View Full Version : Chances of holding onto Stephen O Flynn
08/12/2009, 10:41 AM
would ye stop hes talks a load of bull last 3wks he has promised carew,pike+boro he would sign for them he thinks hes better than what he is.:DWell if thats the case ye juniorball types don't want him, so stop sticking your nose in where its not wanted. If its not lucrative enough for some, then I suggest they stay put at their 'big clubs with fancy clubhouses' and lap up all the kudos and limelight there is to be got from playing on badly lined, unsheltered mudbaths on Sunday mornings. Theres a section on here for ye....elsewhere.:ball:
oscar
08/12/2009, 12:04 PM
would ye stop hes talks a load of bull last 3wks he has promised carew,pike+boro he would sign for them he thinks hes better than what he is.:D
he can't sign with any club AFAIK,would be his 3rd club this season,and i spoke to him recently and he said he was enjoying playing LOI,he's a great player and a nice fella so best of luck to him
leather
08/12/2009, 1:16 PM
Well if thats the case ye juniorball types don't want him, so stop sticking your nose in where its not wanted. If its not lucrative enough for some, then I suggest they stay put at their 'big clubs with fancy clubhouses' and lap up all the kudos and limelight there is to be got from playing on badly lined, unsheltered mudbaths on Sunday mornings. Theres a section on here for ye....elsewhere.:ball:
would those be the big clubs that have helped out with facilities for your beloved club this season.? and for you info the visiting team to one of those clubs were very impressed with the STRAIGHT lines and manicured surfaces that they played on...oh ya i must visit your clubhouse to check out your all seater stand. pristine pitch with straight lines. Doh! my mistake...you aint got any...
And people wonder why us Juniorballers get ****ed with the elite footballers..
have a nice day
L37Ultra
08/12/2009, 2:06 PM
would those be the big clubs that have helped out with facilities for your beloved club this season.? and for you info the visiting team to one of those clubs were very impressed with the STRAIGHT lines and manicured surfaces that they played on...oh ya i must visit your clubhouse to check out your all seater stand. pristine pitch with straight lines. Doh! my mistake...you aint got any...
And people wonder why us Juniorballers get ****ed with the elite footballers..
have a nice day
You forgot to mention the 7 Junior clubs that Limerick FC have provided a full playing kit and training equipment this season or the fact that Pat O Sullivan has provided Sean Choill to all clubs in Limerick.
Get over it.
leather
08/12/2009, 2:20 PM
is Sean Choill free??? if it is? it would be fantastic!!!
connie
08/12/2009, 2:45 PM
Well if thats the case ye juniorball types don't want him, so stop sticking your nose in where its not wanted. If its not lucrative enough for some, then I suggest they stay put at their 'big clubs with fancy clubhouses' and lap up all the kudos and limelight there is to be got from playing on badly lined, unsheltered mudbaths on Sunday mornings. Theres a section on here for ye....elsewhere.:ball:
what a toolbox! junior clubs have helped limerick out for years your not doing limerick any favours, leather himself puts in alot of time and work into the boro pitch not this year every year and our groundsman spends more time on the pitch than he does at home.
our groundsman spends more time on the pitch than he does at home.
there you go leather:)you are not alone:panother Bull McCabe:p
tis my field
i thought this thread was supposed to be about Stephen O'Flynn
trueview6
08/12/2009, 2:59 PM
You forgot to mention the 7 Junior clubs that Limerick FC have provided a full playing kit and training equipment this season or the fact that Pat O Sullivan has provided Sean Choill to all clubs in Limerick.
Get over it.
Is seanchoill free i doubt it, your sending out the wrong information, i dont have a problem with limerick but i think your friend joe soap seems to have a problem with junior status we have'nt and never will give limerick the use of our pitch, and its ok we buy our own kits and astro.
connie
08/12/2009, 3:01 PM
there you go leather:)you are not alone:panother Bull McCabe:p
tis my field
i thought this thread was supposed to be about Stephen O'Flynn
Every club needs a bull mcCabe we have one in colm lipper
08/12/2009, 3:19 PM
what a toolbox! junior clubs have helped limerick out for years your not doing limerick any favours, leather himself puts in alot of time and work into the boro pitch not this year every year and our groundsman spends more time on the pitch than he does at home.
Pike Rovers were a great help to Limerick a few seasons ago, I'll grant you that. But they got a few good days bar receipts from it too, so it wasn't all about charity. I don't care to be honest how much time Leather puts into the Boro pitch. Thats Boro business, but dont tell me that Junior football has been a great friend to senior over the years in Limerick. I've been around it too long to have seen differently. And for what its worth, I spent over ten years badly lining a junior pitch and hanging nets and trying to collect match fees myself, so don't preach to me about that.
so what are the chances of holding onto stephen,whats the latest or has there been no change in the situation
bluewhitearmy
08/12/2009, 3:56 PM
Slagging off junior pitches was a bit stupid to be honest seen as we play in one. And i have to say well done to leather if he takes care of boros pitch because its in way better condition then Jackman.
08/12/2009, 7:49 PM
is Sean Choill free??? if it is? it would be fantastic!!!
did he say it was free? did he? i dont see it so why you implying it or asking it. Tell me something you have gotten for free of late?
There are some fantastic junior clubs in town with some great surfaces and other facilites, but neither junior nor senior have any grounds for rubbinig ppls nose in it as i dont think that there isnt any junior ground with a seat other then the dugouts up in pike. Jackman is poor but its the best that can be offered to LOI at present. although the junior ground it has a full time grounds keeper from Limerick FC who i think does a grat job considering the poor condition of the pitch when we moved in two years ago.
I think the relationship between most if not all clubs in the county and city with limerick is the best its been in years and long may it continue.
looking at the paper tonight sub on Pikes team Dave Ryan???small dave of balla fame??
08/12/2009, 9:32 PM
did he say it was free? did he? i dont see it so why you implying it or asking it. Tell me something you have gotten for free of late?
looking at the paper tonight sub on Pikes team Dave Ryan???small dave of balla fame??
He didn't say free but from the way it was worded it might sound free.
Yup its that Dave Ryan.
Monkfish
08/12/2009, 10:07 PM
so what are the chances of holding onto stephen,whats the latest or has there been no change in the situation
Has not signed for us so is as good as gone at this stage.
bluewhitearmy
09/12/2009, 12:17 AM
Turned down derrys offer.
09/12/2009, 9:35 AM
Has not signed for us so is as good as gone at this stage.
I wouldn't think so. The offer the club has made him is as good as any as he's going to get seeing as Fingal have shown no interest in him. Plus he will be the 'big fish' in the equation which might help sway his decision. I have a sneaky feeling he'll sign...but not for a while.
bluewhitearmy
09/12/2009, 4:40 PM
I wouldn't think so. The offer the club has made him is as good as any as he's going to get seeing as Fingal have shown no interest in him. Plus he will be the 'big fish' in the equation which might help sway his decision. I have a sneaky feeling he'll sign...but not for a while.
Fingal have been in contact with him.
Monkfish
09/12/2009, 9:16 PM
but not for a while.
Not ideal for the club though, Id say they would prefer to make his mind up either way as they need to be looking for possible replacments.
Of course they need to be looking either way but if he wasent staying they could offer more to potential targets
09/12/2009, 10:38 PM
Not ideal for the club though, Id say they would prefer to make his mind up either way as they need to be looking for possible replacments.
Of course they need to be looking either way but if he wasent staying they could offer more to potential targets
Ya i agree. Would be foolish for the club to wait on him for another while. Don't think Scully is silly enough hang around for one player though.
Only reason now that i could see for him not signing for Limerick is the offer of premier football this coming season. Someone else has mentioned Limerick are offering him what most other clubs are so money wouldn't be too much of an incentive to go anywhere else.
balanced view
10/12/2009, 10:08 AM
Speculitive post. Do u have proof that Derry will be working off a decent budget? "with the squad they will be putting together" again highly assumtive. Fair point on saying limericks team of last season was pretty much mid table but can you go into the future as you seem to be doing on your generalisation of Derry and imagine what type of team limerick might have??? but then your wishing him good luck.....has he signed? i dont even know wheater to believe that Kenny has signed his contract as Dundalk are sniffing around him. Has your pal duggan been in touch witht the club?
Yes I agree. I did an awful lot of assuming and prob jumped the gun in regard to what derrys situation is. I would be delighted if he stays and goin on the latest information it is still a possibility. if he does sign it could be beneficial because it will show Limericks ambition and other players could take notice and say "hey he has turned down Derry, fingal for Limerick".
I think you comment on Duggan is very childish to be fair. I have never spoke to the guy once. I was merely saying im my opinion he would be a good signing for the club. Obvioulsy it is the clubs decision whether to pursue or not.
10/12/2009, 10:26 AM
Fingal have been in contact with him. No, they haven't. I know their club secretary quite well, and unless he's lying, they have no interest in signing him.
bluewhitearmy
10/12/2009, 1:33 PM
No, they haven't. I know their club secretary quite well, and unless he's lying, they have no interest in signing him.
Why would he bother lying? You sure its your friend not lying? Not being smart just cant see why he would lie about it. And just to say i agree that Duggan would be a great signing.
10/12/2009, 8:33 PM
Yes I agree. I did an awful lot of assuming and prob jumped the gun in regard to what derrys situation is. I would be delighted if he stays and goin on the latest information it is still a possibility. if he does sign it could be beneficial because it will show Limericks ambition and other players could take notice and say "hey he has turned down Derry, fingal for Limerick".
I think you comment on Duggan is very childish to be fair. I have never spoke to the guy once. I was merely saying im my opinion he would be a good signing for the club. Obvioulsy it is the clubs decision whether to pursue or not.
fair enough BV there is a lot of touting of players going on by any means possible at the moment and maybe i was wrong to assume you were similar. Players are even ringing fans would you believe trying to get "in with" the club :)
juniorballer
11/12/2009, 10:05 AM
Why would he bother lying? You sure its your friend not lying? Not being smart just cant see why he would lie about it. Oh I dont know...maybe because he's actively looking for the best contract out there and its no harm to put it out there that a new prem club with a lot of money are sniffing around him? This crap happens all the time, players and their agents spinning yarns about who's in for them to try and up the price. I'd believe JOSOAPS mate on this one. Shur don't Fingal already have Zayed and Gary O'Neill who stephen wouldn't get a start ahead of, Robbie Doyle is coming back from injury, and they're interested in signing Glen Crowe and Declan O'Brien also...Take our big moolah while its on offer Stephen would be my advice.
LK37oldskool
11/12/2009, 12:40 PM
Just read on another thread that Derry's budget for next season will be around 4k while still being around 100k in debt.half the squad will be made up from the U21s.Cant say they'll be favourites to get out of Div1 next year.
11/12/2009, 5:02 PM
i donno lads this lad O'Flynn mustn't be any good. Dispite waxing lyrically about him some weeks ago in the star newspaper, today Pat Dolan hasnt even named him in his first division team of the year...shocking! he was replaced by Gary Sheehan....
obviously o'flynn has no value to dolan while Gary has loads :)
bluewhitearmy
11/12/2009, 5:27 PM
Oh I dont know...maybe because he's actively looking for the best contract out there and its no harm to put it out there that a new prem club with a lot of money are sniffing around him? This crap happens all the time, players and their agents spinning yarns about who's in for them to try and up the price. I'd believe JOSOAPS mate on this one. Shur don't Fingal already have Zayed and Gary O'Neill who stephen wouldn't get a start ahead of, Robbie Doyle is coming back from injury, and they're interested in signing Glen Crowe and Declan O'Brien also...Take our big moolah while its on offer Stephen would be my advice.
Because telling me a 20 year old Limerick fan that Fingal are in for him would get him a better deal how?
alidiei
11/12/2009, 5:41 PM
i donno lads this lad O'Flynn mustn't be any good. Dispite waxing lyrically about him some weeks ago in the star newspaper, today Pat Dolan hasnt even named him in his first division team of the year...shocking! he was replaced by Gary Sheehan....
its pat dolans opinion not yours so stop crying about it
Monkfish
12/12/2009, 1:16 AM
Changed his tune fairly quickly though didnt he?
How many times has he seen Steve and Gary acually play last season I wonder?
12/12/2009, 11:31 AM
lol it proves beond doubt that what i said weeks ago when he praised O'Flynn that he was in fact touting him away from Limerick.
L37Ultra
12/12/2009, 11:58 AM
lol it proves beond doubt that what i said weeks ago when he praised O'Flynn that he was in fact touting him away from Limerick.
In fairness, I doubt O' Flynn needed much touting. All any other manager in this league had to do was look at the results from the second half of last season and O Flynn name appeared as a goalscorer in the majority of our games.
Back on topic are we any closer to knowing if he is staying with Limerick?
12/12/2009, 3:22 PM
Dolan's young player of the year also failed to make either of the divisional teams. It was a sloppy article by Dolan's standards.
Monkfish
01/01/2010, 9:22 PM
Northamton Town.
Mon/Tue
Bye bye Steve.
abbeyvale
06/01/2010, 10:40 PM
Northamton Town.
Mon/Tue
Bye bye Steve.
Confirmed today, but why haven't Limerick received a few bob? or at least agree a sell on clause?
06/01/2010, 10:47 PM
Confirmed today, but why haven't Limerick received a few bob? or at least agree a sell on clause?
Because he was probably out of contract, meaning he's free to sign for who he wants.
abbeyvale
06/01/2010, 10:50 PM
Because he was probably out of contract, meaning he's free to sign for who he wants.
Understandable, but I thought he was under contract
gaidin
07/01/2010, 7:56 AM
Understandable, but I thought he was under contract
He only signed until the end of last season.
08/01/2010, 9:02 AM
http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1302254&postcount=941
Rumour on main thread that David Breen and Sheehan are coming to Limerick from Wexford.
08/01/2010, 11:34 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/n/northampton_town/8447868.stm
Northampton Town's new striker Stephen O'Flynn says he is eager to win himself a longer contract at Sixfields.
The 27-year-old Irishman was signed on a six-month contract this week, after turning down a new deal with Limerick.
"There are a lot of players around England who go through the motions," O'Flynn told BBC Radio Northampton.
"I've been given a six-month contract which is basically a six-month trial, so I'll be doing my best to score goals here and get an extension."
The former Wimbledon youngster added: "I'm confident in my own ability.
best of luck to him.
harpin
08/01/2010, 11:57 AM
Rumour on main thread that David Breen and Sheehan are coming to Limerick from Wexford.
Heard Sheehan decided to stay with Wexford...reliable source
Monkfish
08/01/2010, 11:09 PM
That rumour been going round for weeks im afraid. Wish it were true but cant see it.
L37Ultra
21/01/2010, 1:52 AM
Stevo makes Northampton debut
http://www.ntfc.co.uk/page/Gallery/0,,10425~1908151,00.html
He came on in the 81st minute against Macclesfield
Monkfish
21/01/2010, 8:40 AM
Cheap maroon gear, barely a thousand in the ground, a hundred away fans..................you sure he didnt just go back to Galway? :)
the only 1
26/01/2010, 7:34 PM
Cheap maroon gear, barely a thousand in the ground, a hundred away fans..................you sure he didnt just go back to Galway? :)
wouldnt we love that att,:D
Monkfish
26/01/2010, 11:51 PM
wouldnt we love that att,:D
Only got it once last year.....and it was ****. To be fair Northampton got over 4000 at their last home game. Not bad for a team in the bottom half of their league.
What I wouldnt give to be in a town of loyal supporters rather than a shower of gloryholes following the top 4 English clubs.
27/01/2010, 12:18 PM
What I wouldnt give to be in a town of loyal supporters rather than a shower of gloryholes following the top 4 English clubs.
You'd need to move to a place like Northampton for that to happen. Don't know that there is any town in Ireland where that is the case.
Monkfish
27/01/2010, 3:43 PM
You'd need to move to a place like Northampton for that to happen. Don't know that there is any town in Ireland where that is the case.
Suppose we could always blame the orangemen for hijacking the word "Loyal" and making it unfashionable in these parts. :)
BigfeetBigsocks
28/01/2010, 2:28 PM
Why is this thread still open as the initial question has been answered What are the Chances of holding onto Stephen O'Flynn... Answer None he is gone... thread should be closed then.
LFC-Zulu
28/01/2010, 3:26 PM
Why is this thread still open as the initial question has been answered What are the Chances of holding onto Stephen O'Flynn... Answer None he is gone... thread should be closed then.
Jeez, someone tell the Grinch that christmas is over.. :rolleyes: