View Full Version : Today is the Day
The bull ends here for the next 12 hours until kick off. Time to unite.
Make heroes of yourselves lads. Every single one of you good enough to be in that squad. Screw France, we can do it!!!
CMON IRELAND!!!!!
Razors left peg
14/11/2009, 7:46 AM
a good post for your 3000th :)
Come on Ireland
rebelmusic
14/11/2009, 8:18 AM
"when the boyhood fire was in my blood..." Cmon you boys in green! just finished nightshift and too excited to go to sleep
Brenny
14/11/2009, 8:22 AM
Jaysus, can't believe today is the day.. No sleep last night, feels like I'm getting married or something. The belly is in knots.
C'mon the lads!
Goosebumps just having the breakfast before i get the train.Been going to games since 1972 and been at all the big ones and never ever felt like this.
The whole country is up for it and cant wait to get into landsdowne early because I think we will never ever see it like its going to be tonight.
stiffler
14/11/2009, 9:18 AM
Goosebumps just having the breakfast before i get the train.Been going to games since 1972 and been at all the big ones and never ever felt like this.
The whole country is up for it and cant wait to get into landsdowne early because I think we will never ever see it like its going to be tonight.
mmmmm, should we tell him ? :p
Drumcondra 69er
14/11/2009, 9:19 AM
Believe.
14/11/2009, 9:54 AM
You can do it lads.
14/11/2009, 9:55 AM
If you go down to Croke Park today
You're sure of a big surprise.
If you go down to Croke Park today
You'd better go in disguise.
For every fan that ever there was
Will gather there for certain, because
Today's the day that France will get it's ass kicked :)
Not quite Seamus Heaney, W.B. Yeats, or Oscar Wilde but I think you get the general idea.
I will do the other verses later perhaps.
Ciaran W
14/11/2009, 9:56 AM
Come on boys we can do it ! The french are more afraid of us so lets take advantage of that !
jaykay
14/11/2009, 10:00 AM
I have a good feeling about today - same as I had the day of Ireland v Holland 2001. 1-0 to Ireland it is so!!!!
COME ON LADS - BELIEVE!
14/11/2009, 10:08 AM
I'm absolutely pumped. The photo of the team on the back of the Indo today really got me going.
Time for a loud rendition of "This is the one" - Stone Roses, pure euphoria.
Ciaran W
14/11/2009, 10:14 AM
Lads today is the ultimate couch potato day
1.Scotland v Figi in the rugby.1 o'clock
2.Greece v Ukraine in the play offs.3 o'clock
3.Russia v slovakia in the play offs.5 o'clock
4.And then theres some match i think its Ireland v France or something on at 8 o'clock
14/11/2009, 10:18 AM
For me:
1 o'clock - lunch with family
2 o'clock - go to playground
3 o'clock - go to library to get a Beast Quest book and anything to do with dinosaurs
4 o'clock - go to playground again
5 o'clock - kids dinner
5.30 - kids bath
6pm - put green jersey on
6.30pm - leave house and go to Corrib Rest
Not quite the same!
Ciaran W
14/11/2009, 10:24 AM
You sound like a very nice dad
theleprechaun
14/11/2009, 10:37 AM
We can do it!
IsMiseSean
14/11/2009, 10:40 AM
Im so excited... Just about to depart for the Big Smoke now!!!
Cmon YBIG!!
14/11/2009, 10:43 AM
Im so excited... Just about to depart for the Big Smoke now!!!
Cmon YBIG!!I have a mate from Wexford who lived in Dublin. Before big games he used to go back to Wexford just so he could drive up again for the match. He said nothing matched the excitement of coming up for the game!
Fixer82
14/11/2009, 10:43 AM
3 o'clock - go to library to get a Beast Quest book and anything to do with dinosaurs
Easy on Bill, Gilesy and Dubphy. i know they can be anoying but their hearts are in the right place...:)
Ciaran W
14/11/2009, 10:47 AM
Your mate sounds like a legend
Scram
14/11/2009, 10:48 AM
I feel sick.
I'm going to pray now.
back of the net
14/11/2009, 11:17 AM
The bull ends here for the next 12 hours until kick off. Time to unite.
Make heroes of yourselves lads. Every single one of you good enough to be in that squad. Screw France, we can do it!!!
CMON IRELAND!!!!!
excellent post mate......Tonight is OUR night lads....lets f**King do this
as the song goes...
"We all stand together
Win or lose, sink or swim
One thing is certain, we'll never give in
Side by side, hand in hand
We all stand together
"
liam88
14/11/2009, 11:17 AM
think its been about 3 years since I posted on here....used to be two or three times a day at one point....but needed to log on to say
C'MON IRELAND YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!!! :D:ball:
14/11/2009, 11:22 AM
You sound like a very nice dad
Does it not sound like.
"if you want to go out to the pub again with that ragged green shirt to watch a stupid football game, come home at all hours footless and smelling like a brewery then you had better do your bit to earn that right"
byrner01
14/11/2009, 11:24 AM
i'm all over the place already, oh god , gonna have to down a bottle of calms me thinks, COME ON IRELAND!! BELIEVE
Duffman
14/11/2009, 11:34 AM
I have a good feeling about today - same as I had the day of Ireland v Holland 2001. 1-0 to Ireland it is so!!!!
COME ON LADS - BELIEVE!
Had exactly the same gut feeling this morning! Now for Paddy Power to pay for the evenings entertainment too ;) 1-0 Big Ritchie Dunne 100/1!
lostinbrum
14/11/2009, 11:38 AM
Wedding anniversary today and wife's birthday Wednesday. Thankfully she is as eager as me to watch the game.
Crosby87
14/11/2009, 11:55 AM
This is great was up at the crack of dawn an hour ago walking the dog in the rain and saw 3 people in Ireland tops in the west village waiting stepping ito a cab!!!
Didnt know if they were coming or going but it was pretty awesome.
NYC pubs are going to be rocking with Ireland fans today.
TerryPhelan
14/11/2009, 12:08 PM
COME ON IRELAND!!! Absolutely pumped and can't believe the big day is here already. The pre-match panic set in good and proper yesterday at 5pm, had a fitful night's sleep last night. Heading into town for lunch, a scan of the papers and 'run through a few setpieces' at the bar! We can do this lads. History awaits. BELIEVE.
Torn-Ado
14/11/2009, 12:09 PM
The Pub will jampacked with frenchies taking up all the seats sipping a coffee between about 40 of them.
I really really really really hope he stuff these f*******s!.
This day has been a long time coming. C'mon Ireland, we can do this.
dynamo kerry
14/11/2009, 12:13 PM
For me:
1 o'clock - lunch with family
2 o'clock - go to playground
4 o'clock - go to playground again
5 o'clock - kids dinner
5.30 - kids bath
6pm - put green jersey on
6.30pm - leave house and go to Corrib Rest
Not quite the same!
likewise
1.30 - wedding stuff
2 pm wedding stuff
3 pm wedding stuf
5 pm lunch with wedding people
7 pm sneak out put on green jersey go to pub with £2 pints, watch match on huge screen
7.30 cry that I'm not in croker in my usual seat..
14/11/2009, 12:46 PM
Had exactly the same gut feeling this morning! Now for Paddy Power to pay for the evenings entertainment too ;) 1-0 Big Ritchie Dunne 100/1!
Me uncle had a dream that was gonna happen. 56th min to!
Ciaran W
14/11/2009, 1:46 PM
Could this day be going any slower
eaststand85
14/11/2009, 1:59 PM
If the f$cking Kiwi's can do it so can we!!!!!!!!!
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2009/1114/1224258839471.html
philkildare
14/11/2009, 2:11 PM
C'mon YBIG!!!! We can do it!!!!! Really needs the fans to play their part tonight!!!
mark12345
14/11/2009, 2:21 PM
"Goosebumps just having the breakfast before i get the train.Been going to games since 1972 and been at all the big ones and never ever felt like this.
The whole country is up for it and cant wait to get into landsdowne early because I think we will never ever see it like its going to be tonight."
Fair play to you mate and to everyone at home. Brings back a few memories of my first game at Dalymount in 1974 (beat Russia 3-0). How much I'd love that score tonight.
I'm a bag of nerves here meself in the USA. There's thousands of us away from home who are biting nails ahead of the game. Good luck to everyone at home and hope the lads can do it tonight!
mark12345
14/11/2009, 2:32 PM
To be honest lads, I have a lump in me troath reading all these posts.
It's just so great to see everyone behind the team, the way it should be all the time. I know it's only fleeting and everyone will have their respective opinions after the game (good and bad) but it is so good to see the country united behind the lads.
C'MON LADS YOU CAN DO IT!
pavillion.road
14/11/2009, 2:53 PM
As a mayo man i've experienced enough heartache in croke park down through the years but a defeat tonight would be worse than all those put together.......COME ON IRELAND!!!!
Ciaran W
14/11/2009, 3:20 PM
Does anyone know how many french fans will be there tonight ?
shaneker
14/11/2009, 3:24 PM
Off to the pub now in South Bohemia, thousand miles from home but you'll still hear me scream if we nick a winner in injury time! (or any other time, for that matter...)
Message to the lucky feckers with tickets - you have a responsibility tonight, even if we're 0-3 down at half time, sing like the world will end if you stop!
BELIEVE!
Brian Boru
14/11/2009, 3:25 PM
Nil all at worst. Richard Dunne scoring from a set piece is very possible. Setting off for Croker now. I feel apprehensive but I've no doubt we'll do it. Let's intimitate the ref and the French and roar on the boys in green.
We will do it over the 2 legs. Now for part 1 of this epic....
14/11/2009, 3:30 PM
Nil all at worst. Richard Dunne scoring from a set piece is very possible. Setting off for Croker now. I feel apprehensive but I've no doubt we'll do it. Let's intimitate the ref and the French and roar on the boys in green.
We will do it over the 2 legs. Now for part 1 of this epic....
Finishing work in an hour and heading off to croker... The missus is up for this as much as me which goes to show ya how much it means to the nation. A world cup will lift us from recession!!!!!!!!! Keep them scoreless here and we're in with a major chance! I can't wait to sing the anthem , there will be a lump in my throat as always! Come on Ireland.
think its been about 3 years since I posted on here....used to be two or three times a day at one point....but needed to log on to say
C'MON IRELAND YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!!! :D:ball:No doubt enjoying the extra curricular activities of uni. ;) Good to see you back.
Tonight the most important thing is not to concede. Do that, and we are in the driving seat. Apart from that, I'm feeling sick which hasn't happened for a long time with Ireland.
Viva Irlanda! Vamos hombres! A por ellos!
Ciaran W
14/11/2009, 4:23 PM
Im so happy we didnt get russia.The atmosphere is mental in the game against slovakia,it would be a very intimidating place to go
Torn-Ado
14/11/2009, 4:34 PM
AAARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!! !!
That is all. Im ready to go to the pub now.
Torn-Ado
14/11/2009, 4:35 PM
Im so happy we didnt get russia.The atmosphere is mental in the game against slovakia,it would be a very intimidating place to go
Slovenia. Sorry but I'm a pedantic pr!ck.
14/11/2009, 4:54 PM
Watching the second half of Russia v Slovenia and it's been fantastic, really setting the mood with both teams going for it, went out to the kitchen to put dinner on and "We're all Part of Jackies Army" was on the radio, I'm a nail biter at the best of times and they're already down to the quick, not sure I'll be able to eat now, come on you boys in Green!!!
14/11/2009, 4:58 PM
Slovenia wake up to get a late goal and almost equalise
makes me even more anxious.
Mad Moose
14/11/2009, 5:04 PM
The whole country is up for it and cant wait to get into landsdowne early because I think we will never ever see it like its going to be tonight."
No.....no.....don't......do....that. At least ya won't be on yer own at Lansdowne for I think there's another numpty elsewhere was headed there too. You'll certainly never experience anything like tonight if ya do indeed pull up at Lansdowne Road. :D