View Full Version : France away 18 November 2009 - pubs, etc

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Raheen
27/10/2009, 3:26 PM
The Coolin, in Mabillon. best irish bar to drink before and after the match.

for the cheapest beer, avoid all the irish bars and go to Rue Mouffetard in the 5th, its the student area, so way cheaper than your tourist areas like Bastille etc.

tbh, the best ones will be where everyone congregates, they're all a much of a muchness, but Coolin will open very late.

The Coolin shuts early, at least by Irish standards, although it's close to Corcorans, in St. Germain which stays open very late.

Magnumpi is correct, the Irish bars are best avoided, unless you want to pay 8 euro for a crap pint. There are some fantastic bars in Paris where you can enjoy a good pint, meet decent football people and enjoy the local scenery ;).

Parts of Monparnasses are great and also around Les Halles. For example, I live in the 15th and Bar Cristal is a nearby favourite. All pints are 4/5 euro and cocktails are 6 euro. It's good sports bar and close to both routes, Metro 13 and the RER, to the Stadium.

Also, note that the sale of alcohol is banned near Stade de France and there are no bars in the general area at least if you are coming from Paris. It can take up to 70 minutes to get to the stadium from Paris so care has to be taken when planning pre-match festivities. You don't want to spend more time than necessary getting to the Stade....

You can PM me if you want any information about Paris.

onenilgameover
27/10/2009, 4:50 PM
Think this is the place I was talking about it if anyone's interested but looks a lot worse in the cold harsh light of day/internet.

http://www.cafe-oz.com/cafe.php?id=1

Seems to be a few of them in Paris, anyone (ptegan to the rescue again?) know if they're actually any good?

They are just crap oz bars much like the crap irish bars. I was in one or two of them and they are nothing to right home about. Depends what you are into though. I myself would pass.

The whole bars from other cultures thing took off in a big way after the 98 world cup and the oz crap is just an extension of that.

By all accounts there was not many non-french places before 98 and now there is far too many.

eaststand85
27/10/2009, 6:21 PM
They are just crap oz bars much like the crap irish bars. I was in one or two of them and they are nothing to right home about. Depends what you are into though. I myself would pass.

The whole bars from other cultures thing took off in a big way after the 98 world cup and the oz crap is just an extension of that.

By all accounts there was not many non-french places before 98 and now there is far too many.

Thanks for that, doesn't look very appealing alright so will steer clear.

themudfactor
31/10/2009, 4:34 PM
Ptegan,

I would be grateful if you could let me know the following information, if you could answer any or all of the questions that would be great.

our hotel address is the following:

1) We are getting the Eurostar is it difficult to get to the hotel from the Eurostar?

2) What is the area we are staying in like? Any good bars etc. near it?

3) In terms of a good pub where would be a good stop off that is near us, but not too far from the stadium?

Thanks chief!

ptegan
31/10/2009, 5:43 PM
Alas....you never actually said which hotel it was :p

Also this would be better in the hotel thread but I'm sure that as soon as a mod sobers up enough it'll be moved :)

Shay C
31/10/2009, 9:27 PM
Hey Lads,

Booked Hotel opposite Kitty O'Sheas in Opera district. Handy as I'm going with my dad who's 82 and likes a pint but not a long walk home after pints.

First away game for both of us so looking forward to it - well he doesn't know as it's a suprise.

Was anyone there in 2004? And how rammed will it be - will I be dragging a stool from the hotel for him to sit on?!

Just got E-Mail from FAI rejecting ticket application so I'm joining the ranks scratching around for tickets - Hopefully we won't be watching it in the pub!

themudfactor
01/11/2009, 12:39 PM
Alas....you never actually said which hotel it was :p

Also this would be better in the hotel thread but I'm sure that as soon as a mod sobers up enough it'll be moved :)

Haha i'm sorry i meant to copy and paste it in.

it's Hotel Elysées Union
44 rue de l'Amiral Hamelin - 75116 Paris (obviously)

03/11/2009, 12:37 PM
Hey Lads,

Booked Hotel opposite Kitty O'Sheas in Opera district. Handy as I'm going with my dad who's 82 and likes a pint but not a long walk home after pints.

First away game for both of us so looking forward to it - well he doesn't know as it's a suprise.

Was anyone there in 2004? And how rammed will it be - will I be dragging a stool from the hotel for him to sit on?!

Just got E-Mail from FAI rejecting ticket application so I'm joining the ranks scratching around for tickets - Hopefully we won't be watching it in the pub!

have been there a couple of times for football and rugby matches and its one of the lesser wedged ones. a seat may not be a problem but getting served quickly might!

hope you get a ticket ok

Raheen
03/11/2009, 1:06 PM
Haha i'm sorry i meant to copy and paste it in.

it's Hotel Elysées Union
44 rue de l'Amiral Hamelin - 75116 Paris (obviously)

It's quiet enough along there but it's only a short hop to Avenue des Champs-Elysees. Otherwise, it's easy to get to Les Halles or Bastille on the metro. I guess it depends on where the pre- and post-match action is.

The hotel is close, about 700 metres, to line 13 at Etoile (under the Arc de Triomphe) and from there the metro goes straight to the Stade. You'll be at the Stadium in less than half an hour or thereabouts. Move early though......Etoile will be heaving.

Bon Voyage..

magnumpi
03/11/2009, 1:48 PM
sorry if this has been posted already, but has a meet-up spot been organised. heard some chat on ybig about lads drinking and playing footy under the eiffel tower for a bit, but not sure when?

i'll be at the Coolin out of loyalty.

eaststand85
03/11/2009, 2:23 PM
sorry if this has been posted already, but has a meet-up spot been organised. heard some chat on ybig about lads drinking and playing footy under the eiffel tower for a bit, but not sure when?

i'll be at the Coolin out of loyalty.

There was another thread alright but hasn't been updated in a little while (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=126288&page=2). Cans under the Eiffel Tower from 2pm seems to be the feeling.

03/11/2009, 3:03 PM
Lads tehre was way more out along place de glichy the last time raiding the off licenses and drinking on teh streets, i dont think you could get a better st really for it.

SuperDave
03/11/2009, 4:35 PM
We're staying in Peace and Love Hostel on Rue La Fayette near Gare du Nord.

I'm thinking we check in then get the metro down to Pigalle or Place de Clichy for a few before heading back up to the match. I don't know Paris that well; I'm wondering if where we're staying is safe enough etc?

Desyf
03/11/2009, 4:36 PM
Make sure you tidy up your rubbish after you....otherwise you won't be able to see the poodle sh!t before you tread in it. http://www.thecowsheds.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/icon_thumbup.gif

Raheen
03/11/2009, 6:41 PM
We're staying in Peace and Love Hostel on Rue La Fayette near Gare du Nord.

I'm thinking we check in then get the metro down to Pigalle or Place de Clichy for a few before heading back up to the match. I don't know Paris that well; I'm wondering if where we're staying is safe enough etc?

To be honest it's not the best part of town but it's generally safe. Most places in Paris are - just don't do anything stupid and look after yourself on the way home.

captkeen
03/11/2009, 9:30 PM
Last time in Paris we went to o sullivans on the night before the match ,the place was packed as you would expect and it was full of drunken persons:D,so me and me mates found a small bar about 10mins away ,filled it up and drank for haltf the price.great craic .There`s plenty of places to drink inParis .We found a lovely little place near the stadium ,great food as well.Suited our needs , will head for the tower but at some stage will need to fuel the tummy ,pick the right restaurant nd you won`t get ripped off.

04/11/2009, 9:17 AM
Dont order steak!

ANyone know any good rock/metal bars?

Sligo Hornet
04/11/2009, 10:34 AM
Dont order steak!

ANyone know any good rock/metal bars?

I would say Granite and a Crowbar

04/11/2009, 10:49 AM
Unfortunately crowbar is a bit awkward to get on the plane....smart arse!

Polster
04/11/2009, 1:40 PM
Ask a stupid question O Shea....

04/11/2009, 1:48 PM
Thats not a stupid question, im partial to some good rock tunes and a few pints and ye wont be in by that stage, so ill head off with the brother and a few lads first.

Raheen
04/11/2009, 3:38 PM
Thats not a stupid question, im partial to some good rock tunes and a few pints and ye wont be in by that stage, so ill head off with the brother and a few lads first.

Katabar on rue Fontaine in the 9th or Cantada at 13 Rue Moret in the 11th. Please remember that waht might be classed as rock/metal in France might be no more than MOR in Ireland. No different than Mayo I guess............
Cantada (http://www.cantada.net/)
Katabar (http://www.fra.cityvox.fr/bars-et-boites_paris/kata-bar_36330/Profil-Lieu)

04/11/2009, 6:26 PM
Why not order steak Paul. Are you a well done steak few spuds and veg and cup of tae man. !!!!

Desyf
05/11/2009, 1:26 PM

Dear God, don't start singing !!:eek:

Let me know where you'll be and I'll make sure I'm elsewhere...http://www.thecowsheds.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/icon_wave.gif

Mayo_Bhoy
05/11/2009, 4:45 PM
Why not order steak Paul. Are you a well done steak few spuds and veg and cup of tae man. !!!!

If you like horse meat, order away.

Newryrep
05/11/2009, 6:57 PM
Katabar on rue Fontaine in the 9th or Cantada at 13 Rue Moret in the 11th. Please remember that waht might be classed as rock/metal in France might be no more than MOR in Ireland. No different than Mayo I guess............
Cantada (http://www.cantada.net/)
Katabar (http://www.fra.cityvox.fr/bars-et-boites_paris/kata-bar_36330/Profil-Lieu)

I vaguely remember a french rock band from school trip years ago Trust ?

05/11/2009, 6:58 PM
A tout le monde
A tout les amis
Je vous aime
Je dois partir
There are the last words
Ill ever speak
And theyll set me free

If I find a french metal karoke bar I will get to sing this ;)

05/11/2009, 7:18 PM
haha, ya that could be good id do backing vocals desyf would love that. Btw its These are the last words...

NeilMcD, they dont have steak its this stringy crap or steak haché(sp>) unless of course you want to pay an arm and a leg for what we know as steak!

05/11/2009, 7:23 PM
My clumsy fingers mistyped!

05/11/2009, 8:26 PM
haha, ya that could be good id do backing vocals desyf would love that. Btw its These are the last words...

NeilMcD, they dont have steak its this stringy crap or steak haché(sp>) unless of course you want to pay an arm and a leg for what we know as steak!

Paul I have lived in France I know what they have. And you can certainly get good steak in Paris without spending an arm and a leg. The Steak hache is just like a burger really, minced beef. Not a big fan of horse either. Lésgargot and frogs legs are grand though. French cooking is top notch and you do not have to pay and arm and a leg to get it either.

06/11/2009, 10:48 AM
Neil, well done on living in france. That was an acheivement you must be proud of.

My piont was about paris. Ive been there a good few times and yet to find a decently priced place where you can get PROPER steak as oppossed to this stringy sh1te.

Thats not to say they aren't there, im sure they are, but they are difficult find wherever they are!

Docboy
06/11/2009, 11:10 AM
If you've the time I'd recommend this place in the Marais for a steak frites, unbelievable fillet steak. Not too pricy and cooked just right. This place changed my attitude away from well-done steaks. Will be there on the afternoon of the game, filling up for the drinking ahead.;)

http://www.qype.co.uk/place/36433-Au-Petit-Fer-a-Cheval-Paris

Newryrep
06/11/2009, 11:16 AM
Neil, well done on living in france. That was an acheivement you must be proud of.

My piont was about paris. Ive been there a good few times and yet to find a decently priced place where you can get PROPER steak as oppossed to this stringy sh1te.

Thats not to say they aren't there, im sure they are, but they are difficult find wherever they are!

no argentinian steakhouses ?

06/11/2009, 11:20 AM

Ah come on newryrep, yer in france, you should be going to local french cafes/restaurants.

Newryrep
06/11/2009, 12:23 PM
Ah come on newryrep, yer in france, you should be going to local french cafes/restaurants.

To be fair Paul I usually do ( although after 7 days of the same as same as Italien food in Sorrento I would of killed for a chinese) and I fully intend to have a bowl of French onion soup and plate du jour in the Latin quarter if I can find the same cafe again .

However for match days you cant beat steak and chips to soak up a few beers.

Royal rover
06/11/2009, 1:37 PM
guaranteed Mcdonalds an BK will be full of irish before and after the game for some proper french cuisine

blobbyblob
06/11/2009, 3:33 PM
Well Lads,

I've been talking to O' Sullivans for the last few weeks to see if they can sort us out with cheaper beer if we get a crowd there.In fairness to them theyve been working hard to sort us out. Heres the latest reply from them.

Blob,

We’ve got our pints of Kronenbourg down to 5euros a pint on the 18th in the city center bars. Thanks to you for helping me convince the powers that be!
There will still be specials on cans (Carlsberg probably ) in each of the bars

Plus we’ll be doing Irish breakfast giveaways with the roadcaster and 2fm – everyday that they will be broadcasting live – so far it looks like they are here for 4 days from Monday through to Thursday morning.

Heres the standard price list –

PINTS :

Kronenbourg : Was €6.30 - Now €5.00

Fosters / Strongbow /carslberg + 1664 Blanc : €7

Guinness & Kilkenny are €7.20 !! I know (this is expensive – but they charge us an arm and a leg for it – in fact all the Irish pub owners are currently planning to Boycott Guinness altogether if they don’t do something about the prices we are being charged )

We’ve been trying to get Bulmers in cans but apparently now that the distribution in France has been taken over by Heineken but the packaging is not legally acceptable so we can’t get that either

We’re in touch with Magners about trying to get a good deal there ( it will be on draught if we can get it)

All the best

06/11/2009, 3:35 PM
i cant beleive they took you seriouslly when you signed off with "Blob" ;) :D

06/11/2009, 3:38 PM
7euro for fosters? hip flask time :)

blobbyblob
06/11/2009, 3:44 PM
i cant beleive they took you seriouslly when you signed off with "Blob" ;) :D

The blob is famous the world over

Royal rover
06/11/2009, 3:52 PM
Well Lads,

I've been talking to O' Sullivans for the last few weeks to see if they can sort us out with cheaper beer if we get a crowd there.In fairness to them theyve been working hard to sort us out. Heres the latest reply from them.

Blob,

We’ve got our pints of Kronenbourg down to 5euros a pint on the 18th in the city center bars. Thanks to you for helping me convince the powers that be!
There will still be specials on cans (Carlsberg probably ) in each of the bars

Plus we’ll be doing Irish breakfast giveaways with the roadcaster and 2fm – everyday that they will be broadcasting live – so far it looks like they are here for 4 days from Monday through to Thursday morning.

Heres the standard price list –

PINTS :

Kronenbourg : Was €6.30 - Now €5.00

Fosters / Strongbow /carslberg + 1664 Blanc : €7

Guinness & Kilkenny are €7.20 !! I know (this is expensive – but they charge us an arm and a leg for it – in fact all the Irish pub owners are currently planning to Boycott Guinness altogether if they don’t do something about the prices we are being charged )

We’ve been trying to get Bulmers in cans but apparently now that the distribution in France has been taken over by Heineken but the packaging is not legally acceptable so we can’t get that either

We’re in touch with Magners about trying to get a good deal there ( it will be on draught if we can get it)

All the best

Well done on that Blob - great work

Junior
06/11/2009, 4:28 PM
5euro for Kronenbourg is decent enough. Im glad to say I wont be venturing anywhere near an Irish pub but fair play on your efforts in getting Irish Fans who will partake a good deal.

06/11/2009, 10:14 PM

Just had a great steak in Buenos Aires this afternoon with lovely sweet potatos and a glass of wine and some lovely bread and a bottle of mineral water for 8 euro. Happy days. Dont think I will be going to an Argentinan steak house in Paris after that though. I agree though, steak is the way the day of the game although Saint Tom recommends the Pasta Carbonara every time.

Newryrep
07/11/2009, 8:53 AM
Just had a great steak in Buenos Aires this afternoon with lovely sweet potatos and a glass of wine and some lovely bread and a bottle of mineral water for 8 euro. Happy days. Dont think I will be going to an Argentinan steak house in Paris after that though. I agree though, steak is the way the day of the game although Saint Tom recommends the Pasta Carbonara every time.

Was in a great one in Cologne enroute to sofia game. susposedly the first in Germany/cologne - excellent steaks

Junior
07/11/2009, 12:36 PM
Was in a great one in Cologne enroute to sofia game. susposedly the first in Germany/cologne - excellent steaks

Ive been to that one myself actually! Was there for work purposes. It was good.

ruben_sosa
08/11/2009, 9:35 AM
Im glad to say I wont be venturing anywhere near an Irish pub but fair play on your efforts in getting Irish Fans who will partake a good deal.

why would anyone go to an ireland match in Paris and NOT go to an irish pub where most fans will be.

two words: pretentious and numpty.

08/11/2009, 3:24 PM
why would anyone go to an ireland match in Paris and NOT go to an irish pub where most fans will be.

Ive been travelling to irish games for well over 20 years and the Irish bars are always the dearest wherever we go usually shoving their prices up for the day before and after the match.

ruben_sosa
08/11/2009, 4:35 PM
Ive been travelling to irish games for well over 20 years and the Irish bars are always the dearest wherever we go usually shoving their prices up for the day before and after the match.

and because the match tickets r more expensive for irish fans will u go and sit with the French supporters in the stadium? I'll be doing what was was done in O'Sullivans last time, buy drink in the local shops and drink it outside the pub. It doesn't bother me if pubs hike the prices, realistically how much more are you going to spend in an Irish pub before the game compared to a french pub, 20 euro ?

Junior
09/11/2009, 6:47 AM

Haha. Brilliant, well done. Enjoy yourself, I'm sure I will.

09/11/2009, 8:15 AM

its not just the Irish bars that do this in my almost 20 years experience of going to away games with Ireland.

always a great atmosphere in the Irish bars around these matches