View Full Version : Anyone got any footage of the 77 or 81 France games to share?

Drumcondra 69er
13/11/2009, 10:13 AM
Been scouring the internet and not found anything other then audio commentary on RTE, has anyone any links to TV footage, it must be somewhere?

Noelys Guitar
13/11/2009, 1:19 PM
I would love to see footage of both those games. 1977 game can remember Giles taking a quick free kick as the French assembled their wall. He slid the ball along the ground through the French players to the waiting Liam Brady. Brady slid the ball under their keeper. Crowd went ballistic.

Metrostars
13/11/2009, 1:38 PM
I have them on a DVD, let me see if I can try and upload them today.

13/11/2009, 1:42 PM
I would love to see footage of both those games. 1977 game can remember Giles taking a quick free kick as the French assembled their wall. He slid the ball along the ground through the French players to the waiting Liam Brady. Brady slid the ball under their keeper. Crowd went ballistic.

Thought Brady brought it through himself. He did slide it under the keeper though.

Fabulous game and great win. A repeat of that would do nicely although a repeat of the 3-2 from 81 wouldn't be too bad.

Best of all would be a repeat of both qualifiers from WC74 - 2-1 in Dublin and 1-1 in Paris.

Metrostars
13/11/2009, 1:50 PM
Thought Brady brought it through himself. He did slide it under the keeper though.

Fabulous game and great win. A repeat of that would do nicely although a repeat of the 3-2 from 81 wouldn't be too bad.

Best of all would be a repeat of both qualifiers from WC74 - 2-1 in Dublin and 1-1 in Paris.

Yes, France were trying to clear the ball, it came to Brady, he tried to go straight through 2 players and somehow it bounced off one of them and suddenly he was one on one with the keeper. He cooly slotted it home.

I've found the video and will upload both 77 and 81 shortly.

Metrostars
13/11/2009, 2:06 PM
1977:

qw9fWfZj8Ac

13/11/2009, 2:24 PM
:...?

13/11/2009, 2:29 PM
Ray Treacy...'He threw a shape'.

Metrostars
13/11/2009, 2:31 PM
1981:
-qplHEB5I2I

Uncle_Joe
13/11/2009, 2:38 PM
Jaysus! this is getting exciting!

Drumcondra 69er
13/11/2009, 2:43 PM
Yes, France were trying to clear the ball, it came to Brady, he tried to go straight through 2 players and somehow it bounced off one of them and suddenly he was one on one with the keeper. He cooly slotted it home.

I've found the video and will upload both 77 and 81 shortly.

Legend! If there was a thumbs up smiley it'd be here! :D

Junior
13/11/2009, 3:22 PM
Cheers for them Metrostars.

Gets you buzzing alright.

When did Hughton make his debut was he really playing for us in '81? I never would have guessed that.

Noelys Guitar
13/11/2009, 3:27 PM
Great stuff Metrostars. Did you see the French diver just after McDonagh saved from Platini! Nothings changed. Two great matches. Standing at the back on the North terrace and ending up near the front everytime we scored.

Noelys Guitar
13/11/2009, 3:30 PM
Cheers for them Metrostars.

Gets you buzzing alright.

When did Hughton make his debut was he really playing for us in '81? I never would have guessed that.

Hughton made his debut in 1979 against the US at Dalymount. Ronnie Whelan had just come into the side around then. He almost scored in the 81 game with a shot from way out that just dipped over the bar.

Drumcondra 69er
13/11/2009, 3:51 PM
Hughton made his debut in 1979 against the US at Dalymount. Ronnie Whelan had just come into the side around then. He almost scored in the 81 game with a shot from way out that just dipped over the bar.

That brings it back. First game I was ever at was Hughton's debut, was 9 at the time, remember sitting on my Da's shoulders under the big King Crisps ad at the back of the Connaught St terrace in Dalyer, won 3-2, loved it!

13/11/2009, 3:56 PM
how good was Ronnie Whelan in retrospect? I remember as a chisler that i just loved watching him play, lovely passer, cool head, great shinning ability... but he almost never comes up in discussions of top Irish players.

Why is that?

theworm2345
13/11/2009, 3:58 PM
Extended Highlights of both matches

IRL FRA '77 and '81
http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=115ed83377adbab54c17ca8801618ef7c5966381 43487efab8eada0a1ae8665a - MediaFire Folder

ShareBee: http://sharebee.com/ea01051f - Part 1 - http://sharebee.com/c66f50c5 - Part 2 - http://sharebee.com/c8b2aa99 - Part 3 - http://sharebee.com/aca304f6 - Part 4 - http://sharebee.com/17eeb060 - Part 5

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=B2VFGHM0 - MegaUpload

http://www.megavideo.com/?d=B2VFGHM0 - MegaVideo (watch in your browser)

13/11/2009, 3:58 PM
Lads where are the videos?

amaccann
13/11/2009, 4:18 PM
God, we had such a great team back then, it's sad to think many "fans" believe the first great Irish team was Jack Charltons; we came so close back then it was terrible so many fantastic players never went to a tournament

13/11/2009, 6:01 PM
Wow, that was great stuff. 77 was first Irish game I watched on telly, 81 was first game I went to live (unless the Argentina / Maradona cameo game was before that). Only Holland in 01 and Spain 3-3 (83?) come close, and that includes the 90WC qualifiers.

13/11/2009, 8:12 PM
Hard to believe the awful state of the pitch for that level of competition, especially the '77 game.