View Full Version : France (A) ticket exchange thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

M@ttitude
10/11/2009, 11:51 PM
Skimcg replied to my pm'd afterwards and is still looking for tickets so i feel he should be next to be offered any available tickets.

Fair play, so im sure Skimcg will be sorted off Keenanboy..

Mr.Devine
11/11/2009, 8:32 AM
Cheers for the info elroy and Harps1954! Its very fustrating when u see Irish tickets been offered at 100 euro each on Gumtree, these people are a disgrace and nothing more than touts! Presumably they got the tickets from the FAI, it really pis**s me off when genuine fans like myself and my mate cant get tickets, having attended all home games and travelled to Bari! Its typical of the Ireland we live in!

A lad I work with told me he has a contact in France who could get me two tickets, but apparently these are 150 euro face value!!?!? I wont pay that, especially to sit among the French support. To the lads thst have tickets, Im well down that list for tickets but if ye dont hear from the other lads above me (who maybe have been sorted and thats why there not on here checking) I'd take the hand of ye for two tickets!

keenanboy
11/11/2009, 9:34 AM
Hey Mods...
any chance we can get a move on/remove people that are clogging up the waiting list on genuine applicants?
mcgrear is surely not coming back any time soon

Greenforever
11/11/2009, 10:39 AM
Cheers for the info elroy and Harps1954! Its very fustrating when u see Irish tickets been offered at 100 euro each on Gumtree, these people are a disgrace and nothing more than touts! Presumably they got the tickets from the FAI, it really pis**s me off when genuine fans like myself and my mate cant get tickets, having attended all home games and travelled to Bari! Its typical of the Ireland we live in!

A lad I work with told me he has a contact in France who could get me two tickets, but apparently these are 150 euro face value!!?!? I wont pay that, especially to sit among the French support. To the lads thst have tickets, Im well down that list for tickets but if ye dont hear from the other lads above me (who maybe have been sorted and thats why there not on here checking) I'd take the hand of ye for two tickets!

I think you're been very harsh on the FAI with that coment, there are very few tickets on Gumtree etc when you consider that in excess of 70,000 tickets have beed distributed.

While I accept at face value you have been to all home games, given you have been only to one away game you don't really qualify for a guaranteed ticket from the FAI, (in my opinion - 2 matches or more should) however dont panic YOU will get sorted, there are plenty of tikets floating around and come Saturday when lads who go to matches together but wouldnt normally meet up otherwise, meet up they will then know who has extra tickets etc and these will be sold at face value to Irish fans.

The lads and lassies in the ticket office have worked their asses off over the last couple of weeks to distribute the tickets as fairly as possible, when the easier thing would have been to put them on ticketmaster.

11/11/2009, 11:02 AM
Hey Mods...
any chance we can get a move on/remove people that are clogging up the waiting list on genuine applicants?
mcgrear is surely not coming back any time soon
What do you want us to do?

It's up to people on the list to move it. I just keep the list updated.

If you have tickets and you PM or e-mail McGrear, and he doesn't get back to you in 24 hours, move on.

Also, today the list turns first-come-first-served.

skimcg
11/11/2009, 11:09 AM
Hi lads,

I have got 2 so I'm sorted
so I can be removed from list. If I hear of any more il offer them here. Thanks.

skimcg
11/11/2009, 11:16 AM
Thanks keenanboy.

Bear
11/11/2009, 11:19 AM
Hi folks, I'm a first time poster but regular reader of the comments on this site - have made a small mistake and would love some guidance! As a block booker I applied and received tickets for Paris, however in my excitement I neglected to fill in the "travel information" piece of the puzzle - FAI have taken the payment for the tickets but they haven't landed yet. Have tried ringing but it rings out/voicemail box is full, have emailed but have not got a response yet. Getting concerned as I'm flying over on Monday, anyone any other ideas on what I could do to smooth the wheels?

11/11/2009, 11:21 AM
Thanks keenanboy.
Did you take keenanboy's tickets?

skimcg
11/11/2009, 12:44 PM
Ya I got them from keenanboy.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/11/2009, 1:03 PM
What do you want us to do?

It's up to people on the list to move it. I just keep the list updated.

If you have tickets and you PM or e-mail McGrear, and he doesn't get back to you in 24 hours, move on.

Also, today the list turns first-come-first-served.

So it's changing that someone now posts they have tickets and then anyone can reply to them looking for them? Just want to make sure....

11/11/2009, 1:05 PM
Yes, as per the rules. First come first served a week in advance as people will be heading off for Paris soon.

joema
11/11/2009, 1:16 PM
Yes, as per the rules. First come first served a week in advance as people will be heading off for Paris soon.

Don't mean to criticise. At all. Realise you are doing great work here and helping genuine fans get tickets, but...

Don't think the first come, first served system is all that fair. Granted, there may not be a more suitable alternative, but I still reckon this needs saying. If someone has spare tickets, I reckon they should take the person on the lists post history or post count into account or something...

Again, I realise this may not be all that accurate either. Afterall, many fans don't log on here....and a lot of those that do, don't post all that regualrly.

All said, I just think that those with spare tickets should not just blindly sort out the next person on the list by default.

It just annoys me a little bit when you see people treating the first come, first served system as flawless. The "offical" thing bothers me a little as well, truth be told.

Don't mean to be having a go, though, Stu. I'm sure tickets tend to go to people who deserve them. :ball:

11/11/2009, 1:31 PM
We'll be looking at how things work after this game anyway, so no offence taken!

The point is that at this stage before an away game, people don't have time to wait 24 hours for the person on top of the list not to get back to them (because they'll be heading out on Sunday or Monday, for example), so this speeds things up. Ditto with home games, where it's 24 hours before the game. But as I say, after the away game, I'll start a thread on feedback, and we'll revise the rules for stuff like that if people want.

mjpcc
11/11/2009, 1:43 PM
Don't mean to criticise. At all. Realise you are doing great work here and helping genuine fans get tickets, but...

Don't think the first come, first served system is all that fair. Granted, there may not be a more suitable alternative, but I still reckon this needs saying. If someone has spare tickets, I reckon they should take the person on the lists post history or post count into account or something...

Again, I realise this may not be all that accurate either. Afterall, many fans don't log on here....and a lot of those that do, don't post all that regualrly.

All said, I just think that those with spare tickets should not just blindly sort out the next person on the list by default.

It just annoys me a little bit when you see people treating the first come, first served system as flawless. The "offical" thing bothers me a little as well, truth be told.

Don't mean to be having a go, though, Stu. I'm sure tickets tend to go to people who deserve them. :ball:

I live in Canada and it is not practical for me to get to many games so I'm not a block booker. That said I always get to at least a couple of games each campaign. I have been lucky enough to get tickets from this forum on previous occasions - not this time, but I am thankfully sorted - I'm flying Toronto - Amsterdam - Dublin for the game on Saturday, then on to PAris on Tuesday for the game on Wednesday and then home on Thursday. It is an expensive trip. I booked it within 2 hours of the draw being made - had to clear with the wife - first. I did not have tickets for the games then and have worked my ass off since doing everything I could to get tickets.

This is a great site. Sure, there is lots of rubbish spouted here, windups ets, but there is are a lot of really genuine fans on here who attemp to help others with no interest in profit. I applaud Pinapple Stu and the others and hope they continue to maintain forums such as this. They are successfull if the membership use them in the spirit intended.

I do not think there is a better way but I could be wrong and perhaps this would be a good thread to start and generate discussion on the topic.

I do believe that as it is the system in use we should support it unless and until we agree on a better one.

Regarding number of posts: I suspect there are many like me who check in to the site daily but do not post often.

francesco_1
11/11/2009, 3:05 PM

Great... just when i reach the summit :(

11/11/2009, 3:12 PM
They should start with you regardless. But if someone posts "I have two", then you can PM them as well.

Mr.Devine
11/11/2009, 3:28 PM
Greenforever I think you misunderstood me buddy, I'm not talking about the game Saturday, Ive got my ticket for that having attended all home games including Montenegro (after which I sent my stub into the FAI)! I'm talking about the game in Paris, which I was turned down by the FAI for 2 tickets. So me and my mate have our flights and accomodation sorted and no tickets as of yet! I do acknowledge the good work the FAI are doing in distributing tickets but I can't help being annoyed when I see Irish end tickets for Paris been touted online and I cant get my hands on them!

Mr.Devine
11/11/2009, 3:34 PM
Thanks pineapple stu as an earlier poster said I appreciate your efforts in helping genuine fans to try and get tickets!

rfkimble
11/11/2009, 3:49 PM
Regarding number of posts: I suspect there are many like me who check in to the site daily but do not post often.

Yeah system not perfect but we gotta work with it. Iv been on here over 7 years but mainly read and hardly ever post. Btw still lookin 2 tics :)

Mr.Devine
11/11/2009, 3:59 PM
I agree with the other lads, its not perfect but its the best system weve got this close to the game! As you can see I have only joined recently and have few posts but this does not make me any less of an Irish fan! I have been reading posts on here sporadically over the last 7 or so yrs but never posted and my current job is not exactly compatable with checking online and posting comments, however I was so disapointed that I wasn't selected in the FAI ticket ballot that Ive been trying every avenue open to me for nearly the last two weeks and this to my mind is the best Irish football site and thus my best chance of finding genuine lads with spares who wont rip me off. So how long someone is a member on here or the number of their posts does not necessarily qualify them as a better candidate for a match ticket than someone else! Ive attended all home games and travelled to Italy, if my budget had allowed I would have travelled to more away games, but it didnt!

Greenforever
11/11/2009, 4:25 PM
Greenforever I think you misunderstood me buddy, I'm not talking about the game Saturday, Ive got my ticket for that having attended all home games including Montenegro (after which I sent my stub into the FAI)! I'm talking about the game in Paris, which I was turned down by the FAI for 2 tickets. So me and my mate have our flights and accomodation sorted and no tickets as of yet! I do acknowledge the good work the FAI are doing in distributing tickets but I can't help being annoyed when I see Irish end tickets for Paris been touted online and I cant get my hands on them!

No my point was that the ticket office have worked very hard to allocate tickets in a fair manner for Paris, and rather than hve a randon draw they have taken into account peoples travelling record and lenght of time on the BB system when allocating the tickets. Remember they got almost 17K applications for 8,000 tickets so there was no way of pleasing everybody.

Given the number of tickets allocated there are very few Irish end tickets being touted on websites, and a lot seem to be the same tickets reposted after not selling.

As regards the "waiting list for tickets on this site" I honestly believe a lot of people with spare tickets dont go from the top but quietly look at peoples history of posts / where they are travelling from and then pm peolpe quietly. I have certainly done this, and make no apologies about it.

Having said that I am sure you will be sorted before you go to Paris on Monday.

Mr.Devine
11/11/2009, 5:43 PM
Fair enough Greenforever point taken! One bit of confusion that has arosen is just how many fans applied for tickets. In my rejection email from the FAI they said "In total we received requests for over 17,000 tickets", that means 17,000 tickets were requested and not 17,000 applications were received (at least I hoped so :) ). I was hoping that this meant that many fans requested multiple tickets along with their mates in the hope that some of them would be lucky and say only 10,000 or so are actually taravelling. whats your take on it? Cheers for the pm btw.

Mullin
12/11/2009, 7:30 AM
Hi folks, I'm a first time poster but regular reader of the comments on this site - have made a small mistake and would love some guidance! As a block booker I applied and received tickets for Paris, however in my excitement I neglected to fill in the "travel information" piece of the puzzle - FAI have taken the payment for the tickets but they haven't landed yet. Have tried ringing but it rings out/voicemail box is full, have emailed but have not got a response yet. Getting concerned as I'm flying over on Monday, anyone any other ideas on what I could do to smooth the wheels?

Hi Bear - my brother did the same with our booking, tried ringing them on Monday but no chance, emailed them all the travel info then & tickets arrived yesterday so do that - reckon you'll be fine, they've taken your cash so if they have a problem they'll have to contact you.

Bear
12/11/2009, 8:04 AM
Hi Bear - my brother did the same with our booking, tried ringing them on Monday but no chance, emailed them all the travel info then & tickets arrived yesterday so do that - reckon you'll be fine, they've taken your cash so if they have a problem they'll have to contact you.

Mullin, apprecaite that, thanks very much. Good to hear that someone in the same situation got a result and got it sorted. I've one of my mates who's going with me lined up to go to Abbottstown today just in case as well!

francesco_1
12/11/2009, 10:02 AM
I have been sorted for a ticket so i can be removed from the list thanks.

SuperDave
12/11/2009, 11:07 AM
surely this thread could be demerged into a ticket exchange thread and a general 'ticket exchange rules' thread?

also, has everyone got their tickets already? I'm still waiting....

Jegg
12/11/2009, 11:49 AM
2 spare tickets, 42e each. will pm the top of the list

SuperDave
12/11/2009, 1:31 PM
Just got a PM from blaise:

hello
you look for tickets?

I replied

No.

Go **** your self, tout.

Kindly,

SuperDave

SuperDave
12/11/2009, 1:39 PM
Full conversation:

hello
you look for tickets?

No.

Go **** your self, tout.

Kindly,

SuperDave

what does it mean tout ?? i m not a tout !! i m just a french guy who want that Domenech go out !

A tout is someone who sells tickets for above face value. You have been reported for it already on this site!

so i m just a little tout alors !!!

There is a ticket exchange list. Send your messages to the people on that list and if you sell them tickets AT FACE VALUE they may give you a few beers in Paris as thanks.

Touts are not tolerated.

IsMiseSean
12/11/2009, 2:00 PM
I can be removed from the list, cheers!!

dingbat
12/11/2009, 2:14 PM
I mentioned in an earlier post that I had tickets for the French section and was looking for an exchange; those tickets now appear to have fallen through :(

Would appreciate if I could be added to the list.

12/11/2009, 2:23 PM
i m not a TOUT ..... i m a poor frenc guy who want that domenech go out.... i love green army and roukmoute too....
blaise - did you offer tickets to a poster for €200?

12/11/2009, 2:58 PM
One ticket for €140?

And what was the face value of that ticket?

Greenforever
12/11/2009, 6:15 PM
Stu the price will be droping every day, rather than ban the muppet, lets just see how long before he / she realises that he / she wont be able to sell the tickets except at a loss

aidz1
13/11/2009, 10:35 AM
i know a lad who has now 2 tickets available for the paris game.
he'll be at the game tomorrow, so can arrange a swap there.
pm me and i'll exchange the details..

these are now gone

Jegg
13/11/2009, 12:34 PM
my 2 tickets are sold toJayC90 as he was the highest up the list who sent me a message. thanks for all the replies, hope you all get sorted.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/11/2009, 1:06 PM
I'm after getting 2 tickets as well so can you remove me from the list please Stu?

Cheers

Desyf
13/11/2009, 1:14 PM
absolutely no....i offer tickets for 140€

http://www.thecowsheds.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/icon_rolleyes.gif

http://www.thecowsheds.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/smiley-bangheadonwall-yellow.gif

skimcg
13/11/2009, 1:50 PM
Looking for 2 ticks too

Mr.Devine
13/11/2009, 3:58 PM
Stu can I please be removed from the list. A mate of mine came up trumps for me so I'm sorted for tickets for Paris! Cant wait for tomorrow night and then Paris Wednesday...bring it on! Good luck to all those still hunting for tickets, if I'm talking to anyone between now and Wednesday that has spares Ill point them in the direction of this site. Finally, Come On You Boys In Green.........Ireland to go through on away goals!!

13/11/2009, 4:15 PM
late entry for one ticket please. last min addition to our travel crew. thanks

philkildare
13/11/2009, 4:29 PM
We have 1 spare ticket, and we also have a spare seat on the Eurostar on Wed morning from London! Eurostar tic is 95 quid I think, not sure price of ticket as will only be picking up 2 moro at match.

Mad Moose
13/11/2009, 4:59 PM
We have 1 spare ticket, and we also have a spare seat on the Eurostar on Wed morning from London! Eurostar tic is 95 quid I think, not sure price of ticket as will only be picking up 2 moro at match. Pm gone yer way Phil.Game only though.

Bear
13/11/2009, 5:15 PM
Folks, posted yesterday and Mullins was good in helping me out. Quick question - does anyone know if Abbottstown is open on Saturday mornings? My tickets for Paris still didn't arrive and although I talked to 2 staff members in the ticket office and they took my details they didn't come back to me.... So they have my money but I have no tickets! Anyone know is the place open on a Saturday?

13/11/2009, 6:04 PM
My tickets still haven't arrived......anybody else in the same boat?

Bear
13/11/2009, 6:22 PM
Shakermaker, still in the same boat - calling to Abbottstown tomorrow morning and praying they are open. I'm flying on Monday morning for the week so it's sh!t or bust for me tomorrow for my tickets, otherwise I'm out of pocket for the one's I've bought but not received and the ones I'll have to try and pick up in Paris!

noddy102
13/11/2009, 6:35 PM
60 euro ticket spare if anybody is looking. Send a pm!

M@ttitude
13/11/2009, 6:39 PM
absolutely no....i offer tickets for 140€

You told me €200 you twit!!

DannyInvincible
13/11/2009, 6:42 PM
The face value of blaise's tickets are €80, according to a PM I got from him after making an enquiry. He's a tout.

Edit: Just to add that he was offering tickets individually for section C and €140 was what he was demanding for each separately, in case there's any ambiguity... Ha.