View Full Version : France V Ireland - Wednesday, 18th November 2009 - World Cup 2010 Playoff Second Leg

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

Duggie
19/11/2009, 12:35 PM
there is zero chance, not a hope in hell lads.

19/11/2009, 12:35 PM
Sure when would it be played?

19/11/2009, 12:36 PM
I always liked him.

Splurge
A winner takes all game in Wembley would be fair.

The more high profile ppl like Ginola, Lizarazu, Brady etc that call for this the higher the chance.

jinxy lilywhite
I'm still sick at what I saw last night. I really am but lads life goes on and as the french say "C'est la vie". IMO what Thierry Henry did last night and from a man who actively sought for fair play in the EPL I found it quite sickening & he showed his true colours.

Ireland should of had this game wrapped up long before the full time whistle. Unfortuneately we didn't take our chances and I had a feeling when Keane missed his chance with the 1 on 1 with Lloris that France had that bit of luck on their side to get one back and that we missed too many good chances.

All the outcome of this game does is enhances the chances of TV evidence being giving during the game. It does not slow down other sports and say in rugby it actually draws a line under debates like this. Retrospectively nothing can change what happened and FIFA will make no attempt to rectify last nights result because they will, like the eduardo case for diving, realise that they can open up a huge can of worms.

I was very proud of the irish team and possibly the first time since the 2002 WC that I actively went out of my way to watch Ireland play. I hope they can play like they did last night in the future and hopefully we will have a lot of exciting times ahead.

Whjat i am trying to say really is that we can disect this game and the the prelude to it for years to come, the fact is, is that it will not change a single thing. Unfortuneately a creul handball that should of been seen wasn't and it was the difference between success & failure.

rerun
19/11/2009, 12:37 PM
He was saying that they stopped playing because it was such an obvious handball, something which I noticed, they never made an attempt to cut the ball out ...
If that's what happened then we can't complain, play the whistle... :(

19/11/2009, 12:37 PM
FIFA have no right to fly that Fair Play flag. Action must be taken.FIFA had no right to fly the flag before yesterdays game, never mind afterwards.

If anyone has read "Foul", they know what I mean.

Money makes the world go round.....

Colbert Report
19/11/2009, 12:38 PM
I'm surprised this hasn't been mentioned before. Didn't Arsenal do something like this a few years ago?

This one-off playoff would be a huge moneymaker and great PR for the game in general. France would probably wake the f up and stuff us anyway so FIFA would still get what they want - France through to the World Cup. I can definitely see it happening.

celticV3
19/11/2009, 12:38 PM
Dara o brien made a good point there on radio. While this is still fresh we can complain about it for the next day or so, but it will all be old news soon.
Any chance, and theres next to none, of a replay would depend on the amount of pressure that can be put on fifa in the next day or two.

celticV3
19/11/2009, 12:39 PM
Enjoy
http://i48.tinypic.com/24exhy8.jpg

Colbert Report
19/11/2009, 12:41 PM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/nov/19/thierry-henry-fifa-rematch-ireland-france

Christ that's hypnotising. From every other angle you'd wonder, but from there it doesn't look instinctual at all. What's the source of the footage?

brianw82
No chance of a replay.

As gutting as it was, we benefited from an equally dodgy decision in the home game against Georgia with the penalty for the non-handball. Although that game didn't cost Georgia qualification, none of us were calling for a replay there.

Colbert Report
It's the least we owe the thousands of devastated young fans around the country. Otherwise, if that result remains, it reinforces the view that if you cheat you will win. Thierry Henry has admitted handling the ball, claims he told the ref he handled it," Ahern added.

Noelys Guitar
19/11/2009, 12:43 PM
If the French press, public, players, managers, ex-players and government put enough pressure on the French football association then who knows. It won't matter what we say. It will matter what they say and think about themselves. Do we really want to qualify for the World Cup this way? This is a huge worldwide news story not just sports story. And the next few days might be interesting.

celticV3
19/11/2009, 12:45 PM
Christ that's hypnotising. From every other angle you'd wonder, but from there it doesn't look instinctual at all. What's the source of the footage?
Not sure, found it on another forum.

Noelys Guitar
19/11/2009, 12:51 PM
Swedish Newspaper report on the officials
Swedish newspaper Aftonbladet's report reading: "We guarantee they the Irish fans feel pretty bad today, but I sincerely hope there are three Swedes that feel even worse. They are Martin Hansson and his assistants. There will be no World Cup for Ireland and I assume that Team Hansson has also forfeited it's right to continue to take charge of major international matches. Anything else would be a further insult to the Irish nation."

seanfhear
19/11/2009, 12:51 PM
Could it be done like the Lisbon treaty i.e. keep replaying it until we get the right result:D

It would be a great deed if the French FA offered to replay the game. I would say that the bookies would still make them favourites though.

Sproston Green
19/11/2009, 12:53 PM
No chance of a replay.

As gutting as it was, we benefited from an equally dodgy decision in the home game against Georgia with the penalty for the non-handball. Although that game didn't cost Georgia qualification, none of us were calling for a replay there.

Totally agree, I thought of that incident this morning.

I haven't thought of much else, terrible night's sleep, warned at work about mood. This is as bad as gets as a supporter but it won't lead to a replay. We lost our chance when we missed the gilt-edged chances in the 2nd half of 90mins last night, Henry then rubbed salt in the wounds and boy does it hurt

Scram
19/11/2009, 12:55 PM
Yes and the ridiculous Minister for Justice, Dermot Ahern, AKA Minister for Soundbites, has also called for a replay, knowing full well that this will NEVER take place, but courting popularity is what he and Fianna Fail are all about.

There must not be enough crime in Ireland to keep this fool busy?

Noelys Guitar
19/11/2009, 12:55 PM

Here is Lee Dixon again
"If you look at the Maradona handball at the 1986 World Cup that was not an instinctive movement. That's a cheating movement and you kind of look at the second movement of Thierry's hand and say that's deliberate, that's the same as Maradona, he knew exactly what he was doing. From that point of view, you'd have to say it is out of character."

Razors left peg
19/11/2009, 12:56 PM
I dont see any possibilty that FIFA will replay it. they got what they wanted with all 4 seeds going through and they will sit back and wait for the uproar to die down over next few days

But fast forward to the World Cup and we will see France walk onto the pitch behind a big yellow FIFA Fair Play banner... its enough to make u never want to watch football again

19/11/2009, 12:58 PM
Having said all I've said about missing our chances in normal time, not blaming the ref, not blaming Henry and not being full of righteous indignation about cheating, I'd definitely take a replay and I'd even sign a petition looking for one if I had the slightest inclination it might work!

jay1
19/11/2009, 1:00 PM
Outstanding Performance by the Irish. If they had played this way throughout the qualifiers we would have topped the group easily no problem.

rerun
19/11/2009, 1:04 PM
Anyone seen any shots or images showing position of officials?

I think I asked this in another thread as it was being moved, but if Duncan Ferguson can get done for assault on the pitch, can the FAI not shake a few trees and threaten to sue the FFF for fraud and deception, maybe even get an injunction against them taking part in the World Cup? Or have I been watching the LOI for too long?

19/11/2009, 1:12 PM
Anyone seen any shots or images showing position of officials?

Ref couldn't see it, Gallas was blocking linesman's view of Henry I think but the linesman should have caught Dunne being fouled and the obvious offside

markmc
19/11/2009, 1:13 PM
Trap on Radio 1 now. Calling for replay on penalty shoot out.

19/11/2009, 1:13 PM
I think I asked this in another thread as it was being moved, but if Duncan Ferguson can get done for assault on the pitch, can the FAI not shake a few trees and threaten to sue the FFF for fraud and deception, maybe even get an injunction against them taking part in the World Cup? Or have I been watching the LOI for too long?

You've been smoking the wacky tobaccy for too long more like :p

The FAI doing that would open up a whole can of worms for every football federation on this planet, not going to happen

Andyh
19/11/2009, 1:14 PM
I dont see any possibilty that FIFA will replay it. they got what they wanted with all 4 seeds going through and they will sit back and wait for the uproar to die down over next few days

But fast forward to the World Cup and we will see France walk onto the pitch behind a big yellow FIFA Fair Play banner... its enough to make u never want to watch football again

Er Slovenia qualified, a country with a population half the size of ROI? I agree ref the Dermot Aherne comments, a tad embarrassing, i think politicians should, and usually do, stay out of sport.

markmc
19/11/2009, 1:17 PM
Trap blaming it all on FIFA's love of money.

19/11/2009, 1:19 PM
Trap blaming it all on FIFA's love of money.

Says the guy who played the media and the FAI like fools back in the summer so he could get himself a new two year contract before earning it

markmc
19/11/2009, 1:27 PM
Says the guy who played the media and the FAI like fools back in the summer so he could get himself a new two year contract before earning it

And he deserves every penny it. You are a Troll.

livehead1
19/11/2009, 1:28 PM

And how did he do that O'Mighty one?

19/11/2009, 1:30 PM
And how did he do that O'Mighty one?

Talking about wanting the new contract and how he's being head hunted by other clubs once his contract expires.

Could be true but why go to the media with it?

Also many forummers pointed this out at the time, and many were of agreement that his contract should be reviewed closer to the end of the campaign. Apparently people have forgotten this in the sea of righteousness that is being Irish today.

ashamed
19/11/2009, 1:31 PM
For those of you who speak french, I think this forum reflects what the general feeling here is like at the moment, a lot of the public won't support the national squad any longer, and the vast majority focus on the admirable performance shown by the celtic tigers...

http://forum.lequipe.fr/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=685

boovidge
19/11/2009, 1:31 PM
Jebus, you're a terrible WUM.

as_i_say
19/11/2009, 1:33 PM
Hand of Frog and other select nuggets. Chuckle

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1229219/Thierry-Henrys-cheating-hand-suffers-hands-Internet-jokers--virals-special.html

19/11/2009, 1:33 PM
It is clear the linesman saw the handball as he had driect line of sight to it.
Which makes it match rigging bythe linesman.

dr_peepee
19/11/2009, 1:41 PM
First reply was deleted... Probbly cos I had a pop at someone at the end.

Plus I posted it in the Cheat thread when it wasn't Off Topic.

We're not going to get a replay. But I don't think some contrition from FIFA is too much to ask for. Something acknowledging the mistake/oversight/short comings in the current set up, and maybe even efforts to ensure no recurrences in the future..

bobloblaw
19/11/2009, 1:41 PM
Well, as i suspected all along, only Trap was doing his damnedest to prove otherwise, these lads can actually play.

Hope we can get the two Reids in the sqaud, Finnan one last hoorah and Rory Delap brought in for his throws.

19/11/2009, 1:46 PM
Jebus, you're a terrible WUM.

And you don't like when people prove you wrong and so resort to that ridiculous argument.

Not one of you has been able to go against any of my points about us cheating against Georgia, or football being a sport of cheats by the way

I've just re-read this thread and there's only a handful that emerge with any credit to be fair (myself included of course ;))

It is clear the linesman saw the handball as he had driect line of sight to it.
Which makes it match rigging bythe linesman.

Or it makes you an over-reactionary, much of a muchness really

Wolfie
19/11/2009, 1:49 PM
A lot of hysteria and melodrama on here.

Lets discuss the facts - The simple and quantifiable truth is that the Irish White jersey is bad news. Evil in fact. No good will ever arise from the White Jersey.

19/11/2009, 1:50 PM
jebus, you've make your point. Knock it on the head.

lionelhutz
19/11/2009, 1:51 PM
Well, as i suspected all along, only Trap was doing his damnedest to prove otherwise, these lads can actually play.

Hope we can get the two Reids in the sqaud, Finnan one last hoorah and Rory Delap brought in for his throws.

I think your point lost all credibility with the part in bold.

irishultra
19/11/2009, 1:55 PM
yeah he basically says the lads can actually play and then advocates a player like delap in the team. trap as much said after the game that this is the mentality wie will play with in future

Scruttox
19/11/2009, 1:57 PM
1. Anyone see the linesman raise his flag a small bit then lower it again?

2. What would have happened if Irish team walked off after goal was awarded?

3. FIFA sanctioned a rematch between Uzbekistan v Bahrain a while back after a referee blunder. He gave a free out instead of a peno. The match was replayed in full.

Noelys Guitar
19/11/2009, 2:01 PM
Some very powerful French people speaking out

Francois Bayrou, a former candidate for the French presidency: "In an ideal world, the match should be played again. I saw the match and like a lot of people I wasn't very proud, and like everyone else I asked why don't we have a video match official. It works in rugby and it works very well."

Leading French politician, Philippe De Villiers: "Raymond Domenech should express his public regrets and show a gesture of dignity towards Ireland. The moral of this match is that you can cheat as long as you don't get caught. The France team is going to be labelled for years as a team of cheats."

Ozymandias
19/11/2009, 2:01 PM
Cheating in football is an intrinsic part of the game, handballs, pushing, jersey pulling, obstruction, Ireland have scored plenty of goals where fouls have been missed in the build up it happens in football everyday.

I'm devestated that we lost, truly sick, but I'm not going to have a canary about cheating when we had so many chances to win the game without worrying about it.

but it doesn't make what happened right..it doesn't justify in any shape or form

markmc
19/11/2009, 2:02 PM
Looks like the story is getting bigger. There is precedence for this also.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/archive/germany2006/news/newsid=27212.html

19/11/2009, 2:03 PM
Have you a link for the FAI complaint?

There is no precedence for a replay. That game was a completely different scenario, as pointed out by several posters on another thread in this forum in the last hour or so.