View Full Version : Boycott the Fifa World Cup 2010
noddy102
05/12/2009, 12:37 PM
Who's with me?
I'm simply asking anyone to join me in not watching any game during the World Cup 2010.
I know this is a tall order to ask others to do, but I'm going to be true to my word and not give any attention to this Money Cup.
FIFA continue to take the **** and so they can f**k off.
noddy102
briancool21
05/12/2009, 12:59 PM
haha brazil vs ivory coast and shed loads of other great games get a life man will ya
noddy102
05/12/2009, 1:02 PM
haha brazil vs ivory coast and shed loads of other great games get a life man will ya
I'd rather go watch League of Ireland myself and enjoy my summer without having to watch a corrupt organisation getting richer thank you very much.
05/12/2009, 1:07 PM
I'd rather go watch League of Ireland myself and enjoy my summer without having to watch a corrupt organisation getting richer thank you very much.Wow, that's good of you. You're a great Irish man, fair play! I know watching LOI is such a chore and it's great that you'd rather watch that.
Cop on.
noddy102
05/12/2009, 1:11 PM
Wow, that's good of you. You're a great Irish man, fair play! I know watching LOI is such a chore and it's great that you'd rather watch that.
Cop on.
Eh no.
What I'm saying is I'd rather watch LoI and enjoy my summer, than have to watch the Money Cup as well....
Some people have a lot of issues on this forum, just with grasping basic English for starters.
05/12/2009, 1:19 PM
Some people have a lot of issues on this forum, just with grasping basic English for starters.
And some are just pathetic.
Don't be such a muppet.
noddy102
05/12/2009, 1:21 PM
And some are just pathetic.
Don't be such a muppet.
Why am I being a muppet... would you like to explain?
What is wrong with me stating I am not going to watch any Money Cup games and asking others to follow suit? Do you have a problem with that?
05/12/2009, 1:27 PM
Why am I being a muppet... would you like to explain?
Even if the whole of this Island did'nt watch the WC, did'nt buy any WC merchandise, did'nt even talk about the WC, it would'nt make a spot of difference. We're only a dot on the map to them. They care more about Germany, England, France, USA etc. Those countries, as it's been discussed again and again bring in the money for FIFA. Not countries like Ireland. You say **** FIFA, it would'nt make ONE bit of difference.
By the way, i hope you keep your word and do follow the league this year ;)
noddy102
05/12/2009, 1:34 PM
Even if the whole of this Island did'nt watch the WC, did'nt buy any WC merchandise, did'nt even talk about the WC, it would'nt make a spot of difference. We're only a dot on the map to them. They care more about Germany, England, France, USA etc. Those countries, as it's been discussed again and again bring in the money for FIFA. Not countries like Ireland. You say **** FIFA, it would'nt make ONE bit of difference.
By the way, i hope you keep your word and do follow the league this year ;)
That's what you think, but a protest has to begin from somewhere, whether it actually has an effect or not is not the sole aim or even necessarily the end goal.
I'm making my own moral choice on this issue. I don't want to be sucked into the corporate money-making machine that is FIFA's World Cup, especially now that they have truly convinced me they are corrupt beyond ever restating belief in me. Sepp Blatter and Jack Warner are two of the biggest conmen on earth.
I'll be supporting UCD once again this year, as they return to the Premer Division on their budget of peanuts, but proving with a bit of organisation and belief, they can do alright.
EastTerracer
05/12/2009, 2:48 PM
I'm making my own moral choice on this issue. I don't want to be sucked into the corporate money-making machine that is FIFA's World Cup, especially now that they have truly convinced me they are corrupt beyond ever restating belief in me. Sepp Blatter and Jack Warner are two of the biggest conmen on earth.
Would you have watched the World Cup if Ireland had qualified? Did you watch the last few World Cups? FIFA would be no less corrupt, the World Cup would still be a huge corporate money-making machine but I guarantee you would be watching if we had qualified. Hence, what you are proposing is not a moral choice but rather a protest against the referee's decision in Paris.
I've known that FIFA is corrupt and run by scumbags as long as I've been watching football but I've been to every World Cup since '90. I'm going to enjoy the best sport in the world, not to make money for FIFA (in fact, I'll make a point of giving them as little money as posible - price of the tickets only).
I'm still sick about what happened in Paris but, under the rules of football, there was never going to be a replay or an extra place in the World Cup. Blatter is an odious little man who has bribed his way to the top of FIFA (along with the likes of Warner) and he's shown in the last few weeks were his interests lie. I'll be wearing an Ireland shirt at the games in South Africa if only to remind people everyday that we should have been there.
seanfhear
05/12/2009, 3:09 PM
In fairness I am not looking forward to this world cup like I have to world cups in the past and that includes world cups before Ireland had ever qualified or ones that Ireland had not qualified for in recent times.
I think that the Clubs have got too big for their boots and have devalued international football.
I do not think that clubs appreciate or even understand that it is world cups and european championships that draw a lot of young people into taking an interest in football.
Do some of the players really care about international football any more (certainly not true of most Irish players in my opinion)
When the leader of world football is an embarassment like Blatter it does not exactly help either.
05/12/2009, 3:10 PM
I'd rather go watch League of Ireland myself and enjoy my summer without having to watch a corrupt organisation getting richer thank you very much.
Good thing the FAI aren't even a little corrupt then!
I'm gonna watch as many games as possible, support France and enjoy myself whilst doing so
Hope you have a good summer sitting in a room on your own while your friends are all down the pub watching the football
Greenforever
05/12/2009, 3:59 PM
In fairness I am not looking forward to this world cup like I have to world cups in the past and that includes world cups before Ireland had ever qualified or ones that Ireland had not qualified for in recent times.
I think that the Clubs have got too big for their boots and have devalued international football.
I do not think that clubs appreciate or even understand that it is world cups and european championships that draw a lot of young people into taking an interest in football.
Do some of the players really care about international football any more (certainly not true of most Irish players in my opinion)
When the leader of world football is an embarassment like Blatter it does not exactly help either.
If you had been in Paris when the Irish players came over to the supporters after the match you would not have that opinion, many if them were in tears, and you could see the massive dissapointment on their faces.
noddy102
05/12/2009, 4:07 PM
I'm gonna watch as many games as possible, support France and enjoy myself whilst doing so
Hope you have a good summer sitting in a room on your own while your friends are all down the pub watching the football
Good man.
Just in case you are unsure, there is more to life than football. Enjoy your pub sessions, worshipping a corrupt tournament.
noddy102
05/12/2009, 4:09 PM
Would you have watched the World Cup if Ireland had qualified? Did you watch the last few World Cups? FIFA would be no less corrupt, the World Cup would still be a huge corporate money-making machine but I guarantee you would be watching if we had qualified. Hence, what you are proposing is not a moral choice but rather a protest against the referee's decision in Paris.
I've known that FIFA is corrupt and run by scumbags as long as I've been watching football but I've been to every World Cup since '90. I'm going to enjoy the best sport in the world, not to make money for FIFA (in fact, I'll make a point of giving them as little money as posible - price of the tickets only).
I'm still sick about what happened in Paris but, under the rules of football, there was never going to be a replay or an extra place in the World Cup. Blatter is an odious little man who has bribed his way to the top of FIFA (along with the likes of Warner) and he's shown in the last few weeks were his interests lie. I'll be wearing an Ireland shirt at the games in South Africa if only to remind people everyday that we should have been there.
I would have course have watched the World Cup had Ireland qualified. I love my country and would never fail to follow their matches, regardless.
I've also accepted FIFA's corruption for so long, and just in case you think it is simply because of what happened in France, you are mistaken. The response from Sepp Blatter, taking the absolute p*** out of our situation is what has tipped the scales for me. I can live in denial with FIFA and the corrupt state of football no longer.
noddy102
05/12/2009, 4:11 PM
If you had been in Paris when the Irish players came over to the supporters after the match you would not have that opinion, many if them were in tears, and you could see the massive dissapointment on their faces.
I suppose that is why McGeady went over and exchanged jerseys with some French player while the rest of his teammates were fallen on the ground in tears?
Stephen Ireland, Joey O'Brien and a handful of other current generation footballers come to mind, when considering the state of the game.
05/12/2009, 4:26 PM
Who's with me?
I'm simply asking anyone to join me in not watching any game during the World Cup 2010.
I know this is a tall order to ask others to do, but I'm going to be true to my word and not give any attention to this Money Cup.
noddy102
R U serious, no way will I miss the biggest show on the planet - are you crazy:eek:
05/12/2009, 4:26 PM
I suppose that is why McGeady went over and exchanged jerseys with some French player while the rest of his teammates were fallen on the ground in tears?
Stephen Ireland, Joey O'Brien and a handful of other current generation footballers come to mind, when considering the state of the game.
you sure about that? At the end of the game, all the players came over and threw their jerseys into the crowd.
Don't remember anyone walking off the pitch with a French jersey
noddy102
05/12/2009, 4:27 PM
you sure about that? At the end of the game, all the players came over and threw their jerseys into the crowd.
Don't remember anyone walking off the pitch with a French jersey
I saw him with my very eyes looking for a jersey at full time off a French player and receiving one.
Also, only a handful of players threw their jerseys into the crowd, but that is neither here nor there. McGeady was only interested in getting himself an opposite number's jersey at the final whistle.
05/12/2009, 4:34 PM
Who's with me?
Ah here. Build a bridge and get the **** over it.
noddy102
05/12/2009, 4:51 PM
Ah here. Build a bridge and get the **** over it.
I'm over it mate. Was over it by the end of the next day.
Can I not be at peace with the fact we failed to qualify while also making a moral decision not to watch the World Cup or something?
I'm worried you seem to think this is the case...
Good man.
Just in case you are unsure, there is more to life than football. Enjoy your pub sessions, worshipping a corrupt tournament.
There's more to life than football from the guy on the most ridiculous moral crusade this side of a Daily Mail 'Let's Ban Children From Going Outside after 3pm' appeal
How about you boycott products such as Coca Cola for poor worker conditions, hair and skincare products that still test on animals or the Catholic Church for their wrong doing? You know, things that actually matter more than you thinking Fifa are poopooheads
noddy102
05/12/2009, 5:16 PM
There's more to life than football from the guy on the most ridiculous moral crusade this side of a Daily Mail 'Let's Ban Children From Going Outside after 3pm' appeal
How about you boycott products such as Coca Cola for poor worker conditions, hair and skincare products that still test on animals or the Catholic Church for their wrong doing? You know, things that actually matter more than you thinking Fifa are poopooheads
Man you have problems.
I'm merely asking people whether they'd like to join me in MY OWN moral crusade.
If people don't want to, that's fine with me.
It is fine, just as it's also fine for us to ridicule you for your nonsense crusade
zenokelly
05/12/2009, 5:28 PM
The biggest load of bull I've heard.
Any football fan on this planet is already looking forward to the biggest show on Earth.
That's the reason why we were so heart broken not to get there - and like many others from this country still feel this way, none of this means that I'd starve myself from the biggest event in the world next summer.
Cop on to yourself-your arguments are pathetic, so much so I couldn't be bothered replying to them.......
05/12/2009, 5:36 PM
I'm merely asking people whether they'd like to join me in MY OWN moral crusade.
How is it a 'moral crusade'?
Anyway, daft idea, I love the sport and don't see why we should have to suffer even more by forcing ourselves not to watch the World Cup Finals.
seanfhear
05/12/2009, 5:41 PM
I put that badly. What I was trying to say is that I believe a lot of players (mostly from other countries) do not care about international football. I was excluding the Irish squad from the not caring group but put it badly (my bad)
This is one of the reasons that it is so unfortunate that these players were stopped from going to the world cup in such a bad way.
carloz
05/12/2009, 5:47 PM
Why not start our own 32 world cup, we will set it up with us and 31 other teams that didn't qualify:rolleyes:. Yes FIFA is hopelessly corrupt, but an island of some 4 million not watching will make no difference whatsoever to FIFA.
volley
05/12/2009, 6:01 PM
Oh look, France don't get seeded for the draw as a sort of punishment for the way they qualified or something wasn't it? BUT.........WELL WHAT DO YOU KNOW, THE TEAM THEY GET DRAWN FROM THE NO.1 POT IS...SOUTH AFRICA.
The script just writes itself these days. Blatter is going into the dictionary under the definition of the 'C' word. I saw an allegation the other day linking Berlusconi to the Mafia, I wonder if Sepp is connected there too, he has all the skills for it.....
irishfan86
05/12/2009, 10:47 PM
I definitely sympathize with you noddy, and have been thinking of my own personal boycott as well.
I'm under no illusions about the impact it will make, I just don't feel that I'll be able to enjoy the tournament at all.
Ciaran W
06/12/2009, 2:30 AM
I for one,will be watching every single match in the world cup :D
weldoninhio
06/12/2009, 11:30 AM
And then they went back to England/Scotland to their mansions and their £10,000+ a week. Boo Hoo. Boycott the world Cup, Boycott Gilette.
We live on a tiny island on the west of Europe, we are insignificant.
Metrostars
06/12/2009, 12:10 PM
If only something like this happened in Paris....
After Thierry Henry’s “Le Hand of God,” you can excuse many of us for losing a little faith in the Beautiful Game. Serie B today witnessed an extremely rare incident which may make the doubters among us change their minds.
Reggina went to Ascoli and won 3-1 this afternoon but the first and second goal will likely go down in history. In the 14th minute Reginna’s Carlos Valdez attempted to put the ball out of play to be substituted after receiving an injury but Ascoli’s Vincenzo Sommese played on and ran unchallenged down the right to cross for Mirco Antenucci to tap in the opener.
Cue the mayhem. Reginna went mental and the game was held up for several minutes. Andrea Costa received a red card for hitting Sommese but Ascoli’s coach Bepi Pillon (pictured) took the initiative and ordered his side to “let” Reginna score to make up for the misunderstanding.
Biagio Pagano walked the ball in and the game continued at 1-1, with Reginna eventually emerging victorious with two second half goals despite being down to ten men.
http://www.101greatgoals.com/footballers-in-fair-play-shocker-ascoli-allow-reggina-to-score-after-melee/42217/
A91itY-abJI
newrynyuk
06/12/2009, 1:33 PM
Who's with me?
noddy102
You're pretty much on your own on this one. I'll still be watching every game.
06/12/2009, 5:22 PM
Not if someone sets up a high power antenna tranmitting re-runs of Thierry Henry's handball
on the same channel at the same time, you won't. :D;)
I for one,will be watching every single match in the world cup :DWhat? You boys getting two tellys in for those final decider games that kick off at the same time? Every game?
F*ck me there are some really sad people on this thread and funnily enough noddy is not one of them. Yeah get a life all right. Get a life and GET OUT! :rolleyes:
ArdeeBhoy
06/12/2009, 7:26 PM
Sure, they'll all have two TV's in.
Regardless of who's playing, half the games will be pure pish, if not a fix, blighted by dodgy refs and corruption like most major championships. The games'll be worth watching for evidence of these rather than any 'pure' football on offer.
LOL! 'Pure' football? I always love that sh*te excuse for watching football. You want 'pure' football, then get down the park and watch a load of five year olds that still haven't grown cynical, and make sure you don't look lie a peado. :D
ArdeeBhoy
06/12/2009, 7:36 PM
It was in 'inverted commas' , Senor!
Gather round
06/12/2009, 7:42 PM
Hola Senores. In other exciting pre-Mundial news, mid-ranking Euro power Iralndanorte have lined up a potential series of glamor friendlies against wily Latino oppo, before the festivities start in South Africa. I'm guessing our SudAmerica visitors might fancy playing the game(s) somewhere in Spain- the search is on for a suitable Segunda Liga venue. See you there, Lope.
It was in 'inverted commas' , Senor!Yeah I gathered that and not having a go at you. More at the 'purists' as if the World Cup was a 'cultural' event of the finest of what this particular culture has to offer. :D GR: Could you speak in our common lingua franca? :eek:
06/12/2009, 8:06 PM
Miss out on Messi and Kaka strutting their stuff?
Miss out on Gerrard, Terry, Lampard and Becks crying their eyes out when they get bullied off the park by Ghana in the second round?
...Miss out on Gerrard, Terry, Lampard and Becks crying their eyes out when they get bullied off the park by Ghana in the second round?Whoa, whoa, whoa! Who said anything about missing out on THAT!:eek::eek:
ArdeeBhoy
06/12/2009, 8:44 PM
GR: Could you speak in our common lingua franca? :eek:
Or in his case, :rolleyes: 'Frebberish'....
Murfinator
06/12/2009, 9:20 PM
I think it's important for us unsatisfied Irish fans to be showing disapproval towards FIFA and not showing disapproval towards the sport. And it's important for us to make that distinction.
Rather than people boycotting watching matches I'd rather if people targeted the one place that will hurt FIFA, their pocket. Gather up the names of all the companies with a business presence in this country marketing themselves as "official sponsors of the FIFA world cup" and question their reasoning behind choosing to be associated with a corrupt brand. It'll make the corporates think about if they want to be associated with the name "FIFA" in future and what it really represents for the people.
I'm not suggesting anything dramatic. But if I'm buying a gift pack for someone I'll go with Addidas or Lynx instead of Gilette, I'll play Pro Evolution Soccer instead of FIFA. If McDonalds want to be the official restaurant of a FIFA competition I'll dine at Burger King wherever possible. Make the PR people for those various companies aware of those gestures and suddenly you've got the FIFA marketing brand being damaged somewhat in this company and hopefully put them out of pocket.
A much better solution than depriving ourselves of what is sure to be a great tournament.
06/12/2009, 9:33 PM
Lads a frustrated Irish football fans posts a frustrated post on an Irish International football forum. To many cynics or hurlers on the ditch here who do not seem to give a **** about the Irish national team and post cycnial replies time and tim again. It would be like me going on to a wigan forum after they lose 9-1 and say lads get over it, and try to be reasonable etc. Let people have their nonsensical ranting, many of our fans are hurting.
If there is one thing I hate in life its a cynic and this forum is full of them.
06/12/2009, 10:37 PM
To many cynics or hurlers on the ditch here who do not seem to give a **** about the Irish national team and post cycnial replies time and tim again
Just Stop and grow up for Christ's sake.
I'm sick to death of this ridiculous notion that you don't give a **** about the Irish national set-up unless you row in 100% behind every daft suggestion on this forum.
PartySaint
06/12/2009, 10:59 PM
If there is one thing I hate in life its a cynic and this forum is full of them.
Well if you dont like it dont read it then....;)
ArdeeBhoy
06/12/2009, 11:47 PM
I think it's important for us unsatisfied Irish fans to be showing disapproval towards FIFA and not showing disapproval towards the sport. And it's important for us to make that distinction.
Rather than people boycotting watching matches I'd rather if people targeted the one place that will hurt FIFA, their pocket. Gather up the names of all the companies with a business presence in this country marketing themselves as "official sponsors of the FIFA world cup" and question their reasoning behind choosing to be associated with a corrupt brand. It'll make the corporates think about if they want to be associated with the name "FIFA" in future and what it really represents for the people.
I'm not suggesting anything dramatic. But if I'm buying a gift pack for someone I'll go with Addidas or Lynx instead of Gilette, I'll play Pro Evolution Soccer instead of FIFA. If McDonalds want to be the official restaurant of a FIFA competition I'll dine at Burger King wherever possible. Make the PR people for those various companies aware of those gestures and suddenly you've got the FIFA marketing brand being damaged somewhat in this company and hopefully put them out of pocket.
A much better solution than depriving ourselves of what is sure to be a great tournament.
One of the more sensible posts on the subject. One problem though;Adidas is also a sponsor, sadly.
But Yes, FIFA deserved to be f*cked at every opportunity.
Personally I'd like to see a mass boycott from the 'Pot 3 European seeds' downwards in one of the next 2-3 World Cups, if they don't get their act together. Plus most of Asia & Africa also get a raw deal from these crooks.