View Full Version : Chris Turner signs for Rovers
12/11/2009, 12:06 PM
if you are incapable or unwilling to explain why signing Turner is the best thing since a fried white slice with an egg on top then you ought not to have replied to my post.
BooBoy, if you feel it has to be explained why signing Chris Turner is the best move Rovers have made in yonks, then it's not worth explaining it to you.
redarmyfaction
12/11/2009, 12:23 PM
if you are incapable or unwilling to explain why signing Turner is the best thing since a fried white slice with an egg on top then you ought not to have replied to my post.
BooBoy, if you feel it has to be explained why signing Chris Turner is the best move Rovers have made in yonks, then it's not worth explaining it to you.
I am not boo boy but i must be a little slow on the uptake. Indulge me and all the other covered stand prawn eatin sunshine merchants with a rationale for your assertions. do it well you may get me to agree with you.
redarmyfaction
12/11/2009, 12:29 PM
I am not boo boy but i must be a little slow on the uptake. Indulge me and all the other covered stand prawn eatin sunshine merchants with a rationale for your assertions. do it well you may get me to agree with you.
Boo_Boy
12/11/2009, 12:32 PM
Dun choo bring me into this, boss. I've said nothin, like.
redarmyfaction
12/11/2009, 12:35 PM
I think as fans, we should be allowed to get as excited as we want on a forum when a player is signed. This is a forum, it should be rife with speculation, opinion, counter opinion and gossip.
Everyone on here knows that whatever is said on this forum must be taken with a cup full of salt until it is confirmed from a reliable source.
People are getting excited; but what about it! What is said on foot.ie will have little or no effect on how Sligo Rovers or any other club is run, unless a certain group of fans use the forum to mobelise people on a particular issue.
If you cant get "giggy" when reaching a FAI cup final, then what's the point?
I agree what i meant to say is we ought not to go mad signing, like a traveller with a bale of birth certs.
redarmyfaction
12/11/2009, 12:42 PM
red bellied
12/11/2009, 12:46 PM
Turner is a decent player and will command a decent wage. Two year contracts are madness though, obviously any of the contracted Rovers players at the moment will be looking for the same. If results arent going well by August 2010 the wolves will be at the door again.
Some of the deadwood need to go R.Turner, Camano, Ventre, Ryan, Butler(still not recovered from injury and not worth the risk) plus Cash. Cretaro will probably stay, mighnt get what he thinks he is worth from the Dublin clubs. Question mark over Boco, he would get more money at lower league sides in England too good of a right back for this league. A major loss would be Peers, he holds the middle of defence together, anyone remember the comedy partnership of Keane and Ventre earlier in the season?
Duggie
12/11/2009, 12:52 PM
where is the money coming from, i would imagine that turner would have been in demand and would be getting good money. the priority should be to keep raf and pay him what hes worth. im hearing about all these other possible signings aswell. have the club caught a tooth fairy?
Boo_Boy
12/11/2009, 1:07 PM
It's the end of the season so players will be released freeing up the wage budget?
Also got cup final money.
Some of the deadwood need to go R.Turner, Camano, Ventre, Ryan, Butler(still not recovered from injury and not worth the risk) plus Cash. Cretaro will probably stay, mighnt get what he thinks he is worth from the Dublin clubs. Question mark over Boco, he would get more money at lower league sides in England too good of a right back for this league. A major loss would be Peers, he holds the middle of defence together, anyone remember the comedy partnership of Keane and Ventre earlier in the season?
Rob Turner should be let go, Ryan, Camano and Cash also.
Must disagree with you about Ventre. He has a role to play if only as a utility player when others are out injured imo.
Take your point regarding the CB pairing of Keane and Ventre earlier in the season. A nightmare that is easily forgotten now we have reached safety and a cup final, but an absolute nightmare nonetheless.
CarrickFan
12/11/2009, 1:49 PM
Turner is a decent player and will command a decent wage. Two year contracts are madness though, obviously any of the contracted Rovers players at the moment will be looking for the same. If results arent going well by August 2010 the wolves will be at the door again.
Red Bellied you sir are a brave man!!..do you not realise it is a crime(i believe punishable by death) to come on here and express any kind of negative opinion on Lord Daniel Ventre...its the witness relocation programme for you my friend:):):)
Firstly can I say I find that there is a superfluity of schoolboy sniping on here when someone challenges the consensus of the common mob and that it does this forum no credit.
I would like to clarify a couple of things at know point did I express unhappiness at Chris Turner re-signing I instead sought to question the wisdom of offering a 2 year contract to a (any) player at this point in the year (with the LOI in the state that it is) before we know where we stand as regards manager, budget, and retained players for next year.
We don't know but I'm sure the Management Committee does.:rolleyes:
I also wish to point out that signing a good player is not necessarily the same thing as the good signing of a player, if both are true in this case only time can tell. Turner is no doubt a fine player but apparently he also put in some remarkable performances in venues of late night resort when last here.
God I really have to go away for a week or so and try and work that one out.:confused:
The most important thing is not to repeat the mistakes of Drogs, Shels, Bohs, Cork, and Derry, people are getting too giddy on the back of reaching the FAI final and not having to play off to stay up.
The current management committee has ensured that we have finished this season in a very healthy state both on and off the field and we are comfortably within all the licensing conditions so I have total confidence in them not repeating the mistakes of Drogs, Shels, Bohs, Cork, and Derry.
Arsne Wenger may have the prettiest wife but she has been too often rogered since she took off the the sensible knickers that was Keown, Adams et al.
I don't think Arsene is even married and that must be the first time Tony Adams has been accused of being sensible.;)
Finally with regars to your accusation that there is a superfluity of schoolboy sniping on here all I can say is ..............................
.............Na Na Na NaNa
12/11/2009, 2:49 PM
Firstly, apologies, BooBoy, for dragging you into this but someone has been messing with the keyboard on the computer in my Nursing Home. Now, Redarmyfaction, my prawn munching amigo, let me explain why the signing of Chris Turner is so significant.
1. He is, with Deegan at Bohs, the best central midfielder currently playing in the league.
2. Whilst our current midfield lacks nothing in passion (one of them misses out the cup final because of it), there are no goals coming from that sector. Turner scored twelve goals for Dundalk this season.
3. He also brings an imagination to the sector which has been lacking and which will bring out the best in Morrison, Doyle and Raf (if he stays) What this will do to Blinkhorn with the resultant rate and quality of crosses can only be imagined.
4. This is stating the obvious but if Chris Turner is playing with Sligo Rovers, then he is not playing against them. Evidence for that was when we led Dundalk 3 - 1 and ended up losing 3 - 4 thanks, almost entirely, to the efforts of Chris Turner.
5. His arrival at the club is a signal of intent by Rovers. It may well be (along with a proper wage) the catalyst for keeping Raf at the club and will certainly help in bringing in some of the Derry players.
As to paying for him, I have the utmost faith in the current management committee and, in particular, Vincent Nally and there are quite clearly players who will be let go and there's no need to name names on that score.
On the negative side, there is something of the night about Chris Turner but then, I never saw a tactics board in a night club nor a DJ on the pitch so, as long as performances match the ability - and that is Paul Cook's job - we should not interfere in anybody's personal pursuits (except possibly to envy them).
My thoughts are that this signing is as significant as it is unexpected and I can begin to believe that we may well be challenging for league title next season.
Mind you, I'm still very worried about our chances in the cup final. Hope to see you there and you are welcome to share my hang sandwiches and red lemonade.
12/11/2009, 2:50 PM
Firstly, apologies, BooBoy, for dragging you into this but someone has been messing with the keyboard on the computer in my Nursing Home. Now, Redarmyfaction, my prawn munching amigo, let me explain why the signing of Chris Turner is so significant.
1. He is, with Deegan at Bohs, the best central midfielder currently playing in the league.
2. Whilst our current midfield lacks nothing in passion (one of them misses out the cup final because of it), there are no goals coming from that sector. Turner scored twelve goals for Dundalk this season.
3. He also brings an imagination to the sector which has been lacking and which will bring out the best in Morrison, Doyle and Raf (if he stays) What this will do to Blinkhorn with the resultant rate and quality of crosses can only be imagined.
4. This is stating the obvious but if Chris Turner is playing with Sligo Rovers, then he is not playing against them. Evidence for that was when we led Dundalk 3 - 1 and ended up losing 3 - 4 thanks, almost entirely, to the efforts of Chris Turner.
5. His arrival at the club is a signal of intent by Rovers. It may well be (along with a proper wage) the catalyst for keeping Raf at the club and will certainly help in bringing in some of the Derry players.
As to paying for him, I have the utmost faith in the current management committee and, in particular, Vincent Nally and there are quite clearly players who will be let go and there's no need to name names on that score.
On the negative side, there is something of the night about Chris Turner but then, I never saw a tactics board in a night club nor a DJ on the pitch so, as long as performances match the ability - and that is Paul Cook's job - we should not interfere in anybody's personal pursuits (except possibly to envy them).
My thoughts are that this signing is as significant as it is unexpected and I can begin to believe that we may well be challenging for league title next season.
Mind you, I'm still very worried about our chances in the cup final. Hope to see you there and you are welcome to share my hang sandwiches and red lemonade.
never thought I'd say this, but avvenalaff, great post! :o
dublinred
12/11/2009, 3:33 PM
Have to agree Turner is a great signing not too sure about Keane I think he looks good alongside Peers who does most of the work , big Clive is availible from Derry at the moment worth taking a look.
redarmyfaction
12/11/2009, 3:37 PM
Some fair points thanks for taking time to list them my chuckleconsumedcompatriot. Thanks too for your kind offer but i shall be nibbling on fresh ciabatta from fallon & byrne filled with my fav crustachen a little cress washed down with a glass of chablis in the covered section, i said the covered section.
12/11/2009, 3:38 PM
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/3418/Turner-lashes-out-at-Oriel.5820602.jp
CHRIS Turner has hit out at the powers that be at Oriel Park following his shock departure to Sligo Rovers.
The influential midfielder became the latest figure to leave Dundalk this week – following Sean Connor, Mickey Collins and Paul McAreavey out the exit door – after yesterday signing a two-year deal with the club he played for between 2005 and 2007.
ADVERTISEMENT
Turner is upset at the prospect of uprooting to the west – his girlfriend is expecting their first child in December – but in an exclusive interview with The Dundalk Democrat he claims that he was left with no choice after being left in limbo by the club's board over a contract extension.
"I just couldn't wait about any longer for Dundalk to offer me a deal", he explained. "For the last couple of months we have been very close to agreeing a new deal and last week I was ready to sign.
"Even when Sean left on Saturday I told the club I was still very keen to stay. However on Monday night the board told me that they would have to wait for a new manager to come in to see if they could give me the contract. I just can't wait until then.
"I was very settled here. My girlfriend is expecting a baby in December and she loved living here. We are very disappointed we have to leave Dundalk. I know some people in Sligo from my time there before but she will have to make new friends and it will take us time to settle in which is not ideal with a new baby on the way.
"If I was a single man I would probably have waited around for a new manager to come in but with the new arrival due in December I need some security."
The change in stance by the club angered Turner, especially when news emerged yesterday that goalkeeper Peter Cherrie had signed a one-year contract.
"I was under the impression that everybody would have to wait until a new man came in, but I seen yesterday that Peter Cherrie was signed up. I can't understand that and it's a bit disappointing", he said.
Turner admitted that he was swayed to Sligo because of his relationship with Bit O'Red boss Paul Cook. The duo worked with each other for a short period in 2007 and Turner was impressed with the Scouser's ambitions for next season.
"When I knew I was leaving Dundalk it was a toss up between Shamrock Rovers and Sligo Rovers. The two managers I love working under are Paul Cook and Sean Connor so that was the reason I picked Sligo", he said.
"I've worked under Paul before and I think he can improve my game. He told me his plans for next season and if we can get the players he wants in then we have the potential to make the top four. They also have the FAI Cup final coming up so European football could be on the way next season and that was a big incentive as well".
Turner leaves Dundalk with happy memories of his season long stay. The 22-year-old made 30 starts, finishing the season as top scorer with 12 goals and he was selected in the PFAI Team of the Year. His fondest memory of playing in a Dundalk shirt, ironically, came against the club he is about to join.
"I really enjoyed myself up here. There were some great nights. The one that sticks out was the game in Sligo were we came back from 3-1 down to win 4-3. That was a brilliant game.
"We could have went a long way together. There was real quality in that squad and with a full pre-season behind us and a couple of new additions we could have really pushed on next year. It's a real pity but that's the way some people want to run the club."
Turner also questioned the club's decision to part company with Connor, despite the Belfast man taking Dundalk to a 5th placed finish in their first season back in the Premier Division.
"I think Sean knew it was going to happen for a while", he said. "He wanted his budget for next season sorted out a few months ago so he could plan ahead. When the club didn't do that I think he knew his time was coming up. Sean is the type of character who you either love or hate. Some people didn't get him and I think they have been trying to get him out since he came to the club but he did a great job and his record speaks for itself."
And Turner - more than anybody else - will be keeping a close eye on what his former manager does next after revealing that he has an amazing stipulation in his contract which could see him re-united with Connor in the future.
"I've signed a two year deal with Sligo but there's a clause in there that says I can leave if Sean joins a League of Ireland club. I love working with him."
RoversInn
12/11/2009, 3:41 PM
Not only a brilliant midfielder but a great penalty taker aswell :D
12/11/2009, 3:46 PM
Some fair points thanks for taking time ve list them my chuckleconsumedcompatriot. Thanks too for your kind offer but i shall be nibbling on fresh ciabatta from fallon & byrne filled with my fav crustachen a little cress washed down with a glass of chablis
I knew they should never have knocked the shed
redobit
12/11/2009, 4:00 PM
I think credit must be given to Cookie on this one, by the sounds of it he has sold both himself and the club in a very good light, which is great to hear.
CarrickFan
12/11/2009, 4:12 PM
Have to agree Turner is a great signing not too sure about Keane I think he looks good alongside Peers who does most of the work , big Clive is availible from Derry at the moment worth taking a look.
I think Delaney is brutsl to be honest...
Doesnt sound like Chris was that bothered about joining us!!!..Presume the Connor's clause is a joke?
12/11/2009, 5:50 PM
"I've signed a two year deal with Sligo but there's a clause in there that says I can leave if Sean joins a League of Ireland club. I love working with him."I hope there's a clause that if he leaves before the new season that we get all the wages paid to him refunded...
That'd wanna be a joke, sounds daft.
Boo_Boy
12/11/2009, 6:26 PM
I hope there's a clause that if he leaves before the new season that we get all the wages paid to him refunded...
That'd wanna be a joke, sounds daft.
And slightly gay.
Well Red
12/11/2009, 7:46 PM
No question about Turners ability and I think Cook will see to it that Chris reduces greatly the number of cards he picks up, a bit like O Grady in this respect.
Inside Man
12/11/2009, 8:25 PM
The most important thing is not to repeat the mistakes of Drogs, Shels, Bohs, Cork, and Derry, people are getting too giddy on the back of reaching the FAI final and not having to play off to stay up.
Keeping ourselves out of the red is the most important thing.
I'd be wary we will make the same mistake most other clubs have, flushing it away basically.
rovers100%
12/11/2009, 8:26 PM
great to see ya back inside man and full of hope as usual !!!! how do ya think we will fair out next sunday ??
Inside Man
12/11/2009, 8:29 PM
I'm not confident to be honest. Have a few quid riding on Fingal since the semi-final draw was made. But i hope to god we can do it.
rovers100%
12/11/2009, 8:32 PM
i think a lot of people think we have it won already simply cos fingal in div 1. if they win the play off, confidence in their camp will be sky high. as dermot keely said today player for player they are best in 1st div and some of their players would walk on to our team. if will bee tough but our flair should win out
Well Red
12/11/2009, 8:38 PM
Just had a call from a Dundalk fan who is a friend of mine and I cannot put in writing here the language he used about Sligo taking Turner away, he said Chris was a big hero up there. Also said many Dundalk fans are furious that he was let go but glad he did not go to a Dublin club.
rovers100%
12/11/2009, 8:44 PM
great signing. i criticised cook in transfer window for not signing a central midfielder and now he has gone and signed one of the very best, i for one never thought that he would come back so it is some coup for rovers. hopefully its not our only big signing
roversman
12/11/2009, 8:49 PM
Do you all realise we got a very big match coming up and we should not be on here saying this player or that player should be let go just yet
These are the same players that will gives us a good day out in Dublin
so can we keep this talk till after the final
rovers100%
12/11/2009, 8:51 PM
who ya on about ???:confused:
RoversInn
12/11/2009, 9:27 PM
Players like Richie Ryan and Cash will see the final as a chance to set down a marker on Turner, Showing them that there not giving up there places without a fight.
srfc1928
12/11/2009, 9:52 PM
great post , Avenalaf
12/11/2009, 10:17 PM
great post , Avenalaf
Jesus, lads, what are ye doing to me? My reputation will be in shreds.
Boo_Boy
12/11/2009, 11:34 PM
Jesus, lads, what are ye doing to me? My reputation will be in shreds.
Auditions for the new forum joker start tomorrow, too late!
CF1989
13/11/2009, 12:41 AM
"I've signed a two year deal with Sligo but there's a clause in there that says I can leave if Sean joins a League of Ireland club. I love working with him."
if thats true then he can F off
Heard a good one last night in Dundalk from the brother of a Pats player!!! That Sean Connor was gonna be going back to Sligo!!! Laughed my head off and dont believe it,but just thought i would give you lot a laugh!!!
if thats true then he can F off
I'd say he's taking the p1ss there.
srfc1928
13/11/2009, 11:51 AM
I'd say he's taking the p1ss there.
Even if he isn't taking the p1ss, I wouldnt be too bothered by it
What decent LOI club is going to employ Connor for the forceeable future, hes a bigger joke than Roddy at this stage.
Hes been with us, bohs and Dundalk. Shams would never touch him, who's left that can offer connor a half decent budget, which is what he needs to operate.
Brian Boru
13/11/2009, 12:20 PM
Players like Richie Ryan and Cash will see the final as a chance to set down a marker on Turner, Showing them that there not giving up there places without a fight.
Very good point. They'll up their performance as a result. We'll need to perform to our best to beat Fingal.
I'm sure Ryan will play out of his skin alright.
showgies
13/11/2009, 1:45 PM
I dont see why anyone has anyhting against Ryan, he's one of our most gifted players, why are people picking him out and not the likes of Morrison?
This issue has been trashed out in a previous thread......lets just say there are those who appreciate him and those who don't.