View Full Version : List of Winners

18/11/2009, 12:20 AM
Lads doing a bit of research.

Does anyone have a list of winners of the u20 league, and the old u21 league (and the cup competition which i think was called the Dr Tony O'Neill Cup)

If you have the details about the finals, all the better

I'm also trying to get a list of woners of the old LOI B Division too

PM if you want to swap e-mails about this

18/11/2009, 2:21 AM
Actually, realised I had the details for the u21 league. Anyone care t correct this?

Dr Tony O'Neill Cup

2000/01 St Patrick's Athletic Beat Longford 1-0
2001/02 Waterford Utd beat Athlone Town 2-2 (5-4p)
2002/03 Cork City beat Bohs 2-1
2003 Cork City beat Pats 2-1
2004 UCD Beat Cork 3-2
2005 UCD beat Shels 2-1
2006 Salthill Devon beat Cork 2-1 (edited as per below)
2007 UCD beat Pats 0-0 (4-2p)

Enda McGuill Cup

2001/02 Waterford beat Shels 0-0 (4-2p)
2002/03 Longford Town Beat Mervue 4-2
2003 Shelbourne beat Pats 4-3
2004 Cork City Sligo/Leitrim league 3-0
2005 Bray Wanderers beat Pats 1-1 (4-3p)
2006 Cork City beat Kildare 1-0
2007 Derry City beat Bray 1-0

Still looking for the rest of the information

18/11/2009, 2:25 AM
Salthill beat Cork City 2-1 in 2006

pineapple stu
18/11/2009, 10:31 AM
Cork beat Bohs 1-0 last year. (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=110395)

19/11/2009, 8:31 AM
FAO - Dodge re Old B Division
From Frank Lynch's History of Athlone Town
B Division formed 64/65 season with 10 teams - 6 existing reseve sides plus Home Farm, Drogheda, Bray Wanderers & Athlone, reerve teams appear to be - Drumcondra, St Patricks, Dundalk, Shelbourne, Bohemians & Shamrock Rovers. Competed league & a subsidery competition Castrol Trophy (a one round league). 64/65 unknown
65/66 B division increased to 12 teams, Bray Wanders excluded & Tullamoe, Dalkey & Ormeau elected. 65/66 unknown
66/67 unknown
67/68 Athlone delclared winners of Castrol Ttophy haveing only lost once in 9 (appears to be 10 club division now) are runners up in FAI Intermediate Cup. Shamrock Rovers declared B Division champons though appears Athlone deserved play-off.
68/69 Athlone retain Castrol (now 12 team league) Home Farm runners up. Athlone also win league (38pts from 22 games) & St Pats Ath runners up(32 from 22). Other 10 sides - Home Farm, Dunalk, Shamrock Rovers, Belgrove, Bohemians, Tullamore, Drumconda, Dalkey Utd, Drogheda & Shelbourne.
As per History of Shamrock Rovers "The Hoops" they were league of Ireland B winers 84/85 & 86/87.
Do you collect details of past winners of other Irish Leagues ? If so can we swap notes ?

19/11/2009, 9:49 AM
Do you collect details of past winners of other Irish Leagues ? If so can we swap notes ?

Only the leagues in which St Patrick's Athletic competed. I've sent you a PM with my e-mail address

19/11/2009, 10:36 PM
B Division - 83/84 champs Athlone town reserves