View Full Version : Trap excludes Steven Reid, Andy Reid, Finnan and Morrison for play-off squad.

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

theworm2345
30/10/2009, 3:48 PM
I'm pretty damn confused about how Trap can pick Shane Long over Morrison. Long hasn't scored and has been on the bench at a pretty bad Reading and Morrison has something like 6 goals. He was injured for a bit but then so was Reid. Also Stephen Kelly over Finnan seems like a poor choice. Trap probably doesn't want to risk S. Reid which is OK. If we do get through he will probably give some of these players a look in friendlies. But Traps got us this far so...

Razors left peg
30/10/2009, 3:51 PM
Cant figure out the outrage that Morrison isnt in, he has never been in any Trappatoni squad and people were expecting this to change for the playoffs???? I like Clinton but he was never gonna be anywhere near this squad,neither was Andy Reid.Friendlies are their only hope back now.

Finnan I kinda seen coming because he was never much involved with Trap either.

The Steven Reid one for me is a little bit shocking, I was 100% certain he would be in because Darron Gibson has been injured for over a month now and hasnt even started back training with United. I would suspect that Reid has being placed on standby pending Gibsons fitness and he could well be involved yet.

Anyone calling for Trap out(and being serious) needs to cop on. We have 2 massive games coming up and we need to get behind the team not bitching and moaning all the way in the build up. If we get hammered in both games then we can worry about that sort of crap.
COME ON YOU BOYS IN GREEN:ball:

as_i_say
30/10/2009, 3:55 PM
Disgusted Stokes is in, the guy hasnt justified his inclusion and his attitude stinks.

Has he not copped on since he left Sunderland? I havent heard any reports of him misbehaving since...

Yard of Pace
30/10/2009, 3:59 PM

He came out of retirement due to Trapattoni being the manager, played the friendly against Norway and 90mins away to Georgia and Montenegro. Two of our best performances.

Razors left peg
30/10/2009, 4:01 PM
He came out of retirement due to Trapattoni being the manager, played the friendly against Norway and 90mins away to Georgia and Montenegro. Two of our best performances.

yeah but I meant mainly due to his injury over the whole campagin.I fully expect him to be back but Trap was always going to stick with what he knew for these games

30/10/2009, 4:20 PM
I´m not really that pushed about who is the 6th choice forward but I was seriously hoping Finnan would be a first choice to start both games.

Possibly we could do a one off performance
but I don't have a good feeling that we can do it over back to back games

Clouds of despair for a few hours.
On the plus side, the French won't know what we are moaning about with the squad selection, their anxiety levels won't have dropped.

Metrostars
30/10/2009, 4:31 PM
Would ye all stop complaining. First off, there is no way Long and Stokes will see the field in these two games, same for Morrison if he got in the squad so what's the big deal. As for Finnan, O'Shea is the #1 RB and McShane has been there as backup for most of the campaign so why change now? Stephen Reid obviously is not fit enough.

Chill out. It's the same squad as what got us here. Not the time to bring in new players.

the-blue-harp
30/10/2009, 4:34 PM
I think we all expected Andy and Clint to be left out again, a lot of us suspected Finnan wouldn't be called upon at this late stage either.

But to leave out a fit again Steven Reid after an unfit Steven Reid was called up previously and the man himself has said he's fit and available for selection....baffling.

I'm worried now that Trap feels that some sort of rift developed between them now. Unless of course Steven had another injury set back recently or something, but I'd really like an explanation on this.

ill give you an explanation... how many games has steven reid played in the last year?

DotTV
30/10/2009, 4:42 PM
Don't know why people are getting so excited. None of the excluded players would have started. I thought Finnan might get the nod but he' still coming back to fitness. As someone mentioned earlier, not making loads of changes sends a great message to the squad that the manager trusts them. In all of Traps interviews he makes the point that the players have to believe in themselves and this is just a further step to increase the confidence.

30/10/2009, 5:42 PM
Has he not copped on since he left Sunderland? I havent heard any reports of him misbehaving since...

http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/sport/Hughes-39bitterly-disappointed39--with.5666577.jp

BradyIsMyHero
30/10/2009, 5:51 PM
Stokes is similar (well, more than Morrison) to Noel Hunt. It is Trap's like for like policy, should have seen it coming really.

Correct. Neither of them are in any way good enough to play at international level

Closed Account 2
30/10/2009, 5:56 PM
I fear Trap has stoked the flames of discontent with this squad.

richieos
30/10/2009, 5:57 PM
Correct. Neither of them are in any way good enough to play at international level

Unfair comment. Its impossible to know that so early in stokes' career.

twoenz
30/10/2009, 6:18 PM
I think it's a massive vote of confidence for the lads that have done so much in the last half of the group. Now's not the time for experimenting, and there's no chance that Trap wants any will they make questions hanging over the group. Starting to feel real now!

30/10/2009, 6:18 PM
Unfair comment. Its impossible to know that so early in stokes' career.
Though it's a fair enough comment for the games coming up.

It looks like Stokes has a good manager in Hughes, I hope he does well there.

back of the net
30/10/2009, 6:20 PM
Cant figure out the outrage that Morrison isnt in, he has never been in any Trappatoni squad and people were expecting this to change for the playoffs???? I like Clinton but he was never gonna be anywhere near this squad,neither was Andy Reid.Friendlies are their only hope back now.

The Steven Reid one for me is a little bit shocking, I was 100% certain he would be in because Darron Gibson has been injured for over a month now and hasnt even started back training with United. I would suspect that Reid has being placed on standby pending Gibsons fitness and he could well be involved yet.

Anyone calling for Trap out(and being serious) needs to cop on. We have 2 massive games coming up and we need to get behind the team not bitching and moaning all the way in the build up. If we get hammered in both games then we can worry about that sort of crap.
COME ON YOU BOYS IN GREEN:ball:

only speaking for myself here razor, but im not outraged that clinton isnt in, i just would have liked him to be in the squad due to his experience at INTL football and i think he is a good player in general.

I am not surprised at all that Trap has excluded him.

I was more speaking in terms from a personal view that i would like him in it.

But as you say , no matter who takes to the fields on NOV 14th and 18TH - they should and WILL get our full support.

irishfan86
30/10/2009, 6:24 PM
Stokes is a talented player and just as likely to score as Morrison if he comes on in my view (this coming from a guy who loves Morrison).

Morrison has more experience, but Stokes has more upside.

So he's been in a few tussles, who among us hasn't over the years, especially in their late teens, early 20s?

I don't mind his inclusion in the squad, even though it's probably not the way I'd do it. Stokes training with the senior squad might give him the lift to become a big player for us in the campaigns to come.

30/10/2009, 6:32 PM
I wonder was that a Brady's wild card privilege to have Stokes included ahead of his old mate Clint.

weldoninhio
30/10/2009, 6:55 PM
Wonder if any of the Irish lads will hit South Africa next summer on their holidays??

weecountyman
30/10/2009, 7:10 PM
I've just read through the entire thread, it complements the Bohs "cakewalk" on Network 2, and one point struck me. For all the LOI supporters argusing over English and Scottish based players, especially forward players, not once has anyone said "What about...who's on form in the LOI?" I know this is s moot point as this manager doesn't rate our local football, but surely at least one player would be good enough for the international team?

Razors left peg
30/10/2009, 7:13 PM
only speaking for myself here razor, but im not outraged that clinton isnt in, i just would have liked him to be in the squad due to his experience at INTL football and i think he is a good player in general.

I am not surprised at all that Trap has excluded him.

I was more speaking in terms from a personal view that i would like him in it.

But as you say , no matter who takes to the fields on NOV 14th and 18TH - they should and WILL get our full support.

Id actually like to have him in there myself to be honest, hes was always one of my favorite players and characters in the squad. But at the same time I wouldnt have him in the team ahead of Doyle or Keane.

My main point in that post as regards Morrison was that he hasnt being involved all along in these qualifiers and there really wasnt much of an issue bar the odd person every now and then, but all of a sudden when it came to this squad some people are very annoyed that hes not in.I just dont get how we cant all see the way that Trap works by now, he will not call up a player to a qualifying game that he hasnt seen in at least one squad before.Whether thats right or wrong is another debate but I for one wasnt shocked that Stokes was called up when there were a few injuries with the strikers.
Trap has got us this far,and I think he will take us to the World Cup

Razors left peg
30/10/2009, 7:15 PM
Wonder if any of the Irish lads will hit South Africa next summer on their holidays??

They might enjoy a few weeks on safari there after beating Brazil in the final;)

soccerboy
30/10/2009, 7:22 PM
i thought steven reid would have been included...fair enough he has only just returned from a lenghty lay-off but centre midfield is the one position where we are particularly weak...whelan and andrews could both start but dont see why he shouldnt have reid on the bench!

dr_peepee
30/10/2009, 7:26 PM
ill give you an explanation... how many games has steven reid played in the last year?

Answer = One game more than he had played prior to being included for the Italy and Montenegro game.

My worry here is that the hoofala in the last two weeks has resulted in Steven Reid being put in the "Joey O'Brien category" re Trapps reactions to players comments made in the media.

I don't listen to a word Trapp says in the conferences at all. It's just lip service. It's not as if he ever has to account for what he says. Especially when there's blatant contradictions...

How's it going to pan out if Reid starts against United over the weekend and get's a large chunk of 3 games in between now and the 14th?? This is the same Trapp that was whoring the team about a couple of weeks ago to the Kevin Nolans of this world so he can't claim to be uber content with Whelan and Andrews...

I hope really hope this isn't an unwarranted punishment...

Colbert Report
30/10/2009, 7:34 PM
Down a goal with ten minutes to go in Paris, who would you rather have on the bench:

Darren O'Dea

OR

Andy Reid?

irishfan86
30/10/2009, 7:35 PM
Answer = One game more than he had played prior to being included for the Italy and Montenegro game.

My worry here is that the hoofala in the last two weeks has resulted in Steven Reid being put in the "Joey O'Brien category" re Trapps reactions to players comments made in the media.

I don't listen to a word Trapp says in the conferences at all. It's just lip service. It's not as if he ever has to account for what he says. Especially when there's blatant contradictions...

How's it going to pan out if Reid starts against United over the weekend and get's a large chunk of 3 games in between now and the 14th?? This is the same Trapp that was whoring the team about a couple of weeks ago to the Kevin Nolans of this world so he can't claim to be uber content with Whelan and Andrews...

I hope really hope this isn't an unwarranted punishment...

Regarding the Italy and Montenegro games, Reid may not have played, but he did have a pre-season under his belt, which makes a huge difference fitness wise.

As for Nolan, Trap never mentioned him by name, so I don't think attacking him on that count can be done.

It may be an issue of it being too soon for Reid, and while I'm sure he'd love to figure in the playoffs, in his heart of hearts he may not think he's ready himself.

30/10/2009, 7:37 PM
Down a goal with ten minutes to go in Paris, who would you rather have on the bench:

Darren O'Dea

OR

Andy Reid?

Up a goal on aggregate in Dublin with ten minutes to go, Richard Dunne limps off, same question.

irishfan86
30/10/2009, 7:38 PM

Darren O'Dea

OR

Andy Reid?

I don't think one has to be there at the expense of another.

Realistically I think McGeady will be on the bench, and if he is, he's a potential game changer.

Stephen Hunt, despite his limitations, has also proven to be a BIG impact sub, so between those two I think we'll have plenty of firepower if we need to push things.

Best also looks like he'll be fit, so we've got 3 decent attacking options.

I'd have Andy in the squad myself but despite popular opinion, I feel Trap does have a "Plan B."

Razors left peg
30/10/2009, 7:42 PM

Darren O'Dea

OR

Andy Reid?

Come on you cant be serious with a question like that. Most of us want Reidy in the squad but there has to be defenders on the bench too. A more credible question would be between Andy Reid and Liam Miller

Colbert Report
30/10/2009, 7:47 PM
Come on you cant be serious with a question like that. Most of us want Reidy in the squad but there has to be defenders on the bench too. A more credible question would be between Andy Reid and Liam Miller

Look, O'Dea might be good for things like picking up Trap's dry cleaning and mopping up the changing room after the match but there is absolutely no way he sees even the substitute bench for either match.

The chances of us being up a goal with seven minute to play when Dunne goes down injured are far less than us desperately needed a creative player in midfield/attack with ten minutes to go in Paris.

If we fail to qualify, Trap must go. This is madness. The guy has played well enough to be in the England squad, forget the Ireland squad.

dr_peepee
30/10/2009, 7:48 PM
Regarding the Italy and Montenegro games, Reid may not have played, but he did have a pre-season under his belt, which makes a huge difference fitness wise.

As for Nolan, Trap never mentioned him by name, so I don't think attacking him on that count can be done.

It may be an issue of it being too soon for Reid, and while I'm sure he'd love to figure in the playoffs, in his heart of hearts he may not think he's ready himself.

My point is Stephen Reid was as fit for those games then as he is now, yet Trapps sees reason to exclude him.

For what it's worth I don't think he'll be fully ready myself to take over from Andrews. I do think there's alot to be gained by having him in the squad though. I just don't like the contradiction of the last two squads when it comes to S Reid and am worried he's getting grouped with Andy Reid and Joey O'Brien in Trapps thoughts.

And regards Trapps whoring our midfield I dug up the quote since and don't think I'm too wide of the mark.

"We know Jamie O'Hara and Kyle Naughton, for instance, qualify to play for Ireland," added Trap, who will also send Marco Tardelli to watch Newcastle midfielder Kevin Nolan. "We look where we have to and maybe we will find some new players."

Razors left peg
30/10/2009, 7:55 PM
DrP I actually dont think we can know if Trap has any issue with Joey O Brien because he has been injured ever since he made those comments

Razors left peg
30/10/2009, 8:01 PM
Look, O'Dea might be good for things like picking up Trap's dry cleaning and mopping up the changing room after the match but there is absolutely no way he sees even the substitute bench for either match.

The chances of us being up a goal with seven minute to play when Dunne goes down injured are far less than us desperately needed a creative player in midfield/attack with ten minutes to go in Paris.

If we fail to qualify, Trap must go. This is madness. The guy has played well enough to be in the England squad, forget the Ireland squad.

Honest to God I cannot get my head around this sort of mentality. Would you prefer to bring back Staunton as manager? Yes Andy Reid should be in,but by your line of thinking you dont seem to think we need any defenders on the bench at all

Colbert Report
30/10/2009, 8:07 PM
Eddie Nolan, Stephen Kelly, Darren O'Dea and Paul McShane WILL NOT PLAY IN EITHER MATCH, EVEN FOR ONE MINUTE. Why bother having them in the squad when you're leaving out the likes of Andy Reid, who is one of the most consistently good performers in the Premiership so far this season?

Crosby87
30/10/2009, 8:15 PM
A couple of things with this:
1.Trap is being very loyal to the current players, but what about loyalty to guys who got hurt and want back in?

2. We all know at least 2 players will be injured in the next week and it will be interesting to see who he selects as replacements.

3. IF the team gets in the World Cup and Andy Reid continues good form is it pretty much etched in stone that he would also not be picked for the WC?

Razors left peg
30/10/2009, 8:18 PM
Eddie Nolan, Stephen Kelly, Darren O'Dea and Paul McShane WILL NOT PLAY IN EITHER MATCH, EVEN FOR ONE MINUTE. Why bother having them in the squad when you're leaving out the likes of Andy Reid, who is one of the most consistently good performers in the Premiership so far this season?

Congratulations, that is the single most stupid post I have ever seen on this forum, and thats really saying something.

So by your reckoning we shouldnt bother planning for any injuries, red cards or bad form amongst any of our starting 4 defenders in the playoffs. Im not even gonna bother replying to that sort of rubbish anymore

Razors left peg
30/10/2009, 8:20 PM
A couple of things with this:
1.Trap is being very loyal to the current players, but what about loyalty to guys who got hurt and want back in?

2. We all know at least 2 players will be injured in the next week and it will be interesting to see who he selects as replacements.

3. IF the team gets in the World Cup and Andy Reid continues good form is it pretty much etched in stone that he would also not be picked for the WC?

There will be a few friendlies between now and the World Cup should we qualify and I would say that Reid and others will be brought into those games and get a chance to prove themselves.... lets just worry about getting there first

EastTerracer
30/10/2009, 8:26 PM

A bit dramatic surely - none of them will be first-choice selections but McShane has already appeared in 5 of our qualifying games, Kelly only played one game but would certainly be in the frame if either of the full-backs got injured. Nolan and O'Dea are there as defensive cover - nothing to do with Andy Reid's exclusion.

I would love to see Andy Reid in the squad but surely you can come up with a better argument than this......

irishfan86
30/10/2009, 8:33 PM
The fact of the matter is that Trap has said most recently that he consider Reid a wide player, and Trap has 4 or 5 wide players/wingers that he rates ahead of Andy Reid: Duff, Lawrence, McGeady, Hunt (Keogh if you include him as a winger).

Now for my money, Duff is the only one of those that is clearly head and shoulders above Reid, but the others are debatable. Now that said, I don't think Reid is necessarily better than those players, just different.

Now if there's an injury to any of those wingers, I'd like to see Andy called up as a replacement. That would be fair both to the current incumbents and to Andy Reid given the work he's put in.

30/10/2009, 8:34 PM

Seriously??? Come on, Trap has made very good progress with this team compared to when he took over. He at least deserves the benefit of the doubt from us.

And as for the AR comment, Im all for having him in the squad but you're a little OTT there. He's in form playing well, no more no less.

30/10/2009, 8:40 PM
Alright, as entertaining as the discussion of who's in and who's out is, its all very negative.
Can we get a thread title change to "Ireland V France WC P/O - Come on you boys in green" Maybe include Eirebhoy and his We love you chant or something. Just something positive to see when people visit the site. I know its still two weeks before the game and there'll probably be other threads but lets start on the right foot.

Murfinator
30/10/2009, 9:44 PM
Our striking options scare me for these matches. Long is completely off form, while Best and stokes aren't up to this level yet. If we go behind we don't really have any sort of option that might turn the game.

Murfinator
30/10/2009, 9:46 PM
Alright, as entertaining as the discussion of who's in and who's out is, its all very negative.
Can we get a thread title change to "Ireland V France WC P/O - Come on you boys in green" Maybe include Eirebhoy and his We love you chant or something. Just something positive to see when people visit the site. I know its still two weeks before the game and there'll probably be other threads but lets start on the right foot.

I get what you're saying but it's best to get all of this out now. If everyone posts their rants on Andy Reid or whoever that should be in right now then that's fine, get it off your chest. Then we can all move on to whats important next week and getting behind our team in the build up to the games. :)

Greenbod
30/10/2009, 10:01 PM
Our striking options scare me for these matches. Long is completely off form, while Best and stokes aren't up to this level yet. If we go behind we don't really have any sort of option that might turn the game.

Don't think this is critical the way we play. Goal is as likely to be a set piece from Dunne, St ledger, Kilbane or O'Shea as from any of our strikers......or of course a 40 yard bullet from Whelan or Andrews!

brycare
30/10/2009, 10:26 PM
The biggest issue I would have with the squad is the omission of Steve Finnan to be honest. I would also like to see the 2 Reids involved but it's obvious Trap has an issue with Andy while Stephen has just played a bit of a Carling Cup game so I can understand why he is not included.
Finnan has been back playing regularly with Pompey since 3rd October so surely fitness can't be the issue with him?
Full back is one area we are not blessed with quality performers. I would be much more confident facing the French with Finnan right back and O'Shea on the left to be honest. Kilbane has been a good servant but his form has been poor.
Stephen Kelly and Paul McShane are both disasters waiting to happen.

wexfordman
31/10/2009, 12:22 AM
when i say trap and tardelli at white hart lane i was hoping for the bolt from the blue inclusion of delap, i think as pointed out we have no real plan b when we go behind and the french would have sh1ted themselves from all the aerial bombardment.

v disappointed that finnan and s reid are not in, especially as both were named in recent squads when not fit but i remain hopefull that if gibson fails to prove his fitness in the next week to 10 days reid will be added to the squad if he comes through the same time frame unscathed.

and maybe an unforunate knock to mcshane or o'dea will open the door to finnan

joema
31/10/2009, 12:48 AM
Disappointed, but not surprised that the Reids and Finnan have been left out.

Am glad to see Stokesy in there though. He's been doing very well of late.

Noelys Guitar
31/10/2009, 9:22 AM
I wonder if "Domo" has been speaking to Zeus and now both are sending Trap the Vibes to start Miller and McShane.

31/10/2009, 9:38 AM
Andy Reid needs to move to Scotland.

Finnan has played the last 3 games for Pompey. Gutted. Start Finnan and switch O'Shea to LB and that is the LB problem sorted.

Yard of Pace
31/10/2009, 9:53 AM
Andy Reid needs to move to Scotland.

I was just thinking that this morning!

I don't mind to see Stokes there though. IF he did get a run I'd be quietly confident he'd make something happen and I think he'd relish the occasion rather than be overawed by it.