View Full Version : Rumblings
09/12/2009, 8:54 PM
I heard just now that Gareth Cronin has apparently left the club. Also I heard that Jason McCartney ,Mick Foley and Bria n McCarthy have quit. Have anyone else heard the news? I know very little so far.its a sad day.please discuss.
Keen2win
09/12/2009, 9:01 PM
When you say you just heard............................. Is it reliable?
Tallanted
09/12/2009, 9:06 PM
If true its no loss he obviously didnt wanna stay, we move on without him, no biggie. Not like him to walk away!!!!!!
09/12/2009, 9:08 PM
When you say you just heard............................. Is it reliable?
my source is 100 per cent accurate. its true i have only heard this sad news over the last fourty mins by text.. :(
Keen2win
09/12/2009, 9:11 PM
I'm just surprised that he did because a friend was talking to Mick Lee last week and he said that Cronin was suppossed to be saying!
Tallanted
09/12/2009, 9:16 PM
my source is 100 per cent accurate. its true i have only heard this sad news over the last fourty mins by text.. :(
Sad news? Nobody died did they? Were a club and no man is bigger than a club, we move on forget him.
09/12/2009, 9:18 PM
Sad news? Nobody died did they? Were a club and no man is bigger than a club, we move on forget him.
yep i will forget all about it tomorrow..wonder who will come in now?
09/12/2009, 9:21 PM
ah now... this is cat :(
09/12/2009, 9:25 PM
I'm more concerned with losing Mick Foley and Brian McCarthy tbh, 2 players that we could/should have been building a team around next year.
Keen2win
09/12/2009, 9:29 PM
Our two best players imho!
09/12/2009, 9:33 PM
yep if and glynn and king go we have practically no team left?..........
Tallanted
09/12/2009, 9:37 PM
Brian McCarthy was only on loan from bohs
09/12/2009, 9:47 PM
Brian McCarthy was only on loan from bohs
we all knew that but his contract with them is up now so i held on to the hope that he would sign for us even knowing that he is capable of playing in the PD
Dillo
10/12/2009, 10:08 AM
I think this might be the final straw for the club now. It's a complete shambles.
Tallanted
10/12/2009, 10:14 AM
Sad day, last straw for the club, get a grip will you's. We will be fine, Cronin is unstable he proved that at Waterford, this is far from a disaster. Its december plenty of time to sort it out.
10/12/2009, 11:00 AM
One step forward, two steps back unfortunately. Hopefully we get a bit of stability with our next appointment, if we've any players left. At least the timing's ok, it'd have been worse if the season was next week or something.
10/12/2009, 1:40 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if there was a disagreement relating to next year's budget. I'd imagine the people who were in for the job last time will be in again. Liam Kelly was very interested last time around and had his supporters on the committee I believe. It's an opportunity for someone to make a name for themselves. But it has to be sorted quickly in order to get some semblance of a squad together.
10/12/2009, 5:19 PM
a friend that I used to work with texted me on the way home from work to say that Gareth Cronin has officially resigned as Longford Town manager..
thegaffer21
11/12/2009, 11:26 AM
dessie cawley could be in line again,i know he has favourites on the board. think they need to go the route of building the foundations again as the last two 'big names' certainly havent worked.....:eek:
11/12/2009, 6:31 PM
He had a few discussions with the club apparently and they weren't in agreement on a few things. One of the issues, again this is what I was told, was that he had to do his UEFA A licence course in order to be allowed to manage next season under league rules he currently only has a B Licence. So now they're on the look out for a manager with an A Licence. He did a decent job whilst here so good luck to him in whatever he does next.
11/12/2009, 6:59 PM
He had a few discussions with the club apparently and they weren't in agreement on a few things. One of the issues, again this is what I was told, was that he had to do his UEFA A licence course in order to be allowed to manage next season under league rules he currently only has a B Licence. So now they're on the look out for a manager with an A Licence. He did a decent job whilst here so good luck to him in whatever he does next.
cheers longfordian.. I am sure it wasnt an easy decision for Gareth .. Hes strongly linked with the Shelbourne no two job ...
Posting as a town fan, it hurts me to see whats going on... Thats why I had to break the news to ye as ye are genuine fans like myself who care greatly about the club and are concerned about the way the club is going..I was concerned that there was no news coming out of the club over the last few weeks and I am pretty sure a lot of people are thinking the same way as me..
Athlone are way ahead of us in preseason , I bet you they have a decent budget sorted out.. They have also made two great signings.. There is a depression in this forum from being town fans which will take a long time to sort out..
For the clubs sake I hope they are wise in choosing a new manager and get their act together off the field otherwise the bad feelings will continue.. I have no regrets about breaking the news on line as the true fan had a right to know. I have made wonderful friends with people on this forum and they deserve a voicepiece in whats happening..
Now I better watch my back..
11/12/2009, 7:07 PM
Don't be getting all depressed as a knee jerk reaction to this news. We'll probably have broken even or very near by the end of the year from what I've heard so I don't see why you say the club is in a mess off the field. That's more than a lot of other clubs will do. I'll agree that we need the right manager to come in quickly but I'm sure they have candidates in mind and let's face it they should be getting better and better at the interview process by now!. There'll be loads of players to be had pre-season doesn't start for two months or so. Relax and eat some mince pies or something :) . No point fretting. Nothing will be solved on here.
Tallanted
11/12/2009, 8:57 PM
as said above off the field we are healthier than ever which is the most important thing. Theres people in the club voluntarily bendin over backwards to keep the club runnin and they are doin a smashin job. Certain people just like to bash the club at any chance given but they arent the fans we need. He cronin doesnt have an A license then thats good enough reason for him not to be stayin on. There are plenty of people in ireland with that qualification that could do a decent job. We dont need a household name we need someone who is enthusiastic about the club and the future. This could be a positive turning point for the club on and off the field.
12/12/2009, 8:11 PM
thats a fair enough point lads.. maybe there will be some gold at the end of this fog we are in at the moment..
sorbothegreek
13/12/2009, 1:46 PM
Thats why I had to break the news to ye :rolleyes: as ye are genuine fans like myself who care greatly about the club and are concerned about the way the club is going..I was concerned that there was no news coming out of the club over the last few weeks and I am pretty sure a lot of people are thinking the same way as me..
Athlone are way ahead of us in preseason , I bet you they have a decent budget sorted out .. They have also made two great signings.. There is a depression in this forum from being town fans which will take a long time to sort out..
For the clubs sake I hope they are wise in choosing a new manager and get their act together off the field :rolleyes: otherwise the bad feelings will continue.. I have no regrets about breaking the news on line as the true fan had a right to know. I have made wonderful friends with people on this forum and they deserve a voicepiece in whats happening..
Now I better watch my back :rolleyes: ..
Roll eyes...
14/12/2009, 12:50 AM
Any news on applicants for the job?
thegaffer21
14/12/2009, 9:36 AM
theres talk in sligo that des cawley is applying,he has his A licence. not much cash in longford these days,so its more than likely gonna be a rookie. philip coffey and ski mcgee are the other names ive heard through the grapevine.....god help de town.
Tallanted
14/12/2009, 10:07 AM
Your just hearin the same names that went for it when alan gough got it too, im expectin it to be another surprise appointment that wont have been mentioned beforehand
14/12/2009, 10:13 AM
Your just hearin the same names that went for it when alan gough got it too, im expectin it to be another surprise appointment that wont have been mentioned beforehand
alan shearer.
Joe kinnear?
Hmm many former players is with a shout or could we get a decent old pro to be player manager??
Tallanted
14/12/2009, 10:35 AM
The same names are always mentioned and none of them ever get it, thats all im sayin
prince20
14/12/2009, 10:43 AM
The same names are always mentioned and none of them ever get it, thats all im sayin
Ye kept that quiet..when did Alan Shearer and Joe Kinnear apply previously??:rolleyes:
thegaffer21
14/12/2009, 10:43 AM
ya thats true. maybe sean connor mite be your knight in shinin armour.
ltfc_2004
14/12/2009, 2:18 PM
Its the same names that were looked over the last time so I cant see us returning to them please God, they didn't get the job for a reason.
Now as to potential candidates what A league/U-20 managers have been doing well and might be seeking their first break into LOI Management ?
We need to think outside the box and the usual suspects. There is no money or feck all of it anyway to build a squad, its a win-win for an ambitious manager, do well and its shows he can get the most out the players, good coach etc.
I think, what we are crying out for is a Stephen Kenny Mk II unfortunately they dont grow on trees. Also I hope the club avoid paying wages for more Athlone rejects for the coming season.
Onwards and upwards sure we cant go lower !!!!
14/12/2009, 4:56 PM
i heard too from someone that Cawley had thrown hit his hat into the ring.. I think Longfordian mentioned him earlier I would give Liam Kelly a chance.. Hes played for us before, managed in the Leinster Senior League,is hungry to succeed what more can you want? :)
Tallanted
14/12/2009, 5:16 PM
Hopefully Kelly doesnt get it, not settin glebe north a light by all accounts
Salmon Coloured
15/12/2009, 11:44 AM
What about a Female coach? That would be nice & something a little different.
Maybe an animal?? A Horse for example. Would look great on a sideline & if given backchat or didnt like an interviewer then its up with the hind legs & off with a face.
Isn't there enough long faces already?
sorbothegreek
15/12/2009, 4:46 PM
Isn't there enough long faces already?
Sexist..
15/12/2009, 5:48 PM
what about Philip Coffey? I am surprised he hasnt being mentioned yet. He did an excellent job when he was caretaker we were unbeaten in two games under him. He has being with the club twice in different spells.. He is a local manfrom up the road in Athlone /Roscommon .Hes well liked by the players ..plus as well he would be able to keep the majority of the squad from last season..I think it would be an excellent move to go local this time.The club would be saving themselves money too..He has a keen eye on the local scene too..
Interesting fact who was the last town manager to be from the midlands? answers by post please...
Rocky77
15/12/2009, 6:31 PM
what about Philip Coffey? I am surprised he hasnt being mentioned yet. He did an excellent job when he was caretaker we were unbeaten in two games under him. He has being with the club twice in different spells.. He is a local manfrom up the road in Athlone /Roscommon .Hes well liked by the players ..plus as well he would be able to keep the majority of the squad from last season..I think it would be an excellent move to go local this time.The club would be saving themselves money too..He has a keen eye on the local scene too..
Interesting fact who was the last town manager to be from the midlands? answers by post please...
Mickey O'Connor?
Redkenrover
15/12/2009, 8:31 PM
Get your money on Tony Cousins;)
Battery Rover
15/12/2009, 10:03 PM
Mickey O'Connor?
and rumours circulating that he may return
16/12/2009, 10:36 AM
Have heard whispers to that effect too. Would be a pretty meh appointment but whoever gets it I'll give them a chance I guess. On the plus side he might keep derek glynn. Won't be o'connor anyway I think he starts these rumours himself because there's enough people around that remember his last spell in charge.
Rocky77
16/12/2009, 12:18 PM
Wouldn't be enormously enthused by Tony Cousins. As Longfordian said he would probably help keep Glynn who I was starting to fear would go back to Galway with Ian Foster gone.
Cousins has a decent eye for talent and good knowledge of schoolboy football etc and would probably put a reasonable squad together, but he is a bad, bad manager and this would negate any such good work. Let's not forget Alan Gough was his number two. Ask any Galway fan what they think of him, or better yet, whoever is in charge of picking the new manager should lift the phone to John Fallon or Nick Leeson and ask them for a reference.
16/12/2009, 12:42 PM
I think he was interviewed before when Aaron Callaghan got it and I wasnt all that enthused about the prospect of him getting it then. I suppose we'll have to wait and see what happens.
16/12/2009, 3:21 PM
I heard yesterday from a source that he was in the running but I am stunned a new appointment has being made so quick.. I got a text just now from someone that the club has made an announcement. I suppose all we can do is give him a chance..As was previously mentioned he has a lot of experience in the job but his man management skills as mentioned in this thread from rocky can be confirmed by the Galway fans that posted on here and can vouch for this as per previous threads..
I am not sure what to make of it.. But on the pro side Philip Coffey stays and I would expect Derek Glynn to stay too as he was a favourite of Tonys..
:ball:
16/12/2009, 3:33 PM
did you win Redkenrover???;)
16/12/2009, 3:37 PM
and rumours circulating that he may return
well all I can say Battery Rover is that thank god he didnt come..:)
Redkenrover
20/12/2009, 1:21 AM
did you win Redkenrover???;)
Unfortunately had spent all my money on Christmas shopping!!!:D Wonder what odds was he at?
20/12/2009, 6:17 PM
Unfortunately had spent all my money on Christmas shopping!!!:D Wonder what odds was he at?
he was a surprise appointment here in Longford thats for sure.. He was in the running for it too when Gareth Cronin got it.. I would have tipped Liam Kelly for it.. buts thats football for you!