View Full Version : France away 18 November 2009 - pubs, etc

Pages : 1 2 [3]

blobbyblob
09/11/2009, 12:01 PM
Ive been travelling to irish games for well over 20 years and the Irish bars are always the dearest wherever we go usually shoving their prices up for the day before and after the match.

Hence the reason why Ive contacted the pub and asked them to guarantee prices before we get there and they have gone one better in getting in a cheaper option - so kudos in their direction - well done O'Sullivans I say :)

Desyf
09/11/2009, 12:09 PM
McBrides did similar in 2004...

09/11/2009, 12:36 PM
its not just the Irish bars that do this in my almost 20 years experience of going to away games with Ireland.

always a great atmosphere in the Irish bars around these matchesDisagree. The Irish bars are generally a magnet for the tools of the day. That was certainly the case in 2004 around Sullivans.

Each to their own.

Paulie
09/11/2009, 12:58 PM
We used to do the Irish pub thing when away on Ireland trips but we don’t do it nearly as much now. The hiked up prices and also the fact that if there are any tools on the trip, it is usually in the Irish pub that they will be found, kind of put us off. Having said this, they can serve a purpose. In a smaller city you will find Irish in the majority of pubs, but in a city the size of Paris, without the Irish pubs you could spend all day trying to find other fans (if that is what you want), so they are handy for finding other fans as you know that they’ll be packed. This time around, we’ll go to an Irish pub on the Monday, as we just want to have a few games of pool and relax for a bit before moving on elsewhere. That could well be the last time we go to an Irish pub for the duration of the trip though.

SuperDave
09/11/2009, 2:19 PM
We used to do the Irish pub thing when away on Ireland trips but we don’t do it nearly as much now. The hiked up prices and also the fact that if there are any tools on the trip, it is usually in the Irish pub that they will be found, kind of put us off. Having said this, they can serve a purpose. In a smaller city you will find Irish in the majority of pubs, but in a city the size of Paris, without the Irish pubs you could spend all day trying to find other fans (if that is what you want), so they are handy for finding other fans as you know that they’ll be packed. This time around, we’ll go to an Irish pub on the Monday, as we just want to have a few games of pool and relax for a bit before moving on elsewhere. That could well be the last time we go to an Irish pub for the duration of the trip though.

Chances are the hotel bar in the place you are staying will be full of fans. This also has the benefit of befriending the barman / manager / proprietor so that if you wander in after the game he may well be willing to indulge your late night requests for a few extra jars... although of course he may be a frenchman and not too enamoured with having to serve Irish fans after seeing them knock his beloved frogs out of the coupe de monde.

09/11/2009, 3:18 PM
Disagree. The Irish bars are generally a magnet for the tools of the day. That was certainly the case in 2004 around Sullivans.

Each to their own.

2004 was a once off with many day trippers etc attending.
with the limited amount we have attending this time there wont be the same level of dossers at all. the amount of "tools" that i have met on many away trips over the years would amount to almost none

Paulie
09/11/2009, 4:12 PM
Chances are the hotel bar in the place you are staying will be full of fans. This also has the benefit of befriending the barman / manager / proprietor so that if you wander in after the game he may well be willing to indulge your late night requests for a few extra jars... although of course he may be a frenchman and not too enamoured with having to serve Irish fans after seeing them knock his beloved frogs out of the coupe de monde.

I don't think our hotel even has a bar. It's probably for the best.

10/11/2009, 12:52 PM
the amount of "tools" that i have met on many away trips over the years would amount to almost none
I obviously have a lower "tool" threshold.

They were rife throughout the last campaign, particularly in Stuttgart. Granted, less so in the campaign just finished, at the away matches I went to in any case.

10/11/2009, 1:22 PM

They were rife throughout the last campaign, particularly in Stuttgart. Granted, less so in the campaign just finished, at the away matches I went to in any case.

maybe its the punters in the non-Irish bars you go to at these events? ;)

M@ttitude
10/11/2009, 1:38 PM
So is it safe to say the majority will meet in Sullivans? Tools and non tools meeting on bar stools?

Arriving on tuesday around 1600.

Desyf
10/11/2009, 1:43 PM
tool army !!

10/11/2009, 1:43 PM
So is it safe to say the majority will meet in Sullivans? Tools and non tools meeting on bar stools?

Arriving on tuesday around 1600.

which one? there is one in pigalle and one near opera area?

M@ttitude
10/11/2009, 1:49 PM
which one? there is one in pigalle and one near opera area?

Not sure, I didnt attend the last French game... Can anyone recommend a Sullivans that might have less toolage? If all us Foot.ie'rs show up it should water them down a bit..

10/11/2009, 2:10 PM
place de glichy stop was where we all met the last time. The street was jammers with irish fans but i doubt it will be as packed this time round.

Polster
10/11/2009, 2:34 PM

I'd rather be a tool than a frog,
Oh, I'd rather be a tool than a frog,
Oh, I'd rather be a tool, falling off my stool,
Oh, I'd rather be a tool than a frog.........

.....or a perfect more superior Irish supporter that some on here think they are, compared to all us tools that like to go to an Irish bar, where there will be Irish fans singing Irish songs and having a general good time.

Some people really need to lighten up on here. Live and let live, there are plenty of nice quiet french bars you can go off to and enjoy your pint in peace, we won't label you a 'tool' if you do. If some people on here had their way, we would probably only have 100 or so 'proper' fans at any game.

10/11/2009, 2:36 PM
Polster if someone thinks you are a tool, because they dont like you, it doesn't make much sense. There are plenty of people who dont like me, im not going to call them tools for that reason.

There is an inverted snobbery element with some Irish people, its nothing to do with being a tool per se, some of the above, but I mainly find it with the rugby folk.

Having said that there has been a few eejits at the few trips ive been on, but generally everyone is just up for singing and having the craic! And thankfully the snobs are nowhere to be seen.

Polster
10/11/2009, 3:17 PM
Not sure, I didnt attend the last French game... Can anyone recommend a Sullivans that might have less toolage? If all us Foot.ie'rs show up it should water them down a bit..

haha, this is getting embarrasing lads, 'water them down a bit'?????

We could be the classic geek gang in school, maybe we should all wear 'foot' badges as well so we know our own, as opposed to the tools

blobbyblob
10/11/2009, 3:22 PM
Can I get clarification on something ?

Are you a tool for going to an irish bar and a snob if you dont? If your somewhere in the middle are you a stool?

10/11/2009, 3:27 PM
Yes its as clear cut as that.

Unless you go to a northern oirish bar...

I think the point being made is that, the irish (want to)go to where all the other fans congregate. It doesn't have to be an irish bar, but you know that you will find other fans there too(not necessarily like minded people) and a good chance of songs being played and/or sung there to build up the atmosphere....for the battle ahead so to speak.

blobbyblob
10/11/2009, 3:42 PM
To be honest regardless of what event or occasion, people go according to what the mood dictates.

If you wanna have a quiet chat with your mates and discuss the merits of Trap v Domenech over a coffee and a croissant you'll find a quiet spot off a side street. If you want to get up to divilment, have a song and a dance and let loose a bit, youre going to go to where the crowd is, be that under the tower or paddy mcgintys or wherever.

Whatever happens, The most important thing with any of these trips if you are there - Enjoy yourself, sing loud once inside and come home safe Brothers!

Beavis
10/11/2009, 9:19 PM
crowd is, be that under the tower or paddy mcgintys or wherever.

Whatever happens, The most important thing with any of these trips if you are there - Enjoy yourself, sing loud once inside and come home safe Brothers!

Yeah you're going to get all different types. If you travel with a criteria of what makes a good fan you will spend the whole trip complaining.

As long as people aren't giving us a bad name - causing trouble or wearing English club jerseys - I say live and let live.

M@ttitude
10/11/2009, 9:49 PM
haha, this is getting embarrasing lads, 'water them down a bit'?????

We could be the classic geek gang in school, maybe we should all wear 'foot' badges as well so we know our own, as opposed to the tools

The badge is a good idea Polster, because I could well be mistaken for a tool when I fall into sullivans with a black mouth from the cheap red wine ive been drinking out of a 2 litre coke bottle!!

11/11/2009, 11:13 AM
I'd rather be a tool than a frog,
Oh, I'd rather be a tool than a frog,
Oh, I'd rather be a tool, falling off my stool,
Oh, I'd rather be a tool than a frog.........

.....or a perfect more superior Irish supporter that some on here think they are, compared to all us tools that like to go to an Irish bar, where there will be Irish fans singing Irish songs and having a general good time.

Some people really need to lighten up on here. Live and let live, there are plenty of nice quiet french bars you can go off to and enjoy your pint in peace, we won't label you a 'tool' if you do. If some people on here had their way, we would probably only have 100 or so 'proper' fans at any game.

Can I get clarification on something ?

Are you a tool for going to an irish bar and a snob if you dont? If your somewhere in the middle are you a stool?

Yes its as clear cut as that.

Unless you go to a northern oirish bar...

I think the point being made is that, the irish (want to)go to where all the other fans congregate. It doesn't have to be an irish bar, but you know that you will find other fans there too(not necessarily like minded people) and a good chance of songs being played and/or sung there to build up the atmosphere....for the battle ahead so to speak.
Its less to do with going to an Irish bar, the fact is that the vast majority of Irish fans at nearly all matches are great craic. Its more to do with my opinion, as voiced by others, that when messers/tools/over-aggressive sorts who can't handle their beer travel, they go to Irish bars. In my experience.

I've noticed the incidence of these types travelling increasing over the last few years, although the recession will hopefully sort it out.

So I'm definitively not tarring everyone who goes to Irish bars with the same brush.

But I don't like being in the company of these tools and thats one of the main reasons why I don't go to Irish bars if I can help it.

Some of you would want to stop jumping to conclusions.

Desyf
11/11/2009, 4:32 PM
Yep, people who get aggressive with drink should f#ckoff and stay at home..

Pash my pint pleash mate...

chunger
12/11/2009, 12:55 PM
So it seems to be O'Sullivans in place de glichy for the banter?
can somebody not giving out about "tools" havin a laugh confirm that because im goin for a sing song and a bit of craic and i dont want to be offending people who are looking for a deep conversation

Polster
12/11/2009, 2:57 PM
So it seems to be O'Sullivans in place de glichy for the banter?
can somebody not giving out about "tools" havin a laugh confirm that because im goin for a sing song and a bit of craic and i dont want to be offending people who are looking for a deep conversation

You'll be grand chunger, I think I was one of those 'tools' in 04, we ended up on the tables in Sullivans, singing and dancing till the early hours, fella was about to close up untill we started it, and got things going again. And I have only been travelling to Ireland games reularly for the last 20 years, have to say I have never seen any trouble on my away trips, and rarely anything at home.

Polster
12/11/2009, 3:00 PM
Its less to do with going to an Irish bar, the fact is that the vast majority of Irish fans at nearly all matches are great craic. Its more to do with my opinion, as voiced by others, that when messers/tools/over-aggressive sorts who can't handle their beer travel, they go to Irish bars. In my experience.

I've noticed the incidence of these types travelling increasing over the last few years, although the recession will hopefully sort it out.

So I'm definitively not tarring everyone who goes to Irish bars with the same brush.

But I don't like being in the company of these tools and thats one of the main reasons why I don't go to Irish bars if I can help it.

Some of you would want to stop jumping to conclusions.

You expect the Recession to sort it out, so although you are "definitively not tarring everyone who goes to Irish bars with the same brush." , you are tarring any trouble makers/tools as less affluent people in society. You'd be amazed the jobs and social status a lot of proper 'hooligans' have that travel with other countries, not a problem for the Irish National team to date, thank god.

12/11/2009, 3:22 PM
ORA is a bit of a wum polster ignore it.

polster we were dancing on a table, but we were the only ones dancing on the table and you were not one of them!!! In the back part?! then everyone started doing hte wave thing in and out on the dance floor.

Polster
12/11/2009, 3:45 PM
ORA is a bit of a wum polster ignore it.

polster we were dancing on a table, but we were the only ones dancing on the table and you were not one of them!!! In the back part?! then everyone started doing hte wave thing in and out on the dance floor.

lol, some boy ronane, there are a few sullivans i believe, for what its worth, was night before the game, near the front, and there was some dodgy armagh meeting going on down stairs

And to be honest, I would have no hope of remembering the finer details like yourself :) You must of been on the coke that night.

ruben_sosa
13/11/2009, 12:36 PM
anyone know of an off license near the Eiffel Tower? last time there was someone selling crates of beer from a bus down by the river... would prefer not to rely on this again.

Desyf
13/11/2009, 1:53 PM
Walk to the tower from your digs and you're bound to pass a small super market type shop.

13/11/2009, 5:47 PM
Ya i love those chain stores desyf.

Milesmayhem24
13/11/2009, 8:06 PM
anyone know of an off license near the Eiffel Tower? last time there was someone selling crates of beer from a bus down by the river... would prefer not to rely on this again.

There's few supermarkets in that area where you'll get cheap beer:

A Shopi on Avenue de la Motte-Piquet at the bottom of the Champs de Mars. There's an Ed Discount on rue saint dominique (there's also an O'Briens "Irish" bar on this street) as well as a few Franprix scattered about. You'll have no trouble finding somewhere anyway

eaststand85
16/11/2009, 12:17 PM
If you've the time I'd recommend this place in the Marais for a steak frites, unbelievable fillet steak. Not too pricy and cooked just right. This place changed my attitude away from well-done steaks. Will be there on the afternoon of the game, filling up for the drinking ahead.;)

http://www.qype.co.uk/place/36433-Au-Petit-Fer-a-Cheval-Paris

To be fair Paul I usually do ( although after 7 days of the same as same as Italien food in Sorrento I would of killed for a chinese) and I fully intend to have a bowl of French onion soup and plate du jour in the Latin quarter if I can find the same cafe again .

However for match days you cant beat steak and chips to soak up a few beers.

Anyone else got any recommendations for a decent, good value lunch on Wednesday (3 courses and wine/beer rather than chicken wings which I had more than enough of in Happy Bar in Sofia :))? Is the Latin Quarter a good spot to just take a wander and go wherever looks good? Thanks.

16/11/2009, 12:27 PM
Ahh Paris a city of fine wines and fine cuisine yet I can see myself in a kebab shop with a can of their finest cheapest lager.

finbarrk
16/11/2009, 5:29 PM
Boulevard de Clichy / Pigalle area, Metro stops blanche or Pigalle is the best area for pubs. There is about 20 of them along that stretch. Plenty of places for grub too.

http://www.funkymaps.com/pubs_and_bars_in_paris?fpubname=&fpubarea=PIGA&fpubtype=&valid=Submit+your+search

dan o d
17/11/2009, 3:21 PM
lads any idea how far the stade de france is from the tower and how to get there?