View Full Version : Adrian Murphy gone?

Bosco
05/03/2004, 9:47 PM
Someone told me today that adrian murphy has left the club.Aparently it was his own choice.Is this true?Anyone heard anything about it?

06/03/2004, 10:59 AM
I heard that from a reliable source last nite. Apparently his father was putting into his head that he should move away to get first team football. He has definitly gone because because Alan would not give him first team football. Does that mean Levine stays?

I think he is a bit silly to have left the club as I am sure he would have broken through in two or three years time. I hear that he could be going to Athlone.:(

07/03/2004, 2:28 PM
Are yez sure he is gone? i heard that he walked out of training because hes unhappy with his contract! so not sure if hes definately gone!!!

07/03/2004, 4:48 PM
He's gone alright..felt he was ready to be in the first team and wasnt prepared to wait..part of his release will be that we can take him back for nothing if he develops..think he's being foolish myself he's not ready for senior football week in week out..Gary Murphy may be going on loan as well, could do him good..

07/03/2004, 5:51 PM
Im a tad disappointed myself, its always good to have a hometown hero on your books. But his path was blocked by too many strikers which is a shame, hes only 18, time on his side, if he'd have given it a year or two he might have made it. But best of luck wherever Murphy chooses to play.

Xlex
08/03/2004, 8:29 AM
Lads, Don't be too disheartened. Adrian has loads of time on his side and Matthews has great time for him. But how do you expect pitch time with the quality of our strikers these days. Adrian will devolop at another club and be the premier division player he is capable of being.

is it to say that he wasn't happy with his contract or that he wasn't happy with his first team chances? What price do you put on youth devolopment. We couldn't go down the route of times recent.

These two Murphy's are local lads who should make the side on a regular basis in the future, as long as they put the head down they will make it.

atfconline
10/03/2004, 2:36 PM
Adrian signed for Athlone earlier today.

10/03/2004, 2:40 PM
Originally posted by atfconline
Adrian signed for Athlone earlier today.
Excellent signing for youse... He should've got his chance post cup final last season with us.

10/03/2004, 3:41 PM
Just on the Athlone board.

These are the players "in"

Tom Silke [Longford Town]
Shane O'Brien [Bohemians]
Niall Donnelly [Drogheda United - On Loan]
Graham O'Keeffe [Shamrock Rovers]
Adrian Murphy [Longford Town]

Pity Town didn't do a Drogs. Sign up Murph, and then loan him.

10/03/2004, 3:48 PM
are we due a fee seeing as he is under 24 ??? or is that 23 ah you know what i mean

10/03/2004, 5:21 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Pity Town didn't do a Drogs. Sign up Murph, and then loan him. [/B]
Thats what we wanted but Adrian wanted to go his own way..If he develops we'd like to take him back after a year i'd say. Not sure what the story is with a fee, dont think we'll be demanding one as we'd like him back. Still dont think he's ready for first team football week in week out, though he himself does , he's only gone 18 a couple of months ago..Best of luck to him anyway..

10/03/2004, 10:54 PM
I am not that surprised with him going to Athlone. Hopefully he will come back to us when he sees his senses and come back to the good town itself.

A class act in the youth team and hopefully this move works out for him and we might see the better results of his progress when he does come back to us eventually(hopefully!)

15/03/2004, 11:34 AM
Scored against Derry at the weekend....

town73
15/03/2004, 1:39 PM
http://www.longfordtownfc.com/news2004/news_adrianmurphy.htm

15/03/2004, 1:46 PM
if he was offered a contract and did not take it and joined another club we are due compo, simple under fifa rules....we need every cent we can get, they should go for it

15/03/2004, 7:20 PM
Not that simple. He had to have been signed as a professional for two seasons before we're due anything, Adrian had been on pro forms for only one, the only way we get compo is if he's sold on from Athlone to another club and then we get a certain percentage for developing him. Hopefully he'll come back to us anyway..

Bosco
19/03/2004, 10:02 PM
He scored tonight for scumlone against monaghan