View Full Version : Paris Rendezvous
Mad Moose
13/11/2009, 10:11 AM
Just a quick question on meet ups in Paris. Is there anything planned at all. Jst thinking how great it would be having atthe very least 10,000 Irish on the Champs Elysee (sp) or round the Eiffel Tower for a sing song. Its going to be a magical week. I'm there from Monday to Friday so if there are any festivities plans post them here.
Its as important to make an impression in the build up to the game as much as in the game itself. I know so much depends on the result on Saturday night.
13/11/2009, 10:25 AM
Just a quick question on meet ups in Paris. Is there anything planned at all. Jst thinking how great it would be having atthe very least 10,000 Irish on the Champs Elysee (sp) or round the Eiffel Tower for a sing song. Its going to be a magical week. I'm there from Monday to Friday so if there are any festivities plans post them here.
Its as important to make an impression in the build up to the game as much as in the game itself. I know so much depends on the result on Saturday night.
i think there is a meet up planned at the eiffel tower about 2pm wed. personally i think thats a waste and it should be near a load of pubs that we can all congretate at
13/11/2009, 10:31 AM
I think we should find out where ORA is going and all go there and act like "tools" and sing and being generally jovial and Irish.
John Im with you along boulevard do glichy was great craic the last time.
Even when the eejit got on the bus, it was stupid but was funny for a few seconds till he wouldn't get down.
Mad Moose
13/11/2009, 10:33 AM
i think there is a meet up planned at the eiffel tower about 2pm wed. personally i think thats a waste and it should be near a load of pubs that we can all congretate at
All the more reason to bring our own beer then. I never do that normally but I may well have a few beers packed in the Mala. :D
The place needs to be hopping and I can envisage aerial shots of thousands of Irish fans making the news. Again alot depends on Saturda night.
Still haven't gotten a ticket so arriving without one. Really do not want to pay the touts over the odds on this.
13/11/2009, 10:37 AM
Still haven't gotten a ticket so arriving without one. Really do not want to pay the touts over the odds on this.
there are two tickets going on the away excahnge at the moment
13/11/2009, 11:00 AM
Under the eiffel tower that is where I will be with a bag of cans like a green tramp.
Mad Moose
13/11/2009, 11:01 AM
Under the eiffel tower that is where I will be with a bag of cans like a green tramp.
Good lad Ronnie. See ya there man. I am now very vry excited about this.
francesco_1
13/11/2009, 11:30 AM
A roof over your head and a few beers cant go wrong lol
Jicked
13/11/2009, 11:53 AM
Irish bars on Monday/Tues night, then under the Eiffel Tower with a load of cheap and great wine from about midday on the Wednesday.
eaststand85
13/11/2009, 2:54 PM
Probably pop down to Eiffel Tower for a while but looks more like a day for a nice warm bar to me!
http://www.metcheck.com/V40/UK/FREE/europe_forecast_7days.asp?locationID=1798
magnumpi
13/11/2009, 5:16 PM
yeah lads, the whole idea of meeting under the Eiffel Tower wasa for cheap drinks! have a good few cheap scoops there before moving onto o'sullivans which is offering €5 pints of some lager or other, which is reasonable for paris.
(head up to Trocadero just up from tower and pay €10 for a pint.)
Place de Clichy will be packed wednesday afternoon, get yourself there. will be plenty of singing/banter without "acting like tools" haha. ORA can go have his fois gras and get his portrait painted somewhere.
philkildare
13/11/2009, 5:29 PM
I there any issue with drinkin cans at the Eiffel tower..?? I mean are the local "Le Garda" cool with this?
13/11/2009, 5:46 PM
WOuld that be the gendarme?
They werent very friendy to me the last time when i asked them where they got their hats....
philkildare
13/11/2009, 5:48 PM
Well you were ****in on his shoes at the time!;)
DannyInvincible
13/11/2009, 9:04 PM
yeah lads, the whole idea of meeting under the Eiffel Tower wasa for cheap drinks! have a good few cheap scoops there before moving onto o'sullivans which is offering €5 pints of some lager or other, which is reasonable for paris.
Which O'Sullivan's is that? There seem to be seven of them in the city centre. :/
13/11/2009, 9:26 PM
near the metro stop place do glichy just along boulevard de glichy, on the light blue line..
Btw for anyone looking for cheap grub, there is an auchan on the turn of boulevard de glichy that does grand food but allows you to eat as much as you like in terms of potatoes/veg and its only around 5/6 euro.
13/11/2009, 9:57 PM
do they allow unlimited steak?
Greenforever
13/11/2009, 10:07 PM
do they allow unlimited steak?
What about all the beer you can drink for 6 euro:eek:
Lisbon 95 we found a student bar night before match 7 quid and all you could drink, what a night:D
13/11/2009, 10:10 PM
hehe they obviously didnt expect all of ye in for the night ;) rumour has it they posted a horrendous loss that week!
But anyway cmon ireland, cmon every last person going tomorrow. ROAR, SING, SCREAM YOUR hearts out for the lads... they need us as much as we need them. We can ****ing do this. CMON IRELAND.
13/11/2009, 10:14 PM
What about all the beer you can drink for 6 euro:eek:
Lisbon 95 we found a student bar night before match 7 quid and all you could drink, what a night
it must have been refreshing to go back to the 70s that night greenforever was it....when you were last in a student bar i mean ;)
Its the main meat that you pay for the rest is "free" so to speak, i think that includes 1 beer, but im pretty sure its not unlimited drink or at least if it was they changed it for next week :D
13/11/2009, 10:18 PM
enough jibber jabber I must sleep! see you all tomorrow I will be in dublin by 11am...
Mad Moose
15/11/2009, 3:07 PM
See youse all under the Eiffel Tower for breakfast at 12 on Wednesday morning :D
Mr.Devine
15/11/2009, 10:13 PM
The hangover from yesterdays post match drinks is starting to subside and now I cant wait for Wednesday and Paris. See ye at the Eiffel Tour good and early for wine and songs. I believe, after what I saw last night, we can score and qualify in Paris. Btw the support was fantastic last night!
16/11/2009, 10:22 AM
I think we should find out where ORA is going and all go there and act like "tools" and sing and being generally jovial and Irish.Don't worry Paul, I can't make it on Weds, can't get the time off work.
Feel free to behave like a tool, wherever you like.
I'll see you next campaign, or with a bit of luck in South Africa. Actually, I probably won't see you because I'll be in the local place down the round whilst you dance around in your leprechaun costume in Paddy O'Whackery's genuine Oirish Beer Emporium ;)
16/11/2009, 10:32 AM
I think in South Africa i wouldn't be too keen on the local places ;)
Dont worry ORA, we will be thinking of you in paris, and singing for you too :)