View Full Version : Tonights Latest 30/10

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

blue til i die
30/10/2009, 9:28 PM
plus one of your so called fans after match tonight as rovers player went up to shake hands with jason byrne at full time pushed player away and appeared to gloat / jeer at him ... no class :mad:

Yeah, saw that too, no need for it though.

Fans shouldnt be on the pitch....fine on the way for Bohs??

30/10/2009, 9:30 PM
Fans shouldn't be on the pitch normally but surely you can excuse fans invading the pitch when their team wins the league?!

blue til i die
30/10/2009, 9:34 PM
Fans shouldn't be on the pitch normally but surely you can excuse fans invading the pitch when their team wins the league?!

Why? The rules are there to protect the players, we even saw a fan pushing and goading a Sligo player tonight?

sonofstan
30/10/2009, 9:35 PM
cannot offically congratulate untill next week :D:

plus one of your so called fans after match tonight as rovers player went up to shake hands with jason byrne at full time pushed player away and appeared to gloat / jeer at him ... no class :mad:

Obviously they shouldn't but come on.... we've just won the league ('effectively' to use aertel's word) so a little excitement is excusable?

Ezeikial
30/10/2009, 9:37 PM
Congratulations on Bohs on the two-in-row League wins which will become official next week.

I'll put my significant reservations about this to one side for the moment, to say again that I believe that the Bohemians team/squad is by some distance to best in the league, and the players and management can be proud of what they have achieved.

Shamrock Rovers also deserve great credit for making the league race so close for so long.

sligofan4ever
30/10/2009, 9:42 PM
Why? The rules are there to protect the players, we even saw a fan pushing and goading a Sligo player tonight?

Naturally enough they go for the former shams player :rolleyes:

Iorfa2MaccaJim
30/10/2009, 9:50 PM
Are Bray relegated.

By the look of the table, I think they are 4 points adrift of Drogheda with (afaik) only 1 game remaining ?

sligofan4ever
30/10/2009, 9:53 PM
Are Bray relegated.

By the look of the table, I think they are 4 points adrift of Drogheda with (afaik) only 1 game remaining ?

Yeah they're as good as gone. I'm actually a bit surprised you didnt make a thread for this question!

CSFShels
30/10/2009, 10:09 PM
Congratulations UCD and Bohs, both deserved to win their respective leagues the most.

sonofstan
30/10/2009, 10:16 PM
Congratulations UCD and Bohs, both deserved to win their respective leagues the most.

Hope youse come up, actually..... hard luck tonight: sounds like some game.

CSFShels
30/10/2009, 10:18 PM
Hope youse come up, actually..... hard luck tonight: sounds like some game.
We didn't deserve the league, we absolutely threw it away, didn't win a single home game in the last series of games. Says it all. Don't rate our chances against Fingal either but maybe.

GalwayRed
30/10/2009, 10:23 PM
Congratulations to UCD on winning the league. Like I said they were the best team I saw us play by a mile. Fully deserve to win the league and considering the budget they're on its a great achievement.
I cant see us going up now. It had to be automatic I think or it wasn't going to happen at all.
Well done to Bohs on back to back titles and hard luck to Bray on relegation.

30/10/2009, 10:24 PM
Congrats to UCD and Bohs, they've both been outstanding all season.

30/10/2009, 10:52 PM
What a great time to hold onto a lead ;)

sheao
30/10/2009, 10:59 PM
Congrats to UCD and Bohs, they've both been outstanding all season.
I fully agree with that,best 2 teams in their divisions this year.

30/10/2009, 11:07 PM
Congratulations to Bohs. No side deserves it when losing so many leads at home, but that really was the most smash and grab of the lot.

Pats or Sligo...Pats or Sligo..should field a reserve side next week, I think. In fact another 5-0 might be in order.

dong
30/10/2009, 11:23 PM
Congratulations to Bohs. No side deserves it when losing so many leads at home, but that really was the most smash and grab of the lot.

Pats or Sligo...Pats or Sligo..should field a reserve side next week, I think. In fact another 5-0 might be in order.

Wouldn't blame O'Neill if he did.
Although we may never have got a point from the game anyways I believe it wasn't right to put out the team we did. From our own point of view as well as yours.
Just my opinion.

sonofstan
30/10/2009, 11:25 PM
Wouldn't blame O'Neill if he did.
Although we may never have got a point from the game anyways I believe it wasn't right to put out the team we did. From our own point of view as well as yours.
Just my opinion.

Doesn't matter. Wickla had to beat Galway even if you put out the under 12s.

dong
30/10/2009, 11:31 PM
Doesn't matter. Wickla had to beat Galway even if you put out the under 12s.

More from our own point of view. No excuse for us not putting out a competitive side in my view.
Glad Bohs won the league though. Play some lovely stuff at times and showed their class in the last few games when it mattered.

30/10/2009, 11:40 PM
My god that game in Tolka tonight nearly gave me a heart attack! Unbelievable stuff, definitely the most exciting game of football I've ever been at! What a result!:D

31/10/2009, 12:01 AM
Best day for a pats fan in a long, long while

Win, and for the first time this season, win after going a goal down

Shels score 4, but still lose and are stopped gaining automatic promotion

Oh and it looks very much like Rovers won't win the league in Inchicore (while we get relegated)

Its pretty sad that this is the best footnalling day for me in months...

Lamper.sffc
31/10/2009, 12:17 AM
Congrats UCD. The league never lies. At the start of the season ourselves and shels where arguing over who had the biggest M*CKY:o. Well now we know, it was UCD:). All the best for next season. Hope yous do yourselves justice.

Bring on the playoffs. How big will that be:D

LeixlipRed
31/10/2009, 12:27 AM
Congrats UCD. The league never lies. At the start of the season ourselves and shels where arguing over who had the biggest M*CKY:o. Well now we know, it was UCD:). All the best for next season. Hope yous do yourselves justice.

It'll be huge. For us that is. Unless you want to invite some Sligo fans on a date before the cup final?

Lamper.sffc
31/10/2009, 1:09 AM
It'll be huge. For us that is. Unless you want to invite some Sligo fans on a date before the cup final?

Is that the cup final that we made it to? The one in Tallaght? The one against Sligo? The final that is on the 22nd of November? The one that kicks off at 3pm? The first in our history? The one shels didnt make it to? Have nt really being thinking about it:)

To be honest. Sligo who? (no offense) The game against Shels is the biggest game of the season. Who cares about seating allocation in the final, now that we know its Shels against Sporting Fingal in the playoffs, this is the game im looking forward to most. BRING IT ON

VinnyDCFC
31/10/2009, 1:13 AM
Congratulations Bohs

Hard luck Bray

Some footage from tonight at Derry but it's all about Pizza Hutton, no game coverage sorry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9iv6Hzm6O0

Angus
31/10/2009, 1:44 AM

Thanks lads for the kind words.

We have just finished up in the Montrose and we feel great !!!

Thanks again - we really enjoyed the season (natch) but really appreciate the kind things you have said about our side - hopefully we carried ourselves on and off the pitch with appropriate decorum

31/10/2009, 1:50 AM
Congrats UCD. The league never lies. At the start of the season ourselves and shels where arguing over who had the biggest M*CKY:o. Well now we know, it was UCD

Have to disagree with you there, Shels and Fingal have bigger d!cks, but UCD have used theirs better this season. It's not what you've got, but how you use it, that counts ;)

Although in the Premier, it seems to be very much the lads with the big ones who are at the top.. even if they've got dodgy penis implants.

Thanks to all of those offering sympathies to Bray, hopefully we'll be back and better than ever :ball:

Congratulations to UCD and Bohemians. I used to have a slight dislike of UCD, but after seeing so many clubs eff up financially I have plenty of respect and admiration for the ship they run. Good luck in the premier next year!

31/10/2009, 2:37 AM
Brilliant night, consummate performance from us and increasingly bizarre goal updates from Tolka. At 4-2, I was starting to think that there some conspiracy going to send us bull**** updates!

Argh. I'm on the edge of my seat here. Come on Longford!I don't know if it was better or worse getting those updates behind the stand in Athlone!

Or the streets of Fair City ... again. Well done the Jesuits.Hmm, tempted to make a trip over to RTE after next weekend's game. :D

OneForTheFuture
31/10/2009, 9:00 AM
Well Done to UCD and Bohs on their achievments this season....

placid casual
31/10/2009, 9:51 AM
I think the stone roses said it best, when they said...

Kiss me where the sun don't shine
The past was yours
But the future's mine
You're all out of time

Youths4Ever
31/10/2009, 10:19 AM
Monaghan United v Wexford Youths match is OFF.

Player of the Year event still going ahead.

Absolute disgrace game was off. Rogers inspected the pitch in the dark. The lights had gone out and the ESB where fixing the lights. Lights back on 5 mins after ref inspected pitch.

Rogers also asked by both teams (who thought pitch playable) to reinspect after half an hour but refused. A match delegate also wanted the pitch reinspected and from what told even tried to ring Rogers to come back who had left the ground.

If the game was in doubt Rogers should have been in ground earlier to call off the game. There was a bus from Wexford plus others who travelled and Monaghan expecting there biggest crowd of the season with there awards on.

Do all 4 match officials have to be in attendance to call off a game as only 3 at ground?

Thanks do to the Monaghan officials and players who where very generous and let us have a couple of drinks before we had to turn around and go home

KUFCMan
31/10/2009, 10:26 AM
When will the game be played?

Youths4Ever
31/10/2009, 10:42 AM
When will the game be played?

looking like Wednesday only available day have heard for sure yet

WoodquayBoy
31/10/2009, 10:47 AM
Congrats to Bohs and to UCD, and commiserations to Bray, and in a way to Drogheda, who are definitely in the play-offs.
Surprised at Paul Cook's team selection, with us taking a point and Pats winning, they are really back in the mix now. Should be interesting next week, all 3 play-off possibilities (United, Sligo and Pats) are at home - anyone know if RTE is covering a game next week? Perhaps one of these with cameras at other 2 to cut over to? No, thought not

passerrby
31/10/2009, 10:53 AM
have to agreed with youth4ever a unbelievable piece of officialdom ,ref arrives walks out on to a pitch calls game off without seeing pitch as he enters his dressing room the lights come on and is asked to carry out a proper inspection and he refuses.this is at 0635 and it had stopped raining at 5 pitch was drying nicely warmups were to be done on astro pitch and no surface water visable.what an Arse, ruined a great night.
well done UCD you deserved it

CSFShels
31/10/2009, 12:36 PM
Think Sligo deserve to go down now after that. Probably have enough to stay up though.

31/10/2009, 1:16 PM
Anyone know if RTE is covering a game next week? Perhaps one of these with cameras at other 2 to cut over to? No, thought not

I would have thought they will be covering Bray v Bohemians

31/10/2009, 1:19 PM
I can understand why but they should be covering the matches with something riding on it, i.e. the play-off contenders.

31/10/2009, 1:58 PM
Unbefrigginglievabubble.

Almost all the Shels-Longford goals went in while our game wasn't on too; it was 2-0 at half-time, and 3-2 coming out, and then it was 4-2 when our game was over. Sheer madness at the end as everyone hung around afterwards getting (sometimes conflicting) goal reports. Couldn't believe what was happening in Tolka. With our game kicking off 15 minutes earlier than Shels', all our players were in the showers (listening to the match on speaker phone) when the title was confirmed. Anyone playing in Athlone again just be warned that several UCD players were doing belly flops on the pitch wearing only a towel/boxers. :p

About 40 UCD fans in Athlone last night; ended up with us all in the stand for mutual applause and songs between us and the players. Wish we could get that kind of crowd every away game. :(

2:30am in the Montrose will pale in comparison to next week when we get the trophy. I just hope you can drink out of it!

I think Martin Russell deserves huge praise for the way he's got the team playing; nice ball and an unbelievable team spirit; everyone playing for everyone else. The signing of Paul Corry was massive too; he turned down Burnley to join us, and we've dropped two points in the eight games he's started.

Commiserations to Shels. I know my views on Shels are well known, but I've grown a grudging respect for them over the season. I always said I never wanted to see them die, just to go back to their normal level, and now that they're more or less there, it's easier to appreciate the efforts and support of their fans. Hopefully they beat Fingal in the play-offs, and then I can enjoy a win-win play-off final. :)

Also, hopefully this spells the end of Dermot Keely's time in management in the league. Outdated, brutish tactics; the league has fortunately moved on.

Oh, and well done Bohs, and hard luck to Rovers. Amazing run by Rovers, but I think the future is theirs.

Hibs4Ever
31/10/2009, 4:09 PM
Think Sligo deserve to go down now after that. Probably have enough to stay up though.

Saints v Shamrock is the live game apparently

GalwayRed
31/10/2009, 8:16 PM
Also, hopefully this spells the end of Dermot Keely's time in management in the league. Outdated, brutish tactics; the league has fortunately moved on.
I think it was always his plan to leave at the end of this season regardless. I appreciate everything he has done for the club though. He took on a job nobody else would touch in 2007 and nearly had us promoted in 2 years. But some of his tactics this season have been unforgivable. We quite possibly had the best midfield in the division and they were being bypassed by playing hoof ball. I think its time to move on.
Also ill be staying well away from this site after the play off. Fingal are going to hammer us.:(

gufc2000
31/10/2009, 8:19 PM
Waterford 2-0 Kildare FT
Muarry 74
Sullivan 87

blue til i die
31/10/2009, 9:07 PM
Waterford 2-0 Kildare FT
Muarry 74
Sullivan 87

Should have been 28-0!! :eek:

31/10/2009, 10:50 PM

Why do we deserve to go down when we put out a half reserve team and were beaten by the champions??

christo
31/10/2009, 10:53 PM
Should have been 28-0!! :eek:

More like 28-1

I think without Darren Kelly coming in mid season we would have conceded at least 250 goals instead of our "respectable" 80

CSFShels
31/10/2009, 11:38 PM
Why do we deserve to go down when we put out a half reserve team and were beaten by the champions??
Putting out a half reserve team while in a relegation battle. Simple really.

31/10/2009, 11:46 PM
Sligo will survive.

The excitement of the big match with Fingal now CSFShels, surely such a big club wont slip up again?

CSFShels
01/11/2009, 12:05 AM
Sligo will survive.

The excitement of the big match with Fingal now CSFShels, surely such a big club wont slip up again?
Probably will, amn't confident. Hopefully we can put the recent ****ness behind us.

01/11/2009, 12:05 AM
Putting out a half reserve team while in a relegation battle. Simple really.

We should'nt have done it. I agree. Chances are Bohs would have beaten us anyway.

Rovers Maniac
01/11/2009, 12:27 AM
We should'nt have done it. I agree. Chances are Bohs would have beaten us anyway.

We were dead right who the hell cares about us only ourselves, look at the allocation we got from the FAI it's a joke, they have shown what they think of us. When people don't care about us you have to look after yourself, thats what Cook was doing last night, spot on as we were probably getting nothing of Bohs anyway and we have fresh players for the Drogs match and avoided any further suspensions for the cup final.