View Full Version : Ryanair Scum
Mise Le Mas
20/10/2009, 6:31 AM
Just heard on TV3 that Ryanair have cancelled all the cheap flights to Paris that they sold for the 17th and 18th and are now expecting everyone to pay the full inflated Price!!!!! I don't know how true that is or if they can do that the Fu#kers, but anyone who has booked one of those flights should check.
Sligo Hornet
20/10/2009, 6:36 AM
Surely they cannot do that.....if they accepted payment and confirmed the original deal then that is a contract
Mise Le Mas
20/10/2009, 6:53 AM
I sure hope not as i am on one of those flights, and i can't get any info from Ryanair, but i would not put it past them, probably send out a email a couple of days before so you wouldn't have much choice?
Sligo Hornet
20/10/2009, 6:55 AM
What reason did they give you for having to cancel the original booking?
weecountyman
20/10/2009, 7:04 AM
Ryanair can't do that, they only removed the low fares from the website. Existing bookings stand! This is common policy with airlines, especially our two monopoly outfits. Right now it's cheaper to fly via London with both, and with BMI than to go with them. A good alternative is to Dusseldorf and then on by train. It's a good journey and means cheaper stays in Germany, plus better beer and atmosphere.
Mise Le Mas
20/10/2009, 7:52 AM
Yea hope that is the case, i always thought that when you had a flight confimed it was leagaly binding, they have got it wrong on TV3.
skimcg
20/10/2009, 8:03 AM
Mise le meas,
they can't do that, is your confirmation number and print out not a legally binding contract? I would definitely think it is
20/10/2009, 8:48 AM
look at the small print. they used to allow themselves the right to cancel your flight within a certain period of booking. this definately happened to friends of mine for brussels 1997
magnumpi
20/10/2009, 9:17 AM
the best thing to do if they've jacked up the prices, which i know they have, would be to fly to brussels or somewhere, train is only a couple of hours away, and cheap enough.
i heard ryanair doing the same thing to Munster Rugby fans before.
They had booked cheap flights to cardiff for the heineken cup final (booked b4 q/f stage).
then they moved "their" flight to a time that arrived after the game had stated
magnumpi
20/10/2009, 9:21 AM
look at the small print. they used to allow themselves the right to cancel your flight within a certain period of booking. this definately happened to friends of mine for brussels 1997
i seriously doubt this is the case. once the contract has been concluded, asking for more money to perform the same service would constitute "economic duress", i think.
Nolimits
20/10/2009, 9:22 AM
My Ryanair flights cost me €271, this would in no way constitute cheap right :confused:
20/10/2009, 9:29 AM
I'm certain they've done this before and they're confident they can get away with it. As others have said use Dusseldorf or "Brussels"
francesco_1
20/10/2009, 10:11 AM
I Booked on them dates from shannon and just checked my reservation and it says confirmed nothing changed about it anyway.
I think when they did this before to the munster fans they changed the flight time and said it was a new flight and cancelled the other one thats how they got away with it.
Greenforever
20/10/2009, 10:32 AM
Ryanair Adds Extra Paris Flights
THOUSANDS OF EXTRA SEATS FROM €125 ONE WAY
RYANAIR GUARANTEES TO UNDERCUT AER LINGUS PRICES
Ryanair, Ireland’s largest airline, today (19th Oct) announced that in addition to our regular daily flights to Paris (Beauvais) from Dublin and Shannon we will operate extra flights for the World Cup playoff match in Paris on Wednesday 18th November. Ryanair has added extra flights to/from Paris on Tues 17th, Wed 18th and Thus 19th to cater to Irish fans.
Ryanair confirmed that all seats on its extra flights to / from Paris will be at least €20 cheaper than Aer Lingus. Fans can book these seats at Ryanair.com from €125 one way (incl taxes and charges), which is €44 cheaper than Aer Lingus’ current lowest one way fare of €169.
They are additioal flights, not cancelling existing bookings. As regards the Munster flight a few years ago, it was a schedule change and not just a single flight and Munster fans complained, Ryanair put on an additional flight to accomodate them at the original fares charged. - While not mad about Ryanair it is only because of them we have cheap flights anywhere so the title of this thread is way off the mark. God forbid we had no Ryanair we would still be paying 400 - 500 for a low fare with Aer Lingus at the best of times
finbarrk
20/10/2009, 10:58 AM
That sounds fair enough.
20/10/2009, 11:27 AM
Ryanair Adds Extra Paris Flights
THOUSANDS OF EXTRA SEATS FROM €125 ONE WAY
RYANAIR GUARANTEES TO UNDERCUT AER LINGUS PRICES
Ryanair, Ireland’s largest airline, today (19th Oct) announced that in addition to our regular daily flights to Paris (Beauvais) from Dublin and Shannon we will operate extra flights for the World Cup playoff match in Paris on Wednesday 18th November. Ryanair has added extra flights to/from Paris on Tues 17th, Wed 18th and Thus 19th to cater to Irish fans.
Ryanair confirmed that all seats on its extra flights to / from Paris will be at least €20 cheaper than Aer Lingus. Fans can book these seats at Ryanair.com from €125 one way (incl taxes and charges), which is €44 cheaper than Aer Lingus’ current lowest one way fare of €169.
They are additioal flights, not cancelling existing bookings. As regards the Munster flight a few years ago, it was a schedule change and not just a single flight and Munster fans complained, Ryanair put on an additional flight to accomodate them at the original fares charged. - While not mad about Ryanair it is only because of them we have cheap flights anywhere so the title of this thread is way off the mark. God forbid we had no Ryanair we would still be paying 400 - 500 for a low fare with Aer Lingus at the best of times
just checked there and it looks like the cheapest one way flights are €125 PLUS taxes etc.
finbarrk
20/10/2009, 11:37 AM
They have changed the Shannon - Paris flight on the Wed from the evening to the morning to suit the match so fair play to them.
Maybe the title of this thread is a bit unfair?
Mise Le Mas
20/10/2009, 12:06 PM
I stand corrected, as long as they don't change any of the flight times and i miss the game
20/10/2009, 12:08 PM
God bless Ryanair.
20/10/2009, 12:22 PM
two monopoly outfits.
Is that not a contradiction.
blobbyblob
20/10/2009, 12:50 PM
May they fly straight and land softly
Aer lingus say they are now carrying over 2,000 on match day alone
Ryanair have laid on extra flights on match day to Beauvauis and guarantee to beat any aerlingus cheapest price.
Eurostar close on booked out
Id say we will easily top 10,000 at this stage
26/10/2009, 12:42 PM
I'm flying to Karlsruhe-Baden in Germany and getting the train to Paris (4 hrs). €160 return in total, not bad.
And a "monolopy of 2" is a duopoly.
zenokelly
26/10/2009, 2:47 PM
Iy's not Ryanair that should be blamed, it's to do with legalities. I'm no expert in relation to this but surely legislation should be drawn up to prevent airlines from driving up prices like they do when there is more interest than normal.
Any normal business would do what Ryanair do if it was legal in their line of business.
26/10/2009, 2:55 PM
its basic economics lads, supply and demand. Its how the world runs brother. ;) :D
Iy's not Ryanair that should be blamed, it's to do with legalities. I'm no expert in relation to this but surely legislation should be drawn up to prevent airlines from driving up prices like they do when there is more interest than normal.
If you read the T&Cs of purchase then you will find that they have a clause which allows them to cancel flights surroundings sporting fixtures. Looks like in or around 10K will travel now. Gonna be a nervous week waiting for news on the ticket application.
26/10/2009, 3:15 PM
what exactly are lads basing this stuff on?! I mean the amount going?
zenokelly
26/10/2009, 3:50 PM
what exactly are lads basing this stuff on?! I mean the amount going?
I don't know what people are basing it on but I can see around 10,000 there myself. Even though we are in a recession, people can get over to Paris very cheaply, and with so many unemployed, days off work are not a problem.
Lets put it this way, I know 2 people that are going to Paris that haven't been at Croker this campaign, don't mind an away fixture.
26/10/2009, 3:56 PM
i know a good few too, and i hope to god they dont get tickets ahead of those who go to away games and home games, those that go to some home games and all away games, those that go to all home games and some away games, and those that go solely to home games(in that order).
26/10/2009, 10:24 PM
Heh Paul have you got a spare ticket for me:p;)
27/10/2009, 9:23 AM
Heh Paul have you got a spare ticket for me
ye know what? ive got a good few "friends" on bookface, and i might have a spare ticket but i wont know till the last minute(for the home game) if i do the first thing im going to do(unless time to do it here) is put up a status update of "Spare ticket, Ireland v France ring me on xxxxxxxxx - prerequisite must be a proper ireland fan and have gone to most of the home games already" :p
Otherwise id have a hell of a lotta people calling me ;) That limits it to about 5(and thankfully they will already have tickets) id say!
ye know what? ive got a good few "friends" on bookface, and i might have a spare ticket but i wont know till the last minute(for the home game) if i do the first thing im going to do(unless time to do it here) is put up a status update of "Spare ticket, Ireland v France ring me on xxxxxxxxx - prerequisite must be a proper ireland fan and have gone to most of the home games already" :p
Otherwise id have a hell of a lotta people calling me ;) That limits it to about 5(and thankfully they will already have tickets) id say!
Paul, are you from Roscommon ?
blobbyblob
28/10/2009, 1:14 PM
Paul, are you from Roscommon ?
The cat is out of the bag now Pro****
weecountyman
29/10/2009, 5:51 AM
Troy and Neil, I stand corrected and ashamed, a duopoly it is then, regardless it's a ripoff. A very curious thing happened yesterday to me with Ryanair, I was booking return flights for 4 people to Frankfurt, aka Cologne, aka in the middle of nowhereville, when I had to book one person individually (for the return) as they were bringing back a second piece of luggage - I was booking the four together when I was called and updated. Suddenly the prices were different. For one person (without adding in luggage) it was 103euros return (taxes incl). For 3 people together it was going to average 138euros (taxes incl) each. So I did the bookings one by one and hey presto they were only 103euros each. I wanted to contact Ryanair but figured I'd be only making a problem for myself. Has anyone else experienced this?
Junior
29/10/2009, 8:45 AM
Troy and Neil, I stand corrected and ashamed, a duopoly it is then, regardless it's a ripoff. A very curious thing happened yesterday to me with Ryanair, I was booking return flights for 4 people to Frankfurt, aka Cologne, aka in the middle of nowhereville, when I had to book one person individually (for the return) as they were bringing back a second piece of luggage - I was booking the four together when I was called and updated. Suddenly the prices were different. For one person (without adding in luggage) it was 103euros return (taxes incl). For 3 people together it was going to average 138euros (taxes incl) each. So I did the bookings one by one and hey presto they were only 103euros each. I wanted to contact Ryanair but figured I'd be only making a problem for myself. Has anyone else experienced this?
I guess they figure no one would be ar$ed to go back and book one by one in case enough seats werent available or that the price dramatically jumped when you went to book the 2nd or 3rd passenger.
Secondly, if you had tried to contact Ryanair it probably would have cost you E1+ a minute anyway and soon you would have lost all your cost saving:D
I wont knock Ryanair too much tho - without them I never would have got to Dublin or abroad for as many Ireland games as I have done over the years at relatively cheap costs. You just need to know what you are doing with regards add on costs and charges.
SuperDave
29/10/2009, 12:15 PM
103 return? jesus! ours were only 15 each.... one way, right enough, as we are flying back aer lingus, but still!
if you're looking at a cheap alternative you can fly to frankfurt and renting a car from there to Paris...Broken up between a few lads it costs very little.
Few lads I know did it for the 2004 match in Paris
SuperDave
29/10/2009, 9:23 PM
if you're looking at a cheap alternative you can fly to frankfurt and renting a car from there to Paris...Broken up between a few lads it costs very little.
Few lads I know did it for the 2004 match in Paris
We're doing that this time. Flying out ryanair and back with aer lingus, cos their times back are better. Flights and car hire total e150 each or thereabouts but if you don't mind overnight driving you could fly back with ryanair on the thursday morning for way less.
wexfordman
29/10/2009, 9:42 PM
just booked another flight for a late addition to our group. aer lingus to birmingham return €45
Birmingham to CDG Paris Air france €138.
Flying out monday and back thursday €183 return same price applies to tuesday-thursday return