View Full Version : Well done C Theron
SeanDrog
03/12/2009, 7:25 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/theron-has-a-ball-at-fifas-expense-1962410.html
Uncle_Joe
03/12/2009, 8:03 AM
Im not a jealous man but reading that article all I could think was, Stuart Townsend is one lucky lucky Irish supporter. That and innuendos about Charlize Theron and Irish balls. :rolleyes:
Ozymandias
03/12/2009, 9:07 AM
god bless her....lucky B townsend
03/12/2009, 9:17 AM
i posted this yesterday on the other thread!!!!
endabob1
03/12/2009, 9:22 AM
i posted this yesterday on the other thread!!!!
Did yours include pictures....
Nice one.
I understand the Frenchies arent too happy are being unseeded for the WC draw. Apparently the seedings were based on rankings at the end of october rather than the end of november or a combination of ranking and prior WC performance (as in previous WCs). Under the other methods, france wouldve got the first seed. Any sympathy?!?!? Thought not.
03/12/2009, 9:36 AM
Any sympathy?!?!? Thought not.
I have a little to be honest, I don't think the French FA are the enemy here at all, I don't think there's much chance the FAI would have offered a replay if the situation was reveresed. It's another clear example of FIFA making it up as the go along and changing their approach on whims or how they sense public opinion is going.
Fair play to Ms.Theron though, I got a laugh out of it.
eaststand85
03/12/2009, 10:24 AM
Has anyone got a link to footage of this?
03/12/2009, 10:32 AM
i dont think there was any it was just a rehersal but what i would like to know is how did she get the ireland ball in there?
Jees imagine if she had done it on the day itself. Stuart would be one proud boyfriend that day and a legend with the lads :D
seanfhear
03/12/2009, 11:29 AM
Charlize Theron has balls ! ! !
Good on you girl, I loved you before but this is potential marriage credentials.
Gather round
03/12/2009, 11:37 AM
I have a little to be honest, I don't think the French FA are the enemy here at all...It's another clear example of FIFA making it up as the go along and changing their approach on whims or how they sense public opinion is going
Aye, why they don't just use current form- as opposed to results from four or five years ago- as a basis for rankings and seedings? Would save a lot of trouble.
endabob1
03/12/2009, 11:53 AM
They use their impeccable ranking system for everything else but the WC draw when they use a blend of ranking points, geography & logistical requirements of the host nation.
This normally benefits England who as far back as Italia 90 were seeded on the islands to try and contain the hooligan threat.
Frankly I think it's a cop out, put the rules in place and stick to them but then that's not the FIFA way, commercial interests overshadow everything they do.
03/12/2009, 12:07 PM
Good on her!
She would have gone further up in my estimation though if she did it in the real draw. Imagine the sh** storm that would have created.
Junior
03/12/2009, 1:41 PM
Good on her!
She would have gone further up in my estimation though if she did it in the real draw. Imagine the sh** storm that would have created.
there is time yet........
Doire Abu
03/12/2009, 2:18 PM
They use their impeccable ranking system for everything else but the WC draw when they use a blend of ranking points, geography & logistical requirements of the host nation.
This normally benefits England who as far back as Italia 90 were seeded on the islands to try and contain the hooligan threat.
Frankly I think it's a cop out, put the rules in place and stick to them but then that's not the FIFA way, commercial interests overshadow everything they do.
If the same thing happens with England this time, they'll be playing their group games on Robben Island. It's got all the facilities needed for their fans.
endabob1
03/12/2009, 3:12 PM
If the same thing happens with England this time, they'll be playing their group games on Robben Island. It's got all the facilities needed for their fans.
Think of the penguins, for gods sake will some please think of the penguins :D
Thats right, England were seeded in our group in 1990 for that very reason. As immortalised in The Memories, we didnt start the fire song.
seanfhear
03/12/2009, 4:50 PM
If Charlize does that for the real draw I will have her babies and I am pretty sure I am a man:p
03/12/2009, 4:55 PM
I've thought about this for much of today....
and I definitely would.
dan o d
03/12/2009, 6:42 PM
http://www.ecorazzi.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/vexadecom_000009-02_charlize-theron.jpgi think well let her away with it!
sixesandsevens
03/12/2009, 10:41 PM
Disgraceful...
she has the chair destroyed with all that gold paint....
Scram
04/12/2009, 10:16 AM
Yeah, hopefully she does it live too!
carloz
04/12/2009, 1:03 PM
Yeah, hopefully she does it live too!
I would give so so much for this to happen. Think the fact she did it in rehersals shows she wont do it in the main draw though:(
newrynyuk
04/12/2009, 2:33 PM
By any chance, are there any photos of Charlize drawing Ireland out of thr pot anywhere?
04/12/2009, 2:47 PM
Or just photos of her....
onenilgameover
04/12/2009, 5:39 PM
I liked her comment when france were drawn and what was the 4 people in a french bar scene about?
04/12/2009, 5:40 PM
Did I hear her say something like "No comment" when France were drawn?
EastTerracer
04/12/2009, 5:42 PM
Did I hear her say something like "No comment" when France were drawn?
Yeah, she said something like "we won't say anything about that".
I felt physically sick all over again when I saw the French draw - could have been us! Got some decent tickets through the early lottery so will have a chance to wear green for England v Algeria in Cape Town ;)
Reality Bites
04/12/2009, 5:44 PM
Ya she said something to that effect and pulled a face, not sure if it was a nod in our direction or toward SA getting a European big gun!
04/12/2009, 5:48 PM
hmmm could be both. either way fair play charlize thong.
04/12/2009, 6:17 PM
Were there boos from the back when France was drawn?
I think what she said was that "sometimes silence speaks louder than words".
Good on her!
onenilgameover
04/12/2009, 6:19 PM
Were there boos from the back when France was drawn?
I think what she said was that "sometimes silence speaks louder than words".
Good on her!
im pretty sure that there was and thats why she said it..defo..
happy she said something
top gal
04/12/2009, 6:36 PM
Not often ye call a bird a legend but when they were in with her own country and she did it with over 350 million people watching fair play to her.
Mr Townsend must be an Ireland fan at least and had her well versed.
bwagner
04/12/2009, 6:41 PM
she is class , thank you my dear
onenilgameover
04/12/2009, 6:50 PM
Not often ye call a bird a legend but when they were in with her own country and she did it with over 350 million people watching fair play to her.
Mr Townsend must be an Ireland fan at least and had her well versed.
yeah he is and he has her well versed and knew exactly the deal...that made the draw watchable...
SUB of the day
04/12/2009, 7:50 PM
Her Irish boyfriend ( Stuart Townsend) was probably as gutted as the rest of us, the look on Domenechs face was priceless.
eaststand85
04/12/2009, 7:53 PM
I thought it sounded like there was some discontent in the audience and the French pr1ck in charge of the draw tried to gloss over it by saying something like 'no comment' and iirc she said 'sometimes no comment tells the whole story' or something similar?
05/12/2009, 8:24 AM
I thought the French fella was quite ignorant towards her throughout the draw. She was decent enough, couldn't hear what she was saying though, all I could hear was
"fap, fap, fap"....