View Full Version : Who will retire from International play?
Crosby87
18/11/2009, 10:54 PM
Trying this again now that the campaign is over....
I have to think we've seen the last of Duff. It seems like yesterday to me that he was in the 2002 World Cup, a mop of blondish hair on his head....
I thought he would see quite a few more.
backstothewall
18/11/2009, 10:57 PM
Duff and Kilbane maybe.
Can't see anyone makng any quick decisions after tonight though.
19/11/2009, 12:18 AM
Duff and Kilbane are certain I'd say, Duff given his reaction I'd say is gone anyway
19/11/2009, 12:26 AM
Kilbane says he would never ignore a call from his country. Think Duff will stick around.
Morbo
19/11/2009, 12:30 AM
Killer probably won't actually retire but will just stop getting picked, it was probably his last game for us, thought he played very well tonight so if it is his last game then its not a bad way to go out.
I think Duff still has another campaign left in him, hope he stays on anyway because even a past it Duff is better than McGeady.
weldoninhio
19/11/2009, 12:50 AM
Hopefully McGeady will retire, go on a free transfer to Rangers and fade into obscurity. Finnan won't play again, Duff will go i'd imagine to prolong his club career, given his tears tonight
irishultra
19/11/2009, 12:57 AM
nah duff loves playing for ireland. he's around till 2012 as a bit part player at least ala luis figo.
kilbane-he deserves a send off but the problem is the ordinary irish fan doesnt recongise kilbane. there too busy watching manchester united and liverpool players.
i think the squad will be roughly the same in terms of whose available. whether some are dropped is another matter. my hunch is trap changes ireland for the next campaign in a bit of a revolutionary way.
Kilbane, a true Irish legend, was massive tonight. I would love him to stay around for a while longer. With the complete lack of talent coming through (especially bona fide left backs) he may be needed for a while longer.
I love the guy.
Real Rover
19/11/2009, 2:15 AM
I'm phuckin pi$$ed off!!!!! :mad::mad::mad:
irishfan86
19/11/2009, 3:31 AM
Kilbane says he would never ignore a call from his country.
He seemed to be singing a different tune in the interview on soccerrepublic following the match, saying he'd have a talk with the management and make a decision over the next few weeks. Not to get people against him, he's obviously been a great servant for Ireland:
http://soccerrepublic.eircom.net/
Noelys Guitar
19/11/2009, 3:49 AM
Henry.
DonnyG
19/11/2009, 4:00 AM
A more pertinent question what is the pipelien coming up behind to replace those who retire - the next Given/Keane etc
boysingreen
19/11/2009, 6:10 AM
I'm praying the squad stays together (that's not to say I'm opposed to Trapattoni tinkering). Would hate for this to be anyone's send-off, though it was undoubtedly something to be very proud of. I want to see them build on this laudable performance and respond in a big way for the Euros.
boovidge
19/11/2009, 6:21 AM
I hope Kilbane doesn't retire. He's a true hero for me and alot of the 2/3g fans.
19/11/2009, 6:55 AM
I think Killer would skip his own funeral to be a substitute waterboy for Ireland if he was called.
You'd still get people moaning, even if every available waterboy had been struck dead with smallpox.
Absolute legend.
Duffer is a worry. Especially if he was in tears at the end.
endabob1
19/11/2009, 7:48 AM
We would seriously miss Duff if he was to retire, I would think he would be up for 2012, he'll be 33 and that would probably be his swansong.
As mentioned elsewhere I think Kilbane will just no longer be selected as opposed to an actual retirement. I guess it's unlikely we'll see Finnan again either so the time for one of the young Right Backs to step up to the plate I'd like to see Foley get a chance with O'Shea moving to Left Back.
Fixer82
19/11/2009, 8:12 AM
I don't think Kilbane will retire, just stop getting picked. He was fantastic last night. I hope Duff doesnt retire. if he does it'll be of a broken heart rather than to prolong his club career. He was devestated last night.
I thought Damien Delaney was excellent at left back when Ireland played in Fulham, can't remember who it was against. Would like to see him get another go.
I think Finnan will retire though he probably wouldnt get picked by Trap anyway...
Murfinator
19/11/2009, 10:58 AM
Out of the squad we have right now the only potential one I'd imagine is Kevin Kilbane, who in truth I'd picture being more the kind of guy who'll turn up as long as he's called up. Anyone else from the squad would be a surprise.
Outside of the squad we've probably seen the last of Finnan, Carr, Carsley, Delap, Kiely, Andy O'Brien if any of them were going to feature in the squad anyway. Trap went on record saying Finnan and Carsley in particular would be in a pre-world cup squad to give them a chance, I'm not sure if he'll bother with them for a competition in 2012.
19/11/2009, 10:59 AM
Theres already a tread about retirements
Murfinator
19/11/2009, 11:05 AM
Some of the stuff people are writing about Duff here is bizarre, him retiring never even crossed my mind. Retire? He's 30...
A "bit part player"? He's playing as well as he ever was, he's not 36 or on his last legs, jesus christ. He'll continue on and be one of, if not our most critical player.
Hodgson said recently that you'd have to lock Damien in a cage to keep him away from International duty, he's not about to arse off at the age of 30 because he doesn't care about it anymore. I'd be surprised if he wasn't available for the 2014 World Cup campaign, let alone the 2012 Euro campaign.
19/11/2009, 11:11 AM
No way will Duffer go, the lads was crying as were pretty much all the time because we had come so so close to qualification and werent beaten were cheated out of it.
KK wont retire either but may no longer be first choice. I think he is a good exxperienced lad to have around in the squad, a bit like Quinny was towards the end of his career.
Unlikely we'll see Finnan again due a combination of age and injuries.
The Betting Man
19/11/2009, 11:26 AM
Just like to echo what people are saying about Kevin Kilbane, would do anything to play for Ireland, he was never the most gifted player but would always give 100% when playing for Ireland. Doesnt get enough credit as he should but he should be proud to have 102 caps for Ireland and if last night was his last game for us then thanks for everything Kevin
ShnaeGuevara715
19/11/2009, 11:30 AM
Hopefuly Killer gets put out to pasture. I think Eddie Nolan spent last season playing leftback successfuly for Preston. Stephen Kelly? O'Dea? Delaney? JO'SH? Even Maybury and Ian Harte are still knocking around if we get desperate...lol
Duffer might want to play for Ireland but his body is wearing out. Poor lad, first relegation and now this.
I think the rightmid spot has to be Liam Lawrence's for the immediate future and we have a deluge of lads to play leftmid. Hunt, McGeady, AReid and so on. Not to mention the younglings.
If only he could do a Killer and revert to left back for a campaign but he's a very naive defender. I genuinely don't know, but I can't/don't want to picture an Ireland squad without Duff!
Finnan can't carry on, injury, age, club-selection wise.
In general I think our squad is only going to get better. The return of the Reid's, people like Garvan coming to maturity. Defence is thin as ever though.
What ever happened to Andy O'Brien and Joey O'Brien?
ShnaeGuevara715
19/11/2009, 11:36 AM
By the way I'm not calling for Andy O'Brien, I'm just genuinely wondering what became of him!
19/11/2009, 11:50 AM
The question that must be asked, already has been
http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=128161
19/11/2009, 12:35 PM
I reckon ther'll be no retirements until the Aviva Stadium opens.
Colbert Report
19/11/2009, 12:39 PM
The Argentina match would be an excellent send-off for Kilbane but they'll hardly make that his testimonial, too big of a money maker for the FAI.
Sunny Jim
19/11/2009, 1:21 PM
McShane. Hopefully.
irishultra
19/11/2009, 1:23 PM
I dont think anybody will retire, just step back a little and become subs. It would be great to have the experience of these guys around a little longer. The future looks good and this campaign can only be built upon.
However i think the FAI need to look at the overall picture.
1) they need to appoint a new under 21 manager as Givens has lost the plot long ago. He is old school and cannot relate to the newer younger generation of Irish players. Time and time again arguements etc have blighted his tenure as Under 21 manager. Many players have suffered as a result and we seem to struggle from one crisis to another at this level. Surely we have talent in the Eircom League & U-20 LOI that is better than a player from Histon?
2) The FAI need to trawl the english, scotish and european leagues for players? There is one player in Holland (Surname) Maguire who has Irish parents. He refused an U-21 call up before but surely could be inticed into the senior setup. Our bench was wake last night and as a result we suffered.
3) the FAI also need to have a serious look at the LOI, its dying on its feet as we speak. Could we look at a celtic league? (Irish, Scotish, N.Ireland & Welsh clubs) Maybe the top clubs could play at this level as full time pro setups and in each country, a semi pro league could run in tamdem. All the above countries do not have a population to sustain pro football.
4) the FAI also need to demand of UEFA & FIFA that the rules for any future qualification tournament are clearly set out before the tournament starts.
Just a few thoughts and open to comment.
Course they do, and sure look at Cypriot football with a country much smaller than ours.
19/11/2009, 3:16 PM
Course they do, and sure look at Cypriot football with a country much smaller than ours.
they are bankrolled by millionares
Riddickcule
19/11/2009, 3:33 PM
Some of you calling out Duffers name = madness.
He's got it in him for a while yet, he's only 30 i think give him a few more years, he clearly loves playing for his country so he'll keep playing imo.
My biggest worry is Shay, yes we probably will have him if we were in the Euro 2012.
But after that i feel he's a goner, he'd be 37 for the WC 2014.
And what kinda keeper we got lined up after him? Westwood? gimme a break..
Lenny82
19/11/2009, 4:57 PM
I don't think we will see any retirements from this squad other than Finnan perhaps, unless he gets fit and has a good injury free season with Portsmouth.
The big positives of this campaign is the emergence of St. Ledger, Andrews, Whelan and Lawrence as international regulars and I feel players like Marc Wilson, Foley and Fahey will force their way into Traps plans for the next campaign.
irishultra
19/11/2009, 5:06 PM
I think Gary Deegan could force his way in, maby not by 2012 but 2014 defo. If Keith Andrews could do it so can he.
Yard of Pace
19/11/2009, 5:44 PM
I doubt Shay will retire. Ever! I just read something last week from his brother on a MBM of the Italy game on the Guardian saying he never misses a game. He's mad for Ireland and it appears his family are too. He's a fair few years left in him, I'd say.
A more pertinent question what is the pipelien coming up behind to replace those who retire - the next Given/Keane etc
That is a worry.
Female housemate of mine was asking who will be gone now. For the next World Cup I said Duff, Kilbane, probably Dunne and Keane and maybe Given (though I doubt it) and she replied with 'but those are our best players'
How right she is
Some of you calling out Duffers name = madness.
He's got it in him for a while yet, he's only 30 i think give him a few more years, he clearly loves playing for his country so he'll keep playing imo.
My biggest worry is Shay, yes we probably will have him if we were in the Euro 2012.
But after that i feel he's a goner, he'd be 37 for the WC 2014.
Shay has only (as far as I can recall) had one injury of note in his career in the last number of years. Goalkeepers can perform to a very high level well into their late 30s, look at Van derSar for example. If Shay stays injury free I think he may well be around for 2014. The guy refuses to miss friendlies as it is.
I think the areas we need to develop is left back, right back, centre midfield and up front. Judging by the number of players Trap has brought through in the last two years, I hope a similar number will come through in the near future.
cavan_fan
19/11/2009, 6:01 PM
Westwood will be a quality keeper, Hopefully Shay can play for 3- more years to let him come through
irishultra
19/11/2009, 6:07 PM
given will be irish goalkeeper in june 2014 i bet and maby even 2016 euros who knows.
Its not unprecedented for keepers to play at international level until they're 40, Seaman, Lehman, Oliver Kahn etc were all around 40 (or close to) and I'm sure there is lots of other examples. I'm sure Shay can at least play until he is 37 considering it doesn't look like there will be any decent competition for his place in the near future.
boovidge
19/11/2009, 7:01 PM
Westwood will be a premiership regular in a couple of years.
19/11/2009, 10:34 PM
Duffers father was on the radio today and more or less sail that Damien will be around for a while longer.
Chris McCann is a big talent. Got himself injured earlier this season but should be back after Christmas.