View Full Version : Bohs Away Friday

Pages : 1 [2] 3

The Betting Man
30/10/2009, 8:54 AM
Just a quick post to advise admission prices for this game will be €15. Official website has been updated.
Apologies for the confusion.

CF1989
30/10/2009, 11:12 AM
Pele's suspended for this one.

:( genuinly gutted

red_away
30/10/2009, 11:29 AM
Yo DSC,

is it the HUT as usual?

5pm?

Jeebus
30/10/2009, 11:34 AM
Yo DSC,

is it the HUT as usual?

5pm?

Yo Mo Fo. T'is indeed, but more closer to 6pm. There was a thread on here somewhere. I hear you are over for it, Dublinred is allowed out cause of you! :D

thesilverfox
30/10/2009, 5:40 PM
Heard that Schlingerman is starting. Dont know if Kelly is injured or rested. Raf and Peers rested as well.

sligofan4ever
30/10/2009, 6:09 PM
Sligo Rovers:
Schlingermann
Boco
Camano
Keane
Kendrick
Meenan
O'Grady
Ryan
Marshall
Turner
Doyle

Bench:
Blinkhorn
Cash
Cretaro
Rafter
Peers

Can see us getting a draw.

RoversInn
30/10/2009, 6:12 PM
No Keeper on the Bench

sligofan4ever
30/10/2009, 6:15 PM
No Keeper on the Bench

Your wrong there my friend as Raf once played as a 'keeper for us.

ItaC
30/10/2009, 7:01 PM
2-0 down already...anyone else shouting at the t.v. as much as I am?!:(

Shiba
30/10/2009, 7:37 PM
2-0 down already...anyone else shouting at the t.v. as much as I am?!:(

Dont think we have to worry to much! One in the face of shams! we were cheat against shams at Showgrounds so payback for "Bigmouth,ONeill". We need a point to be safe.Dont think Drogs will try too hard next week them in the playoffs eitherway so wont risk injury.If we needed these points we would see a different Sligo rovers out there.Great to be in this position after season we had!

ItaC
30/10/2009, 7:48 PM
true enough Shiba, but after our recent good run, it'd be lovely to leave Dalymount with at a point and know that we don't have to rely on next weeks result and results around us.:)
3-1 thanks to Marshall....it'd be nice to bring it to 3-2, or even 3-3..:D

Shiba
30/10/2009, 8:09 PM
true enough Shiba, but after our recent good run, it'd be lovely to leave Dalymount with at a point and know that we don't have to rely on next weeks result and results around us.:)
3-1 thanks to Marshall....it'd be nice to bring it to 3-2, or even 3-3..:D

Too many changes in the team tonight to be effective IMO! Next weeks game is more important.

shedhead
30/10/2009, 8:22 PM
Were in trouble. We need Drogheda to score badly, and Shams also. If there is nothing to play for next week in the Shams v Pats game it will make it even harder for us. We are no way out of the woods.

Shiba
30/10/2009, 8:32 PM
Were in trouble. We need Drogheda to score badly, and Shams also. If there is nothing to play for next week in the Shams v Pats game it will make it even harder for us. We are no way out of the woods.

Drogs have nothing to play for either so I think we will get the point we need!

Shiba
30/10/2009, 8:47 PM
OH! Sh*t..... pats won! Now we need to get 3 points I missed calculated......But still we can do it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

30/10/2009, 8:49 PM
Quote from Michael O'Neill after the game in The Showgies...........

It doesn't matter whether it was a corner or not, you still have to defend it.

Quote from Avvenalaf after tonight's games.............

It doesn't matter what team Sligo put out, you still have to beat Galway, even if they only have ten men for last 30 minutes.

dong
30/10/2009, 9:24 PM
Sligo Rovers:
Schlingermann
Boco
Camano
Keane
Kendrick
Meenan
O'Grady
Ryan
Marshall
Turner
Doyle

I know it's easy in hindsight but this starting eleven is baffling for a game of such importance.
Why not even bring on Blinkhorn or Cretaro? People will say Cretaro was carrying a knock but if he was on the bench he must have been good for ten minutes at the end to chase a point.

Brian Boru
30/10/2009, 9:24 PM
I think we must go all out for a win. We are capable. If we lose and Shams lose Galway will be home and dry. Moreover, Shams will have nothing to play for and Pats will beat them in the last game of the season. We could draw against Drogheda and suddenly we'd be in the playoffs.

If we go all out for the win we'll draw at least and that would be satisfactory. In the grander scheme of things this is as important as the cup final!

We didn't play to win. We didn't play our best team. Drogheda will want to beat us to give them the psychological edge prior to our probable play off meeting. Pats will beat Shams.

Our approach to the game was all wrong.

rovers100%
30/10/2009, 9:35 PM
im baffled by the decision to not to compete in tonights game(thats what happened by team selection) if we could have somehow snuck a win we would be safe now and not be going into a huge game next week. do you honestly think shams will put out a good side against pats after us putting out a wekened team now !!!! not a chance. so odds are pats will win and drogs gonna give us a real go to get a physological edge as someone said. all i can say is cooks decision better come off by us being refreshed friday nite and beating drogs. i honestly think at home we will be too good for them but we seen a few times this year we are not the best team under pressure. cant wait for friday nite hope we again have a full house. the fai emailed me back today to say there was 3200 at semi not the figure of 4500 as i quoted !!! i still fear they couldnt even get the figure right to be honest....... the long and short is bring on drogs we are doing it the hard year all way so nothing new for next friday. come on the bit o red

red bellied
30/10/2009, 9:38 PM
Supporters questioning Cook over his team selection at half time and he reacts by cat calling. I missed this has I retired to one of the bars.

30/10/2009, 9:38 PM
What was the point in playing our best team against the best team in the country and getting beat/injured/yellowcarded. Drogheda are the second worst team I've seen this season and we should have them out of the way by half time next week. I'd be far more worried about Sporting Fingal, TBH. They have scored more goals than any team in either division and have let in exactly half our number in less games.

MarkyH
30/10/2009, 9:41 PM
At least the 2nd half we saw some effort. There was little in the 1st. Could be a mistake effectively writting off this match and hoping to at least match pat's result next week. Look at Galway they got a point that no-one expected tonight.

Some ridiculous rumours around betting going around tonight:confused:

sligofan4ever
30/10/2009, 9:43 PM
Has Morrison picked up another injury was he being rested too ?

srfc1928
30/10/2009, 9:49 PM
Please dont start this sh1te again

bingoballs
30/10/2009, 9:55 PM
We are level with Pats on points and only ahead with a 6 goal difference I make it. The way we played tonight we are lucky that we still have that! We played like a side that was on the raz all week and judging by the the starting 11 the manager put out, it looks like he is stil on it! If Galway could get a point from Shams tonight, I cant see why it would be unreasonable to think that we could do the same! I feel we let ourselves down tonight.
Fair play to Bohs though, worthy champions.

Brian Boru
30/10/2009, 9:58 PM
Supporters questioning Cook over his team selection at half time and he reacts by cat calling. I missed this has I retired to one of the bars.

Some lads were booing him. One fan said "I paid for that!" understandable I feel if you've driven up from Sligo! Cook shouted back and was shepherded off into the dressing room.

I agreed with the fan but thankfully didn't say anything as I was standing in Paul Cook's path! He should have taken the criticism better. Still no big deal.

bingoballs
30/10/2009, 10:14 PM
What was the point in playing our best team against the best team in the country and getting beat/injured/yellowcarded. Drogheda are the second worst team I've seen this season and we should have them out of the way by half time next week. I'd be far more worried about Sporting Fingal, TBH. They have scored more goals than any team in either division and have let in exactly half our number in less games.
I think we should concentrate on staying in the premier division first.

Brian Boru
30/10/2009, 10:26 PM
We rested players also in Bohs game earlier this year before the Vllaznia game. I know we had injuries as well but anyhow we started the Vllaznia game at a snails pace and only got going with 15 minutes left.

Keep it simple. When things are going well pick the same team. The momentum will keep you going. Matches are better than training.

I know it was a different era but Aston Villa won the championship in early eighties playing just 13 or 14 players for the whole season.

I really admire Cook. He's put together a great team who play the best football in the league. He got it wrong tonight but I hope he learns from it this time.

dong
30/10/2009, 10:32 PM

I know you like a joke but you couldn't be serious. We've beaten Bohs before this season as you know.
We gave them the initiative and it was all over at half time.
I wish I was as confident as you about p1ssing on Drogheda.

prodsc
30/10/2009, 10:44 PM
2 words:

****SED OFF:

tonight's team selection was an insult to Shams and bit o Red. Now look at the ****e we are in..............

Rovers Maniac
30/10/2009, 10:55 PM
At least the 2nd half we saw some effort. There was little in the 1st. Could be a mistake effectively writting off this match and hoping to at least match pat's result next week. Look at Galway they got a point that no-one expected tonight.

Listen people should hang their head in shame over such absolute rubbish as one of my friends was telling me about tonight. Trust me there was nothing irregular in these betting patterns tonight, i know this i have more than enough contacts in the UK, Europe and Asia who make a living at betting. It really annoys me people speaking about stuff they have no clue of (and i am not saying you Mark), Paul Cook rested some of his players tonight, if Cretaro had been injured tonight we may be going into the cup final with no recognised striker and what would the same people being saying about Cook then? If you don't agree with it thats fair enough we all have our opinion but the rubbish talk about the betting if very low, unfair and just plain wrong. Yes Cook has taken a chance but he is the manager and you have to respect his decision although you may not agree with it. He has to live and die from his decisions as the manager. No point worrying about other teams that could not even look after their own result we have to look out for number 1.

Jeez each of us would have given our right arm if we were facing a Drogs team at home with nothing to play for with a chance to stay up a few weeks ago. Our players are not machines they have played 4 tuesdays evenings in a row,meaning we played 6 games in 17 or 18 days which is madness. We are lucky we have not picked up an injury to key players with that schedule. Our squad is not strong enough in depth so when we rest it does make a huge difference. We need to beat Drogs to stay up and we will have fresh players for the tie which should be a big advantage, i think people should lay of Cook.

showgies
30/10/2009, 10:56 PM
I blame avvenalaf

red bellied
30/10/2009, 10:59 PM
Need 3 points against drogs, no favours expected of shams obviously after tonight.

dong
30/10/2009, 11:19 PM
Listen people should hang their head in shame over such absolute rubbish as one of my friends was telling me about tonight. Trust me there was nothing irregular in these betting patterns tonight, i know this i have more than enough contacts in the UK, Europe and Asia who make a living at betting. It really annoys me people speaking about stuff they have no clue of (and i am not saying you Mark), Paul Cook rested some of his players tonight, if Cretaro had been injured tonight we may be going into the cup final with no recognised striker and what would the same people being saying about Cook then?

Is Blinkhorn not a recognised striker?

Fair enough Maniac, everyone has their opinion and the betting talk doesn't ring true I agree. It was just Cook resting players and it backfired.

I would still say we should be battling for every single point in every league game with our best team out and forget the cup and forget Drogheda until they have to be played. If Cretaro was injured tonight we'd miss him big time in the final but would rather have seen him on the pitch tonight.

Rovers Maniac
30/10/2009, 11:25 PM
Is Blinkhorn not a recognised striker?

Fair enough Maniac, everyone has their opinion and the betting talk doesn't ring true I agree. It was just Cook resting players and it backfired.

I would still say we should be battling for every single point in every league game with our best team out and forget the cup and forget Drogheda until they have to be played. If Cretaro was injured tonight we'd miss him big time in the final but would rather have seen him on the pitch tonight.

The talk is though Dong he is meant to be suspended for the final? I also heard a story last week that i don't know how true is that if Gavin Peers picked up a yellow in the game v Waterford or the Bohs match that he would also miss the final. If Cretaro was injured people would be on here asking why Cook played him, because the chances were we were going to get beat. But granted it was a poor performance esp live on TV, but i do think some reactions are way OTT in my honest opinion.

Jicked
30/10/2009, 11:26 PM
Quote from Michael O'Neill after the game in The Showgies...........

It doesn't matter whether it was a corner or not, you still have to defend it.

Michael O'Neill was right, I can't understand why Sligo fans were so incensed with him. ****ed off with the referee, of course. But ****ed off at O'Neill? What did you want him to do, tell his players not to take the corner kick? And he's right, it's not like the ref gave a goal for the bad decision, he only gave a corner which Sligo had the chance to defend. I'd be ****ed off if it went against us, but blaming an opposition manager is ridiculous when your gripe is with the referee, especially when it's not like it was something as obvious as mistaken identity or that.

Sligo's approach tonight was extremely dissapointing and unprofessional of them. Reminded me of that time Rafa Benitez played his reserves against Fulham, meaning a terrible, terrible Fulham team won and stayed in the league. Sligo owed Shamrock Rovers nothing, but did owe something to the integrity of the league. For what its worth I hope we don't retaliate and do go out to beat Pats despite having nothing to play for next week.

30/10/2009, 11:30 PM
You were going great guns until you mentioned the integrity of the league.:D

Rovers Maniac
30/10/2009, 11:32 PM
Michael O'Neill was right, I can't understand why Sligo fans were so incensed with him. ****ed off with the referee, of course. But ****ed off at O'Neill? What did you want him to do, tell his players not to take the corner kick? And he's right, it's not like the ref gave a goal for the bad decision, he only gave a corner which Sligo had the chance to defend. I'd be ****ed off if it went against us, but blaming an opposition manager is ridiculous when your gripe is with the referee, especially when it's not like it was something as obvious as mistaken identity or that.

Sligo's approach tonight was extremely dissapointing and unprofessional of them. Reminded me of that time Rafa Benitez played his reserves against Fulham, meaning a terrible, terrible Fulham team won and stayed in the league. Sligo owed Shamrock Rovers nothing, but did owe something to the integrity of the league. For what its worth I hope we don't retaliate and do go out to beat Pats despite having nothing to play for next week.

Sure it does not matter you could not beat Galway, champions should not expect other teams to do their work for them.

Shiba
30/10/2009, 11:33 PM
I think Paul Cook took a calculate risk tonight in tonights game.In a game we may have lost with a full side out.Risk silly yellow cards or injury.i think we will have ahuge advantage going into the game against Drogs.I dont think they will want to battle to hard even do for the play place showdown it might be a confidence booster.But the other side they will be wary of picking up injurys etc for the playoff schedule.They are in the playoffs no matter what.Be it us galway or pats they face they will be in a battle for survival then.our game against them is nothing game for them.

srfc1928
30/10/2009, 11:40 PM
Listen people should hang their head in shame over such absolute rubbish as one of my friends was telling me about tonight. Trust me there was nothing irregular in these betting patterns tonight, i know this i have more than enough contacts in the UK, Europe and Asia who make a living at betting. It really annoys me people speaking about stuff they have no clue of (and i am not saying you Mark), Paul Cook rested some of his players tonight, if Cretaro had been injured tonight we may be going into the cup final with no recognised striker and what would the same people being saying about Cook then? If you don't agree with it thats fair enough we all have our opinion but the rubbish talk about the betting if very low, unfair and just plain wrong. Yes Cook has taken a chance but he is the manager and you have to respect his decision although you may not agree with it. He has to live and die from his decisions as the manager. No point worrying about other teams that could not even look after their own result we have to look out for number 1.

Jeez each of us would have given our right arm if we were facing a Drogs team at home with nothing to play for with a chance to stay up a few weeks ago. Our players are not machines they have played 4 tuesdays evenings in a row,meaning we played 6 games in 17 or 18 days which is madness. We are lucky we have not picked up an injury to key players with that schedule. Our squad is not strong enough in depth so when we rest it does make a huge difference. We need to beat Drogs to stay up and we will have fresh players for the tie which should be a big advantage, i think people should lay of Cook.
Well said RM. The players have played a hell of a lot of games in the last few weeks, the majority we have won. Which most people quickly forget.

Most of the players are probably carrying knocks. Cook took a calculated risk tonight which didnt work out.
We could have gone to Dalymount tonight with a full strength team and still got beaten by 2, picked up more injuries and be screwed for next week and the cup final. Both of which are of massive importance to the future path the club can take
Imsure paul would have loved to have played his best 11 or be able to bring in players that are just as good. But we are not in that position because we dont spend money on players we cant afford like bohs.
We are trying to live within our means and in doing that sometimes were going to get turned over, or have to field a weakened team, these are the decisions the manager has to nake which im sure hed rather not. But we have to be realistic we arent goig to be able to compete in every single game we play. Because of our small squad sometimes we have to prioritise.
Tonights result was because we have a small squad. I had to laugh at Fenlons comments saying he had a small squad. Look at bohs starting 11 plus subs tonight, quality right throughout, but at what cost in the long run. They are paying huge wages on borrowed money and time.
Im the first one to say we are unabitious at times as a club but we have to put things in perspective

dong
30/10/2009, 11:46 PM
The talk is though Dong he is meant to be suspended for the final? I also heard a story last week that i don't know how true is that if Gavin Peers picked up a yellow in the game v Waterford or the Bohs match that he would also miss the final. If Cretaro was injured people would be on here asking why Cook played him, because the chances were we were going to get beat. But granted it was a poor performance esp live on TV, but i do think some reactions are way OTT in my honest opinion.

Sorry, that is being rumoured alright.
Still think Cook made a mistake tonight but he's done brilliantly in the second half of the season in fairness.

red arrow
30/10/2009, 11:53 PM
we must keep faith with the management &team. c'mon the bit 'o red

sligofan4ever
31/10/2009, 12:31 AM
Lads lay off Cook, I mean 5 months ago we couldn't even name a full bench! He had a tough time in the first half of the season, Almeida out injured nearly all the time as was Parkhouse, aswell as several injuries to different players for ages. For some game it was only the 2 Kelly's that wer eon the bench, now we have players fighting for a place in the team e.g Cash and Morrison for right midfield. He's lucky to be able to rest these players and bring in others. Without these signings the likes of Raff,Peers and Blinkhorn may have had to play because of a lack of players. So lets be glad we have strength in depth as opposed to have about 14 players 5 months ago. Sorry for rambling on a bit but fact of the matter is Cook had too work with very little up until July, he got the funds to bring in players and it has worked so give him a break, if he had this squad from March imagine where we would be right now! it hans't been easy this season, eveything hes had to do, hes had to do the hard way, getting through the first half of the season with very few players,beating 3 of the top 4 in the FAI etc...

celticV3
31/10/2009, 12:48 AM
There isnt a worse crowd than Bohs fans, racist scum. Them and Jason can **** off and die
What happened tonight? Except of course a horrible game of football.

sligofan4ever
31/10/2009, 12:50 AM
What happened tonight? Except of course a horrible game of football.

A few Boh's fans started heckling Eoin Doyle from what I seen. Typical or Natural, whichever you want to use, but you know they would head straight for the former shams player :rolleyes:

1st time post
31/10/2009, 1:04 AM
Your wrong there my friend as Raf once played as a 'keeper for us.

when??

MMVIII
31/10/2009, 1:08 AM
Few silly hard men came right up to the fence roaring and shouting at us but yet, still not venturing beyond the security of the guards in front of them and the advertising boards.

Anyways, this game was as important as next week. Unless there was some major issues behind the team selections then its baffling.

celticV3
31/10/2009, 1:09 AM
A few Boh's fans started heckling Eoin Doyle from what I seen. Typical or Natural, whichever you want to use, but you know they would head straight for the former shams player :rolleyes:
A.Dolan mentioned racist scum? Noticed that though and at the end he was pushed by a Bohs fan from Byrne as he went over to congratulate him.

sligofan4ever
31/10/2009, 1:13 AM
Few silly hard men came right up to the fence roaring and shouting at us but yet, still not venturing beyond the security of the guards in front of them and the advertising boards.

Anyways, this game was as important as next week. Unless there was some major issues behind the team selections then its baffling.

Maybe if a player could get an injury or suspensiont hat will follow into the Cup Final, god knows the last thing we want are the likes of Raff,Peers,Morrison,Ventre(was he suspended tonight anyways ?) etc... its bad enough we may already be missing Blinkhorn and O'Grady.

MMVIII
31/10/2009, 1:27 AM
Maybe if a player could get an injury or suspensiont hat will follow into the Cup Final, god knows the last thing we want are the likes of Raff,Peers,Morrison,Ventre(was he suspended tonight anyways ?) etc... its bad enough we may already be missing Blinkhorn and O'Grady.

Grand, so forget the bread and butter, all about the cup. Relegation playoffs it is so. :rolleyes:

Far more important than the cup final at the minute.