View Full Version : Cup Final - Predictions

19/11/2009, 11:58 PM
Who do you think will win [not who do you want to win] on Sunday? And give yer scoreline prediction.

It's going to be very tight I think. I'll say 2-1 to us but wouldn't be surprised if we lost either.

19/11/2009, 11:59 PM
i think 2-1 sligo very tight match. zayed raff and boco

Ciaran W
20/11/2009, 12:45 AM
1-0 sligo

20/11/2009, 1:59 AM
Sligoman, stop tempting fate please.

20/11/2009, 4:04 AM
1-0 Sligo.

CameramanConka
20/11/2009, 5:05 AM
Same as last year. 2-2 with the ref making at least one noticeable **** up.

CuanaD
20/11/2009, 8:15 AM
It'll be close alright, probably be a 2:1 or 3:2 aet

Hope it doesn't go to penalties.

jamie m
20/11/2009, 8:21 AM
Rovers to win 2-1.

sheao
20/11/2009, 8:23 AM
Sligo to win 3-1 .

20/11/2009, 8:28 AM
I have a sneaky feeling Fingal will win it.

20/11/2009, 8:42 AM
1-0 to Sligo. Tubbercurry Tornado to score.

Redie
20/11/2009, 8:45 AM
3 - 1 to Rovers.

ltfc_2004
20/11/2009, 8:53 AM
Fancy Fingal to sneak it, any odds on the game ? bookies sites blocked in work

20/11/2009, 9:03 AM
2-1 Sligo

Redzer
20/11/2009, 9:04 AM
Raf to score in the 118 min. Sligo closes down for a week amid wild celebrations.

mcgonigle
20/11/2009, 9:25 AM
I have a feeling Fingal will win 2-1. Probably something outrageous like a double handball for the winner, imagine that!!

roinuj
20/11/2009, 9:27 AM
i hope its sligo who wins it (for been a proper football club with a good fan base)
but i have a funny feeling that it will be fingal that will be lifting the trophy in front of their 99 fans.

2-0 fingal

DUFC4life
20/11/2009, 9:35 AM
Sligo to win 2-1 aet in controversial circumstances when cretaro slaps the ball back into play before teeing up kendrick to finish, cueing a nationwide frenzy demanding fair play. Joe duffy will call a protest outside morton stadium and brian cowen will send a strongly worded letter to john delaney.

apo11o
20/11/2009, 9:42 AM
Siigo Rovers 2 - 1 Fingal County Council

20/11/2009, 10:00 AM
Sligoman, stop tempting fate please.If you don't like it, don't click into it.

So do I. Jungle drums indicate all is not well in the Sligo camp in the run up.Jungle drums...what?:confused:

20/11/2009, 10:27 AM
I asked the question in another thread. I have heard that there is an issue over bonuses and the players didn't train last week. Can any Sligo fan confirm or deny?

Where did you hear this BYCTWD??:confused:

pcsligo
20/11/2009, 10:31 AM
I asked the question in another thread. I have heard that there is an issue over bonuses and the players didn't train last week. Can any Sligo fan confirm or deny?

Can't confirm but i've heard a whisper re same

20/11/2009, 10:31 AM
I've been infracted for 'posting rumours', so am bowing out. Will happily deal with via PM though.

Sligoman strikes again!! You don't mess with a professional moderator.:o

I wouldn't believe what you've heard BYC, it would have been a big story here if it was true.

noisecontrol
20/11/2009, 10:47 AM
Word is that FIFA have appointed Martin Hansson and his team of linesmen for this fixture.

They have also told him to expect similar low profile fixtures for the remainder of his career!!!

I jest lads...pity that this cup final has been swallowed up in the furore surrounding the Ireland match although I do remember one of the panelists on MNS making a similar predication when the date was originally confirmed.

I like the look of Fingal I must say...only seen the televised games against Bray but they are lively up front. Not affiliated to any LOI team really but reckon this could be a hum dinger...3-2 Fingal!!!

srfc1928
20/11/2009, 1:20 PM
Was speaking to Gerry Carr about an hour ago. That rumour is absolute rubbish.
I was also in The Showgrounds last Thursday morning and seen the players training.

L37Ultra
20/11/2009, 2:44 PM
I hope Irish soccer wins tomorrow so a 2-0 win for Sligo

20/11/2009, 2:49 PM
I hope Irish soccer wins tomorrow so a 2-0 win for Sligo

Aye, best of luck to the ladies in Roscommon tomorrow. Who's gonna win Sunday though?

L37Ultra
20/11/2009, 2:57 PM
Aye, best of luck to the ladies in Roscommon tomorrow. Who's gonna win Sunday though?

After wednesday night I don't know what day or week it is so excuse me for that one ;)

EnglishSource
20/11/2009, 2:58 PM
Will be delighted if Fingal win.

Riddickcule
20/11/2009, 3:41 PM
10-0 Sligo..please god

Mayo Red
20/11/2009, 5:42 PM
10-0 Sligo..please god

I like the way you're thinking!!:)

Mad Moose
20/11/2009, 5:52 PM
Sorry Rovers fans. I do have a feeling Fingal will win it. There's a hell of a lot of strenght and experience in that side and I think they will shade it.

The Lep
20/11/2009, 7:25 PM
10-0 Sligo..please god

Their GAA team has never scored 10 so they havent a hope :D

2-1 to the mighty Sporting Fingal with Sporting going 2-0 up in the first half.

galwayjames
20/11/2009, 7:38 PM
I've no doubt Fingal even if they don't add to their squad during the winter they'll do very well in the Premier, but I think Sligo are a better team and after beating Bohs, Cork and Derry I think that it will go their way.

I think it will be a good final but I'll go 3-2 Sligo.

redarmyfaction
20/11/2009, 7:38 PM
There was a short strike on the training pitch, but the players got their way.

20/11/2009, 7:53 PM
I admire of all your optimism but my prediction is that the cup final will be postponed due to the bad weather!:eek:

GalwayRed
21/11/2009, 12:36 AM
I reckon Sligo will edge this 2-1.

sligofan4ever
21/11/2009, 11:31 AM
Their GAA team has never scored 10 so they havent a hope :D

2-1 to the mighty Sporting Fingal with Sporting going 2-0 up in the first half.

Sure even our GAA team gets bigger attendances than ye.

21/11/2009, 12:50 PM
I think Fingal will win by at least two.. By the way, this has to be one of the least anticipated finals in years.

21/11/2009, 1:08 PM
I think Fingal will win by at least two.. By the way, this has to be one of the least anticipated finals in years.

In certain quarters. Most anticipated in the wesht for 15 years anyways, and well the team from the easy has no fans so I can't see it enticing much mouthwatering down your side.

21/11/2009, 1:08 PM

Ya, i don't think i'll bother going now:rolleyes:

21/11/2009, 1:12 PM
this has to be one of the least anticipated finals in years.Really? I'd have said quite the opposite:p.

21/11/2009, 1:22 PM
Ya, i don't think i'll bother going now:rolleyes:

My point is there's not much interest from neutrals in tomorrow's game. The same can't be said for recent finals like Derry - Bohs, Derry - Pat's and Cork - Drogheda. I'd say the figure for people watching on TV will be horrendous, it might even be lower than the attendance.. ;)

21/11/2009, 1:38 PM
My point is there's not much interest from neutrals in tomorrow's game. The same can't be said for recent finals like Derry - Bohs, Derry - Pat's and Cork - Drogheda. I'd say the figure for people watching on TV will be horrendous, it might even be lower than the attendance.. ;)

I know what you mean HS. But i think it'll be a decent game. Both teams play good football. (well, at least attempt it anyway)

The Lep
21/11/2009, 3:27 PM
Sure even our GAA team gets bigger attendances than ye.

Only if they play kerry :)

Fester
21/11/2009, 4:37 PM
Sligo 3 v 1

dublinred
21/11/2009, 4:56 PM
I was a lot more confident in 1994 maybe cause I was younger and we were on a rollercoaster back then . If O'Grady was playing we would be certs tomorrow but given he is missing and Fingal have had a few extra games and should be a lot sharpper than us I think it will go to the wire i am hoping for a 1 nil with Fingal running out of steam in the last 20mins they will be quick out of the blocks and we need to hold them back at the start.

Straightstory
21/11/2009, 5:15 PM
I'm a neutral and I'm interested. I like Sligo and Paul Cook. Still can't see why SF were let into the league. No history - no fans - too many Dublin teams already. Reason enough to be interested and hope Sligo win.

Straightstory
21/11/2009, 5:17 PM
... Having said that, Fingal there on merit. So actually think they may win.

Riddickcule
21/11/2009, 7:20 PM
Not much IQ involved to play Gaah, thats the way i see it, bogging the ball down the other end, thats all it is, as for hurling....