View Full Version : Blatter breaks his silence
onenilgameover
30/11/2009, 8:51 PM
How Blatter became FIFA head honcho. Not brown envelopes but white envelopes.
http://observer.guardian.co.uk/sport/s.tory/0,,664725,00.html
And here again meeting with an on the run Russian mobster
http://transparencyinsport.org/Sepp_Blatter_toasts_mobster/blatter_toasts_mobster.html
Oh Christ. Here he is again with a serial murderer.
http://transparencyinsport.org/Blatter_Flatters_Monster/blatter_flatters_monster.html
The guardian link is broken there NG..have you got a working one?
Noelys Guitar
30/11/2009, 8:56 PM
The guardian link is broken there NG..have you got a working one?
this one should work.
http://observer.guardian.co.uk/sport/issues/story/0,,676083,00.html
Doire Abu
01/12/2009, 11:10 AM
this one should work.
http://observer.guardian.co.uk/sport/issues/story/0,,676083,00.html
That is the sort of behaviour that would make even a Taoiseach blush. Staggering that he could get away with it.
Noelys Guitar
01/12/2009, 12:17 PM
Good on you Liam.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1201/bradyl.html
Manblue
01/12/2009, 12:28 PM
Good on him???
Blatter responded to the request which is what i would expect him to do, why ask if they knew we wudn get it, its the FAI are the embarressment with these stupid requests.
If a kid suggested it, it would be laughed off, not to mind a senior rep for soccer in our country
M@ttitude
01/12/2009, 12:29 PM
Heard him on SSN, 'There was 20,000 Irish Fans in the Stadium, and there was no trouble there or in the City'.
Implying that Paris would still be burning if certain teams had of been cheated like we were!
Duggie
01/12/2009, 12:50 PM
Good on you Liam.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1201/bradyl.html
ya im with you on this. good on you liam. i like the way hes speaking up showing some passion. some irish passion.
SwanVsDalton
01/12/2009, 12:54 PM
I agree with him. Seemed fairly clear from the request it was speculative and certainly meant to be kept private. Blatter's only made his sniggering reveal because he knew it would distract from real issues, like FIFA's hypocrisy and his own silence. Fair play to you Brady.
blobbyblob
01/12/2009, 1:02 PM
Too right - Blatter is a disgrace for a human.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mu7i5CJq3mg - made my day
Always been a fan of Brady, even when he was on the RTE panel. The only time he let himself down was when he reacted to the criticism of Arsenal. But he defends his country in a measured way as you would expect and not many outside of FIFA would argue with what he has said.
eaststand85
01/12/2009, 1:03 PM
Glad someone has come out and tried to stand up to Blatter on this but unfortunately I fear it won't receive anything like the attention his original patronising and smug comments attracted.
dr_peepee
01/12/2009, 1:23 PM
Glad someone has come out and tried to stand up to Blatter on this but unfortunately I fear it won't receive anything like the attention his original patronising and smug comments attracted.
You're right man... It'd be drowned out by people like Manblue and other disciples of tabloid sensationalism.
Sections of the media and short sighted fans are playing right into Blatters hands. They'd sooner listen to that fat gangster than pay heed to the process being employed by our ascotiation. I don't praise Delaney much, if at all, but I think he's exhausting every avenue in this case to get some level of accountability.
Junior
01/12/2009, 1:47 PM
Thats was good:)
Was that Johannson the UEFA president who picked him up at the end? No love lost between those 2 from what Ive read.
01/12/2009, 2:20 PM
For once i had to laugh at those you tube comments
ArdeeBhoy
01/12/2009, 3:00 PM
Good on him???
Blatter responded to the request which is what i would expect him to do, why ask if they knew we wudn get it, its the FAI are the embarressment with these stupid requests.
Of course. Never mind the moron that is Blatter and those that are FIFA?
Would any rational person actually agree with their level of 'competence' ??
And note re.above;Johannson hates Blatter, who stole at least one election from him. There's a surprise....
eaststand85
01/12/2009, 3:16 PM
Definite simulation, the cheating ba$tard!!!
01/12/2009, 5:03 PM
Do Henry and FIFA or FIFA World Cup share sponsors? Just wondering because FIFA could be slow to sanction Henry because it would damage their sponsors' interests.
carloz
01/12/2009, 5:46 PM
Do Henry and FIFA or FIFA World Cup share sponsors? Just wondering because FIFA could be slow to sanction Henry because it would damage their sponsors' interests.
Fairly sure Gillette have been one of the pitch side sponsors of the past couple of World Cups.
01/12/2009, 5:48 PM
Just for info: Liam Brady called Blatter a disgrace today. Beckenbauer defends Blatter and Henry, blames ref.
Liam Brady will be on Radio 5 Live tonight around 7.30pm, possibly with Lawrenson.
Junior
01/12/2009, 10:17 PM
Here is Houlliers interview
http://www.bbc.co.uk/5live/sport/football/index.shtml?FeedItem=4171&Play=true
In summary:
Refs mistake.
Henry is not a cheat, too honest. Shouldnt be punished.
Prefers to use human help for the ref rather than technology. I.e. extra officials behind the goal line over video.
Brady interview (starts from 07:28 about 13 mins in total - not sure if you can listen to this outside the UK or not) try either of these links
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/console/b00p35f5
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00p35f5
Brady unhappy it took 2 weeks to get Blatter to say anything, thought he was disrespectful, would welcome additional goal line officials as a start. Does not think Henry should be punished but would like to hear Blatters views on Henrys actions including goal celebration.
Lawrenson wants technology for all penalty area incidents
It would appear that the agenda tomorrow will include
Control of the game and eradication of cheating
The Play Offs format (possibly scrapping it)
The Betting / Match Fixing Scandal
+ one other that I missed.
02/12/2009, 9:49 AM
Brady
“He (Blatter) didn’t even have the grace to acknowledge the behaviour of the Irish players after the game. Not one player got booked after that incident, not one player got booked after the match."
Small point, I thought Duff got booked after the "incident".
Junior
02/12/2009, 10:06 AM
Brady
“He (Blatter) didn’t even have the grace to acknowledge the behaviour of the Irish players after the game. Not one player got booked after that incident, not one player got booked after the match."
Yeah. In the 5live interview he states "just one booking after the incident" obviously got picked up on it earlier.
02/12/2009, 11:27 AM
Here is Houlliers interview
http://www.bbc.co.uk/5live/sport/football/index.shtml?FeedItem=4171&Play=true
In summary:
Refs mistake.
Henry is not a cheat, too honest. Shouldnt be punished.
Prefers to use human help for the ref rather than technology. I.e. extra officials behind the goal line over video.
Houllier is a man for all seasons :rolleyes:
Here it reads as if he definitely wants human help but in the form of observing recorded footage.
Houllier leads calls for video technology (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/houllier-leads-calls-for-video-technology-to-get-game-out-of-stone-age-1960540.html)
Junior
02/12/2009, 11:35 AM
Houllier is a man for all seasons :rolleyes:
Here it reads as if he definitely wants human help but in the form of observing recorded footage.
Houllier leads calls for video technology (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/houllier-leads-calls-for-video-technology-to-get-game-out-of-stone-age-1960540.html)
True and in the opening comments by Mark Pougatch (sp?) in the 5-Live link he does say that Houllier was an advocate for Technology. I couldnt equate that to Houlliers comments in his interview (the 1st link). May be I missed something.
02/12/2009, 11:36 AM
Brady
I wonder what would have happened if the Irish players reacted like Lyon did a few years back in a CL game against Man Utd and tried to walk off the pitch.
02/12/2009, 12:22 PM
That quick free kick?
At the time I didn't give much thought to how well the team behaved themselves and the lack of petulance afterwards.
Fans reaction .... to stare in absolute shock during those moments of utter exasperation, when 4 years of preparation flashes in front of your eyes before being flushed down the toilet and knowing no matter what is done, the ref will not change his mind.
02/12/2009, 12:27 PM
Is everyone an echo of me on this site ;)
02/12/2009, 3:00 PM
That quick free kick?
At the time I didn't give much thought to how well the team behaved themselves and the lack of petulance afterwards.
Fans reaction .... to stare in absolute shock during those moments of utter exasperation, when 4 years of preparation flashes in front of your eyes before being flushed down the toilet and knowing no matter what is done, the ref will not change his mind.
yeah I think it was a Giggs free kick (I might be wrong) and it was at Lyon because I think their was crowd toruble as well at the game.
If the players made such a fuss I wonder if the fourth official or somebody else down on the touchline could have tried to get word back to the ref that he made a complete **** up. I'm sure something similiar happened in the WC Final when Zidane went a bit loopy back in 2006. The ref and assistants refs missed the incident but the ref consulting with his fourth official (and others?) and red carded Zidane. I know the ref is not supposed to be influenced by outside agents but rightly or wrongly he did act that evening.
Our players reacted like true professionals and I'm not sure I could have reacted in the same manner. Particularly when the players were 100% certain that Henry handled.
02/12/2009, 3:21 PM
A lot of our players ran to the ref, a few ran over to the linesman and Duff ran to the 4th official (presence of mind!).
Afair, ZZ was carded because of the 4th official who allegedly was tipped off on basis of TV evidence.
Junior
02/12/2009, 3:25 PM
Think 4th Official can only have a say in matters concerning violent conduct or off the ball incidents - Something like this anyway, Reteoir is the man to confirm the 4th officials jursidiction.
02/12/2009, 3:28 PM
Think 4th Official can only have a say in matters concerning violent conduct or off the ball incidents - Something like this anyway, Reteoir is the man to confirm the 4th officials jursidiction.
he is not allowed to intervene. It is suspected he intervened in the Zidane incident but no one has ever confirmed that
02/12/2009, 3:36 PM
ah good old fifa, he is not allowed intervene unless of course we want him to and then we will cover it up, incase people ask us to actually use him for what he should be there for.
Junior
02/12/2009, 3:49 PM
he is not allowed to intervene. It is suspected he intervened in the Zidane incident but no one has ever confirmed that
Not sure thats entirely true.
He must indicate to the referee when the wrong player is cautioned because of mistaken identity or when a player is not sent off having been seen to be given a second caution or when violent conduct occurs out of the view of the referee and assistant referees. The referee, however, retains the authority to decide on all points connected with play.
http://www.refworld.com/features/10/article/the-technical-the-role-of-the-fourth-official/20
I think this suggests the 4th official would have been within his rights to bring ZZ headbutt to the Refs attention.
02/12/2009, 5:29 PM
A lot of our players ran to the ref, a few ran over to the linesman and Duff ran to the 4th official (presence of mind!).
Afair, ZZ was carded because of the 4th official who allegedly was tipped off on basis of TV evidence.
yep that is what I have always thought.
Can anybody remember if any of the players spoke to Henry (I cannot bear to watch the game on DVD)? If only that cheating swines guilty conscience kicked in as soon as Gallas scored and he confessed to the ref straight away. He'd be hailed as an Irish hero.
02/12/2009, 5:41 PM
He must indicate to the referee when the wrong player is cautioned because of mistaken identity or when a player is not sent off having been seen to be given a second caution or when violent conduct occurs out of the view of the referee and assistant referees. The referee, however, retains the authority to decide on all points connected with play.
http://www.refworld.com/features/10/article/the-technical-the-role-of-the-fourth-official/20
I think this suggests the 4th official would have been within his rights to bring ZZ headbutt to the Refs attention.
I'm too lazy to check it out but I thought the controversy was, as Stutts referred to, that the 4th official had a look at a tv replay before informing the ref and he wasn't suppose to do that.
Junior
02/12/2009, 8:51 PM
I'm too lazy to check it out but I thought the controversy was, as Stutts referred to, that the 4th official had a look at a tv replay before informing the ref and he wasn't suppose to do that.
well if you cant be ar$ed then neither can I;)
But you could be right i.e the 4th official was perfectly entitled to bring the matter to the refs attention, though the assumption is that he saw it with his own eyes 'live' and not with the use of a video replay.
02/12/2009, 9:07 PM
you know what to assume can do junior ;)
dan o d
03/12/2009, 10:38 AM
http://www.transparencyinsport.org/
very intersting website
look at some of the fifa comments at the bottom right of the homepage
eaststand85
03/12/2009, 4:45 PM
It's astonishing yet not all that surprising at the same time.
captkeen
03/12/2009, 5:39 PM
This Swiss guy couldn`t break wind but along with Platini he has power ,wonder what the outcome would have been if it was Swizerland or Frogland.......who knows who care.its finished.