an RTÉ station. Im not sure but I dont think RTÉ are the sole owners.
Anyone who has a way with words want to write a letter to TG4 asking them if they plan to cover eL games. I'll do a version as gaeilge then. It'll show them there is a bi-lingual audience out there for Irish soccer.
Eoinh?
ok, ill try and draw up a letter during the week.
14/03/2004, 2:27 PM
eolas@tg4.ie Information
ronan.o.coisdealbha@tg4.ie Commissioning Sports
maire.ni.ogain@tg4.ie Scheduler
linda.ni.ghriofa@tg4.ie Programme Publicity
dave.moore@tg4.ie Audience Research
alan.esslemont@tg4.ie Director of Television
mary.ui.chadhain@tg4.ie Finance Manager
Lads, if you are going to write a mail ... DONT group send to all the above only the relevant department.
CharlesThompson
17/03/2004, 12:09 AM
There were 9 games shown live last season on Irish TV involving eircom League sides to my recollection
Cork v Pat's
Bohs v Rosenborg
Rosenborg v Bohs
Longford v Galway
Bohs v Pat's
Pat's v Bohs
Bohs v Shels
Longford v Pat's
Waterford v Derry
All of these games seemed to just happen. There was no thought out plan at the start of the season to show these games. If there was a concerted effort to draw games for Live TV coverage before the season started it would make a huge difference.
In my opinion, I think you are all selling yourselves short in argueing about how the highlights package should look etc. There should be a live game on at least every second week of the season. In any other self respecting civilised European nation there is at least one live game every week. Why should we be any different? Expect any less. As with everything in this country, they give us nothing and we argue about scraps.
If our league is to survive, each club needs to increase its commercial revenue. If more games were organised for live TV and a timetable given to each club as to when it could expect to be on the box, all of the sundry commercial aspects can be looked at in advance and sold on that basis. It goes on. The more commercial revenue the clubs make, the more can be spent back on the clubs etc. etc.
I agree that we should have a better highlights programme. Not Rico coming up with new words every 30 seconds. But interviews. Preview shows. A decent amount of football and less waffle. But we need to stop selling ourselves short lads.
End of rant.
rambler09
17/03/2004, 7:37 PM
out of the 9 games 7 teams were from dublin.
CharlesThompson
18/03/2004, 9:21 AM
Originally posted by rambler09
out of the 9 games 7 teams were from dublin.
For ****s sake rambler.
Cork v Pat's
Bohs v Rosenborg
Rosenborg v Bohs
Longford v Galway
Bohs v Pat's
Pat's v Bohs
Bohs v Shels
Longford v Pat's
Waterford v Derry
That makes Pat's, Bohs, Shels and who else from Dublin? If you are alluding to the fact of a Dublin bias just take a look at the games.
The first one Cork v Pat's was shown as a curtain raiser to the season. The reason simply that Pat Dolan had moved from one to the other and the fact that they are two of the biggest teams in the league had something to do with it also in my opinion. No bias there methinks.
Bohs v Rosenborg the Champions League (twice!)
Longford v Galway and Bohs v Pats (twice), the FAI Cup Semi final.
Bohs v Shels - top of the table clash near the end of the season.
Longford v Pat's - the FAI Cup final!
Waterford v Derry - outside Dublin!
I am sick to death of this myopic Dublin bashing crap that you and many others spout on about. Maybe it's that I am hungover today or maybe I have a point. But to suggest that the above games have a noted Dublin bias is ludicrous. The same as saying that there is a Dublin bias in the league. For Christs sake open your feckin eyes! Did you ever take into consideration that if the teams from outside the pale were any better they might be in the Premier Division? And just so that you don't misrepresent me, I honestly hope that the promoted teams for next season are Sligo, Galway and Harps. However I fear that UCD and Bray will be among the teams promoted and Waterford get relegated leaving a 12 team Premier with Bohs, Pat's, Shels, Rovers, UCD, Home Farm, Bray, Drogheda either in or within spitting distance of Dublin. A disaster for the league, but all there on merit.
A fact that idiots like you fail to take into account when arguing for a more 'national' National League!
18/03/2004, 10:49 AM
Point well made Charlie boy ... point well made !!
rambler09
19/03/2004, 11:32 PM
the reason all the dublin games were shown is because RTE are to ****in lazy to get in there vans and go for a drive!
so **** you!
TommyT
20/03/2004, 1:36 AM
RTE Traffic Report
Stillorgab Road jammed, Government must Act
WTF do you expect ?
20/03/2004, 3:44 PM
Originally posted by rambler09
the reason all the dublin games were shown is because RTE are to ****in lazy to get in there vans and go for a drive!
so **** you!
Great argument, well put. You certinaly knocked the other fellas page long post on the head with that.
CharlesThompson
21/03/2004, 8:29 AM
so **** you!
What's the point?
rambler09
22/03/2004, 10:17 PM
That Has Got To Be The Worst Come-back In History!!!!!
22/03/2004, 11:35 PM
Lads,
One of the biggest arguments in defence of not showing games is the fact they have to pay camera men to film the games .... I know you are goingo t think this is nuts but maybe if each club had their own camera man, they could cut the cost. I dunno ... is that totally off the wall.
The method in my madness is to give them as little excuse as possible, you know the push that turned out to be a shove.
I have said it before ... it wouldn't be a bad idea for any club to invest in a camera and take the footage themselves and sent it on. That way they could then throw a DVD together every year and fund it that way.
What are your thoughts on this one ??
sorry a face but i disagree. having one camera at a game makes it all look very unprofessional. that will just stop people going to matchs.
there is no excuse for not covering the league - the numbers justify it.
rambler09
23/03/2004, 5:34 PM
one camera is better than none but i agree there should be a few cameras at every game!
23/03/2004, 5:42 PM
do the clubs have the basic facilites for 2 cameras or more, or do they have place for 1 ??? i can say we have only place for 1 without scaffolding etc being errected.....
rambler09
23/03/2004, 5:49 PM
yes we do.
i can say we have only place for 1 without scaffolding etc being errected.....
There were 3 cameras at the match last night:
One in the proper place(beside section o)
The tv3 camera man standing in the middle of the stand blocking a lot of peoples view(one fan decided to get him back and block the cameras view for the second goal as seen on el weekly)
And one fella up beside the press box using a cam corder instead of a proper one
24/03/2004, 9:22 AM
my point, places not made for cameras, so they block the fans, and a cam corder......nuff said
addnsouth
28/03/2004, 12:19 PM
There were 3 cameras at the match last night:
One in the proper place(beside section o)
The tv3 camera man standing in the middle of the stand blocking a lot of peoples view(one fan decided to get him back and block the cameras view for the second goal as seen on el weekly)
And one fella up beside the press box using a cam corder instead of a proper one
The guy with the cam corder was Longford guy. It was a safety issue to have 2 cameras at the press box. TV3 had no choice but to go to the stand, better then nothing. Didn't you see the action that night on ELW 2 hours after the game.
Stop Complaining
The guy with the cam corder was Longford guy. It was a safety issue to have 2 cameras at the press box. TV3 had no choice but to go to the stand, better then nothing. Didn't you see the action that night on ELW 2 hours after the game.
Stop Complaining
I was impressed to see the highlights on two hours after the game but unfotunately i didn't see the 2nd goal as the camera man missed it and thats not the first time this has happened.
Stop Complaining about what,surely not the little,unproffessional coverage that the el gets
30/03/2004, 1:11 AM
2 cameras in cobh saturday.
Are you serious ??
Where were they from ... one was Chorus ... the other ??
30/03/2004, 7:44 AM
Are you serious ??
Where were they from ... one was Chorus ... the other ??
probably the echo, might even have been a polaroid :D
30/03/2004, 11:22 AM
TV3 had no choice but to go to the stand, better then nothing. Didn't you see the action that night on ELW 2 hours after the game.
Stop Complaining
Yeah they had no choice because one lad forgot his coat and was afraid it might rain, and the other lad forgot the rain proof lens for his camera. Very professional!
30/03/2004, 7:59 PM
it was clearly worth watching for Dolan alone :D