View Full Version : Reading Material For The Bog...
27/02/2004, 3:12 PM
For many men, the bog is a place of respite where they can do a bit of light reading. This custom came up in conversation recently and a female in the group posed the question, what do you read if you've brought nothing in with you?
I have to say that I have read every shampoo bottle, toothpaste tube and shaving foam can in the entire bathroom.
This is especially amusing because most of my toiletries were purchased on mainland Europe (big cheer for expense accounts) and the labels are German, French or Spanish.
Anybody read anything interesting recently?
27/02/2004, 3:27 PM
you really are getting desperate for posts ????? and "I" do no work ???
27/02/2004, 3:31 PM
Originally posted by max power
you really are getting desperate for posts?
Sorry Max, this thread was directed at people who can actually read.
27/02/2004, 3:35 PM
sorry,psgfnfdokgjlfkgjfl;kgfl;djger......its just one of my many down falls in life......but i shall struggle on and once i can manage to read thew word beer life will be ok.
Was at a party a couple of weeks ago in a friend of a friend's house. They had a magazine rack in the loo with a couple of girlie mags, a couple of lads mags and Empire and Mojo to boot...
I was very impressed...
27/02/2004, 3:39 PM
Originally posted by max power
but i shall struggle on and once i can manage to read thew word beer life will be ok.
Very good Max. I the meantime I suggest you get your mammy to put a picture of a big smiley face on your beer cans and a picture of a very sad face on your Jeyes Fluid can :D
Originally posted by Dodge
They had a magazine rack in the loo...
Posh bastads :D
the scout
27/02/2004, 6:54 PM
anybody ever hear about the 3,2,3, if you go into a dodgy toilet as in unclean,and if its really bad the ould 6,2,6,????.
yur man
27/02/2004, 7:17 PM
im spoiled for choice in the bog. i got a 5inch black n white tv(got it free with a catalog) runnin from the digital cable box and a pair of crappy speakers connected to the pc so i can listen to the radio. got wires everywhere. the joys of havin no kids yet :)
as for readin, fourfiveone is a good read for me on the bog
Seanie
27/02/2004, 7:48 PM
Was at a Superbowl party over here (Boston) a few weeks ago and the guys put a tv in the toilet which struck me as a bit daft as there are so many ad breaks during American football, it is not as if you are going to miss any of the action. However the ads during the Superbowl are simply class - almost every decent ad you've seen has debuted during the Superbowl (at a cost of $0.5 million for 30 seconds). Excellent toilet viewing.
the scout
28/02/2004, 6:29 AM
Originally posted by Peadar
I have to say that I have read every shampoo bottle, toothpaste tube and shaving foam can in the entire bathroom.
have to admit to doing the same,as in read everything .
i can actually tell you from memory that the dutch for shaving foam is barbar skum:D
28/02/2004, 10:29 AM
Originally posted by the scout
have to admit to doing the same,as in read everything .
i can actually tell you from memory that the dutch for shaving foam is barbar skum:D
Ahhh yes, barberskum/barber skum/barbers kum. As a kid, I never quite knew where the separator lay. Hours of amusement ensued. :rolleyes:
Our bathroom reading is fairly straightforward; Private Eye and When Saturday Comes. Three magazines in total each month makes for a challenging and broad bathroom reading curriculum. :)
:D PP
28/02/2004, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by Peadar
I have to say that I have read every shampoo bottle, toothpaste tube and shaving foam can in the entire bathroom.Done that. Well, everything within reach anyway. I tend to keep a copy of The Phoenix in there if I haven't read it. Cartoons for quickies, features for extended visits. :)
28/02/2004, 1:02 PM
There's a fairly big band around here called Barberskum. And my loo is fully equipped with a coupla Simpsons books, a big book of rock bands and the latest issue of FourFourTwo. Keeps me occupied.
the scout
28/02/2004, 4:46 PM
anybody ever hear about the 3,2,3, if you go into a dodgy toilet as in unclean,and if its really bad the ould 6,2,6,????.
well anyway the 323 was three sheets one side two in the middle and three the other side on the toilet seat.and if really bad double it up for safety reasons:D
29/02/2004, 5:30 PM
back at mine it's cartoon collections...
Calvin and Hobbes & Get Fuzzy
Hotpress and Newsweek
and a hilarious collection of very short stories called 'Anthropology' by Dan Rhodes.
01/03/2004, 11:02 AM
Originally posted by Conor74
The Guinness Rockopedia (addictive)
I have that one! :)
Your toilet sounds very well equipped alright though.
01/03/2004, 11:17 AM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
I have that one! :)
Your toilet sounds very well equipped alright though.
you can say that again.he must empty his bowels at the local library:eek:
The Phoenix lives in the jacks (or the reading room as it's known in our house), and after that any magazine/paper that's in the gaff... Have been known to stoop as low as the argos cataloge when there's nothing else handy...
Also have a radio in there, a must have - particularly for when having a shower...
04/03/2004, 9:15 AM
There's a couple of new mags on the go at the moment, Nuts and Zoo being two of them. They're utter crap in my opinion and are only fit for flushing down the bog, not for reading on the bog.
I yearn for the day when a revolution in popular culture springs quality broadcasting and quality publications back into fashion.
Euro Trash has gone global!