View Full Version : RIP eirebhoy

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

jaykay
29/10/2009, 3:05 PM
[MOD EDIT: Please post condolences on eirebhoy's profile (http://foot.ie/forums/member.php?u=2096).]

Hi,

I just saw on boards.ie that the guy with the username eirebhoy is Gearóid Walsh, who is in hospital in sydney. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=2055724292

Is this the same Eirebhoy as on here? If so, best wishes to you and all your family mate.

29/10/2009, 3:07 PM
Hey Folks,

Most of you will know eirebhoy http://foot.ie/forums/member.php?u=2096 from posting in here. I saw a thread on the other big Irish forum about him this afternoon and read thatd that he is in critical condition in a hospital in Sydney, following an attack. I checked with a prominent member of that forum, and its the same eirebhoy from both forums.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1029/sydney.html

I've never met Gearóid, but I've enjoyed any of the posts he contributes on here, his posts on here are always civil, knowledgable and he doesn't get involved in many slagging matches. Always comes across as a top bloke.

I hope he pulls through this.

I just thought I'd start this thread so he can read it when he gets better, know that we were all thinking of him.

As someone smarter than me said, I'd prefer if we could leave it to Best Wishes, and don't start ranting about the person who attacked him. Leave that for other parts of foot.ie.

Get well soon eirebhoy.

29/10/2009, 3:13 PM
Get well soon Gearoid.

Leeside Swagger
29/10/2009, 3:13 PM
Hope he makes a swift recovery.

Dr. Ogba
29/10/2009, 3:24 PM
Jesus I was just reading about this today.

Best wishes EB, get well soon mate....would echo everything everything Kingdom's said, seems like a very knowledgable and decent chap

29/10/2009, 3:25 PM
Shocking news, I hope he makes it through.

irishultra
29/10/2009, 3:25 PM
:( please get better. a great poster. i was just wondering where he was since he hadn't posted on either forum for ages.

livehead1
29/10/2009, 3:30 PM
Get well soon EireBhoy

Junior
29/10/2009, 3:32 PM
Jesus. I was only wondering what had happened to EB as I hadnt seen any posts of his for a while. Then I spotted an old post that referred to him being in OZ.

I then heard the report of the attack on Radio Eireann this morning.

Crazy - you'd never put the two together.

Great poster on this site, full of help and advice and bloody annoying with his stats to back up his every argument:)

I hope he pulls through ok.

EDIT: By the way that Smiley is not meant to be in the title of this post but I cant get rid of it - Im sure EB would find it funny tho!!

29/10/2009, 3:32 PM
I only know eirebhoy from his posts here but he comes across as an absolute gentleman and decent soul.

Hope you make a speedy and full recovery.

My thoughts are with you.

29/10/2009, 3:35 PM
:( please get better. a great poster. i was just wondering where he was since he hadn't posted on either forum for ages.

I had been thinking the same thing just yesterday - the EPL Thread was strangely silent of late.

Best wished for a speedy recovery to Gearoid:

http://dynimg.rte.ie/0002b61910dr.jpg

29/10/2009, 3:35 PM
Holy crap, hope he's on the mend! Get well soon Gearóid!

29/10/2009, 3:36 PM
He was just saying he had moved to australia and couldn't beleive he wouldn't be around for the france game. he was saying he never had time to post now in the last while. Always seemed a fairly knowledgeable fella and never got into the slagging matches or any of that stuff. Even if is love for celtic was a bit irrational :D. Never realised he was so young.

Hope go God he is ok, fair play on posting this kingdom, it was a shock when i saw this and realised. :( ill definitely keep him in my prayers tonight.

Paulie
29/10/2009, 3:41 PM
Fingers crossed.

DeLorean
29/10/2009, 3:43 PM
Shocking story. Strange having a face (real name) to go with the username. Best wishes and you're in out thoughts EB.

atfconline
29/10/2009, 3:44 PM
A Boardsie and a Footier, all the best man.

29/10/2009, 3:45 PM
Jesus, that doesn't sound good. Hope he pulls through.

Read the story on the Aertel this morning. Needless to say, assumed it wasn't someone I (virtually) knew. Small world at times.

29/10/2009, 3:46 PM
I hope he'll be okay.

I usually keep an eye out for his posts - level headed and informative, which can be rare enough online.

Yard of Pace
29/10/2009, 3:51 PM
Great poster. Get well soon!

29/10/2009, 3:53 PM
Poor fella,hope he gets well.

This is happening too frequently everywhere.:mad:

Razors left peg
29/10/2009, 3:54 PM
just heard about it on the radio about an hour ago, best wishes mate, hope ya pull through

Noelys Guitar
29/10/2009, 3:58 PM
Jesus Christ. Best of luck Gearoid. Very sad news. Really hope he recovers.

29/10/2009, 3:58 PM
Good luck and get well soon, Eirebhoy, hope you are up and about before too long.

29/10/2009, 3:59 PM
Hope he pulls through , A really exceptional poster , can't think of anyone who is more universally respected

TheBoss
29/10/2009, 4:04 PM
Terrible news, hope he pulls through this.

29/10/2009, 4:14 PM
Best of luck to him.

Crosby87
29/10/2009, 4:20 PM
Horrible news hope he gets better...

Just wondering though, how would anyone know an Irish man atttacked in Australia was a particular poster on a (somewhat obscure) website?

irishultra
29/10/2009, 4:24 PM
he posts on boards.ie and probably knows people irl who post on there as well.

29/10/2009, 4:30 PM
Folks, I'm not sure if this is correct or not, but Eirebhoy who posts on here and some other forums may be the young man that got attacked in Sydney. I came across this at the LSL (http://www.freeforum101.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=22226&mforum=lsl) forum. I do know that he recently moved to Oz as per this post (http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1249732&postcount=316). Hope I'm wrong.

Edit: Just saw the other thread. Move or delete as necessary.

Thanks

SI

Battery Rover
29/10/2009, 4:37 PM
Just after reading through the LSL forum now and reports there are that he has no brain function. Guy says he spoke to his brother.

Hopefully it is false and he pulls through.

Drumcondra 69er
29/10/2009, 4:39 PM
Bloody hell, that's a bit of a shock. Hope you get to read this soon mate, all the best.

Irish_Praha
29/10/2009, 4:39 PM
Truely sad news.
Im sure everyone agrees that this forum just wouldn't be the same without him. Hopefully he'll be posting on here again in the very near future.

Get well soon man.

Closed Account 2
29/10/2009, 4:41 PM
terrible news, sounds like a terrible attack, I hope he gets well soon and my thoughts are with his family and friends.

29/10/2009, 4:42 PM
Just wondering though, how would anyone know an Irish man atttacked in Australia was a particular poster on a (somewhat obscure) website?
Because people know who he is.

Latest news is that he has passed away. Hopefully it's not true and he'll pull through but unlikely if he is on a life support machine. :(

EastTerracer
29/10/2009, 4:47 PM
This is terrible news - I read the story online this morning but obviously without any idea that he might be one of our foot.ie brethern. Hope he pulls through but it sounds as if he is an extremely critical condition.

29/10/2009, 4:57 PM
Thats awful, hope he makes a full recovery.

Greenbod
29/10/2009, 5:02 PM
One of the best, most level-headed posters on here.........sincerely hope some of the last few posts here are not true and he ends up reading and contributing to this thread sometime.

29/10/2009, 5:02 PM
Lads ive heard something about something on the herald. I hope to God he is ok.

ITs weird i didnt know him personally but it still feels like ye know him, but at the same time feel guilty trying to say you know him.

Do ye think we could get a flag sorted for the France game on it with something for him.

irishultra
29/10/2009, 5:07 PM
read that as well :(

i feel sick.

Jon'o
29/10/2009, 5:08 PM
All the best for a speedy recovery

irishultra
29/10/2009, 5:18 PM
boards.ie guy said he died 24 hours ago :(

boovidge
29/10/2009, 5:19 PM
Get well soon, Eirebhoy. Hopefully they catch the guy responsible.

29/10/2009, 5:26 PM
Sad news, best wishes. Get well soon.

thepiedpiper
29/10/2009, 5:34 PM
Know him from the huddleboard and here. Excellent poster and seemed like lovely guy. Sincerely hope he makes a recovery.

29/10/2009, 5:37 PM
Really hoping he pulls through this.

29/10/2009, 5:43 PM
They are reporting on boards that Eirebhoy has passed away.

irishultra
29/10/2009, 5:46 PM
r.i.p

i remember having a great chat with him over a pm discussion when trap was appointed. he was so excited that andy reid steven reid and ireland would be part of a 3 man midfield(trap using the system he used with italy and others)
and the way he used that graphical thing from the guardian site.

since i knew him from here i kind of would follow his posts on boards and i remember him saying how happy he was with life. i was suprised to find out he was going to australia.

Paddy Garcia
29/10/2009, 5:46 PM
Jesus - I hope not - best wishes mate - hope you make a full recovery.

29/10/2009, 5:48 PM
They are reporting on boards that Eirebhoy has passed away.

Oh God, I've only been reading through this thread and hoping there'd be a post about his condition improving. I hope this isn't true. A lovely lad with a great enthusiasm for the game.:(

youngirish
29/10/2009, 6:08 PM
Get well soon Eirebhoy your posts are missed and are one of the true gentlemen on this site.