View Full Version : Latest Scores November 6th
Maroon 7
06/11/2009, 9:04 PM
What a pain in the hoop. Haven't been in the bottom 3 in ages and then we fall into it on the last day of the league season.
06/11/2009, 9:14 PM
Ye'll be out of it by tomorrow anyway by all accounts.
gufc2000
06/11/2009, 10:02 PM
We looked home and dry a few weeks ago. We do not deserve to be involved in relegation, this has been our best football in years. Absolute madness that the 8th place team ends in the play-offs, we got 42 points, and how far ahead of the Drogs? 7-10 points?
06/11/2009, 10:03 PM
Ye'll be out of it by tomorrow anyway by all accounts.
The game was played in a surreal Atmosphere with both teams definitely affected by the FAI's decision to go public on the Derry situation which totally undermined all the matches tonight.
Biggest crowd of the season and far bigger than the official attendance of 1,882 and a hats off to the Cork supporters who were magnificent throughout .
I hope for everyones sake that some proper discussion takes place between the FAI and the clubs to sort out the sorry mess that is the LOI. We need a properly thought out 10 year plan that is workable and benefits every club equally.
MMVIII
06/11/2009, 10:09 PM
Delighted for Galway to be honest.
Taught it was quite funny when your fans sang "going down" to us a few weeks back. Oh the irony :)
Pathetic, I think so.
gufc2000
06/11/2009, 10:10 PM
I hate that crap about not "deserving to be relegated":rolleyes::rolleyes: It doesn't matter a sh**e how well ye played ye finished with 42 points which was good enough for 8th place. Didn't hear ya complaining about the playoff structure before tonight!
Mind you, I hope Galway don't go down. The shortest trip for us and it's good to have the auld rivalry :)
I have complained, start of the season I was. I didn't think we'd be good enough, but hats off to Ian Foster. He's worked wonders on a miniscule budget, no training ground, and paltry attendances.
sligofan4ever
06/11/2009, 10:22 PM
I have complained, start of the season I was. I didn't think we'd be good enough, but hats off to Ian Foster. He's worked wonders on a miniscule budget, no training ground, and paltry attendances.
Your great early start made ye look like serious contenders, but what went wrong then ? I'd hate to see Galway go down TBH, if Derry go to we'll be the only team this side of Ireland left, Derry and Galway are very handy trips and we nee these teams in the premier division, if we were to go to it wouldn't be LoI anymore it'd be LoL (League of Leinster). Surprised ye've had shocking attendances this season, especially having played some of ye're best football in years, but I suppose thats the downside of having a football team in a gaelic mad county.
06/11/2009, 10:26 PM
Your great early start made ye look like serious contenders, but what went wrong then ? .
They sold their good player.
06/11/2009, 10:28 PM
Galway United - Forever and always in our shadow;)
And only they care. :p
gufc2000
06/11/2009, 10:34 PM
Your great early start made ye look like serious contenders, but what went wrong then ? I'd hate to see Galway go down TBH, if Derry go to we'll be the only team this side of Ireland left, Derry and Galway are very handy trips and we nee these teams in the premier division, if we were to go to it wouldn't be LoI anymore it'd be LoL (League of Leinster). Surprised ye've had shocking attendances this season, especially having played some of ye're best football in years, but I suppose thats the downside of having a football team in a gaelic mad county.
Small squad, seem to run outta steam, but they are young, and if we can stay up, they'll be stronger with the year behind them
Agreed, think he's done a fantastic job. Ye did very well to keep ye up with ourselves, pats and dundalk. Ye just ran outta steam in the end. He seems like a very decent bloke aswell. Ye would have been safe if ye kept jay o'shea.
I must say (and i'm not tryin to stir!) your attendances have been shocking considering ye have been playing decent stuff, and have been doing well all season. Just seems like the interest isn't there.
Agree, our attendances have been appalling. Tonights game was a must-win, and the crowd came out. They only come out when its do or die
sligofan4ever
06/11/2009, 10:50 PM
Small squad, seem to run outta steam, but they are young, and if we can stay up, they'll be stronger with the year behind them
Agree, our attendances have been appalling. Tonights game was a must-win, and the crowd came out. They only come out when its do or die
Same as last year when ye escaped relegation on the final night.
Gaillimh Al
06/11/2009, 10:57 PM
And only they care. :p
Sligo fans patting themselves on the back that a club with twice the budget of another can accumulate a single point more over a season.....good work there fellas.
Galway have overachieved massively this season with the squad they have, which along with Pat's and Sligo's poor form saw them look comfortable in mid table for large parts of the campaign. Most sensible United fans would have taken this position at the start of the season, a home game against Drogheda, which may not yet transpire if rumours are to be believed.
Best of luck to Sligo against Sporting in the Cup final.
Maroon 7
06/11/2009, 11:06 PM
In fairness United didn't collapse towards the end either. They kept picking up points. Took 5 points from the last 5 games even though their away form was not good during the run-in. It's just that Sligo went on a great run towards the end as did Pat's to a lesser extent and pipped them. C'est la vie.
Ezeikial
06/11/2009, 11:39 PM
In fairness the smugness from Dundalk fans on here seems to show they are ok with it.
I have not heard a single Dundalk fan that is "ok" with it.
The amount of yellow and red cards accumlated is quite simply unacceptable.
Suppose being 4th or 5th has blinkered them to the fact their players are going out to do players in.
2 broken legs in one match ffs
Outrageous and completely disingenuous - Gary Dempsey and Mark Leech were both injured in the same match in Inchicore in the first series. Both were clearly accidental injuries and nothing to do with "doing players in".
RoversHead
07/11/2009, 1:15 AM
fair play to rovers fans for not reacting to Pats gimps on the pitch in Richmond.
Thanks for that .Very proud of our fans tonight good party atmosphere despite being played off the park.:)
RoversHead
07/11/2009, 1:27 AM
fair play to rovers fans for not reacting to Pats gimps on the pitch in Richmond.
Thanks for that .Very proud of our fans tonight good party atmosphere despite being played off the park.:)
yeah, im watching at work but missed that bit (not doing an Arsene Wenger, honest!). Im sure it will be put up here in full. Either way it would have been nice if the few idiots involved could have behaved themselves on what should have been an evening for having a laugh. Ill say more on it when i see it and when i hear from those who were at the game.
Yeah, i thought the Pats fans on the pitch were giving it the large one a bit unnecessarily...
I am in no way condoning the aftermath in bray tonight but i can never understand why the guards feel the need to stand literally face to face with the fans, it causes problems. why can they not stand to the side and be on hand if they are needed. Tonight the guards got heavy-handed with lads who were jumping around celebrating the league success which obviously sparked uproar...if they werent there there simply wouldnt have been a problem. Its not like they were trying to keep two sets of fans apart, they need to take a more sensible approach.
RoversHead
07/11/2009, 2:28 AM
I am in no way condoning the aftermath in bray tonight but i can never understand why the guards feel the need to stand literally face to face with the fans, it causes problems. why can they not stand to the side and be on hand if they are needed. Tonight the guards got heavy-handed with lads who were jumping around celebrating the league success which obviously sparked uproar...if they werent there there simply wouldnt have been a problem. Its not like they were trying to keep two sets of fans apart, they need to take a more sensible approach.
Read match thread on Bohs.com then tell us the Gardai were to blame!:cool:
Charles Bronson
07/11/2009, 4:28 AM
Speaking as a man that was in the middle of it , it was entirely the fault of the garda, they had the hump all night over the beach balls, a smart comment was made by a young bohs fan who promptly was punched in the face by a rookie cop,his mates got involved and it went pear shaped, i attended the game with two people who are regulers at english league one football and they were amazed at the attitude of the garda, a properly trained police officer will stand off and difuse the situation, a templemore rookie will steam in and escalate the situation, not saying bohs fans were right to throw seats just saying things would never have got that far with a properly trained police force who doesnt see a "soccer" match as a chance to get "stuck in"to "dubs". (awaits condemnation)
Hairy Bowsie
07/11/2009, 6:18 AM
Yeah i'm sure the Wrexham fans over were there purely to watch Owen Heary lift the trophy :rolleyes:
07/11/2009, 7:49 AM
I hate that crap about not "deserving to be relegated":rolleyes::rolleyes: It doesn't matter a sh**e how well ye played ye finished with 42 points which was good enough for 8th place. Didn't hear ya complaining about the playoff structure before tonight!
Mind you, I hope Galway don't go down. The shortest trip for us and it's good to have the auld rivalry :)
178 kilometres isn't a short trip. Apart from the fact that Galway and Sligo are both in the same province, the distance is too big to describe it as a derby.
It is a joke that the 8th place team has to play-off to avoid the drop, having said that Galway are a very poor side. Last week, they had 1 shot on target. Fair enough that's all they needed, but having watched 3 of our 4 games against them this season, they showed little ambition, and carried less attacking threat. The fact they couldn't get out of the crap, in the best position going into last night with the last game at home, shows how they've performed this season.
red bellied
07/11/2009, 9:26 AM
It's ridiculous Galway now have to play off with Drogheda after finishing ten points ahead of them. I can understand the logic of second last playing second from top in the first but but the one off games between Galway and Drogs is daft. The same goes for the Fingal and Shels play off. It's a league after all.
gufc2000
07/11/2009, 9:32 AM
178 kilometres isn't a short trip. Apart from the fact that Galway and Sligo are both in the same province, the distance is too big to describe it as a derby.
It is a joke that the 8th place team has to play-off to avoid the drop, having said that Galway are a very poor side. Last week, they had 1 shot on target. Fair enough that's all they needed, but having watched 3 of our 4 games against them this season, they showed little ambition, and carried less attacking threat. The fact they couldn't get out of the crap, in the best position going into last night with the last game at home, shows how they've performed this season.
Good man sour grapes because we got a point that denied ye a tilt at the title this week. We did very well on a small budget, Ian Foster worked wonders with this team this year. Not many people gave us a chance of staying up, but we have almost achieved that target. Last night was the first time we were in the bottom 3 all year. I think you must understand that last night we were playing against a team who actually had something to play for, we were missing or two centre halves, and our captain wasn't able to start.
gufc2000
07/11/2009, 9:34 AM
It's ridiculous Galway now have to play off with Drogheda after finishing ten points ahead of them. I can understand the logic of second last playing second from top in the first but but the one off games between Galway and Drogs is daft. The same goes for the Fingal and Shels play off. It's a league after all.
Agree with you, not just because we finsihed there. I think in the First Division there should be 3 play-off places available to give more teams something to play for, and only having the 9th placed team in the Prem in the play-offs.
WoodquayBoy
07/11/2009, 9:58 AM
We got what we deserved. We knew at the season that eighth place meant a play-ff, so doesn't matter if we finished 1, 10 or 40 points ahead of team below us, we are in the play-off positions.
Disappointed with last night but we didn't deserve to win. We finished with the worst defensive record in the division (57 goals conceded) so I can't see how people argue we don;t deserve to be where we are. a 5-0 thumping by Bohs might not be any great shame, but a 4-0 hammering at the hands of Drogheda (with the greatest of respect to Drogheda) is unacceptable.
I wish United fans would take of the glasses they obviouosly hand out as Foster Appreciation Club meetings - he did a good job on a tight budget, but nothing he is partly the reason we finished where we did, playing earlier in the season in a 4-5-1 formation at home, I remember people complaining at the time about his tactics.
I'm not saying I know someone who would do a better job who is available and would come in, but in my opinion, we got what we deserved with a manager who was nothing special.
Louth4sam
07/11/2009, 10:03 AM
2 broken legs in one match ffs
Were you at the match?? Neither was a bad tackle. Actually neither was a free kick if i recall. The scary thing is we're not even a dirty team. We get a serious amount of bookings for dissent which has been let go all season by our manager
Da Real Rover
07/11/2009, 10:03 AM
Could you please provide a link to the where it states the distances required between clubs for a derby?
IMO Ian Foster is the manager of the year in the league.
A model of professionalism in a club falling falling apart financially and not one bit of cribbing or moaning from him, just got on with his job and did admirably.
Just for him I hope Galway stay up but also as is pointed out I hope they dont get relegated.
Im sick of "away" trips to the pale every other week and Galway is one of the best away trips there is.
gufc2000
07/11/2009, 10:19 AM
We got what we deserved. We knew at the season that eighth place meant a play-ff, so doesn't matter if we finished 1, 10 or 40 points ahead of team below us, we are in the play-off positions.
Disappointed with last night but we didn't deserve to win. We finished with the worst defensive record in the division (57 goals conceded) so I can't see how people argue we don;t deserve to be where we are. a 5-0 thumping by Bohs might not be any great shame, but a 4-0 hammering at the hands of Drogheda (with the greatest of respect to Drogheda) is unacceptable.
I wish United fans would take of the glasses they obviouosly hand out as Foster Appreciation Club meetings - he did a good job on a tight budget, but nothing he is partly the reason we finished where we did, playing earlier in the season in a 4-5-1 formation at home, I remember people complaining at the time about his tactics.
I'm not saying I know someone who would do a better job who is available and would come in, but in my opinion, we got what we deserved with a manager who was nothing special.
Nothing special? Lets bring Spoofer back so and play hoofball for 90 minutes. You're laughable you are. Agree we conceded lots of goals, but Barry Ryan was brilliant all year.
You just can't please some people
gufc2000
07/11/2009, 10:21 AM
You must have nothing better to do this morning if all you can do is talk about Galway being a poor side, and try and claim that Galway and Sligo is not a derby,
07/11/2009, 10:42 AM
Could you please provide a link to the where it states the distances required between clubs for a derby?
Im sick of "away" trips to the pale every other week and Galway is one of the best away trips there is.
Longford and Harps are much nearer to Sligo, likewise Athlone is an hour from Galway. Limerick isn't that much further away. That's a derby. The fact they're in different divisions makes no difference.
Trying to claim Galway-Sligo is a derby is akin to claiming Cork-Galway is.
Mad season.
Galway in a playoff, 2 points behind Dundalk in 5th. Small, small margins make all the difference.
gufc2000
07/11/2009, 10:58 AM
You're losing the most pointless argument of the season. Someone needs to get a new Atlas
07/11/2009, 11:37 AM
Mad season.
Galway in a playoff, 2 points behind Dundalk in 5th. Small, small margins make all the difference.
Galway got 12 points v Pats, Dundalk got 1
We finished ahead of Galway despite losing 4 times to them
07/11/2009, 11:42 AM
Is anyone else amused at Galway fans complaining at promotion and relegation not being decided on the league table?
I only saw Galway once this year but if they were to play like they did against Longford in cup in a playoff against Shels or Fingal, they'd go down.
07/11/2009, 12:11 PM
Don't know why Galway fans are so worried, you won't be in the play offs as of this afternoon. I'd put a lot of money on that. Plus whoever does go down will probably get a reprieve if and when they feck Coughlan FC out.
Da Real Rover
07/11/2009, 12:48 PM
Longford and Harps are much nearer to Sligo, likewise Athlone is an hour from Galway. Limerick isn't that much further away. That's a derby. The fact they're in different divisions makes no difference.
So derbys are purely determined on geographical proximity?
Thats a bit odd.
If that were the case Galways derby game would be against Mervue.
Isnt it also odd that there are closer clubs to Shams other than Bohs yet they are their derby game?
Surely thats not their logical derby using your trail of thought.
07/11/2009, 12:52 PM
Speaking as a man that was in the middle of it , it was entirely the fault of the garda, they had the hump all night over the beach balls, a smart comment was made by a young bohs fan who promptly was punched in the face by a rookie cop,his mates got involved and it went pear shaped, i attended the game with two people who are regulers at english league one football and they were amazed at the attitude of the garda, a properly trained police officer will stand off and difuse the situation, a templemore rookie will steam in and escalate the situation, not saying bohs fans were right to throw seats just saying things would never have got that far with a properly trained police force who doesnt see a "soccer" match as a chance to get "stuck in"to "dubs". (awaits condemnation)
Absolutely correct. The seats shouldn't have been thrown but the Gardaí were spoiling for a fight. They were right up in the middle of us pushing people anytime we started jumping around. They are an absolute disgrace. Who polices the police?
The seats themselves collapsed when people were standing on them they were rusted away at the bottom. Between that and the Rovers wall incident you have to ask why "all seater stadia" are seen as safer than terracing.
The Betting Man
07/11/2009, 12:53 PM
Keep digging mypost :)
07/11/2009, 1:02 PM
So derbys are purely determined on geographical proximity?
Yes..
WoodquayBoy
07/11/2009, 1:17 PM
Nothing special? Lets bring Spoofer back so and play hoofball for 90 minutes. You're laughable you are. Agree we conceded lots of goals, but Barry Ryan was brilliant all year.
You just can't please some people
We finished 8th with the worst defensive record in the league, and if it wasn't for Barry Ryan - who was brilliant - it could have been worse.
We were knocked out of both Cup competitions by lower league opposition. As I said, in my OPINION, he is nothing special.
Where did I say bring back Cousins?? Exactly, I didn't. Just because I don't agree with the train of thought that Foster was the best manager in the league doesn't mean (a) I want him gone or (b) I want Cousins back.
How much is a Fine for lighting a flare at a match?Cork City fans lit at least 4 last night.How does it make sense to light flares and get your club fined when they are already so far up the creek money wise???:confused:
It's irrelevant, we don't pay bills.
WoodquayBoy
07/11/2009, 1:27 PM
Will both clubs be hit with fines for the fans on the pitch after the game??
Da Real Rover
07/11/2009, 3:33 PM
Yes..
Answer my whole post.
Why then is your derby game with Bohs when there are teams in the LoI that are of a closer geographical proximity?
Jicked
07/11/2009, 4:47 PM
ah crap, I missed the Bohemian fans hooliganism last night. Any chance Sheridan could upload it to youtube?
until then, this should keep you occupied, Jicked.
http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs046.snc3/13364_168912869310_589679310_2637385_1846597_n.jpg
galwayjames
07/11/2009, 4:48 PM
There was nothing to look at. All that you could see was the camera taking a few closeups of the Gardai and a seat being thrown onto the pitch.
07/11/2009, 6:37 PM
Answer my whole post.
Why then is your derby game with Bohs when there are teams in the LoI that are of a closer geographical proximity?
Like?
Depending on how you travel, it can be the closest.
Fingal to Tallaght for example, takes either over an hour through Dublin, or 20 minutes on the M50.
Like?
Depending on how you travel, it can be the closest.
Fingal to Tallaght for example, takes either over an hour through Dublin, or 20 minutes on the M50.
Weird logic, considering your team isn't based in Fingal.
Anymore...
Wonder how the young fella is that burned his hand from one of the flares? Seen him being brought off to the hospital with one of the "security" lads.
Also, there was a few cork lads arrested in eyre square before the match after they set off 2 flares on a public bus that was full at the time.