View Full Version : Plan of campaign to get the additional bucket seats fitted

sligobhoy67
29/10/2009, 6:42 PM
Can some bright spark put a list of telephone numbers and email addresses for those at the following organisations so we can bombard these feckers and create as much noise as possible to get the extra seats in!

Sligo Rovers
Sporting Fingal
Sligo Corpo
Sligo Champion
Sligo Post
Sligo Weekender
Local councillors
Local TDs
RTE
CIA
C3P0 etc etc

29/10/2009, 6:44 PM
Mayor of Sligo, Jimmy McGarry:

Tel:
Office: 071 9157347
Mobile: 086-6007575

Email:
mcgarryjim AT eircom.net

He should be able to sort whatever;)

sligobhoy67
29/10/2009, 7:21 PM
Great idea. Start a thread to get someone else to do something. The forum way!

eh no ya tit - I am showing a bit of initiative and getting the ball rolling. I dont know all the contact details of every political and media contact in Ireland but maybe others know some so instead of whinging maybe you use you time productively and help out!

Rovers Maniac
29/10/2009, 7:22 PM
For what its worth i have sent in an email. I still am shaking my head at 2,500 of an allocation, why play the game in Tallaght if they did not want the extra expense of putting in extra seats? Why do they continue to do things so wrong, they are incapable of doing the right thing.

BTW my email is great so i would expect an announcement at approx 9:05 tomorrow morning about the bucket seats. :p

rob mcdonald
29/10/2009, 7:31 PM
Get onto MNS as well national attention and the lads were at the game last week.

sligobhoy67
29/10/2009, 7:35 PM
offtheball@newstalk.ie
fran.gavin@fai.ie
noel.mooney@fai.ie

Only1Rovers
29/10/2009, 8:01 PM
Can some bright spark put a list of telephone numbers and email addresses for those at the following organisations so we can bombard these feckers and create as much noise as possible to get the extra seats in!

Sligo Rovers
Sporting Fingal
Sligo Corpo
Sligo Champion
Sligo Post
Sligo Weekender
Local councillors
Local TDs
RTE
CIA
C3P0 etc etc

Most, if not all these contact details are a google away.....

unclekev
29/10/2009, 8:04 PM
What about dbrannigan@gmail.com. Thats your man.

Rovers Maniac
29/10/2009, 9:39 PM
Does anybody have the 'bull' McSharry's email address?

CF1989
29/10/2009, 9:43 PM
hopefully tom the gom will email delaney in the morning

RoversInn
29/10/2009, 10:09 PM
I know its short notice but maybe a banner for the Bohs game?

life long red
30/10/2009, 10:43 AM

Sligo Rovers
Sporting Fingal
Sligo Corpo
Sligo Champion
Sligo Post
Sligo Weekender
Local councillors
Local TDs
RTE
CIA
C3P0 etc etc

What about the main sponsors (FORD) surely in their best interests to have the fullest Stadium and best atmosphere posssible - what about Arena naming rights ( Escort bucket Stand, Fiesta Party End:D) Anyone got their email address? Money don't talk it swears.:eek:

akearins
30/10/2009, 10:44 AM
http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/cupfinaltickets/index.html

SRFC2009
30/10/2009, 11:26 AM
Hi folks...

could we circulate information about the petition on the radio/other forums etc? I just come across it here, and have linked it to my work email.... and hence forwarded it to about 1500 staff (dont tell the boss)...I will also link it to Boards.ie......... the more publicity this petition gets the more sigs we will get...

TELL EVERYONE!!!!!!!!

sligobhoy67
30/10/2009, 11:41 AM
http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/cupfinaltickets/index.html

Beat me to it Al!

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/2009FAICupFinalTickets/

I will have a facebook page organised tonight and will a link!

sligobhoy67
30/10/2009, 12:11 PM
I see that Dr Jimmy Devins has official come out and stated that he supports the campaign.

Does anyone know what other people is "positions of power" are willing to put there name to it?

Also anyone good with photoshop and the like that could dream up some sort of logo?

Jeebus
30/10/2009, 2:17 PM

Beat me to it Al!

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/2009FAICupFinalTickets/

I will have a facebook page organised tonight and will a link!

Get the Huddleboard involved, they are always great for rigging votes/backing causes!! ;) :D

sligobhoy67
30/10/2009, 2:58 PM
Get the Huddleboard involved, they are always great for rigging votes/backing causes!! ;) :D

how very dare you! (will do! ;))

Jeebus
30/10/2009, 3:16 PM
Go on Glasgow!

Shut up Bawjaw! ;)

sligobhoy67
30/10/2009, 7:56 PM
Facebook page up and running! (http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=198718276137#/group.php?gid=198718276137)

Please feel free to leave a message or start a topic and then spread it on to all your friends!

hoops1
30/10/2009, 10:34 PM
There were rows of bucket seats on the ground behind the goals tonight

sligofan4ever
31/10/2009, 12:39 AM
There were rows of bucket seats on the ground behind the goals tonight

Heres hoping the FAI use their brains (well, the monkeys working the controls) and keep them their.

01/11/2009, 11:55 AM
Not that i'd say he'll give a damn, but Martin Cullen, the minister for sport's email is martincullen@dast.gov.ie

Jeebus
03/11/2009, 8:28 AM
Anyone got todays Weekender yet? Whats the 'big news' concerning ticketing for the final?

srfc1928
03/11/2009, 9:22 AM
Anyone got todays Weekender yet? Whats the 'big news' concerning ticketing for the final?
"The capacity of Tallaght stadium is to be increased for the Ford FAI Cup Final between Sligo Rovers and Sporting Fingal the FAI decided yesterday.............. Full details were unavailable at the time of going to press."
Happy days and fair play to the Club :)

red bellied
03/11/2009, 10:07 AM
Bit of confusion here lads, don't think the capacity has been increased just a few more tickets allocated.

red bellied
03/11/2009, 10:15 AM
From Ocean fm

Sligo Rovers Football Club say they are confident of getting an extra allocation of tickets for the forthcoming FAI Cup Final.
However, it’s still not yet clear how many tickets have so far been allocated.
Representatives from the Club met with FAI officials last evening to discuss the ticket allocation for the game on 22nd November against Sporting Fingal.
The Final takes place at Tallaght Stadium, which has a capacity of just 6,000.
The Club say they have high hopes of having more tickets than had been expected.* Unofficial reports last week suggested the allocation would be 2,500, which local supporters say is not near enough.
*The Club have indicated that Season Ticket holders, members of the Johnny Chaddah Fund and the 400 Club members will get preference when the tickets are being allocated.
The remainder will go on sale before the final league game of the season at the Showgrounds, against Drogheda United, on a first-come first-served basis.

sligobhoy67
03/11/2009, 11:06 AM
From Ocean fm

Sligo Rovers Football Club say they are confident of getting an extra allocation of tickets for the forthcoming FAI Cup Final.
However, it’s still not yet clear how many tickets have so far been allocated.
Representatives from the Club met with FAI officials last evening to discuss the ticket allocation for the game on 22nd November against Sporting Fingal.
The Final takes place at Tallaght Stadium, which has a capacity of just 6,000.
The Club say they have high hopes of having more tickets than had been expected.* Unofficial reports last week suggested the allocation would be 2,500, which local supporters say is not near enough.
*The Club have indicated that Season Ticket holders, members of the Johnny Chaddah Fund and the 400 Club members will get preference when the tickets are being allocated.
The remainder will go on sale before the final league game of the season at the Showgrounds, against Drogheda United, on a first-come first-served basis.

thats simply not good enough to be honest.

What we need is a straight answer from both the FAI and Sligo Rovers to this question - "in the event that there is an over subscription to the Sligo Rovers allocation of tickets what provision is in place to increase the capacity of the stadium in line with the capacity provided at the Shamrock Rovers v Real Madrid game?"

Jeebus
03/11/2009, 11:24 AM
Fingal got approx 2000 tickets:

http://www.fingal-independent.ie/sport/soccer/cup-final-tickets-on-sale-1932182.html

SPORTING were last night allocated approximately 2,000 tickets for the FAI Ford Cup final on November 22 against Sligo Rovers at Tallaght Stadium.

Part of that allocation will comprise a limited number of tickets for children. Tickets are priced at e25 for an adult in the covered stand, e20 for an adult in an uncovered stand and a discounted price for a child of e10.

'Due to restrictions in capacity at Tallaght Stadium and demand for tickets from Sligo Rovers, we would advise our supporters to arrange their tickets as soon as possible, ideally this week,' he said.

CF1989
03/11/2009, 11:31 AM
is the newer stand in Tallaght covered? if not then that statement hints at extra uncovered seating, behind the goals maybe

Jeebus
03/11/2009, 11:36 AM
is the newer stand in Tallaght covered? if not then that statement hints at extra uncovered seating, behind the goals maybe

I actually never spotted the bit about uncovered seats. Yea, both stands are covered. Hopefully it does mean extra seats being put in

dong
03/11/2009, 2:11 PM
Jaysus, I hope we sell them all now!:o
4,500 seems about right I'd say. Happy enough.

sligobhoy67
03/11/2009, 6:23 PM
Jaysus, I hope we sell them all now!:o
4,500 seems about right I'd say. Happy enough.

not even near enough - we brought nearer 10,000 to the 94 final

red arrow
03/11/2009, 8:37 PM
if we sell our 4500 allocation quickly i am lead to believe that the fai will issue more tickets, so really it is up to the sligo public to snap them up as quick as possible & then we will get more. so basically the onus is on the sligo public to put their money where their mouth is. (no offence intended just a word phrase). it take approx 1 week to put in extra seating so really we would need to take up on our allocation very quickly. tickets will more than likely be on sale night of drogheda game (fri 6th) and if all sold that night then we more or less will probably get a further allocation to avail off wk commencing monday 9th november. thats how i see it . might not be totally correct but the club would need to be very clear in its delivery of the correct message to the general public..