View Full Version : Mark O'Brien
05/11/2009, 9:32 AM
The U19 youngster at Derby, who broke through last season, had to have heart surgery recently, and will be out recovering until the new year.
Best of luck Mark, with the recent coverage of sportsmen dying due to undiagnosed conditions, you were lucky
From Derby's official site
Article about the operation: http://www.dcfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10270~1845726,00.html
Interview with him following the operation: http://www.dcfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10270~1845771,00.html
irishfan86
05/11/2009, 6:18 PM
Glad they spotted this early. Hopefully he takes his time and makes a full recovery.
Paddy Garcia
01/05/2010, 9:04 PM
Way to go Mark.......
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/d/derby_county/8654126.stm
Razors left peg
02/05/2010, 1:58 AM
There is a video in that piece that isnt availible outside of the uk. I dont know anything about this lad, can anyone fill in the backround?
02/05/2010, 12:09 PM
U19 defender who played in the last game of last season and was tipped as a first teamer this season at Derby. Was diagnosed with a heart condition and had an operation in November
more here: http://foot.ie/threads/127284-Mark-O-Brien
Watched the video there. Basically, he had a faulty valve in his heart and had to get it replaced. He gets interviewed on his bed by the guy from the BBC. Nigel Clough is interviewed saying that he definitely would have played this season if he wasn't out with the heart condition. It finishes by saying that he was awarded a 3½ year contract.
Paddy Garcia
02/05/2010, 6:20 PM
Comes cross as a very decent lad - the coach also said he was the best prospect he had seen in 22 years in the game!
Just to clarifty the "on the bed" stuff - they were playin playstation - following a video of him clearing the ball off the line in the final Derby game of last season - as a 16 year old.
Clough also spoke very highly of him.
Just to clarifty the "on the bed" stuff - they were playin playstation - following a video of him clearing the ball off the line in the final Derby game of last season - as a 16 year old.
haha sorry, I was just typing as I was watching and didn't really think about how dodgy that sounds.
bwagner
03/05/2010, 10:49 PM
Jeef Kendrick and Ryan Connolly were also on the bench this weekend , Connolly got a few mins run about
04/05/2010, 11:49 PM
Jeef Kendrick and Ryan Connolly were also on the bench this weekend , Connolly got a few mins run about
Cheers, didn't realise that, added them to Irish Abroad
Kendrick: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=54428
Connolly: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=53328
Connolly was on the bench for the cup game against Birmingham in February
bwagner
05/05/2010, 1:53 AM
Yea Tets, the star on Monday had a wee bit about them. Very good articles every Monday actually about our lads overseas.
28/08/2010, 8:02 PM
Mark was on the bench today for Derby, there was an article in This Is Leicestershire during the week about his recovery from his heart condition: http://www.thisisleicestershire.co.uk/news/Football-ace-signs-aid-heart-bid/article-2539417-detail/article.html
backstothewall
28/08/2010, 8:20 PM
Its great that these kind of scans now, and these kind of problems can be detected and addressed before they emerge naturally. Especially when one considers that poor kid getting buried in Warrenpoint this week. Hopefully it all goes well for him and one day him and Shane Duffy can bore the **** out of the other players with their hospital stories in between World Cup games
rebelmusic
06/08/2011, 5:34 PM
Came off the bench for Derby today. 18 year old Center Back. Anyone know much about him?
From wiki
Mark O'Brien (born 20 November 1992 in Dublin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin)) is a Republic of Ireland youth international footballer (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football) who plays as a central defender (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_defender) for Derby County (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derby_County_F.C.). His older brother Jamie O'Brien (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamie_O%27Brien_%28footballer%29) is also a professional footballer. Both Mark and Jamie came through the ranks of Cherry Orchard Football Club (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherry_Orchard_F.C.) in Dublin.[1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_O%27Brien_%28footballer_born_1992%29#cite_not e-CherryOrchardNews-0)
O'Brien made his debut for Derby County as a 65th minute substitute for Lewin Nyatanga (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lewin_Nyatanga), in a 3–1 defeat away to Watford (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watford_F.C.) on 3 May 2009.[2] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_O%27Brien_%28footballer_born_1992%29#cite_not e-Watforddebut-1) He was named Derby County scholar of the year at a club awards ceremony two days later.
In November 2009 it was announced by Derby County that O'Brien had successfully undergone heart surgery to correct a valve problem, and that he would be able to resume his career following a three to four month recovery period. The problem had been discovered during a routine medical scan for academy players.[3] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_O%27Brien_%28footballer_born_1992%29#cite_not e-heart-2) He returned to football action just six months later, as he played 45 minutes in an Academy friendly against Wallsend Boys Club on 13 April 2010[4] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_O%27Brien_%28footballer_born_1992%29#cite_not e-heartreturn-3) and was an unused substitute in Derby's final first team game of the 2009/10 season as they ran out 2–0 winners against Cardiff City (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cardiff_City_F.C.) at Pride Park (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pride_Park_Stadium).
youngirish
13/08/2011, 3:37 PM
Started for Derby today in central defence. Could be one to watch. Still only 18.
Murfinator
13/08/2011, 4:12 PM
He's a quality purchase in Football Manager 2011, develops quite nicely in the long run.
Future captain material alongside Richie Partridge surely!
Paddy Garcia
13/08/2011, 5:45 PM
http://foot.ie/threads/134895-Mark-O-Brien?highlight=
There is a thread (& interview) on him already - above link.
Amazing story of a recovery from heart surgery.
tommy_c12000
13/08/2011, 6:06 PM
Mark had a solid game today by all accounts. Great to do him so well. In the side because of a couple of injuries to defenders. Hopefully, he will take his opportunity now and establish himself at centre back alongside Shackell. This pair should be the central defence partnership again the next day. Also of note was Hendrick's performance, who came on at half time and started stringing passes together something that the Rams lacked in the first half. Certainly two Irish players to keep a close eye on this season. Great to see it!
The Legend
18/08/2011, 4:12 AM
another good game tonight apparently.. could be one to keep an eye on.
bwagner
18/08/2011, 8:01 AM
Hendrick played full game to :O) great to see this. Lee Frecklington got a goal for Peterborough
20/08/2011, 11:37 PM
He got a mention on The football league show today, Derby joint top after 4 games and have not conceded a goal yet. Looks a very bright prospect indeed.
[edit] I need to make a slight adjustment to the above, Derby did concede a goal against Birmingham, but get this, O'Brien was not on the pitch as he came on as a sub on 35 minute and they have not conceded a goal since, so that makes him appear even better IMO.
I just found this rather ungrateful post in a Derby forum:
I think the key will be when to handle taking O'Brien out. He's done amazingly but with him not being great on the ball it's slightly restrictive, at this point. Also I'd hate for him to ruin his good start by making a mistake.
Predator
27/08/2011, 9:47 PM
Nice article here: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0827/1224303062824.html
tweetering
30/08/2011, 4:59 PM
Feature on Mark O'Brien on English Tv
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DarvgvLi6C8
tommy_c12000
30/08/2011, 9:08 PM
Nice article here: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0827/1224303062824.html
One aspect of the article that really surprised me was that Mark got a pig's valve. (“They took my aortic valve out and replaced it with a pig’s aortic valve).
Pig valves are a lot less durable than metal mechanical valves and are generally reserved for more elderly patients. Typically they may have a life span of 10 years. The one major advantage of using them is that the patient does not have to go on blood thinners. Maybe this was a deciding factor when they were making the decision as playing competitive football on a daily basis would increase the risk of trauma and thus increase the bleeding risk. (This is me just musing outloud. Really can't say for certain as I have very little experience in that area). Metal mechanical valves require life long blood thinners but can last the lifetime of the patient.
The bottom line is that Mark will require more open heart surgery in his late 20s/early 30s. Just wondering if anyone knows if this is the norm for participants in contact sports to go with pig valves to "get through" their sporting careers, then undergo the traumatic stress of another open heart surgery to get a metal valve in?? It seems to me like a admirable brave decision to pursue his dream of being a professional footballer.
Paddy Garcia
30/08/2011, 9:34 PM
Human valves are commonly used for both aortic and pulmonary replacements.
13/09/2011, 11:33 AM
Signs four year contract with Derby.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/14897272.stm
Sullivinho
13/09/2011, 3:27 PM
The 18-year-old Republic of Ireland Under-19 international has seized his chance in the first team this season, featuring in all seven Rams games.
I didn't realise he was that young. From heart surgery to the first team before 19, fair play to him.
bwagner
13/09/2011, 3:50 PM
The likes of him and Hendrick are players we should be blooding in when there are friendly games not chasing English bums like Sterman or Chambers
13/09/2011, 4:45 PM
He was on standby for recent u21 games and should be included fairly soon.
13/09/2011, 5:01 PM
I didn't realise he was that young. From heart surgery to the first team before 19, fair play to him.
he made his debut for the club at 16
Paddy Garcia
16/09/2011, 7:57 PM
Looks like the plan was to loan him out this season - fair play to him for making such a compelling start to the season - only possible through the injury of others.
http://www.thisisderbyshire.co.uk/O-Brien-loan-facing-Forest/story-13342543-detail/story.html
tommy_c12000
17/09/2011, 2:13 PM
Great 2-1 win today for Derby having played the vast majority of the game with 10 men. Judging by the forums the back 4 were immense (which includes O'Brien). Hendrick scored a supposed cracker for the winner, will be well worth the look on the Football Show tonight
AlaskaFox
17/09/2011, 6:31 PM
Here's his celebration, not for the faint of heart or epileptics:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=raEw0fQW8h8
tommy_c12000
17/09/2011, 6:51 PM
With Dunne out for the Andorra game, let's throw Mark O'Brien in there. He'll do a job for us
liamoo11
18/09/2011, 12:05 AM
Remember when mcshane was player of year at brighton at same age? Lets not get carried away. The lad looks a bit on the small side for a centre half like mcshane and was at fault for forest goal when he was outjumped in build up. Im sure he wil be excellent player but o dea will do nicely for upcoming games
18/09/2011, 12:49 AM
Agreed, promoting him to the senior squad now would be more like a punishment for the likes of Delaney and O'Dea who have done nothing wrong and deserve their chance with Dunne suspended
tommy_c12000
18/09/2011, 8:18 AM
Agreed
Knew you'd be with me on this one Tets. On a serious note, he looks like a great prospect for the World Cup 2014 campaign. Birthday in Nov so will to touching on 20 when the campaign starts
Eminence Grise
18/09/2011, 11:09 AM
Let him continue getting experience and toughening up before bringing him into the squad. 60-70 games over the next two seasons and regular U21 appearances will do more for him than trying to dislodge Dunne, St Ledger and O'Dea. I think tommy_c12000 is right that 2014 could be his time. As for being small for a centrehalf - he still has two-three years growing left, and after that filling out, so I wouldn't worry too much just yet.
Predator
18/09/2011, 12:34 PM
O'Brien is a warrior of a kid. He's made an amazing recovery. However, while he's been playing at CB, he does seem quite small in stature and I think the physicality of some of our other emerging CBs mean that he'll face stiff competition. I believe he has also played at RB and midfield for the U19s so who knows where he'll break into the team?
TrapAPony
01/10/2011, 1:52 PM
Leicester City v Derby County 5.20pm KO on Sky Sports 2. A good chance to see O'Brien, Hendrick & maybe St. Ledger.
tommy_c12000
01/10/2011, 4:08 PM
Well unless the camera randomly picks out St Ledger in the crowd, you won't see him cause he didn't even make the bench again
theworm2345
01/10/2011, 4:46 PM
Partially at fault for the goal I guess, I had just turned it on and had a massive ad on my stream so I can't be sure but the the commentators said Nugent got wrong side of him.
01/10/2011, 4:53 PM
Basically, yes. Nugent had turned and hadhalf a yard on him to chase down a through ball
01/10/2011, 5:25 PM
I think it was just a great run and touch from Nugent. I'd have to see it again but I don't think he could have done much about it.
DeLorean
03/10/2011, 12:38 PM
More of a lucky touch than good touch by Nugent I felt when I saw the replay facing him.
davegaasports
03/10/2011, 12:47 PM
Do you think King will call him up?
theworm2345
17/11/2011, 8:34 PM
Won the Brian Clough Breakthrough Award tonight at the BBC East Midlands Sports Awards...was also up for Football Achievement of the Year Award. Nominees were players and clubs from various sports in the the East Midlands.
This should probably be merged with this http://foot.ie/threads/154941-Mark-O-Brien
tommy_c12000
17/11/2011, 8:53 PM
I love the end of his wikipedia page:
"Despite impressing in central defence for one of the Championship's best teams, he can't get in the squad for the Ireland U-21 National Team but Niall Canavan and Lanre Oyebanjo can."
Predator
17/11/2011, 9:15 PM
I love the end of his wikipedia page:
"Despite impressing in central defence for one of the Championship's best teams, he can't get in the squad for the Ireland U-21 National Team but Niall Canavan and Lanre Oyebanjo can."Oyebanjo won't be around in a while because he'll be overage, but I'm inclined to think the reason he's in ahead of O'Brien is the fact he's quite quick and strong. Canavan is also nearing 21 I think. He didn't make the last squad and he has been struggling to get into the Sc unthorpe squad since Duffy's arrival. The average height of the U21 defence must be around 6'2" or 6'3". They're all monsters whereas O'Brien is on the small side. I'd love if he was in the squad at least.
livehead1
18/11/2011, 8:22 AM
I think I read somewhere that Oyenbanjo had turned down moves to league clubs to focus on a maths degree...