View Full Version : Player of the year
rovers100%
25/10/2009, 4:23 PM
i know we have 3 games left but so far who does everyone think will be player of the year. some will say raf has not played as well since shams turned his head but his goals have been absolutely vital considering how many goals we leaked at the back. long time since we seen a striker score so many in the showgies. peers has been immense when not injured and boco as usual has been brill. blinkhorn has been prob our best signings as we badly needed a good target man last few year. keane was also a brill signing and looks like marshall could well be one for the future.
25/10/2009, 4:25 PM
Poll added
25/10/2009, 4:38 PM
Peers. The reason we're not in the relegation zone at the minute.
sligo23
25/10/2009, 4:53 PM
I can't decide:o
25/10/2009, 5:31 PM
Boco without a doubt. Probably would have been Peers if he was'nt out for such a large part of the season.
25/10/2009, 6:01 PM
Peers (and can i vote for him now for the next three seasons?)
Brian Boru
25/10/2009, 8:30 PM
Romauld Boco in my opinion especially when played at right back. International class. Close though. Raf, Peers close behind. We honestly have a brilliant team - when they're all available!
sligored
25/10/2009, 8:33 PM
i voted for peers - his comeback changed our season. brewer and avannalaf voted for him also and he still has only 2 votes- i demand a recount.:)
dublinred
25/10/2009, 8:34 PM
Have to go for the little guy who has scored 21 goals.
CF1989
26/10/2009, 12:46 AM
no prizes for guessing....
forza rovers
26/10/2009, 7:09 AM
peers imagine were we would be if we had him for the full season
red_away
26/10/2009, 11:30 AM
Boco beats raf by the tiniest margin, peers wasnt playing enuff to warrant winning the prize but his fitness and availability for the club was the most influential thing that turned our season!
red bellied
26/10/2009, 12:08 PM
Cretaro for me. His goals in the league will save us from relegation and his goals in the cup have saved us from financial ruin. Boco(when he plays right back), Peers, O Grady and Blinky since he has come in all deserve an honourable mention. Doyle on his day as well and what might of been with Morrison going on a few of his games.
26/10/2009, 12:18 PM
Boco. Raf would normally get it given the amount of crucial goals he's got us but his constant strolling back from offsides and giving out to other players when he makes mistakes put me off voting for him.
Rovers Maniac
26/10/2009, 12:21 PM
Cretaro for me. His goals in the league will save us from relegation and his goals in the cup have saved us from financial ruin. Boco(when he plays right back), Peers, O Grady and Blinky since he has come in all deserve an honourable mention. Doyle on his day as well and what might of been with Morrison going on a few of his games.
Spot on, although i think Alan Keane has been superb in the second half of the season but Cretaro for me just shades it. Brush, Peers, Boco and Blinkhorn since he has come have been good.
sligofan4ever
26/10/2009, 12:30 PM
Despite being in a relegation battle for alot of the season, its still so hard to pick our best player. Between Raff,Peers,Boco,Keane and Blinkhorn it really is a tough choice but it just goes to showthe quality this team has.
An honourable mention for Jim Flanagan an Xano aswell...
red bellied
26/10/2009, 12:34 PM
Boco. Raf would normally get it given the amount of crucial goals he's got us but his constant strolling back from offsides and giving out to other players when he makes mistakes put me off voting for him.
Boco mighnt complain but sometimes he forgets that he has a right back positon to get back too when he runs out of steam on one of his missions up the flank.
dublinred
26/10/2009, 1:01 PM
His moment of magic against Derry in the cup turned the season around for us.
Redie
27/10/2009, 11:03 AM
Any player who has scored over 20 goals with a few games remaining in the season really should be an automatic choice for POTY - but.....
Alan Keane has to be Cook's best buy of the season, very reliable and improved with every game as the season has gone on.
Richard Brush has, by and large, been safe as houses in goals and is a major reason we are in a cup final - first match against Bohs anyone!
Conor O'Grady is dedication to the cause personified and although not everything he tries comes off as intended not once has he ever tried to hide on the pitch or not looked to get on the ball and have another go.
Danny Ventre for all his faults has an attitude you would want to bottle and give to every player that signs for the club.
Owen Morrison has skills beyond belief and I'd watch him play football 24 hours a day, I even go to games early to watch him in the warm-up.
Gavin Peers is - Peerless - pity he missed so much of the season.
So looking at the entire season since it started way back last March for me the one man who has been consistently brilliant in virtually every match he played both in terms of skill and attitude to the team has been Romuald Boco and pips Raf to my vote.
rob mcdonald
27/10/2009, 5:02 PM
You have to feel sorry for the lads like Shaun Holmes, Stephen Parkhouse and Sean Doherty missing out..
Knappagh Red
27/10/2009, 6:50 PM
Boco gets my vote, a proper professional footballer, unlike most of the squad
roversforever
27/10/2009, 6:57 PM
Boco. Head and shoulders above anybody else at the club.
srfc1928
07/11/2009, 10:05 AM
Went for Boco,
I remember his first few games for the Bit O'Red and thinking Im not sure about this fella, but after settling in hes been absolutely quality the last couple of seasons.
His run in the first half last night was top notch and he was really unlucky not to score
Fabrizio
07/11/2009, 10:21 AM
Boco plays right back! he must be the best paid right back in the league!! Peers without doubt imo. Raf a close second, but anyone that has played footie, will acknowledge that right back is one of the easier places to play! Boco has been excellent dont get me wrong, but Peers is the main man!!he gets my vote, Raf no.2 and Rommy No.3.
srfc1928
07/11/2009, 10:40 AM
Boco plays right back! he must be the best paid right back in the league!! Peers without doubt imo. Raf a close second, but anyone that has played footie, will acknowledge that right back is one of the easier places to play! Boco has been excellent dont get me wrong, but Peers is the main man!!he gets my vote, Raf no.2 and Rommy No.3.
Whats money got to do with it?
Anyways what would i know, I've never played football.
Which reminds me I must book myself into the next refeeres course :D
CF1989
07/11/2009, 7:40 PM
sure you dont play right back either ;)
whiteagle
08/11/2009, 8:39 PM
Peers. The reason we're not in the relegation zone at the minute.
Gavin peers has been outstanding since he came back from injury .. d poor run would of continued without him .. simple .. what a player
roversman
08/11/2009, 8:54 PM
Gavin peers has been outstanding since he came back from injury .. d poor run would of continued without him .. simple .. what a player
i agree we were lost without him
sligofan4ever
08/11/2009, 9:02 PM
roversman: Can you not just get on with your life rather than cribbing and whinging because Danny Ventre got player of the year from the Forza Lads ?
They didn't go for the obvious choices like Raf,Boco or Peers, they chose a player who is commited,gives 100% every game and he deserves recognition, I think hes been under rated this season TBH and has improved under us without a doubt.
Boo_Boy
08/11/2009, 9:09 PM
roversman: Can you not just get on with your life rather than cribbing and whinging because Danny Ventre got player of the year from the Forza Lads ?
They didn't go for the obvious choices like Raf,Boco or Peers, they chose a player who is commited,gives 100% every game and he deserves recognition, I think hes been under rated this season TBH and has improved under us without a doubt.
Gah play was also taken into consideration, although you didn't get points for being good at it.
roversman
08/11/2009, 9:14 PM
ye are easily wound up arent ye
who cares who ye give it too as long as the rovers win
bit'o'red
09/11/2009, 5:14 PM
Morrison is a wonderful talent. Shame to only see it on the rare occasions. Still, he single handedly got us to the final. Not sayin he deserves poty but deserves a mention. Raf would be my choice tho.
Ah will you come off it?
I'm sure Matty Blinkhorn would have had a hand in it too.
09/11/2009, 7:59 PM
Ah will you come off it?
I'm sure Matty Blinkhorn would have had a hand in it too.
No. Saw it on telly since. Definitely a header.
rovers100%
12/11/2009, 4:24 PM
are the forza lads not backing ventre here. i see he has only 3 votes !!! whats the story....:confused:
12/11/2009, 5:39 PM
Rommy is 1st. Close the poll! :)
rovers100%
12/11/2009, 8:19 PM
@ a. dolan both awards are called player of the year so how is criteria different. name yer award most commited poty otherwise, also it was said as a bit of fun hence lol and laughing face. obviously the stress of final getting to you lol. :D (just in case ya dont realise the last comment is a joke ) the forza lads very upset with anyone questioning their decision.
if ya believed ya made the right decision stand by it and dont get upset with others view, remember this is foot.ie not forza forum so our opinions are as valid as any member of forzas. i for one dont have a problem with danny getting award. not my personal choice but def the most improved and commited, i just think raf and boco were better this year. ;)
Sean South
12/11/2009, 10:11 PM
Fishing season is over.
12/11/2009, 10:37 PM
Rommy and Raf both level...someone vote for Rommy, quick!
Shedzer
13/11/2009, 2:49 AM
The fact that Raf got 25 votes while Blinkhorn got 0 and Keane got 1, makes this poll void as f***
Blinkhorn has been absolutly brilliant since joining. Keane has formed a great parnership with Peers, and has been solid performance wise.
Peers is the obvious choice for me.