View Full Version : Cup Final - Date and Venue

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

28/10/2009, 1:16 AM
Like it says - when is the cup final, and is it confirmed where it's being played ?

I'm assuming Tallaght, with just the 2 main stands for it.

GreenStar
28/10/2009, 6:58 AM
FAI Ford Cup Final
Tallaght Stadium
Sunday 22nd November

dong
28/10/2009, 8:00 AM
FAI Ford Cup Final
Tallaght Stadium
Sunday 22nd November

That's it.
I hope that they will arrange enough seats and tickets for Sligo fans. We could possibly bring six thousand ourselves.
Fingal, I'm not so sure. Massive population area but is there much interest in terms of how many would actually go?
I'd hate to think peolple would miss out through lack of seats if the demand is there.
Daniel McDonnell also makes a good point in his article yesterday in the independent that the timing is bad in the week of the French games from a promotional point of view. From a publicity point of view our game will get lost and with it maybe the chance of a good "neutral" turnout.
However, in the main it was a very negative article, focussing almost entirely (with a massive picture which looked terrible) on the attendance in Morton Park at the semi games when our place was packed.

Redie
28/10/2009, 9:37 AM
I really think we would bring 10 thousand to the game if the ground could take them

seand
28/10/2009, 10:57 AM
The Fingal fans better get there early if they want a seat...

Celdrog
28/10/2009, 3:18 PM
Somebody please tell me that Sligo are getting a massive percentage of the tickets........
It should be at least 5 to 1.

The Lep
28/10/2009, 4:20 PM
No.
It should be an even amount with sligo getting first prefrence on any surplus.

MMVIII
28/10/2009, 5:37 PM
Be suicide if temporary seats aren't put in.

28/10/2009, 5:48 PM
No.

You are joking right?

At least 5 to 1 and that's being kind to Fingal.

crc
28/10/2009, 6:20 PM
They should hold it in Croker, give a free ticket to everyone who goes to the French game (or bundle it into the cost) and sell the spare French allocation to the two competing teams.
I bet we still wouldn't even get 15,000 at it :(

CF1989
28/10/2009, 6:31 PM
yeah give fingal 3,000 tickets, when they get about 100 or 200 every week for home games. good one

blackholesun
28/10/2009, 6:37 PM
No.

Agreed, give em 100 tickets each to start with and then let Sligo start eating into the surplus once they have sold their initial 100 tickets. Fingal can start requesting more tickets too, if they get past the 100 mark.

bhs

The Lep
28/10/2009, 6:52 PM
You are joking right?

At least 5 to 1 and that's being kind to Fingal.

You didnt read the part where i said that sligo get any unsold tickets then ?

5--1 sounds like our winning score for the final :)

The Lep
28/10/2009, 6:55 PM
yeah give fingal 3,000 tickets, when they get about 100 or 200 every week for home games. good one

You dont read the attendance thread do you or are you just posting random figures for the purpose of a wind up?

dong
28/10/2009, 7:04 PM
You dont read the attendance thread do you or are you just posting random figures for the purpose of a wind up?
53, 75, 111, 90, 32
More like it?

The Lep
28/10/2009, 7:29 PM
Well done, do i get free prawn crackers with that?

28/10/2009, 8:03 PM
You dont read the attendance thread do you ?

In fairness, i doubt CF or any of us are missing much.

The Lep
28/10/2009, 8:05 PM
True :)

BillytheFin
28/10/2009, 8:12 PM
FAI Ford Cup Final
Tallaght Stadium
Sunday 22nd November
3 o'clock k.o.

srfc1928
28/10/2009, 9:27 PM
We have the potential to bring a very big crowd with us. But the FAI need to come out as soon as possible and clarify how many tickets will be available. If the capacity is to be increased its time to start marketing it, and get as many people to the game as possible, we will sell it out given the right amount of time. There is no point announcing an increased capacity a week before the game. if the capacity is only 6,000 they had better say it soon also so the clubs can set up a fair system for fans to buy tickets

Fabrizio
28/10/2009, 10:09 PM
chances are the capacity will be 6,000, and i could see Sligo being able to fulfil that alone. I dont understand why the FAI dont add an extra 4,000 seats and promote this game heavily and try and push it near the 10 mark rather than settling for 6.

I think it says it all about the FAI, and where there priorities lie. I heard from someone in the FAI that in the past they have over-estimated the attendances in previous cup finals and because of this they are preparing for 6. I think Sligo could bring about 6,000, Fingal about 1,000 and neutrals around 1,200 so i think 8,500 would be sufficient, the fact it is on a Sunday doesnt help and the price of the tickets will also be a factor.

Will be a great occasion however.

CF1989
29/10/2009, 1:03 AM
if its half and half split, with any surplus going back to us then theres no tickets for neutrals. im sure alot of shams fans would like to go to their home ground and see the first major final there. and you'd get alot of neutrals. its an absolute joke if the FAI dont arrange the extra seating for it. we could quite easily get 6000 alone for it

CF1989
29/10/2009, 1:04 AM

well i know im not very far off anyway. there was around 20 fans for the league cup 1/4 final

redobit
29/10/2009, 8:53 AM
I'm sure they are working hard on this but the FAI need to get the tickets out TODAY, then we can gauge the interest and see if extra seats are a good idea.

L.T.F.C.
29/10/2009, 9:30 AM
They should hold it in Croker, give a free ticket to everyone who goes to the French game (or bundle it into the cost) and sell the spare French allocation to the two competing teams.
I bet we still wouldn't even get 15,000 at it :(

what? are you raving!? i thought it would be a great idea if Longford got in the final the year they opened croke park, and they did, but bringing ten to fifteen thousand to a place that holds eighty k would be a big mistake. silence and awkwardness would be the main part of the atmosphere.

CF1989
29/10/2009, 10:36 AM
word in sligo today is that we're only getting 2500 tickets. unbelievable

the FAI can f**k off if this is true

29/10/2009, 12:36 PM
We're getting only 2500 tickets.

I've seen more in the Showgrounds for league games this season ffs.

29/10/2009, 12:38 PM
It's a ground that holds 6000... 2500 isn't a bad allocation. Sell those and you'll undoubtedly get more.

29/10/2009, 12:47 PM
. Sell those and you'll undoubtedly get more.

Wouldn't be so sure:(

sligofan4ever
29/10/2009, 12:50 PM
It's a ground that holds 6000... 2500 isn't a bad allocation. Sell those and you'll undoubtedly get more.

Too us thats its pretty much a joke. If only the FAI realised that our fans alone would sell out Tallaght and we had a massive semi final crowd, was that not proof enough ?. The FAI go on about attracting new fans, but now they may be ruining a visit to a Cup Final for many regular fans AND potential new supporters from Sligo.

LeixlipRed
29/10/2009, 12:58 PM
Fingal will sell 2500 as well sure. Or have to give them away free. I always get those two confused.

29/10/2009, 1:02 PM
Firstly, it should be a proportionate split based on attendances (which the FAI have obviously, because it's part of licencing for them to be submitted).

However, I know if I were looking for tickets as a neutral, or as dublin based sligwegian it surely wouldn't be that hard to get!?!

CF1989
29/10/2009, 1:12 PM
any rovers fans who dont have a ticket when the rovers allocation sells out just go and buy them off sporting! there'll be plenty left over from them

sligofan4ever
29/10/2009, 1:25 PM
any rovers fans who dont have a ticket when the rovers allocation sells out just go and buy them off sporting! there'll be plenty left over from them

I wouldn't count on it. I'm sure both Fingal fans will have their tickets snapped up in no time.

The Lep
29/10/2009, 1:31 PM
It will be very quiet on here on the 23rd :)

29/10/2009, 1:32 PM
It will be very quiet on here on the 23rd :)

Yes, we shall be very very drunk.

sligofan4ever
29/10/2009, 1:56 PM

Theres a decent chance the after match celebrations if we win will be adapted to the Big Screen, this film will be a sequel to The Hangover, only this time its not in Las Vegas, and as opposed to having a run in with Mike Tyson, the lads will have a run in with Tallaght's own, Robbie Keane.

fionnsci
29/10/2009, 2:13 PM
Don't know wht they couldn't just have had it in the RDS again.....

Bigger capacity, closer to town....it's not as if they don't have to rent out
Tallaght.

Lamper.sffc
29/10/2009, 2:13 PM
Fingal will sell 2500 as well sure. Or have to give them away free. I always get those two confused.

Sorry do you mind. This is a thread about the FAI cup final. I fail to see what it has to do with you:p. Bye bye now.

29/10/2009, 2:17 PM
Sorry do you mind. This is a thread about the FAI cup final. I fail to see what it has to do with you:p. Bye bye now.

Doesn't stop Fingal fans posting in the "Who's going to win the First Division" thread.

Lamper.sffc
29/10/2009, 2:23 PM
Lets stop all the over exagerations.

Sligo will bring a lot more than us. FACT

They deserve a larger amount of tickets. FACT

We will bring between 1000 to 1500 supporters of Fingal, some of which will be seeing Fingal for the first time. FACT

If we do not sell what ever amount of tickets we get, they should go to sligo.

If demand is greater than expected. Tempory seats should be erected with the vast majority of seats going to sligo if the demand is there.

There will be no tickets sold to Shels fans because they didnt make it. FACT.:p

celticV3
29/10/2009, 2:37 PM
Fact is we could sell out tallaght ourselves, so why not put temporary stands in on at least one side of the pitch?

Lamper.sffc
29/10/2009, 3:04 PM
Fact is we could sell out tallaght ourselves, so why not put temporary stands in on at least one side of the pitch?

No argument here. If yous think there would be enough of yous then I dont see why it shouldnt be done.

The Lep
29/10/2009, 3:13 PM

I drink sometimes to forget as well.:D

The Lep
29/10/2009, 3:16 PM
The final was to be tallaght well before we knew who was in the final so what if the final had been between Bohs and Rovers? That would have been a dream final for the fai and could have broken a final attendance record.
Would it have been fair for a team to have home advantage in the final?

1895ringsend
29/10/2009, 3:35 PM
There will be no tickets sold to Shels fans because they didnt make it. FACT.:p

Hey now:DWe've been in a enough finals down the years. Most i'd like to forget. Have'nt been in one in 9 years mind. You lot were'nt even an idea then never mind a football club;)

LeixlipRed
29/10/2009, 4:07 PM
The final was to be tallaght well before we knew who was in the final so what if the final had been between Bohs and Rovers? That would have been a dream final for the fai and could have broken a final attendance record.
Would it have been fair for a team to have home advantage in the final?

See, if you'd been around more than 2 seasons you'd know that Cup finals have often not been held at neutral venues.

29/10/2009, 5:23 PM
Doesn't stop Fingal fans posting in the "Who's going to win the First Division" thread.

Ah, that could have worked using the "Attendances" thread as a punchline too. :p

celticV3
29/10/2009, 5:25 PM
What do neutral teams make of this?

The Lep
29/10/2009, 5:29 PM
See, if you'd been around more than 2 seasons you'd know that Cup finals have often not been held at neutral venues.

The league cup ye but its neutral now but what if rovers had made the final? Has it happened before?

And im around longer than the team i support so that nutmeg doesnt work.