View Full Version : Tickets for home game
longfordjames
07/11/2009, 9:21 AM
Is it sold out? I tried fai.ie but looks like it hasnt been updated in a while...
rebelmusic
07/11/2009, 9:21 AM
They announced that tickets probably wont go on public sale :(
longfordjames
07/11/2009, 10:57 AM
****.So its very unlikely?
07/11/2009, 11:10 AM
If you are a proper fan you should already have your tickets.
rebelmusic
07/11/2009, 11:12 AM
Dont think that's a very fair statement. But yes if you have a montenegro game stub you'll have a ticket, like me xD
joema
07/11/2009, 12:11 PM
Won't find a bigger Ireland fan than me...
IF ya get a ticket, pass it on. Cheers. Had to take myself off the block booking list for presonal reasons and was unable to attend the Montenegro match for these same personal reasons! Oh the cheek. :rolleyes: Should have had my priorities right, I suppose. :eek:
Presume that post was made in jest, but it aint funny, either way.
TO the OP: the tickets won't go on general sale. Too many blow ins up for the big match.
back of the net
08/11/2009, 4:22 PM
****.So its very unlikely?
at this stage mate, im afraid so.
Go to all the ireland games myself and was trying to get a couple of tickets for some ppl last week, but to no avail.
All the tickets seem to be mostly taken.
But best of luck in your search
08/11/2009, 10:45 PM
IF ya get a ticket, pass it on. Cheers. Had to take myself off the block booking list for presonal reasons and was unable to attend the Montenegro match for these same personal reasons! Oh the cheek. :rolleyes: Should have had my priorities right, I suppose. :eek:
TO the OP: the tickets won't go on general sale. Too many blow ins up for the big match.
I'm 100% in agreement with this. Couldn't make it to either of the last 2 home games due to personal reasons and haven't missed a game in 4 years. Gutted... though I'll stick my fingers in the pies as always and see what pops out.
Makes it worse that I lived just off the Clonliffe as well! :( The GAA solved this problem more or less with the season ticket which helped enormously.
Junior
09/11/2009, 7:04 AM
The GAA solved this problem more or less with the season ticket which helped enormously.
Isnt that what the Block Booking is?
There are always spares around croke park on the day of a game. if anyone is that determined, they will get tickets on the day and at face value..
dynamo kerry
09/11/2009, 9:44 AM
here lads,
can someone in ireland post when the tickets arrive in the door as I'm keen to make sure my asking for them to be sent to dublin address went through. If they turn up in edinburgh this week I'll have issues.
cheers
eaststand85
09/11/2009, 9:51 AM
here lads,
can someone in ireland post when the tickets arrive in the door as I'm keen to make sure my asking for them to be sent to dublin address went through. If they turn up in edinburgh this week I'll have issues.
cheers
My tickets (WL) arrived last week but I know my Dad who's getting his through the stubs scheme has yet to receive his. I've also yet to receive my away leg tickets.
DeNiro
09/11/2009, 9:52 AM
here lads,
cheers
Mine arrived last Tuesday.
Blue-Army
09/11/2009, 10:34 AM
There are always spares around croke park on the day of a game. if anyone is that determined, they will get tickets on the day and at face value..
you sure about that? Think I'll give it a go tbh..
We sent off 5 ticket stubs from the Montenegro game, but only got back 2 forms for tickets!:mad:
anyway I've tried basically every way possible of getting tickets and had no luck... Might travel up on the day and hope for the best I suppose. Although I dont want to have to pay much more than face value for tickets.
sandra
09/11/2009, 1:04 PM
here lads,
cheers
Came in the door this morning
09/11/2009, 1:15 PM
Got one of my tickets today still waiting on the other.
Greenforever
09/11/2009, 1:36 PM
Got one of my tickets today still waiting on the other.
Why do you need 2, you're only a little fella:D
09/11/2009, 2:13 PM
Why do you need 2, you're only a little fella:D
:) I like to be able to change seats at a seconds notice!
Greenforever
09/11/2009, 2:16 PM
:) I like to be able to change seats at a seconds notice!
to avoid flying beer
09/11/2009, 2:32 PM
to avoid flying beer
exactly! given the costs of paris it will be a strict no wastage policy employed.
IsMiseSean
09/11/2009, 2:36 PM
Two tickets arrived this morning :D
ParkLife
09/11/2009, 9:03 PM
Lads there's a ticket waiting list of about 30 lads on it, on this forum. Don't think it's fair on them that your coming asking people for tickets outside of that.
joema
09/11/2009, 11:56 PM
Lads there's a ticket waiting list of about 30 lads on it, on this forum. Don't think it's fair on them that your coming asking people for tickets outside of that.
My post was made in jest. Thought that was clear. Have asked everyone I know to see if they have a spare. Hoping to get one.
Think the "official" thread is ridiculous, tbh. How does it work, the higher up the list you are, the more deserving of a ticket you are??
Give me a break.
Or better still, a ticket. ;)
M@ttitude
10/11/2009, 12:30 AM
My post was made in jest. Thought that was clear. Have asked everyone I know to see if they have a spare. Hoping to get one.
Think the "official" thread is ridiculous, tbh. How does it work, the higher up the list you are, the more deserving of a ticket you are??
Give me a break.
Or better still, a ticket. ;)
Could you suggest an alternative way?
Nope.
Never claimed otherwise, though!
Was just responding to the poster who accused me of jumping the queue, so to speak.
Think it is hard to disagree with my last post, tbh.
I mean, you hardly think this system "works", do you?
Junior
10/11/2009, 8:22 AM
First come first served - limited to 2 per person - face value tickets.
I think you'll find that some posters have been sorted already on both the home and away lists - so yep Id say it works - even if its not perfect.
10/11/2009, 8:27 AM
Nope.
Never claimed otherwise, though!
Was just responding to the poster who accused me of jumping the queue, so to speak.
Think it is hard to disagree with my last post, tbh.
I mean, you hardly think this system "works", do you?
Why do you suggest it doesn't work? Id say it does, and i'd take a stab at saying, maybe becuase you haven't got a ticket/haven't got sorted from it you have made that accusation. In a way its modelled on the same as those who go to all games, the ones who always come onto foot.ie will see teh thread and be quick to get their name on the list. So id say its the fairest possible solution to be honest. Maybe it could start with a ranking of whose got tickets from that list, and then they get preference in the ordering however that could be a bit of a nightmate for the mods.
I dont nkow your personal circumstances and I wouldn't like to comment, but the only reasons i can see where you couldn't go would be financial. Otherwise you could still have bought the tickets and given them to friends. Im living in england like so many others who get tickets, and I was made redundant earlier this year but I still made sure i was getting the tickets even when things were tight, but i understand that not everyone might be able to do that. At the end of the day the only reason I see why someone couldn;t take tickets for a game is financial.
10/11/2009, 9:01 AM
Hmm second ticket still hasn't arrived, my invoice for it has been paid but no sign of it. Will give it until tomorrow then ring up and bleet.
joema
10/11/2009, 11:40 AM
Why do you suggest it doesn't work? Id say it does, and i'd take a stab at saying, maybe becuase you haven't got a ticket/haven't got sorted from it you have made that accusation. In a way its modelled on the same as those who go to all games, the ones who always come onto foot.ie will see teh thread and be quick to get their name on the list. So id say its the fairest possible solution to be honest. Maybe it could start with a ranking of whose got tickets from that list, and then they get preference in the ordering however that could be a bit of a nightmate for the mods.
I dont nkow your personal circumstances and I wouldn't like to comment, but the only reasons i can see where you couldn't go would be financial. Otherwise you could still have bought the tickets and given them to friends. Im living in england like so many others who get tickets, and I was made redundant earlier this year but I still made sure i was getting the tickets even when things were tight, but i understand that not everyone might be able to do that. At the end of the day the only reason I see why someone couldn;t take tickets for a game is financial.
Spot on lad: you don't know my circumstances. Speculation is useless.
The list doesn't work as it is based on the principle of first come, first served. The higher up the list you are, does not make you more deserving of a ticket. It just means you got there first ffs.
In any case, think it is clear that a lot of people put their names down just as am insurance policy. Look at the amount of posters who want to be taken off the list, ffs.
And no, I am not making this point because I have not been sorted by the thread. I would not expect to be. I have never put my name down on one of these lists, after all.
I only posted in one of the ticket threads because you stated that all genuine fans would be able to get tickets.
Junior
10/11/2009, 11:56 AM
The list doesn't work as it is based on the principle of first come, first served. The higher up the list you are, does not make you more deserving of a ticket. It just means you got there first ffs.
In any case, think it is clear that a lot of people put their names down just as am insurance policy. Look at the amount of posters who want to be taken off the list, ffs.
And no, I am not making this point because I have not been sorted by the thread. I would not expect to be. I have never put my name down on one of these lists, after all.
I only posted in one of the ticket threads because you stated that all genuine fans would be able to get tickets.
I dont think the list is meant to rank 'in most deserving of a ticket' order, is it? Afterall its the FAI who distribute the tickets - thats their job.
This is a secondary avenue for likeminded fans to try and help other fans without tickets. It needs to be low maintenance in terms of admin for the mods and relatively fair (i.e. max number of ticket requests). Its not going to try and attempt to check each posters historic game attendance is it? First come First serve is fair enough in this instance imo.
Ive never stuck my name on any of the lists either but I think its a good idea and you can see that what appear to be genuine fans are getting sorted. Not sure what your beef with it is really.
ParkLife
10/11/2009, 12:33 PM
Joema...you seem to have some serious issues. The list is the fairest way possible..get over it. Are you that ****ed off cos you didn't get a ticket??
Are you more deserving of a ticket cos you used to be a Block Booker?? Please....
Only issue I have is new posters being allowed on the list, once they get sorted there never heard of again.
10/11/2009, 12:40 PM
Ya Parklife, i always thoughtt he same, i dont like blows in just jumping on the thread and thats it. Could be a good point you have raised there as im sure we aren't the only ones to have thought the same.
Lads, look....
I am saying the system is not perfect. I also said there is no alternative. No need to throw the toys out of the pram. This is the best way to communicate with regards getting tickets to like-minded fans online - I totally agree. When I said the list doesn't work...I prob went a bit too far! It can work...to a degree. (But again that's not the post I initially took issue with!)
Parklife... you need to learn how to detect sarcasm. I initially took issue with Paul O'Shea's smug, vague and unhelpful post.
I've since been sorted with a ticket, as it happens...and my stance is still the same.
As ye can see, the most obvious abuse of this system can be seen with new members just getting in there on the list quickly... All I'm saying is that you are not more deserving of a ticket because you are higher up the list. This, however, is the most practical way to do things on a site of this nature. We can all agree on that....the fact that you (Parklife) accused me of skipping the queue was ridiculous. I've never posted in a ticket exchange thread.
Happy now? :eek:
Come on Ireland :ball:
Just want to highlight this post again. Reckon your follow up post is childish.
You accused me of skipping the queue. You accused me of having issues because I couldn't get a ticket myself.
My initial post, as I said, was clearly made in jest. It was a reply to a smug, unhelpful and inaccurate "post" from Paul O'Shea.
Find it absolutely ridiculous that you also accused me of being unfair to those lads on the list. Absolutely ridiculous.
You can clearly see the flaws of that list, as can I. Think it is very important to realise that I did not post on that list and that I have never expected to be sorted with a ticket from this website.
Also, I'll again repeat that I now have a ticket. You will notice, my opinion has not changed.
You should admit you were wrong...I doubt you will, though
ParkLife
10/11/2009, 2:17 PM
You got a ticket..good man... your boring me now.
Well constructed "reply". People get bored when they are talking through their arse, I suppose.
10/11/2009, 2:51 PM
Joema, i think its fair to leave it at this stage you got a ticket and fair play.
I think you should notice that after you saying parklife doesn't understand sarcasm you ought to reflect within, as I was obviouslly being sarcastic at the start.
However, after your previous posts, I stand by what I said about not taking a ticket for games.
ParkLife
10/11/2009, 3:05 PM
Well constructed "reply". People get bored when they are talking through their arse, I suppose.
My thoughts exactly.:D
Joema, i think its fair to leave it at this stage you got a ticket and fair play.
I think you should notice that after you saying parklife doesn't understand sarcasm you ought to reflect within, as I was obviouslly being sarcastic at the start.
However, after your previous posts, I stand by what I said about not taking a ticket for games.
If you look at my post, you will see that I realised your post was in jest. I still found it unhelpful and unfunny.
Stand by what you said all you like, I'm not trying to change your mind. Dunno why you even bothered posting in the first place, tbh. Reckon you knew someone would take issue with what you said.
It is a common theme of your posts, after all.
philkildare
10/11/2009, 8:17 PM
Lads.....How can we be lovers if we can't be friends????????;)
10/11/2009, 8:37 PM
Daytime friends, nighttime lovers. :)
10/11/2009, 11:45 PM
Isnt that what the Block Booking is?
Not really. Similar alright but not exactly the same.
With the GAA season ticket you pay money (€75.00) up front and it guarantees you tickets for EVERY game for whichever county you have picked. The initial €75.00 covers all of your county's league game sand their opening Championship match. After that you pay again for each match your county participates in. The great thing is though is you're guaranteed a ticket. As a Dub this is manna. I've spent years traveling to hurling and football league and championship matches only to find that as soon as the bandwagon rolls into town I can't get a ticket. So this suits me.
With block booking I can never usually afford the cost of both or however many games are involved in the block so I can't usually get to em.
The Aviva 10 year tickets intend to offer something similar but they are so over priced as to be a laugh.
Greenforever
11/11/2009, 12:47 AM
Not really. Similar alright but not exactly the same.
With the GAA season ticket you pay money (€75.00) up front and it guarantees you tickets for EVERY game for whichever county you have picked. The initial €75.00 covers all of your county's league game sand their opening Championship match. After that you pay again for each match your county participates in. The great thing is though is you're guaranteed a ticket. As a Dub this is manna. I've spent years traveling to hurling and football league and championship matches only to find that as soon as the bandwagon rolls into town I can't get a ticket. So this suits me.
With block booking I can never usually afford the cost of both or however many games are involved in the block so I can't usually get to em.
The Aviva 10 year tickets intend to offer something similar but they are so over priced as to be a laugh.
I've read a lot of crap over the years but this takes the biscuit, the normal is 2 matches at a time i.e. 100 euro, not a hell of a lot mote than 75 euro. You also cant get a block booking unless on the list regardless of if you have the money or not.
Junior
11/11/2009, 8:40 AM
I've read a lot of crap over the years but this takes the biscuit, the normal is 2 matches at a time i.e. 100 euro, not a hell of a lot mote than 75 euro. You also cant get a block booking unless on the list regardless of if you have the money or not.
Agreed. as I thought the Block Booking is doing largely what the GAA Season Card is.
11/11/2009, 9:37 AM
Still haven't received my second ticket, will have to give them a ring when I get back to my batcave.
Greenforever
11/11/2009, 10:31 AM
Agreed. as I thought the Block Booking is doing largely what the GAA Season Card is.
And has been for about 20 years now, not 20 mins :D
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100454:fifa-world-cup-play-off-ticket-details&catid=86:ticket-centre&Itemid=135
Hope that link works.
Basically 1000 tickets going on sale at 12 noon tomorrow on ticketmaster.
Returns from French allocation apparently.
11/11/2009, 2:22 PM
Still haven't received my second ticket, will have to give them a ring when I get back to my batcave.
Couldn't get through on the phone so have emailed...
Greenforever
11/11/2009, 4:33 PM
Couldn't get through on the phone so have emailed...
I'll be out in Abbotstown on Fri, pm your bb code / or whatever info and I'll try and sort it for you, and take not of the poster who said one should buy a drink for anyone that sorts you with tickets, I'll have me Gallon sized Pitcher with me for filling:D
12/11/2009, 12:26 AM
there's been the odd time when there's been 3 games or so.
TBH it never really affects me as I can always manage to get to most matches if I'm here.
I think my point is lost and I really can't remember what it was!!!