View Full Version : Longford Town announce new manager to replace Gareth Cronin

09/12/2009, 9:05 PM
I heard just now that Gareth Cronin has departed the club . I also heard that Brian McCarthy, Jason McCartney and Mick Foley have gone too. Things have being very quiet recently. now I know why. its a massive blow to us. :(

09/12/2009, 9:29 PM
i was beginning to get a little worried that he had said nothing about staying... and the lack of transfer activity. yay another year of being a disorganised mess of a team :(

CarrickFan
09/12/2009, 9:37 PM
where are the thousands of people who were at your cup final and european games of recent years gone?

09/12/2009, 9:39 PM
where are the thousands of people who were at your cup final and european games of recent years gone?
There all at home watching the united match...
And telling eachother how great celtic are and giving out about the fact that the town is sh1te

bunch of glory huntin bandwagon jumping idiots i no plenty people tat have gone to all the finals but only set foot on the flansiro once (league cup final) or possibly a setanta cup or uefa cup match....

roversman
09/12/2009, 9:46 PM
bunch of gloryhuntin bandwagon jumping idiots

we all have them

Iorfa2MaccaJim
09/12/2009, 9:46 PM
Who will be Longfords new boss lads ?

09/12/2009, 9:47 PM
ah.. here i'll take the job. I honestly dont know. Kirbs can have the player managers gig if he wants it not a snowballs chance thou

gufc2000
09/12/2009, 9:47 PM
Who will be Longfords new boss lads ?
Alan Gough :D

Ah no but seriously, Cronin only left tonight, I'm sure it will take a few weeks to have a new man in place

09/12/2009, 9:52 PM
Well **** that.

MMVIII
09/12/2009, 10:06 PM

Where will the 4000 Rovers sunshiners at the cup final be first game of the season?

09/12/2009, 10:11 PM
we all have them

I wish!

CarrickFan
09/12/2009, 10:22 PM
There all at home watching the united match...
And telling eachother how great celtic are and giving out about the fact that the town is sh1te

bunch of glory huntin bandwagon jumping idiots i no plenty people tat have gone to all the finals but only set foot on the flansiro once (league cup final) or possibly a setanta cup or uefa cup match....

It's a shame..go to the flansiro a bit when it doesnt clash..love the set up and pitch there..think last game was cup V Bray and even then in a cup quater final it was a poor crowd compared to a few years ago...its a real pity..good club and if the town wants to keep it the should come out and support it.

CarrickFan
09/12/2009, 10:26 PM
Where will the 4000 Rovers sunshiners at the cup final be first game of the season?

Am well aware of this..but will leave this thread to Longford Town:)..

dont know what more those 4000 want to make them turn up regularly.

09/12/2009, 10:34 PM
Left due to the clubs inactivity? What does that mean exactly. Was he told he couldn't bring in players he wanted or something like that?

WoodquayBoy
09/12/2009, 10:38 PM
Mike Kerley maybe? Who else is out of a job who would be a candidate - Heggsy?

09/12/2009, 11:32 PM
Mick Foley have gone too.He going to focus on the wrestling?

10/12/2009, 7:23 AM
Mike Kerley maybe? Who else is out of a job who would be a candidate - Heggsy?

Ski will surely throw his hat into the ring for this

Straightstory
10/12/2009, 9:53 AM
Always thought Cronin one of the most articulate and intelligent managers in the league. Hope we haven't seen the last of him.

Dillonman
10/12/2009, 10:28 AM
Would it tempt Paul Doolin! Have ye got any money!

corkharps
10/12/2009, 10:56 AM
I wish!

Thats a cracker!:D

10/12/2009, 11:09 AM

That was my first thought but doubt he would be interested in First Division.

Mark
10/12/2009, 1:00 PM
Does Cronin work in the Dublin area - something apart from football? I've seen him a few times in a suit around the Stephen's Green area

10/12/2009, 1:17 PM
I think he works in a bank in Dublin, not 100% sure on that though. Never seen him in the Stephen's Green area myself and I'm there most days!

bluemovie
10/12/2009, 1:20 PM
Yeah Gareth works somewhere in the Irish Life centre. He's an accountant.

Mark
10/12/2009, 1:36 PM
That explains that. Yep I saw him twice recently, along the east side of the Green and then along that little road just off it, Merrion Row. I looked over as he passed by in a group the second time and I think he knew he'd been recognised by a LOI head!

10/12/2009, 5:12 PM
it was announced on shannonside this evening that he had resigned.. I cant really go into the reasons why he quit as its a public forum sorry!

10/12/2009, 5:30 PM
it was announced on shannonside this evening that he had resigned.. I cant really go into the reasons why he quit as its a public forum sorry!
any chance of pm ing it to me??

10/12/2009, 5:31 PM

hahahahahaha
wel give him to packets of crisps and 50% of a season ticket

10/12/2009, 5:32 PM
any chance of pm ing it to me??

sorry not allowed..

Westernblue
10/12/2009, 5:33 PM
ah.. here i'll take the job. I honestly dont know. Kirbs can have the player managers gig if he wants it not a snowballs chance thouMight be a bit soon for you. You need a few more seasons as manager in the SPL first. ;)

prince20
10/12/2009, 6:53 PM
Any else hear that Gareth Cronin to be Keelys assistant at Shels following John Gills departure to St Pats???

10/12/2009, 6:55 PM
Yeah. I heard something about that on the rumours thread.

10/12/2009, 8:36 PM
Ski McGee for Longford
Mike Kerley for galway? what are the odds on that double

Partizan
11/12/2009, 8:45 AM
Mike Kerley for galway? what are the odds on that double

thats Galway fubared.

Iorfa2MaccaJim
11/12/2009, 5:57 PM
gael353 Wrote :

Mike Kerley for galway?

What is Mike doing at the moment ?

11/12/2009, 6:33 PM
Any else hear that Gareth Cronin to be Keelys assistant at Shels following John Gills departure to St Pats???

I heard that tonight in town.. Wonder was he tapped up???

11/12/2009, 6:33 PM
www.ltfc.ie

confirmed last night..

12/12/2009, 10:03 AM
this has annoyed me no end..
arg!! i want to be happy!! Damn you! *shakes fist at the sky*

CSFShels
12/12/2009, 12:28 PM
I heard that tonight in town.. Wonder was he tapped up???
Don't think he was under contract so can't be tapped up as we'd have been well within our rights to speak to him. Having said that, I don't think theres anything in that story.

12/12/2009, 8:13 PM
this has annoyed me no end..
arg!! i want to be happy!! Damn you! *shakes fist at the sky*

on first glance acornvilla this was aimed at me but it obviously aimed at the sky!:eek:

Dillonman
12/12/2009, 8:50 PM
on first glance acornvilla this was aimed at me but it obviously aimed at the sky!:eek:

I think the sky should be left out of all of this, it hasnt bothered anyone in a week or so now!:cool:

13/12/2009, 7:21 PM
its bothering me right now!!!

16/12/2009, 3:25 PM
www.ltfc.ie

Tony Cousins got appointed town manager just 25 mins ago.. Its just hot off the press!

Dillonman
16/12/2009, 3:33 PM
Duno what to make of that appointment...dodgy?!

16/12/2009, 3:38 PM
Nobody too's excited about it I don't think but sure we'll see how it goes. I wouldn't be too surprised if we find ourseves looking again in June or July. Hope he does the job well though obviously.

16/12/2009, 3:39 PM
Bloody hell Longford.

16/12/2009, 3:41 PM
I got a text yesterday that he was in the running.I am shocked that the appointment was made quickly. The galway fans have posted about Tony Cousins before about their thoughts on him.. I am not sure what to make of it either .. Our ex manager Alan Gough was number two under him.. We played against Cousins when in the Premier Division.. I think he was poor at Kildare Co but I am prepared to give him a chance as the current no 2 Philip Coffey who worked under him in Galway stays and Derek Glynn who played under Cousins in Galway should stay..
I am prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt for the time being..

16/12/2009, 3:42 PM
Nobody too's excited about it I don't think but sure we'll see how it goes. I wouldn't be too surprised if we find ourseves looking again in June or July. Hope he does the job well though obviously.

If he does leave it will probably be after we beat you, thats how most of your managers go.......:p

I like Tony Cousins and its good to see him back in the game. Hopefully he can make a go of it at Longford.

16/12/2009, 3:45 PM
If he does leave it will probably be after we beat you, thats how most of your managers go.......:p

I like Tony Cousins and its good to see him back in the game. Hopefully he can make a go of it at Longford.

you are right there magicme on the mons effect on town mgrs recently! and isnt it strange when I spoke to you at the foot.ie xmas party three days later that GCdeparts! its the magicme syndrome Im afraid! :eek:

16/12/2009, 3:49 PM
Are you saying I scare Longford Town managers into quiting?? Shocking accusation!!!