View Full Version : So its true...
23/11/2009, 3:52 PM
Just reading Eamonn Sweeneys excellent article of the Irish match at back of sports section in Sundays INDO accompanied by a nice big pic of the Irish fans. Would you believe what i see - Irish tricolours with the great Irish teams of Tranmere, Tottenham and Chelsea on it - jesus!!!:eek:
I heard about this famous tricolour but never believed it -- "Chelsea Irish".
Not to mention that Chelsea have a very big anti - Irish element
Wow :eek:
Greenforever
23/11/2009, 4:09 PM
Chesea flag is owned by someone belonging to London supporters branch, has been around since 5 2 Cyprus game if memory serves me right, caused huge problems there and in Sanmarino as it was not vetical strips but horizontal and was Green White and Blue...in recent times I think it was changed to a proper tricolour with Chelsea on it.
That lad from London has always had a Tricolour as far as I know but I've never seen that "Chelsea Irish" one.
He was even a fan of Chelsea when they were sh!te.
http://i50.tinypic.com/svm00g.jpg
23/11/2009, 4:27 PM
but why would you bring that to an irish game?
Maybe because he's an Ireland fan who follows Chelsea ?
He probably takes it to Chelsea games as he's a Chelsea fan who follows Ireland.
23/11/2009, 4:35 PM
Just reading Eamonn Sweeneys excellent article of the Irish match at back of sports section in Sundays INDO accompanied by a nice big pic of the Irish fans. Would you believe what i see - Irish tricolours with the great Irish teams of Tranmere, Tottenham and Chelsea on it - jesus!!!:eek:
I heard about this famous tricolour but never believed it -- "Chelsea Irish".
Wow :eek:
what a non event
23/11/2009, 4:43 PM
what a non event
Yeah you are right, but it does irk a little to see the Irish flag have an English team on it - but then thats the modern Irish fan for you, the greatest fans in the world
23/11/2009, 4:46 PM
A former foot.ie poster tried to take it (the Chelsea one) down against San Marino from memory.
I lived closed to Stamford Bridge for a few years, no idea how any Ireland fan could support them (Blues Brothers etc.).
Greenforever
23/11/2009, 4:56 PM
A former foot.ie poster tried to take it (the Chelsea one) down against San Marino from memory.
I lived closed to Stamford Bridge for a few years, no idea how any Ireland fan could support them (Blues Brothers etc.).
It was taken down in San Marino, and that version of the flag seemed to disappear, I remember emailing the London Supporters club and while they had nothing to do with it, they accepted that it was likely to cause offence, personally it offends me in that it Blue, Id have no issue with a tricolour with Chelsea on it even though ive no interest in any English club.
23/11/2009, 5:15 PM
They are all breaking the law, discraceful stuff altogether. If anyone travels away to Ireland matches to support Ireland, I couldnt careless whats on their flag, fair play to them for making the effort.
23/11/2009, 5:32 PM
I think the JR Ewing one is more offensive. He was an oil barren and we really need to sort out our dependency on oil :) as its causin floods in Clare and Galway,
23/11/2009, 5:32 PM
They are all breaking the law, discraceful stuff altogether. If anyone travels away to Ireland matches to support Ireland, I couldnt careless whats on their flag, fair play to them for making the effort.
But then why do you need to have a flag telling the world you support an English team!
23/11/2009, 5:33 PM
It could be a second or third generation fan who is merely showing his support for his local side.
Generally that is exactly what it is......
You either understand or you don't.
And with regard to Chelsea and the blues brothers sh!t, when exactly did that come about ?
23/11/2009, 5:43 PM
I think the only way to change a culture amongst a club, is to infiltrate it. Nothing wrong with 2nd generation Irish or 3rd irish supporting their local team. If we leave it to the anti Irish it will always remain anti irish. I dont particularly like Chelsea to be honest but I live in Dublin and did not grow up in West Dublin.
Yeah you are right, but it does irk a little to see the Irish flag have an English team on it - but then thats the modern Irish fan for you, the greatest fans in the world
in fairness, looking at the photo, it is not an irish tricolour: just a green white and blue falg with horizontal stripes.
i took more offence at the massive tricolour (probably the biggest there) with paddy power plastered over it. i also seen a tricolour which read "john and edward for x factor". that flag deserved to be removed.
DannyInvincible
24/11/2009, 2:45 AM
in fairness, looking at the photo, it is not an irish tricolour: just a green white and blue falg with horizontal stripes.
i took more offence at the massive tricolour (probably the biggest there) with paddy power plastered over it. i also seen a tricolour which read "john and edward for x factor". that flag deserved to be removed.
Saw some lad draping that Paddy Power one over the little building under the Eiffel Tower a few hours before the game. He got a severe booing followed by chants of "Paddy Power, you're a w*nker, you're a w*nker", ha. To be fair to him, I think the crowd took the flag the wrong way, although it was very easy to do so as I initially took umbrage with it before my brother suggested a more witty interpretation. At least, I can't imagine it was an audacious self-promotion attempt by the bookmakers. Surely they wouldn't try a stunt like that. I can only imagine it was a play on their name and that the words referred to the "power" of the Irish team and fans in general, as in how someone might put "Girl Power" on a flag at some feminist convention, if you know what I mean.
Junior
24/11/2009, 8:58 AM
But then why do you need to have a flag telling the world you support an English team!
And why would you need to tell someone what pub you drink in? or tell everyone who all your mates that you are "on tour" with are?
Its just a football supporters thing - no big issue with it surely?
Ever heard of Diaspora? If you dont support a LOI club around here you might as well be a leper;)
24/11/2009, 9:07 AM
What was the general gist of the "Green Army no match for the Bit O'Red" side piece there?
24/11/2009, 9:25 AM
And why would you need to tell someone what pub you drink in? or tell everyone who all your mates that you are "on tour" with are?
Its just a football supporters thing - no big issue with it surely?
Ever heard of Diaspora? If you dont support a LOI club around here you might as well be a leper;)
yeah thats fair enuff - but...............is Chelsea number one Ireland number two?
And do they fly it proud in Stamford Bridge? (just curious?)
Do West ham and Millwall have similar fans/flags? Wonder what reaction one would get in Bermondsley with an old tricolour?
Also the Irish centre in Tilbury didnt look in great shape that last time I saw it!!!
I do remember years ago when QPR were in the top div there was always a little irish flag in behind the goals, maybe for the Gallen clan
But I dont see the need to write anything on a flag at all to be honest - but thats my opinion
24/11/2009, 9:30 AM
What was the general gist of the "Green Army no match for the Bit O'Red" side piece there?
Just that he would prefer Sligo to win the cup (like last time) than Ireland to qualify/do well in World Cup - his little pact with God
The other part was good too - talking about henry and "the incident", and all the ranting and raving after - our very own "Lady Diana moment"
24/11/2009, 9:31 AM
i have seen lots of Irish flags at many foreign clubs incl. spurs, man utd, roma etc etc. I doubt any of their fans care less to be honest.
??
Care less about what ?
24/11/2009, 9:48 AM
??
Care less about what ?
that someone has dared to bring an Irish flag to a non Irish match
Claret Murph
24/11/2009, 3:30 PM
I hate to say this but Sligo Hornet has made it as near perfect as you can get .
1/ Tri colour
2/ Sligo
3/ Hornet
This way he has 2 clubs and one country all on the same flag .
Now was this just luck or well planned ??????
that someone has dared to bring an Irish flag to a non Irish match
I get you...and you're right, most don't care but I can tell you that some do as I've experienced it with my own fellow fans at my local club's matches.
finbarrk
25/11/2009, 7:22 AM
The majority of fans don't care whats written on flags once it's not offensive. If someone wishes to put the name of their club or pub or hometown on it whats the big deal. Some of ye are getting on a high horse here over nothing.
Yep.
And don't forget Homer Simpson's appearance on the Tricolour...
magnumpi
25/11/2009, 9:40 AM
And don't forget Homer Simpson's appearance on the Tricolour...
what's the story behind that again?? i know it's on the Monaghan Boys flag....
Gather round
25/11/2009, 11:30 AM
Chelsea have long had a big Irish support, not least from Irish immigrants in the club's hardcore areas in south London (Battersea, Wandsworth etc.).
See above. The 'Blues brothers' was a short-lived low-circulation fanzine years ago. Yes, it covered other teams either in Ireland or widely supported there, but let's be honest: most Chelsea fans then and now have never heard of Linfield.
Chelsea have also had a number of Irish players over the years, from Paddy Mulligan and John Dempsey to Damien Duff. And not forgetting my favorite, 'Postman' John Coady ;)
25/11/2009, 12:46 PM
Chelsea have long had a big Irish support, not least from Irish immigrants in the club's hardcore areas in south London (Battersea, Wandsworth etc.).
See above. The 'Blues brothers' was a short-lived low-circulation fanzine years ago. Yes, it covered other teams either in Ireland or widely supported there, but let's be honest: most Chelsea fans then and now have never heard of Linfield.
Chelsea have also had a number of Irish players over the years, from Paddy Mulligan and John Dempsey to Damien Duff. And not forgetting my favorite, 'Postman' John Coady ;)
And arent they twinned with Rangers?
Cascarino also said something about his time there been tough cause he played with Ireland (and also was ****e, more likely!)
Still wonder - do the guys hang that flag in Stamford bridge? No answer yet?
Desyf
25/11/2009, 12:56 PM
Contact the lad at the London Branch of the Ireland supporters club and he'll tell you himself.
Gather round
25/11/2009, 1:10 PM
And arent they twinned with Rangers?
Ha ha, no they aren't.
Cascarino also said something about his time there been tough cause he played with Ireland (and also was ****e, more likely!)
Mediocre player in mediocre side. I went regularly during his two seasons there and don't remember any reference to his Irishness.
Junior
25/11/2009, 1:23 PM
Ha ha, no they aren't.
Its funny whenever crowd trouble breaks out at Rangers jaunts abroad or even in Manchester, Chelsea fans invariable get dragged in to it by the Rangers support in order to deflect blame.......If the trouble itself wasnt so serious I'd find that mildly amusing.
They might not be twinned but there would be an unofficial link amongst its supports, I dont think you could question that (not sure what the numbers would be)- Perhaps the new age Chelsea fan has diluted the link somewhat.
25/11/2009, 5:30 PM
Contact the lad at the London Branch of the Ireland supporters club and he'll tell you himself.
Wasnt really a dig, just curious:p
finbarrk
25/11/2009, 6:20 PM
Wasnt really a dig, just curious:p
And now you got your answer.
25/11/2009, 7:22 PM
And now you got your answer.
exactly!
declan
25/11/2009, 8:43 PM
As a season ticket holder at Chelsea and a regular at Ireland home and away games ( Missed two in this campaign ) I often get asked how are the two compatable "Chelsea fans are loyalist scum / Blues Brothers" etc etc And if I am honest there are some who are . But I am convinced they do not understand why they are - They cheer Rangers results , boo Celtic. yawn yawn ! I have been in pubs after a game having a couple of pints and the mornic chants start - no surrender / Bobby Sands songs etc Just before I leave I look round and at times like this wonder why I support Chelsea. The answer is when you are 5 and they are suddenly your team for no real reason , then they are your team - So it is possible ! And no I have not seen the flag at Chelsea !
IsMiseSean
25/11/2009, 8:57 PM
I seen a tricolour at an Osasuna game a few weeks back... Think it was against Barca