View Full Version : Giovanni Trappatoni - Well Done

Pages : 1 [2] 3

23/11/2009, 5:09 PM
Also fair play to Denis O'Brien, football in this country doesnt have too many benefactors but it was good of him to step in not once but twice and as a result we have a WC manager. Look at Scotland for example and their search for a manager, nowt too exciting showing up there. We've done well to get Trap. He has done well for us. Progress all round to date and almost almost success as well.

I particulary liked how he mentioned at the press conference the other day that his dream is to lead Ireland to the WC in 2014 to erase the France nightmare.

24/11/2009, 10:12 AM
At least they both played at the highest level,

So did Staunton

dr_peepee
24/11/2009, 10:46 AM
Trapattoni: The metaphor that springs to my mind is that of a student taking an exam. He could have done more during the year, maybe he left out some parts of the course, some of his homework was late and maybe his performance in class was a bit uninspiring at times, but in the big exam he was very well prepared and just missed out on the highest mark.

Stan on the other hand attended every lecture & tutorial and was an enthusiastic student but flunked the exam badly.

Excellent anaology. If I could take it a little further. Lets say the student is at a very expensive private college that his family are busting their balls off in very tough times to pay for. Would said family not be justifyibly ****ed, if in the face of their efforts he was skiving off classes and not completing CA's, knowing that the talented little poindexter is dangerously relying solely on his cappacity to sit exams to get him through??

I'm delighted with the leaps made under Trapp. But with a little more or even redirection of effort during his tenure I don't think Gibson would have been the best midfielder on the bench in Paris, or Keogh the best right sided midfeilder in the sqaud in Bari (esp given the performance of Lawrence since he came in). The focus (Or reliance) on consistency is counter productive in a playing pool as limited as ours.

Razors left peg
24/11/2009, 11:56 AM
So did Staunton
I was more talking about Pat Fenlon really, but to be honest I dont even believe that not playing at the highest level should matter. It hasnt mattered to the likes of Wenger.Im a League Of Ireland fan but as Ive said before with players, its not a high enough standard of league to prepare a player or manager for international football. It just annoys me that some people are overly critical of Trapattoni while saying that Fenlon is some sort of genius(he might well be, but he needs to do more than win a league of Ireland to prove it)

weldoninhio
24/11/2009, 8:29 PM
ha ha - that's not what you predicted though. In fact you stated definitively that France would win 3-0 on Wednesday and they never looked like doing that. You also said that Trapattoni would play anti-football but we haven't seen you retract that yet. Welcome back nonetheless.:rolleyes:

Ok i was wrong about 3-0, but as many posters in here have pointed out to me when i was critical of Traps "style" of play in the qualifiers, its the result that counts. If we can go to paris and play like that, why have we spent the entire qualifying campaign trying to nick a goal from a set piece and then sitting back and trying to defend it??

EastTerracer
24/11/2009, 11:48 PM
Ok i was wrong about 3-0, but as many posters in here have pointed out to me when i was critical of Traps "style" of play in the qualifiers, its the result that counts. If we can go to paris and play like that, why have we spent the entire qualifying campaign trying to nick a goal from a set piece and then sitting back and trying to defend it??

They did play a very similar game for an hour in Bari (I know it was against 10 men but the Italians would probably have sat back on a 1-0 lead anyway). I just get the feeling that Trapp thinks playing like that is somehow reckless and he will only let the team off the leash when they have nothing to lose. Like everyone I'd love him to change his approach but I get the feeling he won't change tactics that easily.

gunner63
25/11/2009, 12:24 AM
am i missing something in the aftermath of henrys shenanigans, but in all the coverage i have listened to and read we have been told several times that the referees decision is final and nothing will change his decisions made during the match. so how come tv coverage can be used to either enforce or rescind red and yellow cards afterwards, or this under another set of rules?

25/11/2009, 8:45 AM
Traps next mission is to blood a few new players in the friendlies before the European Championship quallifiers start next season.

I'd be very disappointed if he didnt include players that can change a match for us (like andy reid) in the squads.

He obviously brought alot of organisation to the team and gave them alot of belief - dont mind it being boring to watch, as its a results business - and his first 11 is hard to argue with.

Though he should really let the team have a go at teams more before its too late - and should be including players in the squad that can help change the match (id also include delap in the squad - not a bad player and his throws would be very beneficial in the last few minutes if were chasing a goal).

If he doesnt let the players have a go or try to change matches, we can look forward to another group of only beating 2 poor teams :(

Also looking forward to seeing more of noel hunt in the euros campaign.

hunt4the
25/11/2009, 11:47 AM
Trap has done an unbelievable job when you consider the absolute mess we were in. I would go so far as to say if we had qualified for the world cup it would be the greatest managerial achievement we've ever had when you consider the players jack had and the players (non-players steve england etc..) trappatoni has had. He's really brought the buzz back around the national team. I put the crap atmosphere for the last couple of years partly down to croke park, but the atmosphere at the Italy and France matches was as good as ever I remember in Landsdowne and its all thanks to trappatoni. hats off to the man

dr_peepee
07/12/2009, 10:22 AM
Trapp was apparently at the Portsmouth Burnley game, and the Sunderland Fulham game on Sunday. 10 months before the next competitive game. Credit where it's due and all...

07/12/2009, 10:46 AM
was it just wilson playing in the ports v burnley game?!

Its just annoying we have so many players playing in teams that are going to be relegated. Especially the likes of wilson who is a real prospect.

dan o d
07/12/2009, 10:59 AM
thanks to trap the players have rediscovered their desire to play and win for ireland.if stan had still been in charge for that last campaign, many of our older players like kilbane, given, dunne and duff may well be considering their international future right now. instead we have a group of lads who will be 100% commited to get revenge and qualify for the euros

dr_peepee
07/12/2009, 11:04 AM

Its just annoying we have so many players playing in teams that are going to be relegated. Especially the likes of wilson who is a real prospect.

Possibly to talk to O'Hara too, if the Radio was to be believed. He'll be back at Spurs when Portsmouth go down though.

I hear ye though, re Wilson. I wonder would Redknapp take a punt on him???

ArdeeBhoy
07/12/2009, 11:15 AM
One of the lads there reminded me Trappatoni wasn't FIFA's 'flavour of the month' in the light of recent events, given the fuss he made about Italy being probably cheated by S.Korea in 2002.

Which is another plus, with hindsight, in my book.

07/12/2009, 4:15 PM

Finnan was at right back as well

Possibly to talk to O'Hara too, if the Radio was to be believed. He'll be back at Spurs when Portsmouth go down though.

I hear ye though, re Wilson. I wonder would Redknapp take a punt on him???
Possibly, he was reserve player of the year while Redknapp was in charge

07/12/2009, 10:04 PM
Trapp was apparently at the Portsmouth Burnley game, and the Sunderland Fulham game on Sunday. 10 months before the next competitive game. Credit where it's due and all...

If I didn't know you as well I'm not sure I'd have detected the sarcasm.

dr_peepee
08/12/2009, 8:49 AM
Ha!! :) No... I was actually sincere in that one. Didn't expect to see him at a game this side of Easter!!

Scram
08/12/2009, 5:09 PM
Not well done. It was only against France that the players were allowed to play. We should have won our group.

Some poster contended that, if we played this open football in the group stages we would have been slaughtered. HOW RIDICULOUS…Georgia, Cyprus and Bulgaria would have ripped us apart where as France could not?? and in fact we beat them 1-0 in Paris!!!

08/12/2009, 6:13 PM
Not well done. It was only against France that the players were allowed to play. We should have won our group.

Some poster contended that, if we played this open football in the group stages we would have been slaughtered. HOW RIDICULOUS…Georgia, Cyprus and Bulgaria would have ripped us apart where as France could not?? and in fact we beat them 1-0 in Paris!!!

Saying we should have won the group rather than could have won the group is a big statement. For a start, much was made of our luck but Italy got luck in spades throughout this campaign.

I'd tend towards arguing that his first job was to make us cohesive again, achieve confidence by being hard to beat and then build on that platform to ultimately produce the type of performance we did in Paris.

I'm not sure we'd have been capable of producing that performance a year ago.

It's where we go from here that will be the next test.

08/12/2009, 8:51 PM
It's a long time since I have felt this confident that we are going to a very nice place.

Reality Bites
08/12/2009, 9:09 PM
Saying we should have won the group rather than could have won the group is a big statement. For a start, much was made of our luck but Italy got luck in spades throughout this campaign.

I'd tend towards arguing that his first job was to make us cohesive again, achieve confidence by being hard to beat and then build on that platform to ultimately produce the type of performance we did in Paris.

Correct! Traps first Job was to rebuild shape and moral in the Irish team which takes a couple of games both friendlies and qualifiers, The qualifying group was approached in a tactical manner with a big emphasis on NOT LOSING and picking up vital points along the way particularly away from home, Trap mastered this brief very well I think.

By the time the Irish team played that match in Paris I think they were inculcated in Traps philosphy they believed what he was telling them and approached that Final match under instructions from the manager to go for and they did.

09/12/2009, 10:29 AM
It's a long time since I have felt this confident that we are going to a very nice place.

Mosney?

ArdeeBhoy
09/12/2009, 12:08 PM

FIFa have already said 'Non' !

09/12/2009, 1:36 PM

I have moved on, like our great ex manager Jack Charlton said

"But it's all happened, it's over with and Ireland have to move on and move on fast. There are better times ahead and the only way they can get over this and forget about it is by putting it right next time around"

It's just that it's 10 months until the next competition and an annoying WC tournament in the middle.

09/12/2009, 2:46 PM
perhaps zimbabwe might invade SA in june and the WC will have to be called off/suspended.

Scram
10/12/2009, 12:30 PM

We should have won the group. We should have won all our home games. Merely making a team cohesive is not something any decent manager would point to as an achievement. Nor is "a year ago" i.e. “better than Stan” any pointer.

Indeed, we looked far from cohesive in the majority of games, after we scored goals the supposed “structure” was nowhere to be seen. A couple of lucky breaks against mediocre opposition and Italy got us in to second place.

We produced a great performance in Paris under Kerr with 4-5-1 including Andy Reid, this was never built on nor was there mass acclaim for Kerr’s achievements in that campaign.

If Trappatoni was Irish and treated Andy Reid as he has done he would be vilified and removed. Most views on here are clouded by his reputation and the fact that he is Italian. Looking at the statistics and the details of games, not a great performance by any means.

Reality Bites
10/12/2009, 12:58 PM
We should have won the group. We should have won all our home games. Merely making a team cohesive is not something any decent manager would point to as an achievement. Nor is "a year ago" i.e. “better than Stan” any pointer.

Indeed, we looked far from cohesive in the majority of games, after we scored goals the supposed “structure” was nowhere to be seen. A couple of lucky breaks against mediocre opposition and Italy got us in to second place.

We produced a great performance in Paris under Kerr with 4-5-1 including Andy Reid, this was never built on nor was there mass acclaim for Kerr’s achievements in that campaign.

If Trappatoni was Irish and treated Andy Reid as he has done he would be vilified and removed. Most views on here are clouded by his reputation and the fact that he is Italian. Looking at the statistics and the details of games, not a great performance by any means.

Anyone outside of Irish football support and a supporter of the game in general would find the above statement to be simply ludicrous.

On paper at the start of the campaign second place in this group seem a stretch for the players at our disposal. I think we were dogged at times and difficult to watch particularly away to Cyprus, but the ends justify the means and we got a result which firmly set us on the way to second place finish..What Trap achieved with Whelan and Andrews was remarkable, who would have thought these guys would have preformed with such strength of character and determination in Paris let alone knew much about either player at the start of campaigh. The manager believed in these players and they in turn returned that believe with a midfield display that hasn't been seen in years.
One of the most important things I alluded to above is the Team Spirit. At last we have a collection of players with character, they are a tight bunch and seem to be enjoying playing under the new management, hence no retirements or sulky displays. The same cannot be said for the Kerr and Staunton eras with widespread unrest and a good many retirements some natural others disillusioned.

Andy Reid has responded superbly to his banishment from the Irish Squad, he has lost weigh and is playing the best football of his career. Why? because for the first time he has been punished for neglecting a God given talent which he has failed to capitalise on through laziness. Reids sudden self-examination would not have been possible without Traps harsh treatment of him in the first place and now I believe the time is set for Reid to be rewarded with a call-up which will happen.

Uncle_Joe
10/12/2009, 1:23 PM
If Trappatoni was Irish and treated Andy Reid as he has done he would be vilified and removed

Sorry, but thats just not true. If an "Irish born Trap" had that same campaign, they would be rightly praised.

And as good as Kerr's team's perfomance was in Paris, the performance put in by Trap's Ireland was simply better.

10/12/2009, 1:50 PM
Sorry, but thats just not true. If an "Irish born Trap" had that same campaign, they would be rightly praised.

And as good as Kerr's team's perfomance was in Paris, the performance put in by Trap's Ireland was simply better.

With worse players too probably, or at least players such as duff, finnan etc who were in their prime etc.

10/12/2009, 4:03 PM

thats because we finished fourth in the group and threw leads away against Israel twice in that campaign. most of your other points are plain ridiculous and full of contradiction. we were a mess after stan and we are now a decent team, something we have not been since june 2002

jmurphyc
11/12/2009, 7:51 AM
We should have won the group.

When was the last time we won a World Cup group? We haven't managed it from 1930 onwards, so it's not quite as simple as you make it out to be.

11/12/2009, 10:52 AM
We had class, we coulda been a contender, we coulda been somebody.

colster
11/12/2009, 11:09 AM

Absolutely agree. The team is in a much better place than when he took over. You can't take a performance at the end of a campaign and read back and say we should of won a group because of that performance. It takes time (especially for an international manager) to rebuild the confidence of a team that had taken a battering. Their confidence must have been at a low ebb.

Crosby87
11/12/2009, 11:39 AM
It takes time (especially for an international manager) to rebuild the confidence of a team that had taken a battering. Their confidence must have been at a low ebb.

So how much time is it going to take man? More or less than Slovenia?
Does our manager have enough time left for himself or will the excuse cycle start all over again when they are looking for someone else in 3 years?

colster
11/12/2009, 2:43 PM
Does our manager have enough time left for himself or will the excuse cycle start all over again when they are looking for someone else in 3 years?

What have Slovenia got to do with it? They qualified through the playoffs against Russia. An easier draw than France IMO.
Anyway back to the point I think he's rebuilt the confidence of the side. If they take and build on the performance in Paris then I'm looking forward to and expecting us to do well in the Euro qualifiers. It obviously depends on the group we get but I'm optimistic that we can go and qualify. If we don't then we may be looking for a new manager.

Reality Bites
11/12/2009, 3:23 PM

can you please elaborate on excuse cycle pertaining only to Trappatoni's tenure.

Also did Slovenia have a similar starting point to us, i.e manager taking over from a previous shambolic set-up..If you are using comparisons you need to be clear.

Emmet7
11/12/2009, 3:40 PM
We have a terrible record in play-offs. Winning just one we participated in, against Iran, who were no great team.

We have lost 4 out of the last 5 play-offs we have been in. For whatever reason, we just aren't good at the play-offs. It's possibly because we get decisions against us in play-off games from refs along with other reasons.

That's why we must win the group in the Euro qualifying. Anything less and we will be into the lottery of play-off games and we don't want that.

I think Trap knows too that we must win the group. And that means beating the small teams home and away, beating the mid ranking teams home and away and beating the top seeds either at home or away and drawing the other game.

Winning the group is the only option, play-offs just don't suit us.

As for Trap, with all due respect to the previous managers Giles, Hand, Charlton, McCarthy, Kerr and Stan, they simply are not in Trap's league. He is the first manager we have with a consistant record of success at the top level, including success managing the Irish team. Yes we didn't qualify, but I think Trap got the maximum out of the players, brought in some new players and established a system that could serve Ireland for years to come.

Crosby87
12/12/2009, 12:22 AM
can you please elaborate on excuse cycle pertaining only to Trappatoni's tenure.

Also did Slovenia have a similar starting point to us, i.e manager taking over from a previous shambolic set-up..If you are using comparisons you need to be clear.

I just think sometimes people on here think everything has to be perfect in order to qualify. The manager has to be here for 20 years, blah blah.
And therefore if anything is amiss it is a viable excuse i.e well, we WOULD have qualified but we had injuries, manager wasnt here long enough, its george bush's fault,etc....
BUT little Slovenia went into Russia and Q'd so it is hard for me to except any excuses. We are just not good enough right now.
That poster is saying we are headed in the right direction. Unfortunately players have such short careers in terms of world cups that it is hard to keep momentum that way.

Irish_Praha
12/12/2009, 12:29 PM
I just think sometimes people on here think everything has to be perfect in order to qualify. The manager has to be here for 20 years, blah blah.
And therefore if anything is amiss it is a viable excuse i.e well, we WOULD have qualified but we had injuries, manager wasnt here long enough, its george bush's fault,etc....
BUT little Slovenia went into Russia and Q'd so it is hard for me to except any excuses. We are just not good enough right now.
That poster is saying we are headed in the right direction. Unfortunately players have such short careers in terms of world cups that it is hard to keep momentum that way.

Crosby87 I get what you mean but when a team fails to qualify it's only natural to anaylse the situation and find out what went wrong in oder to improve on this the next time around. Especially when we were so close and that little extra could help us get over the line the next time.
It would also be hard to argue against the fact that we didn't qualify simply because we were not good enough.

As for people thinking everything has to be perfect before we can qualify; unfortunately for a small country with a limited squad this is almost the case. You have to play two supposedly better teams in a group of 5 or 6 and get more points than them over 8-10 games. A hell of a lot of things have to go right to overcome those odds. The players, manager and injuries all play a very important role and I think Trap did a very good job. It was a shame S. Reid was injured for most of the qualifiers but we were also very lucky that from what I consider our other 5 core players (Duff, Given, O'Shea, Keane,Dunne) only Duff missed a few games. It might have been a different story if two or three of these were injured long-term because their replacements are not a patch on them.

Buller
12/12/2009, 3:29 PM
Thank you trap for giving us hope once more!!

Scram
14/12/2009, 12:47 PM
Anyone outside of Irish football support and a supporter of the game in general would find the above statement to be simply ludicrous.

On paper at the start of the campaign second place in this group seem a stretch for the players at our disposal. I think we were dogged at times and difficult to watch particularly away to Cyprus, but the ends justify the means and we got a result which firmly set us on the way to second place finish..What Trap achieved with Whelan and Andrews was remarkable, who would have thought these guys would have preformed with such strength of character and determination in Paris let alone knew much about either player at the start of campaigh. The manager believed in these players and they in turn returned that believe with a midfield display that hasn't been seen in years.
One of the most important things I alluded to above is the Team Spirit. At last we have a collection of players with character, they are a tight bunch and seem to be enjoying playing under the new management, hence no retirements or sulky displays. The same cannot be said for the Kerr and Staunton eras with widespread unrest and a good many retirements some natural others disillusioned.

Andy Reid has responded superbly to his banishment from the Irish Squad, he has lost weigh and is playing the best football of his career. Why? because for the first time he has been punished for neglecting a God given talent which he has failed to capitalise on through laziness. Reids sudden self-examination would not have been possible without Traps harsh treatment of him in the first place and now I believe the time is set for Reid to be rewarded with a call-up which will happen.

One thing I do agree with Roy Keane on and very much evident in here:

The lack of balls and losing Irish mentality

With Damien Duff, Robbie Keane and Andy Reid in our team (and indeed, Kevin Doyle, Richard Dunne and Shay Given), we should, as I said, have won this group.

And to suggest that “Andy Reid” should only “NOW” be ready to be offered a place in the team is totally laughable :D when Martin Rowlands and/or Liam Miller were in the squad, neither of whom could lace the boots of a 17 stone Andy Reid!

Restrictive, unimaginative, defeatist football only changing in Paris in the play-offs.

That is obviously good enough for the rest of you, the same crowd who think reaching the quarter finals of any tournament to be a huge success, no matter how many quality players we have.

“Ah well, sure didn’t we do better than under Stan” ……COMICAL!! :D

14/12/2009, 3:26 PM
Interesting strategy.

Present argument.

Ignore credible response to argument.

Present same argument again, this time using bold font (the written equivalent of just saying it louder).

Jicked
14/12/2009, 3:37 PM
With Damien Duff, Robbie Keane and Andy Reid in our team (and indeed, Kevin Doyle, Richard Dunne and Shay Given), we should, as I said, have won this group.

Italy had Pirlo, Buffon, Cannavaro... Bulgaria had Berbatov, M Petrov, S Petrov...how many teams 'should' have finished in the one qualifying spot?

14/12/2009, 3:48 PM
Restrictive, unimaginative, defeatist football only changing in Paris in the play-offs.

Remind me how many games we were defeated in during the campaign?

Damien Duff, Robbie Keane and Andy Reid in our team (and indeed, Kevin Doyle, Richard Dunne and Shay Given we should have won the group

Damien Duff dropping down the way and now playing at Fulham, Robbie Keane let go by Liverpool and not playing well for Spurs, Andy Reid started off on the bench for mighty Sunderland, Kevin Doyle playing for relegation candidates Wolves, Richard Dunne let go by Manchester City, Shay Given can't disagree there. Not sure they rank ahead of World Champions, Italy.

Sometimes we think our players are much better than they are. They for the most part play for mediocre teams. We were seeded three and came second. That's not bad and we were within a hand's breath of a penalty shoot out against one of the powers of Europe who have players playing in most of the top teams.

p.s. We did very well to garner 6 points from Cyprus when you see how well their club teams are doing in Europe.

14/12/2009, 4:10 PM

To be fair Owlsfan, we didnt win a whole lot either

Scram
15/12/2009, 8:35 AM

Damien Duff dropping down the way and now playing at Fulham, Robbie Keane let go by Liverpool and not playing well for Spurs, Andy Reid started off on the bench for mighty Sunderland, Kevin Doyle playing for relegation candidates Wolves, Richard Dunne let go by Manchester City, Shay Given can't disagree there. Not sure they rank ahead of World Champions, Italy.

Sometimes we think our players are much better than they are. They for the most part play for mediocre teams. We were seeded three and came second. That's not bad and we were within a hand's breath of a penalty shoot out against one of the powers of Europe who have players playing in most of the top teams.

p.s. We did very well to garner 6 points from Cyprus when you see how well their club teams are doing in Europe.

You rate our players based on some flawed EPL managers’ views in order to support your contention that we don’t have high quality players!! I think you are another one suffering from the debilitating Irish inferiority complex. Take Richard Dunne for example, you say he shouldn’t be rated because Mark Hughes got rid of him…how ridiculous when it is 100% clear to anyone who knows anything about football that this was one of Hughes’ biggest mistakes.

The performance against France showed what our team are capable of if let play and what we could have done had we been let play and Andy Reid being selected. (oops, I forgot his last performance v Fulham wasn’t his usual high standard, so forget about him too….RIDICULOUS)

PS. Albania 6 Cyrpus 1

Emmet7
15/12/2009, 12:17 PM
People say these days, how many of the current Irish team would get in the English squad, and most people would name a couple of names.

Think back to the players Jack Charlton had available to him and it was a completely different story. He had an embarrassment of riches at his disposal, a golden generation of players to pick from and the majority of them would have made the English squad at the time if they were English, an English team that reached the WC Semi Finals.

He had Bonner, Irwin, Stauntan, Moran, McCarthy, Lawrenson, McGrath, Babb, Brady, Whelan, Keane, Houghtan, Sheedy, Aldridge, Quinn, Cascarino, Stapleton, Townsend, and many more players available to him. Most of these players would walk onto any International team of the time.

We have some good players now, but not near enough the number Charlton had.

15/12/2009, 12:39 PM
PS. Albania 6 Cyrpus 1
you know, we did beat Cyprus. twice.

Reality Bites
15/12/2009, 12:49 PM
You rate our players based on some flawed EPL managers’ views in order to support your contention that we don’t have high quality players!! I think you are another one suffering from the debilitating Irish inferiority complex. Take Richard Dunne for example, you say he shouldn’t be rated because Mark Hughes got rid of him…how ridiculous when it is 100% clear to anyone who knows anything about football that this was one of Hughes’ biggest mistakes.

The performance against France showed what our team are capable of if let play and what we could have done had we been let play and Andy Reid being selected. (oops, I forgot his last performance v Fulham wasn’t his usual high standard, so forget about him too….RIDICULOUS)

PS. Albania 6 Cyrpus 1

Scram i give in you were right all along. Brian Kerr should be managing us with Andy Reid in central midfield and come July 11th ??? we should be in World Cup Final against Brazil / Spain playing fluent one touch football alot like Barcelona,because yes we do have the players to do so,they are technically gifted and never get injured,they are in fact playing below themselves in EPL and only those who follow the game with the same level of interest as yourself can spot this. So sack Trapand replace him with Brian Kerr re-instate Andy Reid in centre mid and we just have to turn up for the Euros, the rest is a formality....I for one cannot wait...

magnumpi
15/12/2009, 1:00 PM
Think back to the players Jack Charlton had available to him and it was a completely different story. He had an embarrassment of riches at his disposal, a golden generation of players to pick from and the majority of them would have made the English squad at the time if they were English, an English team that reached the WC Semi Finals.

He had Bonner, Irwin, Stauntan, Moran, McCarthy, Lawrenson, McGrath, Babb, Brady, Whelan, Keane, Houghtan, Sheedy, Aldridge, Quinn, Cascarino, Stapleton, Townsend, and many more players available to him. Most of these players would walk onto any International team of the time.

We have some good players now, but not near enough the number Charlton had.

only the three highlighted would have "walked" into *any* (used lightly) international team. the players charlton had were better than the current crop, by a long way, but your outlandish statements once again undermine your overall argument.