View Full Version : Sing The Anthems, Sing them LOUD!!

Scram
10/11/2009, 12:51 PM
Let’s claim the French National Anthem like we did in Paris…make it our own, if you know what I mean! Would be great if the Irish players sang along too. Having said that, it would be great if the Irish players sang OUR anthem!

French:

http://video.google.com/videosearch?hl=en&resnum=0&q=french+national+anthem+phonetically&um=1&ie=UTF-8&ei=oWv5Sq31NMq64QbH5Nm0Cw&sa=X&oi=video_result_group&ct=title&resnum=4&ved=0CBQQqwQwAw#

Does anyone have access to one or both anthems written phonetically?

EastTerracer
10/11/2009, 1:24 PM
Let’s claim the French National Anthem like we did in Paris…make it our own, if you know what I mean! Would be great if the Irish players sang along too. Having said that, it would be great if the Irish players sang OUR anthem!

French:

http://video.google.com/videosearch?hl=en&resnum=0&q=french+national+anthem+phonetically&um=1&ie=UTF-8&ei=oWv5Sq31NMq64QbH5Nm0Cw&sa=X&oi=video_result_group&ct=title&resnum=4&ved=0CBQQqwQwAw#

To be fair, most of the players do make an effort to sing the anthem. Kilbane has learnt it in Irish and belts it out. There are a few who don't but I think that's probably more down to the language barrier - its not an easy language if you're brought up in Birmingham or Glasgow.

Junior
10/11/2009, 1:47 PM
Two different phonetic versions that I have.....

Sheena feena fall
Ataw fway yowal egg erin
Bween dar shlew
har tin do rawnig cuinn
Vay void veith sayor
Shan tear aaw-er sinsear fasta
Nee aahgfar fwayin tearawn naw fwayin trawl
Anocht a hayim sa vearna vaoil
Le geawn ar gaeil chun bais new sail
Le gunny screach fway lawvach na bpill air.........
Seo live connaig OWRAWN na Viann

Shin-na fee-in-na fall
A-taw fwee yal eg Erin
Bween daur slew
Harr teen du rawnig cooin
Fwaw vode veh sair
Shann-tier awr shinshir fawsta
Nee awg-fur fween teer-awn naw fween trawl
A nukt a hay-un sa varna vwail
Lay g'yan air gwale cunn bawsh no sale
Le gunna schrake, fay law vock na bill air
Shuh liv con-ig arawn naveen

joema
10/11/2009, 1:48 PM

French:

NO!

When we sang the French anthem in Paris, that was a one-off.

It should not be done again. It has to be spontaneous. Diff circumstances for an away match, as well.

Lets just make as much noise for our own lads as possible. :ball:

10/11/2009, 1:59 PM
I learnt the French anthem at school. Still know the words :o It's my party piece.

Could never understand why the English born players never learnt our anthem in English and they could have sung along then. Too much to learn the Irish version.

Certainly won't sing the French anthem at our HOME game let alone our players :confused: We need to concentrate on our own and raise the roof!!

wallis
10/11/2009, 2:01 PM
Singing the French anthem in Paris was hilarious. Henrys face on the giant screen laughing while all these green shirts were going nuts behind him was hysterical.

Why dont they print out the phonetic version on a songsheet for the fans. Not everyone speaks the language or can read it.

10/11/2009, 2:05 PM

French:

no way should our players or fans sing the oppositions anthem!!
just concentrate on belting out our own please

10/11/2009, 2:22 PM
I dont remember seeing henry on the big screen, having said that i dont remember much from that weekend nevermind the game :embarassed:

Id say people being fairly ****ed could end up singing it.

The thing is we didnt actually "sing" their anthem we just hummed along. Fair play the french took it in good spirits!

10/11/2009, 2:25 PM
Why dont they print out the phonetic version on a songsheet for the fans.

How embarrassing would that be?

ParkLife
10/11/2009, 2:36 PM
Why the hell would we sing their anthem?? As was said earlier it was done on the day in Paris, and it was a bit of a laugh.
Would just be stupid and pointless singing theirs in Croker !!

10/11/2009, 3:02 PM
Why the hell would we sing their anthem?? As was said earlier it was done on the day in Paris, and it was a bit of a laugh.
Would just be stupid and pointless singing theirs in Croker !!
As stupid and pointless as it was singing it in Lansdowne?

Jicked
10/11/2009, 3:28 PM
How embarrassing would that be?

As embarassing as Irish players singing the french anthem or humming along to try to psyche them out??

Scram
10/11/2009, 3:39 PM

Sheena feena fall
Ataw fway yowal egg erin
Bween dar shlew
har tin do rawnig cuinn
Vay void veith sayor

Shin-na fee-in-na fall
A-taw fwee yal eg Erin
Bween daur slew
Fwaw vode veh sair

Hilarious

blobbyblob
10/11/2009, 4:31 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQ6-bYixpYE&feature=related

How about the referee singing along - Check out the end of Irelands Call

10/11/2009, 5:08 PM
As embarassing as Irish players singing the french anthem or humming along to try to psyche them out??

Yeah, just about.

lopez
10/11/2009, 7:36 PM
Father Ted: C'mon Jack. Get up!
Father Jack: Feck off!
Father Dougal: How are we going to get Father Jack up, Ted?
Father Ted: I know. Quick. Put on that song, Dougal.
Father Dougal: What song, Ted?
Father Ted: That song Dougal. The one that Jack always stands up to.
Father Dougal: Oh that song.
(Marseilles plays)
Father Jack: Up! Get feckin' up! Get up the feckin' lot of yez.

IsMiseSean
10/11/2009, 9:29 PM
Could never understand why the English born players never learnt our anthem in English and they could have sung along then. Too much to learn the Irish version.

No way... If you dont know it in Irish dont sing it!!!
Id rather them stand there looking puzzled that singing it in English...:D

Hibernian
10/11/2009, 9:48 PM
I hope we belt out our anthem so loud it makes us deaf

I will respect the French national anthem think its excellent one but no way will I sing it. I will respect it and clap after its finished but by god by that stage my lungs will be ready to belt out Amhrán na bhFiann

Desyf
11/11/2009, 8:16 AM
No way... If you dont know it in Irish dont sing it!!!
Id rather them stand there looking puzzled that singing it in English...:D

For those English born it would have been better to learn it in English first, then you know what the Irish version actually means.

Then learn and sing the Irish version.

Pretty pointless just bellowing a load of phonetically learnt sounds if you don't know what you are actually singing....:o

Desyf
11/11/2009, 9:33 AM

Sheena feena fall
Ataw fway yowal egg erin
Bween dar shlew
har tin do rawnig cuinn
Vay void veith sayor

Shin-na fee-in-na fall
A-taw fwee yal eg Erin
Bween daur slew
Fwaw vode veh sair

And you wonder why it's difficult to learn for non Irish speakers or non Irish familiar....!!

They are totally different phonetically in places !!!:eek:

Completely different !!

Junior
11/11/2009, 10:41 AM
And you wonder why it's difficult to learn for non Irish speakers or non Irish familiar....!!

They are totally different phonetically in places !!!:eek:

Completely different !!

Just to be clear - They are just 2 versions that have been passed on to me. I have no idea of the source.

I suppose the thing is - there is no right or wrong way to write down how you think words sound - making it as easy as possible for non native tongues to pick up.

Greenforever
11/11/2009, 10:47 AM
How about everone putting their arms round the shoulder of the person on either side of them when singing the anthem, our crowd did this in Japan and it was great, it actually pumps up the adrenellan even more. It would be a fantastic show of comradrie and encourage those a bit shy to sing even louder. Bit like a fans huddle before the match if you kow what I mean

11/11/2009, 10:56 AM
How about everone putting their arms round the shoulder of the person on either side of them when singing the anthem, our crowd did this in Japan and it was great, it actually pumps up the adrenellan even more. It would be a fantastic show of comradrie and encourage those a bit shy to sing even louder. Bit like a fans huddle before the match if you kow what I mean

from what i hear we will be holding up 70,000 green cards

Greenforever
11/11/2009, 11:01 AM

is that each :D

sounds fantastic

SuperDave
12/11/2009, 11:02 AM

jeez, that's a lot of emigrants....

Green Card (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permanent_residence_(United_States))

Desyf
12/11/2009, 11:56 AM
Just to be clear - They are just 2 versions that have been passed on to me. I have no idea of the source.

I suppose the thing is - there is no right or wrong way to write down how you think words sound - making it as easy as possible for non native tongues to pick up.

Junior, no probs and I wasn't getting at you..

Just highlighting the difficulties for some, especially thick PP's like me.

Greenforever
12/11/2009, 11:58 AM
Junior, no probs and I wasn't getting at you..

Just highlighting the difficulties for some, especially thick PP's like me.

Are you a parish priest :confused:

dingbat
12/11/2009, 2:50 PM
Nothing like hearing the anthem getting belted out; it really makes the hair stand up on the back of your neck! A bit less of the rampaging music before the match would be great. Hard to get the crowd going when we've got random pop music being blared out over the tannoy... mind you, it shouldn't be too hard on Saturday! :D

12/11/2009, 3:29 PM
dingbat, thats my password!

Desyf
12/11/2009, 4:17 PM
Are you a parish priest :confused:

Nope, but me dad is.

Scram
12/11/2009, 5:11 PM
For those English born it would have been better to learn it in English first, then you know what the Irish version actually means.

Then learn and sing the Irish version.

Pretty pointless just bellowing a load of phonetically learnt sounds if you don't know what you are actually singing....:o

All's ye need to know is the gist, basically "we are going to fight the Sasanach swine to the death"

So once you bawl out whatever sounds even vaguely similar that will do just fine. Even if it is in a Scouser accent.

Will you be there BTW??

Sligo Hornet
13/11/2009, 6:06 AM
dingbat, thats my password!

Why am I not surprised?;)

Desyf
13/11/2009, 7:34 AM
All's ye need to know is the gist, basically "we are going to fight the Sasanach swine to the death"

So once you bawl out whatever sounds even vaguely similar that will do just fine. Even if it is in a Scouser accent.

Will you be there BTW??

Yep.
And I already know the words.

Mad Moose
13/11/2009, 3:51 PM
I learnt the French anthem at school. Still know the words :o It's my party piece.

Jaysus you must be a fcekin scream to be around then :eek:

13/11/2009, 6:13 PM
Shoulder.. .to shoulder.......... :o

Scram
14/11/2009, 10:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scram View Post

Will you be there BTW??

Yep.
And I already know the words.

You won't be in Croker you liar! Your missus won't let you. If you are, teach me the words! ;)

Desyf
14/11/2009, 12:57 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scram View Post

Will you be there BTW??

You won't be in Croker you liar! Your missus won't let you. If you are, teach me the words! ;)

Sorry, you're right, I thought he meant Paris !!

And get off my case whoever you are Mr Scram...