View Full Version : Play Off Predictions?

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

Colbert Report
10/11/2009, 10:25 PM
Not to creep anyone out here, but I had a dream last night that it was 2-2 in Dublin and Stephen Hunt took the French goalkeeper's ear clean off his head with a crunching Cech-style tackle. We scored the resulting penalty (dreams are weird huh?) and took the 3-2 lead to Paris.

Colbert Report
10/11/2009, 10:26 PM
That may be the reason for them not qualifying through the play offs.

We are experienced hands when it comes to doing play offs.

Only Given, Kilbane and Keane were involved in the 2001 play-off against Iran.

10/11/2009, 10:28 PM
That may be the reason for them not qualifying through the play offs.

We are experienced hands when it comes to doing play offs.

Yes, I thought thats what you were alluding to with that somewhat vague, on purpose, post!

Mr Semantics. :D

11/11/2009, 10:08 AM
It's only Wednesday but that strange anxious gut feeling surfaced when I read that they were practicing penalties.
Robbie missed his, I suppose that means Shay saved one.

Trap subtly reassures us that God is on our side,
"I believe that if you help yourself, God will help you."

11/11/2009, 10:20 AM
Lawrenson (cheekily) begins his article (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8352987.stm) with "I know we Irish love a good debate"
We know you never forsook us.

"But I am optimistic....."
"Also during the games, in terms of turning it around, I would back Trapattoni rather than Domenech to make the right tactical calls.
If you watch Trapattoni during games, he makes very, very few tactical mistakes and I'm pretty sure that Domenech makes lots."

11/11/2009, 10:33 AM
"pretty sure"??
For what he's being paid to "write" these articles, he'd want to be a damn sight more confident than "pretty sure"

Scram
11/11/2009, 4:05 PM
"pretty sure"??
For what he's being paid to "write" these articles, he'd want to be a damn sight more confident than "pretty sure"

Yes pretty poor if he can make a comment like that whilst making it clear that he wasn’t really sure if he was right i.e. absolutely no research!

11/11/2009, 4:16 PM
He is making the comment based on his overall impression of Domenech down through the years. If the game is tight and it comes down to a manager's decision late on to sway things, most would be of the opinion that Trap has the advantage.

I´ll take Lawro's endorsement of our manager and our chances.

11/11/2009, 4:29 PM
think you misunderstood geysir. if I was being paid the same as Lawrenson to "write" these columns, I'd put time, effort, and energy into finding instances of Domenech's tactical mistakes, then compare and contrast them with any that Trapattoni has made during his tenure.
There's no way I'd write something like "I'm pretty sure Domenench has made loads of tactical mistakes"

Emmet7
11/11/2009, 4:31 PM
In fairness, I don't think Lawrenson would be expected to watch every French game during qualifying given that we only knew we were playing them a few weeks ago.

It's his assessment that Domenach makes tactical mistakes. Struggling to defeat the Faroe Islands and being defeated by other average teams would indicate serious tactical errors.

During the 2006 WC, Zidane showed his contempt for him by refusing to shake his hand when coming off the field and even it appeared shouting insults at him. I think Zidane felt it was he and the team who got to the final in spite of a clown of a manager, not because of him.

I really believe France would have won that world cup if they had a right coach. They scraped their way to the final thanks to the brillance of Zidane, Henry and Riberary.

However, the first rule of most competitive sports is never to underestimate the opponent. France are no mugs, I know it's a cliche, but it shouldn't be forgotten. As with the 2006 WC, they still have individual brillance, regardless of the tactics and ability of the coach.

They are not to be underestimated, but they are also not to be feared or to be held in awe of. Ireland must get at them from the start.

11/11/2009, 4:39 PM
In fairness, I don't think Lawrenson would be expected to watch every French game during qualifying given that we only knew we were playing them a few weeks ago.
I never said he should, but it's not too much to ask to read through the archives on fifa.com for reviews of their qualifiers is it?

Emmet7
11/11/2009, 4:45 PM
Well, if you had world class players like the French, and you struggle to beat the Faroes and lose to Austria and teams like that, it's probably an indication of tactical flaws.

Something, somewhere went wrong. Either he picked the wrong players, didn't pick certain players, picked the wrong team for the conditions and opposition.

I won't mention names but if previous Irish managers struggled to break down and defeat poor teams, it's probably because the Irish tactics were flawed, with players playing out of position, no attacking threat, not knowing what was expected of them and so on.

You could hardly call a 1-0 win over the Faroes a tactical success.

ArdeeBhoy
11/11/2009, 4:54 PM
2-1 to France overall.

Our lack of goals & well documented midfield creativity is going to come back to haunt us.
Which for all his other good points, is Trap's blind spot.
Though he does have one fecking eejit who should be equally blamed. ****.

And with respect, who gives a f*ck what 'Lawro' thinks ?

Emmet7
11/11/2009, 5:00 PM
I respect what he thinks.

11/11/2009, 5:22 PM
think you misunderstood geysir. if I was being paid the same as Lawrenson to "write" these columns, I'd put time, effort, and energy into finding instances of Domenech's tactical mistakes, then compare and contrast them with any that Trapattoni has made during his tenure.
There's no way I'd write something like "I'm pretty sure Domenench has made loads of tactical mistakes"
It's not good journalism or a long review.
It's just a phone conversation with Lawro and no attempt is made to hide that.
The journalist writes it up as a conversation piece, cheap and cheerful.
The responsibility for how it looks in print is with the journalist.

From what I recall, Lawro does not write like that when reviewing our performances in the IT.

Emmet7
11/11/2009, 6:42 PM
Good point geysir...

I'd say someone called him up out of the blue and gave him no chance to do any research or even let him know in advance what was going to be discussed.

Razors left peg
11/11/2009, 7:53 PM
Was having a sandwich at lunchtime today while reading the latest build up in the papers and I swear I got so nervous I couldnt finish the damn sandwich. NEVER been so nervous about a game before. But the closer its coming the more I do fancy us to get through... although by the time game kicks off on saturday Im pretty sure Im gonna be almost catatonic

11/11/2009, 9:55 PM
Thats awful funny razors ive got that before but over a match with 3 days to go. Im splitting meself here laughing at ye :D

irishfan86
11/11/2009, 10:14 PM
No I know what he's feeling. I couldn't eat breakfast here myself this morning while reading this forum.

Noelys Guitar
11/11/2009, 10:51 PM
I've been waking up at 2am with a feeling of dread (France win 2-0). Utter dejection until I realise Saturday is days away. What does it all mean? Nothing I'm sure. I prefer to see us losing when it does not matter.

Scram
12/11/2009, 8:18 AM
How would you compare this game in terms of EPL?

STOKE CITY V ARSENAL?

12/11/2009, 8:30 AM
A junkie on my bus yesterday said he woke up convinced Ireland were going to win 2-0, I can't think of any better reason to predict 2-0 Ireland :D

12/11/2009, 10:00 AM
0-0 would be a decent result for us because I'd back us to score in Paris. However I fear we'll slip up at home by conceding a soft goal at some point.

If we score first we'll go into a shell. If we go one nil down we'll be all over em. It's a funny old game.....

hunt4the
12/11/2009, 11:30 AM
looks like the weather's gonna do its job
"SATURDAY will bring further heavy showers or longer spells of rain. There may be some thunder also"-perfect
on that note im gonna go for 1-0 in croker
and 1-1 in the stade

Scram
12/11/2009, 12:01 PM
"SATURDAY will bring further heavy showers or longer spells of rain. There may be some thunder also"-perfect
and 1-1 in the stade

I'm gonna go for an umbrella..eile, eile, eile

SuperDave
12/11/2009, 1:21 PM
and 1-1 in the stade

Nice. I hope it is a fu cking quagmire out there.

http://www.thesmashmix.com/wp-content/Quagmire.jpg

12/11/2009, 1:34 PM
Lads i had a dream two days ago that I missed the match cos I flew into knock and was at home and left it too late to get to dublin, i had an hour to make a 2 hours journey and even then i would have only got in when the game was near over. I was so upset. I mean unbeleiveably upset, and so annoyed with myself how i went so wrong logistically and then I told myself ah its only dream(i can control my dreams sometimes and can tell myself its only a dream and hten i wake up :)) but i didnt wake up. Jees i was awful relieved when I woke up that morning and it was Tuesday and I hadn't missed hte match.

We lost 2 - 1 in the dream and i had to watch it at home with no craic whatsoever and i couldn't sing and get behind the team :(

Wolfie
12/11/2009, 1:45 PM
Check this out. A wind up but funny all the same.

http://irishsoccerinsider.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/french-and-irish-fall-out-over-box-incident/

Den Perry
12/11/2009, 2:11 PM
This is someone pretending to be a French supporter surely.

He clearly overdoes it with with the "Blue cheese is so good" ending.

Good effort though.

I like this line, "We've got lots of very laughin stories about him".

Most French people are just as barmy as Domenech just as most English people are like Terry Venables, so I doubt this really is a French person.

how do you say Andy Reid is not a good defensive midfielder" in French?

12/11/2009, 2:48 PM
how do you say Andy Reid is not a good defensive midfielder" in French?
something along the lines of "Andy Reid n'est pas un bon milieu de terrain défensif"
Not sure if there's a specific word for defensive midfielder. Other than "Makelele" obviously!

mkbucks
13/11/2009, 7:29 AM
IRELAND 1 - 0 France
FRANCE 2 - 1 IRELAND

That would be sweet!!!!

Scram
13/11/2009, 8:57 AM
IRELAND 1 - 0 France
FRANCE 2 - 1 IRELAND

That would be sweet!!!!

ps. John Giles was asked on Newstalk this morning if the away goals rule counts, he replied:

"Eh, I don't know but I'd say so like in other European games"

Sweet divine Jaysus!!!!

pavillion.road
13/11/2009, 9:11 AM
Think ireland will win 2-1 saturday with a late set-piece goal. 2-1 would be a precarious lead to take to paris but any sort of lead would be fantastic.

Thinking of the roar around the stadium when/if ireland score on saturday gives me goosebumps all over.

Biggest game in 8 years....believe

13/11/2009, 9:23 AM
An Taoiseach has the faith, sort of.

nK3DA4yyt_U&feature=player_embedded

Delbertt
13/11/2009, 9:49 AM
Il go for 1-1 in Croker 2-2 in Paris with O'shea scoring a header late on in Paris

Leeside Swagger
13/11/2009, 9:55 AM
ps. John Giles was asked on Newstalk this morning if the away goals rule counts, he replied:

"Eh, I don't know but I'd say so like in other European games"

Sweet divine Jaysus!!!!

Whats wrong with that? It does normally apply in 2 legged european games. I doubt he carries rule book around with him. :rolleyes:

Uncle_Joe
13/11/2009, 12:44 PM
Close nervouse game in Dublin
Ireland 0 - 0 France

Even more nervous game in PAris
France 1 - 1 Ireland

My stomach is in knots waiting for this game. Ive gone from resignation to cautious optimism to punching the air come-on-Ireland mode to that horrible nervouse feeling you get just before exams back in the day.

Scram
13/11/2009, 12:56 PM
Whats wrong with that? It does normally apply in 2 legged european games. I doubt he carries rule book around with him. :rolleyes:

Is everyone form Cork thick? Just got an equally moronic post from a Cobh supporter on another thread, it's no wonder we had such problems with Keane, S. Ireland etc.

Mr.Devine
13/11/2009, 12:57 PM
A finger nail crunching nil nil in Croker
Ireland 0 - 0 France

Heroic Irish performance in Paris
France 1 - 1 Ireland

Happy days if it comes to pass. Cant wit for game tomorrow night, def the biggest game at home since Holland in 2001! Should be a fantastic atmosphere and I'd urge everyone to give the songs socks from the off!! Heading to Paris Wednesday and looking forward to what hopefully will be a memorable trip. I'm still searching for two Irish tickets though, so any if ye lads have spares or know someone with spares give me a pm and I will be your friend for life!!

Reality Bites
13/11/2009, 12:57 PM
Close nervouse game in Dublin
Ireland 0 - 0 France

Even more nervous game in PAris
France 1 - 1 Ireland

My stomach is in knots waiting for this game. Ive gone from resignation to cautious optimism to punching the air come-on-Ireland mode to that horrible nervouse feeling you get just before exams back in the day.

I keeping thinking laterally on this and imagine if I was say a English ,Scottish or welsh how I would view it. - I would assume in the end despite a valiant display those spikey Irish would eventually be beaten by french class.. Imagine if Scotland were in a similar position this is how you would call it in a much less partisan impassioned frame of mind. So in Reality it has got to be les Bleu..

DeLorean
13/11/2009, 1:01 PM
Is everyone form Cork thick? Just got an equally moronic post from a Cobh supporter on another thread, it's no wonder we had such problems with Keane, S. Ireland etc.

To be fair to Giles he just analyses what he see's. He never knows the in and outs or permutations. He doesn't let on that he knows more than he does, he says straight out - "what's his name again Bill/Eamon?" It's the likes of Lawrenson and Dunphy that wreck my head by pretending they know more than they do. No need to get personal by the way.

Leeside Swagger
13/11/2009, 1:07 PM

Can you explain your point without resorting to wummery?

13/11/2009, 4:21 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8356372.stm

a good assessment of the reason France should be fearful.

13/11/2009, 4:22 PM
I thought that was an article with Dunne of a photo of sarkozy in a compromising position.

TerryPhelan
13/11/2009, 4:36 PM
Can't pin myself down to exact predictions, but Ireland to go through on away goals. I am normally the most pessimistic fan imaginable but there's something different about this... Believe. The nerves and the panic of the next five days will take years off our lives, but we will just about edge it. And if screaming my lungs out for the team at Croker tomorrow night takes a few more off, well, it'll have been worth it. COME ON!!!